DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/17/2025 and 11/21/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, please amend “a sensing electrode of the sensor” to “a sensing electrode of the electrochemical sensor”.
Claim 10, please amend “wherein the target range of electric potential is from 0 to 5 V” to “wherein the target range of electric potentials is from 0 to 5 V”.
Claim 21, please amend “soft Regression, decision Tree” to “soft [[R]]regression, decision [[T]]tree”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11, 14-17, 19-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ben-Yoav (US 2020/0138344A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ben-Yoav teaches a method of sensing an analyte (method of sensing an analyte including dopamine and/or norepinephrine [para. 0019]) in a sample (biofluid sample [para. 0019]) by electrochemical detection (analysis of biofluid samples using voltammetry [para. 0019]), the method comprising:
receiving the sample on a sample receiving region (section of electrodes, including working electrode 5, serves as sample receiving region [para. 0020]; illustrated in Fig. 2) of an electrochemical sensor (working electrodes are immersed in liquid sample [para. 0020]), the sample receiving region being in fluid communication with a sensing electrode of the sensor (working electrodes are immersed in liquid sample [para. 0020]; working electrodes 5 serve as sensing electrodes [para. 0020]);
applying an electric potential scan in a target range of electric potentials to the sensing electrode (as illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B, voltage is varied from -0.1 to 0.4 V) to induce an electrochemical reaction with the analyte (a voltammetry involves an electroactive species that undergoes oxidation and/or reduction [para. 0003]; electrochemical technique that employed can be, for example, is differential pulse voltammetry [para. 0101]);
measuring an electrical signal from the sensing electrode while the electric potential is applied (as illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B, current of the working electrode is measured);
inputting the electrical signal into a processing device (processor 11 [para. 0053] analyzes a data set of electrochemical signals [para. 0053]) having at least one machine learning algorithm operating therein (data sets of electrochemical signals are analyzed by multivariate methods such as a supervised machine learning model [para. 0053]); and
executing, by the processing device, the at least one machine learning algorithm to determine from the electrical signal a presence or an absence of the analyte in the sample (machine learning model is used to detect dopamine in the presence of other analytes including uric acid and norepinephrine [paras. 0123-0147]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the sensing electrode has a plurality of sensor analytes associated therewith (sensing analytes can be dopamine and norepinephrine [para. 0005]).
Regarding Claim 3, Ben-Yoav teaches a method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the electrochemical reaction is an oxidation or a reduction (differential pulse voltammetry is used, a voltammetry involves an electroactive species that undergoes oxidation and/or reduction [para. 0003]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the electrical signal is an electric current (as illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B, current is measured as a function of voltage).
Regarding Claim 5, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the sample comprises a body fluid (biofluid can be urine, blood, and saliva [para. 0019]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 5.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the sample comprises blood, sputum, or urine (biofluid may be blood, saliva, or urine [para. 0019]).
Regarding Claim 7, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the electric potential is applied using a voltametric technique selected from differential pulse voltammetry (voltammetry may be differential pulse voltammetry [para. 0019]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is executed by the processing device to determine the presence or the absence of the analyte in a sample comprising determining a single value of a concentration of the analyte in the sample (after collecting test data and using machine learning, such as an ANN algorithm, the concentration of analyte is quantified [para. 0056]).
Regarding Claim 14, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is configured to decrease noise percent in the electrical signal for determining the presence or the absence of the analyte in the sample (a varied filter order is used depending on the noise level [para. 0072]), the noise resulting from analog compound interference in the sample (noise component can be a different component, such as uric acid [para. 0134]).
Regarding Claim 15, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is trained with at least one statistical feature of the electrical signal (features of the voltammogram were obtained for each data set [para. 0133]), the at least one statistical feature comprising at least one of a maximum (feature may be a peak potential [para. 0133]).
Regarding Claim 16, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is trained with an entirety of the electrical signal (as discussed in [paras. 0124-0130], a set consisting of 216 mixtures of dopamine and norepinephrine voltammograms were used).
Regarding Claim 17, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 16.
Ben-Yoav teaches further comprising, prior to executing the at least one machine learning algorithm, reducing a dimensionality of the electrical signal using principal component analysis (PCA) (raw test data collected by the electrochemical sensor undergoes preprocessing with the aid of known techniques, such as principal component analysis [para. 0055]).
Regarding Claim 19, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is a supervised machine learning algorithm or an unsupervised machine learning algorithm (a supervised or unsupervised machine learning algorithm [Claim 15]).
Regarding Claim 20, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is configured to perform at least one of a regression analysis (a regression model [para. 0053]) and a classification task to determine the concentration of the analyte from the electrical signal (complete solution matrix consists of all possible binary combinations of concentrations [para. 0105]; note that sorting data into binary combinations is a way to classify the data).
Regarding Claim 21, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 20.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is configured to perform the classification task using an artificial neural network (ANN) (artificial neural network [para. 0053]).
Regarding Claim 22, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 21.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is configured to perform the regression analysis using linear regression (partial least squares regression is used, which is a linear regression technique [para. 0054]).
Regarding Claim 24, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the analyte is a metabolite (metabolite is a neurotransmitter including dopamine and norepinephrine [para. 0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Yoav.
Regarding Claim 10, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav is silent on wherein the target range of electric potential is from 0 to 5 V.
However, Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the target range of electric potential is from voltage is varied from -0.1 to 0.4 V (as illustrated in Figure 4A and 4B, voltage is varied from -0.1 to 0.4 V).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a target range of electric potential within the disclosed range, as taught by Ben-Yoav, including those amounts that overlap with the claimed range, since one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect any value within the target range to be suitable given that Ben-Yoav specially teaches using differential pulse voltammetry to apply a voltage sweep for detection of analytes (Ben-Yoav, Figure 4A and 4B). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Yoav in view of Mirza (Closed-Loop Implantable Therapeutic Neuromodulation Systems Based on Neurochemical Monitoring. Frontiers in Neuroscience 2019; 808(13), 1-18).
Regarding Claim 13, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav is silent on wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is executed by the processing device to determine the presence or the absence of the analyte in the sample comprising determining whether the concentration of the sample is above or below a predetermined concentration threshold.
Mirza teaches neuromodulation for nuerotransmitters including dopamine and serotonin (abstract), and teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm is executed by the processing device to determine the presence or the absence of the analyte in the sample comprising determining whether the concentration of the sample is above or below a predetermined concentration threshold (decision making can be used based on a threshold of analyte concentration [col. 1 second para. page 11]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one machine learning algorithm of Ben-Yoav to be is executed by the processing device to determine the presence or the absence of the analyte in the sample comprising determining whether the concentration of the sample is above or below a predetermined concentration threshold, as taught by Mirza, as detecting a certain threshold for presence of an analyte allows for a decision on how much to stimulate (Mirza, [Figure 3]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Yoav in view of Patarnello (Phasic dopamine release identification using ensemble of AlexNet. ArXiV: Computer Science – Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition. 2020, 1-14).
Regarding Claim 23, Ben-Yoav teaches the method of claim 1.
Ben-Yoav teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm comprises a plurality of different machine learning algorithms combined into an ensemble machine learning model.
Patarnello teaches identifying dopamine using ensemble of AlexNet (abstract), and teaches wherein the at least one machine learning algorithm comprises a plurality of different machine learning algorithms (ensemble may consist of multiple AlexNet networks and YOLOv2 detectors [last para. page 10]) combined into an ensemble machine learning model (machine learning is used to train model by various dataset variations using an ensemble of machine learning tools for classifying (see Figure 5 on page 11 and Table 6 on page 12).
Ben-Yoav and Patarnello are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of neurotransmitter detection using machine learning. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one machine learning algorithm of Ben-Yoav to be a plurality of different machine learning algorithms combined into an ensemble machine learning model, as taught by Patarnello, as ensemble machine learning models can successfully perform tasks and outperform other machine learning methods in accuracy and simplicity (Patarnello, [Abstract]).
Conclusion
/R.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/SHIZHI QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795