DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ES-2251452-T3 to Fernandez (“Fernandez”).
Regarding Claim 1, Fernandez (English Translation “ET” Pages 1-8, invention described on pages 3-8, Figs 1) discloses a wheel for a railway vehicle (Fig 1, ET Page 3, Para 3 beginning “The object of the present invention…”), comprising: a cylindrical boss (E “hub”); a rim (A) arranged on (Fig 1) an outer circumferential side of the boss; and a web (C) that connects (Fig 1) the boss and the rim, wherein when the wheel is viewed in longitudinal section, the boss includes a contour extending from the web to an end face in an axial direction of the boss (Fig 1), the contour includes (contour portion between D and S, having three sections, first section with Radius R4, second section with R8 with thickness at T=28mm; thus the first and second radius of curvatures R8*=R8-28=42.66-28-14.66mm, and R4=50mm; described Page 6 Para 3 beginning “Certain references…”, with values described Page 7, Para 6 beginning “It is a wheel made of…”, Fig 1 [where R4 corresponds to second and R8* corresponds to the first radius of curvatures of the instant application]): a first curve (portion of concave surface between points T and S, having a radius of curvature : R8*=14.66 mm, as described above) that is continuous with the web and is curved concavely toward an inward side of the boss (Fig 1), and that has a first radius of curvature (R8*=14.66 mm); and a second curve (portion of concave surface closest to E, between D and T having radius of curvature R4 “radius of joint curvature”, as described above) that is arranged on the end face side of the boss relative to the first curve, and is curved concavely toward the inward side of the boss, and that has a second radius of curvature which is greater than the first radius of curvature (R4=43.66; R8*=14.66, thus R4 > R8*) and a path length of the second curve is greater than a path length of the first curve (since R4, R8* extend form same point, the corresponding path length of R4 begin larger, has a greater path length, Fig 1) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 1, Fernandez discloses the wheel according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the second radius of curvature is 108 m or more and less than 700 mm (specification of the instant application in paragraph 38, describes the dimension for the radius of curvature for second curve, being within various ranges, thus indicating the specific limits of claim 2 to not be a criticality) Specifically, Fernandez discloses (in an particular example/application Page 7, Para 4 beginning “By way of particular application…’, and Para 7, as described in Paragraph 6 of this document) the second radius of curvature is 42.66 mm.
The specific dimensions of the wheel, including the radius of curvature of the portions of the web is/are not an inventive concept, but rather a design choice made from many possible dimensional choices made as a part of routine design optimization giving proper consideration of use, design loads, material and manufacturing requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a different set of dimensions for a different application/example for the wheel having a larger diameter and higher load rating, including diameter, web thickness, and radii of curvature along the curved contour, of the railway wheel of Fernandez such that the second radius of curvature is 108 mm or more and less than 700 mm, while maintaining the relative relationships thereof with respect to the first radius of curvature , with the motivation to ensure wheel was sufficiently designed to meet the design parameters just described. This combination/modification being done with a reasonable expectation of success and having equivalent function in the combination as in the separately configurations.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon listed on PTO-892) is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: disclose wheels for railway vehicles having a rim, a boss having a contour including at least one concave curve having a radius of curvature and path length.
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615