DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerin et al (US 2018/0328525) in view of Fiala et al (US 3,215,455).
As to claim 1, Kerin et al discloses a connector for piping, the connector comprising: a female connector (12); a male connector (14) coupled to one side of the female connector and having a bead protruding (16) from an outer peripheral surface thereof; a first locking member (40) having one surface with which the bead engages when the first locking member moves on a chamber portion (defined by 44) when the male connector is coupled in a state in which the first locking member is temporarily coupled to the chamber portion formed at one side of the female connector (Fig. 4); and a second locking member (42) with which an upper portion of the bead engages when the second locking member is coupled to the female connector after the male connector is coupled to the female connector ([0034] - [0037]).
Kerin et al fails to teach male connectors respectively coupled to two opposite sides of the female connector and having beads protruding from outer peripheral surfaces thereof; first locking members each having one surface with which the bead engages when the first locking member moves on a chamber portion when the male connector is coupled in a state in which the first locking members are temporarily coupled to the chamber portions formed at two opposite sides of the female connector; and second locking members with which upper portions of the beads engage when the second locking members are coupled to the female connector after the male connectors are coupled to the female connector.
However, Fiala et al teaches a similar plug-in pipe connector for a beaded male pipe (Fig. 5) or for a plurality of male pipes (Fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kerin et al such that male connectors are respectively coupled to two opposite sides of the female connector and having beads protruding from outer peripheral surfaces thereof; first locking members each having one surface with which the bead engages when the first locking member moves on a chamber portion when the male connector is coupled in a state in which the first locking members are temporarily coupled to the chamber portions formed at two opposite sides of the female connector; and second locking members with which upper portions of the beads engage when the second locking members are coupled to the female connector after the male connectors are coupled to the female connector, as taught by Fiala et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to connect more than one male pipe, and since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 2, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the first locking member provides an elastic force in a direction perpendicular to an axial direction of the female connector in a state in which the bead engages with the first locking member. Refer to [0028] - [0037] of Kerin et al.
As to claim 3, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 2, wherein the first locking member comprises: a first locking body (as at/adjacent base of “U”; 102, 104) having a through-hole penetrated by the male connector (Fig. 4); and first elastic bodies (legs 48, 50) protruding from a lower portion of the first locking body, provided to be in contact with an inner peripheral surface of the female connector (as at 76, 78), and configured to provide the elastic force.
As to claim 4, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 3, wherein the first elastic bodies extend downward from two opposite sides of the lower portion of the first locking body (Fig. 4), and the first elastic bodies have leg shapes curvedly extending in a direction in which tip portions thereof face each other (Fig. 4).
As to claim 5, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 3, wherein first engagement hooks respectively protrude from two opposite sides of the first elastic bodies and engage with fastening projections (116, 118) formed at two opposite sides of the female connector.
As to claim 8, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 3, wherein the second locking member comprises: a second locking body (as at/adjacent base of “U”; 102, 104) coupled to an outer surface of the female connector and having a bead locking portion with which an upper portion of the bead engages when the second locking body is coupled to the female connector (Fig. 4); and second elastic bodies (legs 48, 50) extending from two opposite sides of the second locking body and configured to provide elastic forces in a direction in which the second elastic bodies surround an outer peripheral surface of the female connector.
As to claim 11, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 8, wherein a second engagement hook (70) protrudes inward from the second elastic body and engages with a fastening groove (78) formed in an outer peripheral surface of the female connector.
As to claim 13, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 2, wherein engagement hooks (68, 70) respectively protrude from two opposite sides of the first locking member and engage with fastening projections (116, 118) formed at the two opposite sides of the female connector (Fig. 4).
As to claim 14, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the female connector is formed in a shape bent at least partially (Fig. 1).
As to claim 15, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein an 0-ring (32) is provided on an outer surface of the male connector and seals an inner surface of the female connector (Figs. 3 and 11).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerin et al in view of Fiala et al, and further in view of Freter et al (US 2016/0281894).
As to claim 6, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 5, except that a guide surface is formed to be inclined inside the first locking body, and the bead climbs over the guide surface when the male connector is coupled.
However, Freter et al teaches a similar pipe connector (1) that includes a male connector (24) and a female connector (2), and a locking member (4) having a guide surface (12) that is formed to be inclined inside the locking member, and the bead (36) climbs over the guide surface when the male connector (24) is coupled.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kerin et al/Fiala et al, with a guide surface that is formed to be inclined inside the first locking body, and the bead climbs over the guide surface when the male connector is coupled, as taught by Freter et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to guide and facilitate alignment of the male connector into the female connector.
As to claim 7, Kerin et al/Fiala et al/Freter et al discloses the connector of claim 6, wherein the guide surface is formed to be inclined upward and rearward from a front surface of the first locking body. Refer to Figs. 8 and 13-15 in Freter et al.
As to claim 12, Kerin et al/Fiala et al/Freter et al discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein coupling portions (Figs. 1 and 5, Kerin et al) are provided at two opposite sides of the female connector and coupled to the male connectors, tool holes are formed in the coupling portions and a tool (44, Freter et al) is inserted into the tool holes to uncouple the male connectors (refer to Figs. 13-15 in Freter et al).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerin et al in view of Fiala et al, and further in view of Milanini et al (EP 1770321 A1).
As to claim 9, Kerin et al/Fiala et al discloses the connector of claim 8, except that the bead locking portion has an interlocking protrusion that engages with the second locking body so that the first locking member and second locking member move together when the first locking member and second locking member are uncoupled.
However, Milanini et al teaches a similar pipe connector (1) that includes a male beaded connector (T) and a female connector (D), and a first locking member (3) and a second locking member, one locking member including a projection (40) that snap-fits into a recess (25) in the other locking member so as to allow the two locking members to be fit together.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the locking members of Kerin et al to include an interlocking projection and groove, as taught by Milanini, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent loss of one of the members and/or to facilitate alignment with one another and assembly/disassembly into and out from the connector housing.
As to claim 10, Kerin et al/Fiala et al/Milanini et al discloses the connector of claim 9, wherein an interlocking groove is formed in the first locking body and opened downward, and the interlocking protrusion engages with the interlocking groove. Refer to Figs. 4 and 5 in Milanini.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerin et al in view of Fiala et al, and further in view of Farrell (US 4,836,580).
As to claim 16, Kerin et al discloses a connector for piping, the connector comprising: a female connector (12); a male connector (14) coupled to an end of the female connector and having a bead (16) protruding from an outer peripheral surface thereof; a first locking member (40) having one surface with which the bead engages when the first locking member moves on a chamber portion (defined by 44) when the male connector is coupled in a state in which the first locking member is temporarily coupled to the chamber portion formed at one side of the female connector (Fig. 4); and a second locking member (42) with which an upper portion of the bead engages when the second locking member is coupled to the female connector after the male connector is coupled to the female connector, wherein the female connector has three or more ends, and the male connectors are respectively coupled to the ends ([0034] - [0037]).
Kerin et al fails to teach male connectors respectively coupled to ends of the female connector and having beads protruding from outer peripheral surfaces thereof; first locking members each having one surface with which the bead engages when the first locking member moves on a chamber portion when the male connector is coupled in a state in which the first locking members are temporarily coupled to the chamber portions formed at two opposite sides of the female connector; and second locking members with which upper portions of the beads engage when the second locking members are coupled to the female connector after the male connectors are coupled to the female connector.
However, Fiala et al teaches a similar plug-in pipe connector for a beaded male pipe (Fig. 5) or for a plurality of male pipes (Fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kerin et al such that male connectors are respectively coupled to two opposite sides of the female connector and having beads protruding from outer peripheral surfaces thereof; first locking members each having one surface with which the bead engages when the first locking member moves on a chamber portion when the male connector is coupled in a state in which the first locking members are temporarily coupled to the chamber portions formed at two opposite sides of the female connector; and second locking members with which upper portions of the beads engage when the second locking members are coupled to the female connector after the male connectors are coupled to the female connector, as taught by Fiala et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to connect more than one male pipe, and since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Kerin et al/Fiala et al fails to teach that the female connector has three or more ends, and the male connectors are respectively coupled to the ends.
However, Farrell teaches a conduit connector comprising a female connector for connecting a male connector, the female connector can have three ends, as shown in Fig. 6, in order to connect three male pipes.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kerin et al/Fiala et al such that the female connector has three or more ends, and the male connectors are respectively coupled to the ends, as taught by Farrell, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to permit connection to three male pipe in order to branch the fluid flow for a particular application.
As to claim 17, Kerin et al/Fiala et al/Farrell discloses the connector of claim 16, wherein the female connector is formed in a 'T' shape.
Examiner’s Note:
The italicized portions in the foregoing claims are functional recitations. These clauses, as well as other statements of intended use do not serve to patently distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference(s), as long as the structure of the cited reference(s) is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP 2111-2115.
See also MPEP 2114, which states:
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647;
Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531; and
[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525,1528.
Any one of the systems in the cited reference(s) is capable of being used in the same manner and for the intended or desired use as the claimed invention. Note that it is sufficient to show that said capability exists, which is the case for the cited reference(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou discloses a piping connector having male and female connectors and first and second locking members.
Jones discloses a piping connector having male and female connectors and first and second locking members.
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679