DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neuer et al (US 10,523,816).
Claims 1, 11 and 20, Neuer teaches a method, a communication and a non-transitory media comprising:
obtaining, by a communications server, contact information of a contact (obtaining information used to service the call, fig 6, col 23, In 25 to col 24, In 18)
establishing, by the communications server, a first connection between a contact and an agent terminal over a first communication channel (the "linking" of multiple communication channels that are used during a single interaction between a party and an agent. fig 1, 120, col 6, In 59-67)
establishing, by the communications server, a second connection between the contact and the agent terminal over a second communication channel (fig 1, 125, col 6, In 59-67);
sending a first communication to the contact from the agent terminal across the second communication channel (initiated by an agent, outbound communications, col 7, In 66- col 8, In 4 "Thus, in some instances, a session 120, 125 may constitute a single communication between an agent and a party and not necessarily a series of communications. In addition, a communication session 120, 125 may be initiated by either a party or an agent and may include a series of inbound communications, a series of outbound communications, or a combination of both.");
receiving, at the agent terminal, a second communication from the contact across the second communication channel (inbound communications, col 7, In 66- col 8, In 4 "Thus, in some instances, a session 120, 125 may constitute a single communication between an agent and a party and not necessarily a series of communications. In addition, a communication session 120, 125 may be initiated by either a party or an agent and may include a series of inbound communications, a series of outbound communications, or a combination of both.").
displaying, in a communication panel of a graphical user interface (GUI) of the agent terminal, the first communication with a first visual indicator and the second communication with a second visual indicator, wherein the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator indicate communication channels across which the first communication and the second communication are respectively transmitted. (displaying, in a communication panel of a graphical user interface (GUI) of the agent terminal, the first communication with a first visual indicator and the second communication with a second visual indicator (multiple sessions, col 36, In 66 to col 37, In 15).
Claims 2 and 12, Neuer further teaches “establishing the first connection comprises receiving, by the communications server from the agent terminal, a selection from an icon bar of the agent terminal, the icon bar comprising a portion of the GUI that is configured to switch between communication channels (col 38, In 4-24 "the session action toolbar section 1110 of the GUI 1000 displays icons for invoking functions for the currently selected communication session and associated assembly. For instance, the agent can select the text icon 1160 (shown on FIG. 10) to send a text message to a party. Here, the functions displayed in the session action toolbar section 1110 may be applicable to the specific channel of communication associated with the selected session and thus, the functions displayed in the session action toolbar section 1110 may vary based on the selected communication session. For example, looking briefly at FIG. 10, the session action toolbar session 1110 provides a listing of icons representing functions for controlling a voice call and performing common communication functions for voice calls such as, for example, scheduling a callback or checking voice mail. Other functions shown in FIG. 10 include administrative functions, such as logging out from the contact center system or generating a report, as well as initiating another session for the assembly associated with the voice call such as a chat, text, or email."), the communication channels including one or more of: (i) a voice communication channel, (ii) a video communication channel, (iii) an email communication channel, (iv) a text message communication channel, (v) a messenger application communication channel, (vi) a screen- sharing communication channel, or (vii) a co-browsing communication channel (text message, col 38, In 4-24 "With that said, the session action toolbar section 1110 of the GUI 1000 displays icons for invoking functions for the currently selected communication session and associated assembly. For instance, the agent can select the text icon 1160 (shown on FIG. 10) to send a text message to a party. Here, the functions displayed in the session action toolbar section 1110 may be applicable to the specific channel of communication associated with the selected session and thus, the functions displayed in the session action toolbar section 1110 may vary based on the selected communication session. For example, looking briefly at FIG. 10, the session action toolbar session 1110 provides a listing of icons representing functions for controlling a voice call and performing common communication functions for voice calls such as, for example, scheduling a callback or checking voice mail. Other functions shown in FIG. 10 include administrative functions, such as logging out from the contact center system or generating a report, as well as initiating another session for the assembly associated with the voice call such as a chat, text, or email.").
Claims 3 and 13, Neuer teaches, “ receiving, at the agent terminal, the second communication from the contact across the second communication channel, wherein either the first communication channel or the second communication channel is configured to receive communications including one or more of: (i) audio data, (ii) video data, (iii) image data, or (iv) text data (audio data, col 38, In 4-24 "With that said, the session action toolbar section 1110 of the GUI 1000 displays icons for invoking functions for the currently selected communication session and associated assembly. For instance, the agent can select the text icon 1160 (shown on FIG. 10) to send a text message to a party. Here, the functions displayed in the session action toolbar section 1110 may be applicable to the specific channel of communication associated with the selected session and thus, the functions displayed in the session action toolbar section 1110 may vary based on the selected communication session. For example, looking briefly at FIG. 10, the session action toolbar session 1110 provides a listing of icons representing functions for controlling a voice call and performing common communication functions for voice calls such as, for example, scheduling a callback or checking voice mail. Other functions shown in FIG. 10 include administrative functions, such as logging out from the contact center system or generating a report, as well as initiating another session for the assembly associated with the voice call such as a chat, text, or email.").
Claims 4 and 14, Neuer teaches, “clustering, by the communications server, one or more secondary communications of the second communication channel with one or more primary communications of the first communication channel into a communication channel cluster (sessions are shown together, col. 51, In 40-60 "Therefore, the CSIs 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 may show the two communication sessions associated with the suspended assembly in the sessions and assemblies identifier section 1140 of the GUI 1000 in descending order with a first CSI 1010 representing the voice call session that has been terminated (or is to be terminated) and the second CSI 1015 representing the chat session for the other assembly. When the new text session is reserved for the suspended assembly, the agent GUI module shifts (shuffles) the chat session down one to the third CSI 1020 and adds the new text session to the second CSI 1015 so that the CSIs 1010, 1015 for the voice call session and the reserved text session are shown together. Accordingly, the agent GUI module then expands the border for the suspended assembly in Operation 2020 around the two CSIs 1010, 1015 for the voice call session and the reserved text session to shown the two sessions are part of the same assembly. Finally, the agent GUI module sets the CSI for the reserved text session to "SUSPENDED/RESERVED" on the GUI 1000 to indicate to the agent that the assembly has been suspended and the text session has been reserved in Operation 2025."), wherein the first communication channel is a parent communication channel within the communication channel cluster and the second communication channel is a child communication channel within the communication channel cluster (first CSI 1010, second CSI 1015, col 51, In 40-60 "Therefore, the CSIs 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 may show the two communication sessions associated with the suspended assembly in the sessions and assemblies Identifier section 1140 of the GUI 1000 in descending order with a first CSI 1010 representing the voice call session that has been terminated (or is to be terminated) and the second CSI 1015 representing the chat session for the other assembly. When the new text session is reserved for the suspended assembly, the agent GUI module shifts (shuffles) the chat session down one to the third CSI 1020 and adds the new text session to the second CSI 1015 so that the CSIs 1010, 1015 for the voice call session and the reserved text session are shown together. Accordingly, the agent GUI module then expands the border for the suspended assembly in Operation 2020 around the two CSIs 1010, 1015 for the voice call session and the reserved text session to shown the two sessions are part of the same assembly. Finally, the agent GUI module sets the CSI for the reserved text session to "SUSPENDED/RESERVED" on the GUI 1000 to indicate to the agent that the assembly has been suspended and the text session has been reserved in Operation 2025.").
Claims 5 and 15, Neuer teaches, “the agent terminal is a first agent terminal, and the method further comprises: transferring the one or more primary communications of the first communication channel from the first agent terminal to a second agent terminal (col 44, In 60- col 45, In 18 "FIG. 15A illustrates the current session information section 1130 for a chat as identified by a chat icon 1525 in the upper left corner. Accordingly, information related to the assembly associated with the chat is shown in the assembly information section 1120. In addition to information on the party and contact center campaign involved in the assembly, this section 1120 indicates the assembly currently comprises just one session, the chat, as identified by an icon 1535. Again, functions 1530a-1530e are provided below the icon 1525 in the function list sub-section 1520 that allow the agent to invoke functions commonly used with this channel of communication. Here, the "Agent Scripts" function 1530a allows the agent to retrieve a library of agent scripts which may be used in a response or edited to form a response to send to the party involved in the assembly. For example, if a customer (party) asks a question about the company's return policy, the agent could select a pre-canned response using this function 1530a to send to the customer. The "Transfer Chat" function 1530b allows the agent to transfer the chat to another party such as, for example, another agent to assist or takeover the chat. The "End Chat" function 1530c allows the agent to indicate that the chat session has ended. The "Disposition Chat" function 1530d allows the agent to disposition the session as needed. Finally, the "Suspend" function 1530e allows the agent to suspend the assembly related to the chat."); identifying, by the communications server, that the first communication channel is the parent communication channel and that the second communication channel is the child communication channel (first CSI 1010, second CSI 1015, col 51, In 40-60 "Therefore, the CSIs 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 may show the two communication sessions associated with the suspended assembly in the sessions and assemblies identifier section 1140 of the GUI 1000 in descending order with a first CSI 1010 representing the voice call session that has been terminated (or is to be terminated) and the second CSI 1015 representing the chat session for the other assembly. When the new text session is reserved for the suspended assembly, the agent GUI module shifts (shuffles) the chat session down one to the third CSI 1020 and adds the new text session to the second CSI 1015 so that the CSIs 1010, 1015 for the voice call session and the reserved text session are shown together. Accordingly, the agent GUI module then expands the border for the suspended assembly in Operation 2020 around the two CSIs 1010, 1015 for the voice call session and the reserved text session to shown the two sessions are part of the same assembly. Finally, the agent GUI module sets the CSI for the reserved text session to "SUSPENDED/RESERVED" on the GUI 1000 to indicate to the agent that the assembly has been suspended and the text session has been reserved in Operation 2025."); and
“transferring the one or more secondary communications of the second communication channel from the first agent terminal to the second agent terminal (col 44, In 60- col 45, In 18 "FIG. 15A illustrates the current session information section 1130 for a chat as identified by a chat icon 1525 in the upper left corner. Accordingly, information related to the assembly associated with the chat is shown in the assembly information section 1120. In addition to information on the party and contact center campaign involved in the assembly, this section 1120 indicates the assembly currently comprises just one session, the chat, as Identified by an icon 1535. Again, functions 1530a-1530e are provided below the icon 1525 in the function list sub-section 1520 that allow the agent to invoke functions commonly used with this channel of communication. Here, the "Agent Scripts" function 1530a allows the agent to retrieve a library of agent scripts which may be used in a response or edited to form a response to send to the party involved in the assembly. For example, if a customer (party) asks a question about the company's return policy, the agent could select a pre-canned response using this function 1530a to send to the customer. The "Transfer Chat" function 1530b allows the agent to transfer the chat to another party such as, for example, another agent to assist or takeover the chat. The "End Chat" function 1530c allows the agent to indicate that the chat session has ended. The "Disposition Chat" function 1530d allows the agent to disposition the session as needed. Finally, the "Suspend" function 1530e allows the agent to suspend the assembly related to the chat.").
Claims 6 and 16, Neuer teaches, “the agent terminal is a first agent terminal, and the method further comprises: receiving, by the communications server from the first agent terminal, a transfer request to transfer the one or more secondary communications of the second communication channel from the first agent terminal to a second agent terminal (col 44, In 60- col 45, In 18 "FIG. 15A illustrates the current session information section 1130 for a chat as identified by a chat icon 1525 in the upper left corner. Accordingly, information related to the assembly associated with the chat is shown in the assembly information section 1120. In addition to information on the party and contact center campaign involved in the assembly, this section 1120 indicates the assembly currently comprises just one session, the chat, as identified by an icon 1535. Again, functions 1530a-1530e are provided below the icon 1525 in the function list sub-section 1520 that allow the agent to invoke functions commonly used with this channel of communication. Here, the "Agent Scripts" function 1530a allows the agent to retrieve a library of agent scripts which may be used in a response or edited to form a response to send to the party involved in the assembly. For example, if a customer (party) asks a question about the company's return policy, the agent could select a pre-canned response using this function 1530a to send to the customer. The "Transfer Chat" function 1530b allows the agent to transfer the chat to another party such as, for example, another agent to assist or takeover the chat. The "End Chat" function 1530c allows the agent to indicate that the chat session has ended. The "Disposition Chat" function 1530d allows the agent to disposition the session as needed. Finally, the "Suspend" function 1530e allows the agent to suspend the assembly related to the chat."); identifying, by the communications server, that the second communication channel is the child communication channel within the communication channel cluster and that the first communication channel is the parent communication channel within the communication channel cluster (first CSI 1010, second CSI 1015, col 51, In 40-60 "Therefore, the CSIs 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 may show the two communication sessions associated with the suspended assembly in the sessions and assemblies identifier section 1140 of the GUI 1000 in descending order with a first CSI 1010 representing the voice call session that has been terminated (or is to be terminated) and the second CSI 1015 representing the chat session for the other assembly. When the new text session is reserved for the suspended assembly, the agent GUI module shifts (shuffles) the chat session down one to the third CSI 1020 and adds the new text session to the second CSI 1015 so that the CSis 1010, 1015 for the voice call session and the reserved text session are shown together. Accordingly, the agent GUI module then expands the border for the suspended assembly in Operation 2020 around the two CSIs 1010, 1015 for the voice call session and the reserved text session to shown the two sessions are part of the same assembly. Finally, the agent GUI module sets the CSI for the reserved text session to "SUSPENDED/RESERVED" on the GUI 1000 to indicate to the agent that the assembly has been suspended and the text session has been reserved in Operation 2025."); and transferring the one or more secondary communications of the second communication channel from the first agent terminal to the second agent terminal without transferring the one or more primary communications of the first communication channel from the first agent terminal to the second agent terminal (remove the session from the CSI, col 49, In 52-60 "If the agent GUI module determines the associated assembly has not ended, then the agent GUI module simply sets the state for the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 for the session to indicate the session has ended in Operation 1815. In some embodiments, the agent GUI module may instead remove the session from the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 so that the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 is freed up to be used to represent another communication session the agent may be assigned."). --Continued on next page---
Claims 7 and 17, Neuer teaches, “receiving, at the GUI of the agent terminal, a selection indicating to apply a communication channel filter limiting communication to the first communication channel (col 49, In 52-60 "If the agent GUI module determines the associated assembly has not ended, then the agent GUI module simply sets the state for the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 for the session to indicate the session has ended in Operation 1815. In some embodiments, the agent GUI module may instead remove the session from the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 so that the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 is freed up to be used to represent another communication session the agent may be assigned."); removing, based on the communication channel filter, one or more communications transmitted across the second communication channel from a communication panel of the GUI (col 49, In 52-60 "If the agent GUI module determines the associated assembly has not ended, then the agent GUI module simply sets the state for the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 for the session to indicate the session has ended in Operation 1815. In some embodiments, the agent GUI module may instead remove the session from the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 so that the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 is freed up to be used to represent another communication session the agent may be assigned."); and displaying, in the communication panel of the GUI, one or more communications transmitted across the first communication channel (col 49, In 52-60 "If the agent GUI module determines the associated assembly has not ended, then the agent GUI module simply sets the state for the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 for the session to indicate the session has ended in Operation 1815. In some embodiments, the agent GUI module may instead remove the session from the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 so that the CSI 1010, 1015, 1020, 1025, 1030, 1035 is freed up to be used to represent another communication session the agent may be assigned."; col. 50, In 61- col 51, In 3 "Next, the agent GUI module displays information for the selected session on the current session information section 1130 of the GUI 1000 in Operation 1920. In addition, the agent GUI module displays the corresponding session action toolbar section 1110 and corresponding assembly information in the assembly information section 1120 for the selected communication session in Operation 1925. As a result, the GUI 1000 displayed on the agent's workstation now provides information for the selected communication session to the agent.").
Claims 8 and 18, Neuer teaches, “displaying, in a historical interaction panel of the GUI of the agent terminal, at least one of: (i) a prior communication between the contact and a second agent terminal, (ii) contact notes, or (iii) communication channel information corresponding to the first communication channel or the second communication channel (a prior communication between the contact and a second agent terminal, contact history sub-section 1325, col 43, In 60- col 44, In 14 "The main information sub-section 1310 of the current session information section 1130 provides information to the agent for this particular voice call. For instance, the voice call may be related to a campaign involving customer service in which parties dial a number to have their questions answered and the main information sub-section 1310 may provide scripting information for the agent to read to the parties. The contact history sub-section 1325 provides prior contact summary information to the agent. The account notes sub-section 1320 allows the agent to write and review notes related to this party. Finally, the customer information sub-section 1315 provides summary information regarding the party. Here, this sub-section 1315 provides contact information 1355 for the party and indicates what types of communications (channels of communication) can be used to interact with the party. For example, the contact information 1355 indicates the party Mike Johnson has a mobile phone and has provided his consent to receiving text messages. Accordingly, in various embodiments, the current sessions information section 1130 provides the agent with the appropriate resources, functions, and information he or she may need while servicing the voice call.").
Claim 9, Neuer teaches, automatically sending the first communication to the contact from the agent terminal across the second communication channel based on a predefined response list (col 37, In 43-61 "The current session information section 1130 of the GUI 1000 displays information pertinent to the communication session currently selected by the agent, although in some instances a communication session may be automatically selected for the agent based on an event such as, for example, an incoming voice call. The current session information section 1130 in various embodiments presents information related to the selected session and/or functions the agent can invoke that are associated with the selected session. For this reason, the structure of the current session information section 1130 in particular embodiments for a selected communication session is largely dependent on the channel of communication being used for the selected communication session. That is say, in particular embodiments, the current session information section 1130 of the GUI 1000 is structured in a first format if the selected communication session is a voice call, is structured in a second, different format if the selected communication session is a chat, and so forth.").
Claims 10 and 19, Neuer teaches, “the agent terminal is a first agent terminal, the contact is a first contact of a plurality of contacts communicating with the first agent terminal (fig 1, 120, col 6, In 59-67 "Thus, various embodiments of the invention involve using a communication architecture that facilitates the "linking" of multiple communication channels that are used during a single interaction between a party and an agent. One such architecture is shown in FIG. 1 and comprises of a hierarchical structure that includes: a communication assembly 110; one or more communication sessions 120, 125; one or more communication channels 130, 135; and one or more communication instances 140, 141, 142, 145, 146."), determining, by the communications server, a cumulative active communication channel value corresponding to the first agent terminal (fig 6, col 23,In 25- col 24, In 18 "Turning now to FIG. 6, this figure illustrates data stored in the data architecture shown in FIG. 5. The same example as discussed in FIG. 4 is used here again. Specifically, the AGENTS structure 310 includes an entry for the agent Dawn Hardy (AGENT_ID="54321" 611) and shows that she has a maximum number of four sessions 601 allowed at any given time when one of the sessions is a voice call and a maximum number of five sessions 602 allowed at any given time when none of the sessions is a voice call. Accordingly, the CHANNELS_FOR_AGENTS structure 530 shows agent Dawn Hardy can have a maximum number of two 631 text sessions (CHANNEL_TYPE="C136" 621 and CHANNEL_INFO="Text" 622) at any given time. Further, the contact center has a contact (e.g., a mobile phone number) to send party Mark Smith (PARTY_ID="12345" 601) text messages (CHANNEL_TYPE="C136" 621) found in the CONTACTS structure 540. Here, this particular contact has a telephone number of "312-867-5309" 641 as the contact information and is active 642. Furthermore, party Mark Smith has provided his consent 643 to be contacted via text messages to the number "312-867 -5309" 641. Therefore, if the contact center wants to send Mark Smith a text message, the contact center checks the CONTACTS structure 540 and determines the center has a contact number of "312-867-5309" 641 that is active 642 for Mark Smith 601 to send him text messages 621 and also has his consent 643 to send messages 621 to this number 641. Accordingly, the contact center sends Mark Smith a text message to the number and receives a text message back from him. The contact center needs to then determine who can handle the text message received from Mark Smith and inquiries about agent Dawn Hardy. Dawn Hardy is currently handling a voice call and a text session. Here, looking at the AGENTS structure 310, the maximum number of sessions Dawn Hardy 611 is authorized to handle at any given time when one of the sessions is a voice call is four 601. Therefore, the contact center determines Dawn Hardy has the capacity to handle the text message from Mark Smith Therefore, Dawn Hardy has the required skill and proficiency to handle the text message from Mark Smith. Accordingly, the contact center forwards the text message received from Mark Smith to agent Dawn Hardy to handle. determining, by the communications server, a first capacity of the first agent terminal to receive communications across the first communication channel based on the cumulative active communication channel value (fig 6, contact center determines Dawn Hardy has the capacity to handle the text message from Mark Smith, col 23,In 25- col 24, In 18 "Turning now to FIG. 6, this figure illustrates data stored in the data architecture shown in FIG. 5. The same example as discussed in FIG. 4 is used here again. Specifically, the AGENTS structure 310 includes an entry for the agent Dawn Hardy (AGENT_ID="54321" 611) and shows that she has a maximum number of four sessions 601 allowed at any given time when one of the sessions is a voice call and a maximum number of five sessions 602 allowed at any given time when none of the sessions is a voice call. Accordingly, the CHANNELS_FOR_AGENTS structure 530 shows agent Dawn Hardy can have a maximum number of two 631 text sessions (CHANNEL_TYPE="C136" 621 and CHANNEL_INFO="Text" 622) at any given time. Further, the contact center has a contact (e.g., a mobile phone number) to send party Mark Smith (PARTY_ID="12345" 601) text messages (CHANNEL_TYPE="C136"621) found in the CONTACTS structure 540. Here, this particular contact has a telephone number of "312-867-5309" 64" as the contact Information and is active 642. Furthermore, party Mark Smith has provided his consent 643 to be contacted via text messages to the number "312-867-5309" 641. Therefore, if the contact center wants to send Mark Smith a text message, the contact center checks the CONTACTS structure 540 and determines the center has a contact number of "312-867-5309" 641 that is active 642 for Mark Smith 601 to send him text messages 621 and also has his consent 643 to send messages 621 to this number 641. Accordingly, the contact center sends Mark Smith a text message to the number and receives a text message back from him. The contact center needs to then determine who can handle the text message received from Mark Smith and inquiries about agent Dawn Hardy. Dawn Hardy is currently handling a voice call and a text session. Here, looking at the AGENTS structure 310, the maximum number of sessions Dawn Hardy 611 is authorized to handle at any given time when one of the sessions is a voice call is four 601. Therefore, the contact center determines Dawn Hardy has the capacity to handle the text message from Mark Smith Therefore, Dawn Hardy has the required skill and proficiency to handle the text message from Mark Smith. Accordingly, the contact center forwards the text message received from Mark Smith to agent Dawn Hardy to handle."); comparing, by the communications server, the first capacity to a capacity threshold (fig 6, contact center determines Dawn Hardy has the capacity to handle the text message from Mark Smith, col 23,In 25- col 24, In 18 "Turning now to FIG. 6, this figure illustrates data stored in the data architecture shown in FIG. 5. The same example as discussed in FIG. 4 is used here again. Specifically, the AGENTS structure 310 includes an entry for the agent Dawn Hardy (AGENT_ID="54321" 611) and shows that she has a maximum number of four sessions 601 allowed at any given time when one of the sessions is a voice call and a maximum number of five sessions 602 allowed at any given time when none of the sessions is a voice call. Accordingly, the CHANNELS_FOR_AGENTS structure 530 shows agent Dawn Hardy can have a maximum number of two 631 text sessions (CHANNEL_TYPE="C136" 621 and CHANNEL_INFO="Text" 622) at any given time. Further, the contact center has a contact (e.g., a mobile phone number) to send party Mark Smith (PARTY_ID="12345" 601) text messages (CHANNEL_TYPE="C136" 621) found in the CONTACTS structure 540. Here, this particular contact has a telephone number of "312-867-5309" 641 as the contact information and is active 642. Furthermore, party Mark Smith has provided his consent 643 to be contacted via text messages to the number "312-867-5309" 641. Therefore, if the contact center wants to send Mark Smith a text message, the contact center checks the CONTACTS structure 540 and determines the center has a contact number of "312-867-5309" 641 that is active 642 for Mark Smith 601 to send him text messages 621 and also has his consent 643 to send messages 621 to this number 641. Accordingly, the contact center sends Mark Smith a text message to the number and receives a text message back from him. The contact center needs to then determine who can handle the text message received from Mark Smith and inquiries about agent Dawn Hardy. Dawn Hardy is currently handling a voice call and a text session. Here, looking at the AGENTS structure 310, the maximum number of sessions Dawn Hardy 611 is authorized to handle at any given time when one of the sessions is a voice call is four 601. Therefore, the contact center determines Dawn Hardy has the capacity to handle the text message from Mark Smith Therefore, Dawn Hardy has the required skill and proficiency to handle the text message from Mark Smith. Accordingly, the contact center forwards the text message received from Mark Smith to agent Dawn Hardy to handle."); and routing, by the communications server, a new communication from a new contact to a second agent terminal based on the first capacity exceeding the capacity threshold (fig 6, col 23,In 25- col 24, In 18 "Turning now to FIG. 6, this figure illustrates data stored in the data architecture shown in FIG. 5. The same example as discussed in FIG. 4 is used here again. Specifically, the AGENTS structure 310 includes an entry for the agent Dawn Hardy (AGENT_ID="54321" 611) and shows that she has a maximum number of four sessions 601 allowed at any given time when one of the sessions is a voice call and a maximum number of five sessions 602 allowed at any given time when none of the sessions is a voice call. Accordingly, the CHANNELS_FOR_AGENTS structure 530 shows agent Dawn Hardy can have a maximum number of two 631 text sessions (CHANNEL_TYPE="C136"621 and CHANNEL_INFO="Text" 622) at any given time. Further, the contact center has a contact (e.g., a mobile phone number) to send party Mark Smith (PARTY_ID="12345" 601) text messages (CHANNEL_TYPE="C136" 621) found in the CONTACTS structure 540. Here, this particular contact has a telephone number of "312-867- 5309" 641 as the contact information and is active 642. Furthermore, party Mark Smith has provided his consent 643 to be contacted via text messages to the number "312-867-5309" 641. Therefore, if the contact center wants to send Mark Smith a text message, the contact center checks the CONTACTS structure 540 and determines the center has a contact number of "312-867-5309" 641 that is active 642 for Mark Smith 601 to send him text messages 621 and also has his consent 643 to send messages 621 to this number 641. Accordingly, the contact center sends Mark Smith a text message to the number and receives a text message back from him. The contact center needs to then determine who can handle the text message received from Mark Smith and inquiries about agent Dawn Hardy. Dawn Hardy is currently handling a voice call and a text session. Here, looking at the AGENTS structure 310, the maximum number of sessions Dawn Hardy 611 is authorized to handle at any given time when one of the sessions is a voice call is four 601. Therefore, the contact center determines Dawn Hardy has the capacity to handle the text message from Mark Smith Therefore, Dawn Hardy has the required skill and proficiency to handle the text message from Mark Smith. Accordingly, the contact center forwards the text message received from Mark Smith to agent Dawn Hardy to handle.").
Inquiry
/PHUNG-HOANG J NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691