DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I(A), encompassing claims 1, 2 and 13, in the reply filed on 9/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. It is unclear whether the present drawings illustrate the features of claims 2 and 13 because the following features are not indicated with a reference character in the present drawings:
reinforcing elements (see at least claim 2)
reinforcing ribs that completely fill a U-shaped cross-section of the elongated hollow body of the handle (see at least claim 2)
support element (see at least claim 13)
Therefore, the features of claims 2 and 13 should be shown in the present drawings or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). If the features of claims 2 and 13 are shown in the drawings, then the reinforcing elements and support element should be indicated with reference characters to make clear that these features are illustrated (see MPEP 608.01(o), explaining that in mechanical cases the meaning of every term used in any of the claims should be identified in the descriptive portion of the specification by reference to the drawing, designating the part or parts therein to which the term applies). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2:
it is unclear how “the transverse direction with respect to the handle” should be interpreted; the Merriam-Webster dictionary defines transverse as “acting, lying, or being across”, thus it appears that any direction across the handle could reasonably be considered transverse
similarly, as discussed above, it is unclear how the term “longitudinal” should be interpreted; Examiner recommends amending claim 2 to recite that the longitudinal rib extends perpendicularly to the reinforcing ribs
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
• “reinforcing element” as recited in at least claim 2 (first, “element” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “reinforcing”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “reinforcing” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the element)
• “support element” as recited in at least claim 13 (first, “element” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “support”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “support” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the element)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, it is unclear what is intended by the claim limitation “reinforcing ribs having a height that is significantly less than a height of the handle”. First, it is not clear how a height of the handle or the reinforcing ribs is defined. Second, it is unclear what constitutes “significantly”. Must the height of the reinforcing ribs be less than 50% the height of the handle? Less than 25%? How close in height can the structures be before the reinforcing ribs no longer have a height “significantly” less than the handle?
Further regarding claim 2, it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “reinforcing ribs that completely fill a U-shaped cross-section of the elongated hollow body of the handle”. Specifically, it is not clear how the reinforcing ribs could completely fill the cross section; if the reinforcing ribs were to completely fill the cross section, it appears that the handle could no longer comprise a hollow body. Therefore, this limitation is unclear.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, claim limitations “reinforcing elements” and “support element” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Regarding the limitation to the reinforcing elements, it is unclear if this term is intended to represent the reinforcing ribs or some other structure. Based on pg. 2, lines 12-27 of the instant specification, it appears that the reinforcing elements may be a variety of differently shaped structures within the handle that provide increased stability. In other words, it seems that the reinforcing ribs may be a type of reinforcing element. Regarding the limitation to the support element, the written description states that “the razor head consists of a support element made of injection-molded thermoplastic to which razor blades are attached”, however it is unclear if the support element is intended to comprise the entire razor head, or only a specific portion of the razor head (see pg. 7, lines 6-8 of instant specification). Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Psimadas (US 20170173809) in view of Jungnickel (US 20220143854).
Regarding claim 1, Psimadas discloses a shaving device (shaving razor 1; see fig. 1), comprising: a handle (razor handle 2; see fig. 1); and a razor head adapted to be attached to the handle (shaving cartridge 3 can be connected to razor handle 2; see paragraph [0050] and fig. 1) and to carry at least one razor blade (shaving cartridge 3 includes one or several blades 3A; see paragraph [0050] and fig. 1), wherein the handle is a molded part having an elongated hollow body open on one side (elongated body 4 of razor handle 2 can be molded from a thermoplastic material and also includes cavity 20; see paragraph [0064] and figs. 2B, 4).
Psimadas does not explicitly disclose wherein the handle is a molded fiber part.
Jungnickel discloses a handle for a personal care implement wherein at least a portion of the handle is formed from a fiber-reinforced material (see paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Psimadas in view of Jungnickel to make the handle from a molded fiber part. Jungnickel discloses a handle for a personal care implement wherein at least a portion of the handle is formed from a fiber-reinforced material (see paragraph [0033]). A variety of different fibers can be used to achieve various effects; for example, wood fibers may be used to improve flexural strength, tensile modulus, and tensile strength (see paragraph [0037]). Therefore, in order to improve various mechanical properties of the handle, such a modification would be obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Psimadas as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Psimadas as modified further discloses wherein the handle further includes at least one of the following: reinforcing elements arranged in the elongated hollow body that forms the handle (elongated body 4 includes a plurality of ribs 17; see paragraph [0095] and fig. 2B); a plurality of reinforcing ribs spaced apart from one another and traversing the elongated hollow body of the handle in a transverse direction with respect to the handle (elongated body 4 includes a plurality of ribs 17 which are spaced apart and extend in a transverse direction; see paragraph [0095] and fig. 2B); reinforcing ribs that completely fill a U-shaped cross-section of the elongated hollow body of the handle (elongated body 4 includes a plurality of ribs 17 which cover substantially the entire surface of lower face 4B; see paragraph [0095] and fig. 2B); reinforcing ribs having a height that is significantly less than a height of the handle (ribs 17 have a height (measured in a direction along median plane P1) which is significantly less than the height of razor handle 2; see fig. 2B); at least one longitudinal rib in the elongated hollow body of the handle (core portion 17A forms a longitudinal rib extending perpendicular to ribs 17; see paragraph [0095] and fig. 2B).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Psimadas (US 20170173809) in view of Jungnickel (US 20220143854), and further in view of Chatzigrigoriou (US 20210095116).
Regarding claim 13, Psimadas as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Psimadas as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the razor head includes a support element made of a biodegradable thermoplastic.
Chatzigrigoriou discloses an element of a razor made from a biodegradable thermoplastic (razor handles may be formed from a mixture of biodegradable thermoplastic polymers; see paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Psimadas in view of Chatzigrigoriou to make the support element out of a biodegradable thermoplastic. Chatzigrigoriou discloses a razor handle which is made from a biodegradable thermoplastic polymer. Chatzigrigoriou further discloses that using a biodegradable thermoplastic maintains good mechanical properties such as impact resistance, while also reducing plastic consumption; thus, a more sustainable option for producing disposable razors is provided (see paragraphs [0005-0006, 0034]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this teaching could apply to other elements of a razor that are typically formed from plastic. As a result, applying the teachings of Chatzigrigoriou to the device of Psimadas as modified would yield a razor head formed out of a biodegradable thermoplastic. Therefore, in order to provide a way to sustainably produce disposable razors while maintaining suitable mechanical properties, such a modification would be obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US D364707 to Shurtleff, drawn to a razor; US 20150224657 to Bolcar, drawn to an extender and method for holding a razor; US 20110017387 to Murgida, drawn to the manufacture of pivoting resilient skin contacting members; and US 20180257249 to Wattam, drawn to a razor handle.
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724