DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The Amendment filed 01/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 27-41 and 43-47 are currently pending in the application. Claims 27, 32-33, and 46 have been amended. Claims 42 have been canceled. Claim 47 is new and has been added.
Response to Amendment
35 USC 112(b). The amendments to claim 46 have overcome the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) as being indefinite set forth in the Office Action mailed 10/09/2025. The rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/09/2026 with respect to the rejections of claim(s) 27-41, 43-44, and 46 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Martínez Fraiz (US 2023/0347580 A1) in view of Delrot (US 2024/0367385 A1) and in further view of Matheu (US 2022/0212407 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 27-41, 43-44, and 46 has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Favalora (WO-2023225298-A1). The rejection of claim(s) 27-29, 30-33, 35-38, 40-41, 43, and 45-46 may be found below.
Upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Favalora (WO-2023225298-A1) in view of Twietmeyer (US 2023/0094821 A1). The rejection of claim(s) 34 and 39 may be found below.
Upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Favalora (WO-2023225298-A1) in view of Martínez Fraiz (US 2023/0347580 A1). The rejection of claim(s) 44 may be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites the limitation “wherein the at least one first irradiation device comprises at least one first light source configured to generate the light of the first wavelength, wherein the at least one light modulation device is arranged in the optical path between the at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device and the working volume, wherein the at least one light modulation device is particularly, disposed or built between the at least one first light source and at least one collimator device or an objective device and/or the at least one light modulation device is disposed or built between at least one collimator device or an objective device and the working volume” (emphasis added). The limitation renders the claim indefinite because the examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of the claim since it is not clear whether the claimed narrower range is a limitation. For compact prosecution, the limitation is interpreted as --wherein the at least one first irradiation device comprises at least one first light source configured to generate the light of the first wavelength, wherein the at least one light modulation device is arranged in the optical path between the at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device and the working volume--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-29, 31-32, 35-38, 40-41, 43, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Favalora (WO-2023225298-A1).
Regarding claim 27, Favalora teaches a 3D printing assembly (an apparatus for volumetric 3d-printing to form a three-dimensional object via dual-color photopolymerization) (¶5-8,54-106).
Favalora teaches an apparatus comprising resin 24 in cartridge 14 may be irradiated with one or more one or more wavelengths of excitation light to at least partially harden, polymerize, and/or cross-link resin 24 to at least partially form the one or more 3D objects 30 in the volume of resin 24 (a working volume configured to receive a photopolymerizable material which is to be irradiated with light for forming a three-dimensional object) (¶94).
Favalora teaches an apparatus further comprising a primary light source 82 that may illuminate a projector device that patterns an image 84 in a first wavelength of light by forming a time-series of cross-sectional patterns that correspond to cross-sections of the object to be printed, wherein the image is preferably orthogonal to its projection axis into the cartridge (at least one second irradiation device configured to radiate light of a second wavelength into the working volume to generate a second light projection in the working volume, the second light projection intersecting the first light projection at a specific angle), and a secondary light source 86 may illuminate a light sheet generator for generating and directing a light sheet 88 in a second wavelength that is a different wavelength than the first wavelength of the patterned image 84 (at least one first irradiation device configured to radiate light of a first wavelength into the working volume to generate at least one first light projection in the working volume, the at least one first light projection comprising multiple light beams traversing the working volume in at least one light plane, wherein the at least one first light projection is a light sheet), wherein examples of light sheet generators include a diffractive optical element (at least one light modulation device assigned to the at least one first irradiation device, the at least one light modulation device configured to modulate a spatial extension direction of two or more light beams of the multiple light beams in the at least one light plane such that the two or more light beams extend in a non-parallel arrangement relative to each other) (¶95-103).
Regarding claim 28, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein examples of projector or projection devices may include a spatial light modulator, such as a digital micromirror device, or a liquid crystal on silicon projector (wherein the at least one light modulation device is configured to modulate the spatial extension direction of the two or more light beams in a common light plane such that the two or more light beams intersect at one or more points in the common light plane) (¶63).
Regarding claim 29, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein examples of light sheet generators include a diffractive optical element (wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises one or more optically diffractive elements) (¶95).
Regarding claim 31, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein the intersection region of the image 84 and light sheet 88 may be moved by moving primary light source 82 and secondary light source 86 with respect to cartridge 14 (wherein the at least one first irradiation device or at least one component thereof is moveably supported in at least one degree of freedom of motion relative to the working volume) (¶102).
Regarding claim 32, Favalora teaches a 3D printing assembly (an apparatus for volumetric 3d-printing to form a three-dimensional object via dual-color photopolymerization) (¶5-8,54-106).
Favalora teaches an apparatus comprising resin 24 in cartridge 14 may be irradiated with one or more one or more wavelengths of excitation light to at least partially harden, polymerize, and/or cross-link resin 24 to at least partially form the one or more 3D objects 30 in the volume of resin 24 (a working volume configured to receive a photopolymerizable material which is to be irradiated with light for forming a three-dimensional object) (¶94).
Favalora teaches an apparatus further comprising a primary light source 82 that may illuminate a projector device that patterns an image 84 in a first wavelength of light by forming a time-series of cross-sectional patterns that correspond to cross-sections of the object to be printed, wherein the image is preferably orthogonal to its projection axis into the cartridge (at least one second irradiation device configured to radiate light of a second wavelength into the working volume to generate a second light projection in the working volume, the second light projection intersecting the first light projection at a specific angle), and a secondary light source 86 may illuminate a light sheet generator for generating and directing a light sheet 88 in a second wavelength that is a different wavelength than the first wavelength of the patterned image 84 (at least one first irradiation device configured to radiate light of a first wavelength into the working volume to generate at least one first light projection in the working volume, the at least one first light projection comprising multiple light beams traversing the working volume in at least one light plane), wherein examples of light sheet generators include a diffractive optical element (at least one light modulation device assigned to the at least one first irradiation device, the at least one light modulation device configured to modulate a spatial extension direction of two or more light beams of the multiple light beams in the at least one light plane such that the two or more light beams extend in a non-parallel arrangement relative to each other, wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises one or more optical elements, wherein each optical element is configured to change the original spatial extension direction of an incident light beam so as to generate a light beam having a different spatial extension direction relative to the original spatial extension direction) (¶95-103).
Regarding claims 35 and 40, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein examples of light sheet generators include a cylindrical lens (at least one light deflection device configured to deflect light emitted from at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device towards the working volume; at least one light deflection device configured to deflect light emitted from the or at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device towards the working volume, wherein the at least one light deflection device comprises a base body, wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises at least one optical element attached to the outer surface of the base body) and an axicon lens (wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises at least one optical lens arranged upstream of the light deflection device) (¶95).
Regarding claims 36-37, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein examples of light sheet generators include a galvanometer, a polygon scanning mirror, and a MEMS scanner (at least one light deflection device configured to deflect light emitted from at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device towards the working volume, wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises at least one beam steering device arranged upstream of the at least one light deflection device, the at least one beam steering device configured to change the spatial extension direction of a light beam emitted from the at least one first light source towards the at least one beam steering device; wherein the at least one beam steering device comprises at least one of: an optically transmissive element moveably supported in at least one degree of freedom of motion, wherein the at least one beam steering device is configured to change the direction of the spatial extension of a light beam emitted from the at least one first light source towards the at least one beam steering device via one or more motions of at least one transmissive element in the at least one degree of freedom of motion and at least one optically reflective element moveably supported in at least one degree of freedom of motion, wherein the at least one beam steering device is configured to change the spatial extension direction of a light beam emitted from the at least one first light source towards the at least one beam steering device via one or more motions of the at least one transmissive element in the at least one degree of freedom of motion) (¶95).
Regarding claim 38, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein examples of light sheet generators include a MEMS scanner (wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises at least one adaptive optical element having an adaptive shape, wherein the at least one adaptive optical element is configured to change the spatial extension direction of the spatial extension of a light beam via one or more changes of its shape) (¶95).
Regarding claim 41, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein examples of light sheet generators include a diffractive optical element and a MEMS scanner (at least one light deflection device configured to deflect light emitted from the or at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device towards the working volume, wherein the at least one light deflection device comprises a base body, wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises a surface structuring of the outer surface of the base body) (¶95).
Regarding claim 43, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein resin 24 in cartridge 14 may be irradiated with one or more one or more wavelengths of excitation light to at least partially harden, polymerize, and/or cross-link resin 24 to at least partially form the one or more 3D objects 30 in the volume of resin 24 (wherein the working volume is provided by at least one container device, the container device delimiting a container volume for receiving the photopolymerizable material) (¶94).
Regarding claim 45, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein the light sheet is preferably directed into the cartridge along a direction orthogonal to the projection axis of the image (wherein the at least one light modulation device is configured to generate one or more points within the at least one formation zone through which the two or more light beams of the multiple light beams of the first wavelength extend based on at least one of the following principles for speckle reduction: angular diversity) (¶95).
Regarding claim 46, Favalora teaches a method for printing one or more 3D objects 3D printing assembly (method for volumetric 3d-printing to form a three- dimensional object via dual-color photopolymerization) (¶5-8,54-106).
Favalora teaches a method wherein resin 24 in cartridge 14 may be irradiated with one or more one or more wavelengths of excitation light to at least partially harden, polymerize, and/or cross-link resin 24 to at least partially form the one or more 3D objects 30 in the volume of resin 24 (¶94).
Favalora teaches a method wherein a primary light source 82 may illuminate a projector device that patterns an image 84 in a first wavelength of light by forming a time-series of cross-sectional patterns that correspond to cross-sections of the object to be printed, wherein the image is preferably orthogonal to its projection axis into the cartridge (generating, via at least one second irradiation device configured to radiate light of a second wavelength into the working volume, a second light projection in the working volume, the second light projection intersecting the first light projection at a specific angle), and a secondary light source 86 may illuminate a light sheet generator for generating and directing a light sheet 88 in a second wavelength that is a different wavelength than the first wavelength of the patterned image 84 (generating, via at least one first irradiation device configured to radiate light of a first wavelength into a working volume comprising a photopolymerizable material, a first light projection in the working volume, the first light projection comprising multiple light beams traversing the working volume in a common plane, wherein the first light projection is a light sheet), wherein examples of light sheet generators include a diffractive optical element (modulating, via at least one light modulation device assigned to the at least one first irradiation device, a spatial extension direction of two or more light beams of the multiple light beams in a common plane such that the two or more light beams extend in a non-parallel arrangement relative to each other) (¶95-103).
Regarding claim 47, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein the light sheet is preferably directed into the cartridge along a direction orthogonal to the projection axis of the image (wherein the specific angle is 45° or 90°) (¶95).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favalora (WO-2023225298-A1).
Regarding claim 30, as applied to claim 27, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein a secondary light source 86 may illuminate a light sheet generator for generating and directing a light sheet 88 in a second wavelength that is a different wavelength than the first wavelength of the patterned image 84 (wherein the at least one first irradiation device comprises at least one first light source configured to generate the light of the first wavelength).
While Favalora does not explicitly teach an apparatus wherein the at least one light modulation device is arranged in the optical path between the at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device and the working volume, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in Favalora by arranging the diffractive optical element (at least one light modulation device) in the optical path between the secondary light source (at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device) and the cartridge (working volume) with an expectation of success in order to diffract the light sheet of the secondary light source to create multiple light beams that are non-parallel with controlled angles and intensities.
Regarding claim 33, as applied to claim 32, Favalora teaches an apparatus wherein examples of light sheet generators include a diffractive optical element (wherein the optical elements are built as or comprise optical diffuser elements) (¶95).
While Favalora does not explicitly teach an apparatus wherein the at least one light modulation device is arranged in the optical path between the at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device and the working volume, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in Favalora by arranging the a diffractive optical element (at least one light modulation device) in the optical path between the secondary light source (at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device) and the cartridge (working volume) with an expectation of success in order to diffract the light sheet of the secondary light source to create multiple light beams that are non-parallel with controlled angles and intensities.
Claims 34 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favalora (WO-2023225298-A1), as applied to claim 27, and in view of Twietmeyer (US 2023/0094821 A1).
Regarding claims 34 and 39, as applied to claim 27, while Favalora teaches an apparatus comprising a working volume, at least one first irradiation device, and at least one modulation device (base device; see rejection of claim 27), Favalora does not explicitly teach an apparatus further comprising a collimator device configured to collimate the light emitted from at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device before it enters the working volume, wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises at least one optical lens arranged upstream of the collimator device, nor wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises a collimator device which is moveably supported in at least one degree of freedom of motion.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (collimating light emitted from a light source before it enters a working volume; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Twietmeyer discloses that a light sheet can be generated by a light sheet generating system. Light sheet generating systems and techniques are known. Examples of known line generators typically can include optics (e.g., Powell lens, diffractive optic, cylindrical lenses, other collimating optics, etc.) to form a beam in combination with one or more lenses (e.g., cylindrical lenses) and/or optionally one or more components or devices, e.g., scanner, including but not limited to polygon scanner, galvanometer scanner, MEMS scanner, piezo-electric scanner, acousto-optic scanner, a light guide plate (with a fiber light source if used), a spatial light modulator, including but not limited to digital micromirror device (DMD) and Liquid Crystal on Silicon (LCOS) panel that can generate a line-shaped beam which is projected across a planar slice of a volume or space creating a sheet of light along the projection axis through the volume or space (a collimator device configured to collimate the light emitted from at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device before it enters the working volume, wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises at least one optical lens arranged upstream of the collimator device; wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises a collimator device) (Pg 46) (known technique applicable to the base device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in Favalora by applying the known technique of a collimator device configured to collimate the light emitted from at least one first light source of the at least one first irradiation device before it enters the working volume, wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises at least one optical lens arranged upstream of the collimator device, and wherein the at least one light modulation device comprises a collimator device as disclosed in Twietmeyer to the apparatus comprising a working volume, at least one first irradiation device, and at least one modulation device disclosed in Favalora with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in Favalora in view of Twietmeyer such that the collimator device is moveably supported in at least one degree of freedom of motion with an expectation of success since it has been held that making an old device portable or movable without producing any new or unexpected results involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favalora (WO-2023225298-A1), as applied to claim 27, and in view of Martínez Fraiz (US 2023/0347580 A1).
Regarding claim 44, as applied to claim 27, while Favalora teaches an apparatus comprising at least one modulation device (base device; see rejection of claim 27 above, Favalora does not teach an apparatus further comprising a determination device configured to determine the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being manufactured with the apparatus, wherein the determination device comprises a detection unit configured to detect information indicative of the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being manufactured with the apparatus; wherein the information indicative of the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being manufactured with the apparatus can be communicated to a control unit of the apparatus, wherein the control unit is configured to control operation of the at least one light modulation device based on the information.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (a determination device configured to determine the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being, a detection device, and a control unit; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Martínez Fraiz teaches a device comprising at least one imaging system to track the photopolymerization process at real time, wherein the imaging system makes possible to perform a visual inspection of the photopolymerization process at a real time, therefore allowing a simultaneous printing and tracking of the process, wherein said imaging system comprises an objective lens 9 a, 9 b and an image capturing element, which is a CCD (charge-coupled device) camera 8 a, 8 b, wherein the device comprises means for controlling the time of emission of the light beams onto the container, wherein the modulator can be further equipped with control software in order to provide dynamic resolution capabilities (a determination device configured to determine the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being manufactured with the apparatus, wherein the determination device comprises a detection unit configured to detect information indicative of the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being manufactured with the apparatus; wherein the information indicative of the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being manufactured with the apparatus can be communicated to a control unit of the apparatus which control unit can be configured to control operation of the at least one light modulation device based on the information) (Fig 2 and ¶0017,0054,0062-0065) (known technique applicable to the base device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in Favalora by applying the known technique of a determination device configured to determine the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being manufactured with the apparatus, wherein the determination device comprises a detection unit configured to detect information indicative of the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being manufactured with the apparatus, and wherein the information indicative of the surface and/or bulk properties of a three-dimensional object being manufactured with the apparatus can be communicated to a control unit of the apparatus which control unit can be configured to control operation of the at least one light modulation device based on the information as disclosed in Martínez Fraiz to the apparatus comprising at least one modulation device disclosed in Favalora with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Conclusion
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743