Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/0225 and 08/14/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 215297723 U) in view of Sambongi (US 20140327763 A1, published November 6, 2014), hereinafter referred to as Zhang and Sambongi, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches optical lens, comprising:
a light-transmitting substrate, wherein the light-transmitting substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Fig. 1-3; see pg. 6, para. 3-4 – “The optical element 100 is a basic component unit in the optical system, which is a component for imaging or matching imaging in the camera module, which is generally made of light-transmitting optical material. wherein the lens base layer 110 [light transmitting substrate] has a first surface 111 and a second surface 112 opposite to the first surface 111.”); and
a microlens array, wherein the microlens array is arranged on the first surface (see pg. 7, para. 5 – “Referring to FIG. 2, a plurality of micro-lens 121 on the first surface 111 on the annular array arrangement, to form a plurality of concentric circles 122 with the center of the first surface 111 as the center of the center of the center of the micro-lens 121.”),
the microlens array comprises a first microlens assembly and a plurality of second microlens assembly arrays, each of the second microlens assembly arrays comprises a plurality of second microlens assemblies arranged around the first microlens assembly in an array, and the plurality of second microlens assembly arrays are sequentially arranged along a radial direction of an annular array track of the plurality of second microlens assemblies (Fig. 2, where a ring of microlens 121 on a concentric circle 122 is a microlens assembly; see pg. 7, para. 5 – “Referring to FIG. 2, a plurality of micro-lens 121 on the first surface 111 on the annular array arrangement, to form a plurality of concentric circles 122 with the center of the first surface 111 as the center of the center of the center of the micro-lens 121.”).
Zhang teaches a plurality of microlens assemblies (rings of microlens), but does not explicitly teach where the microlens assemblies includes a plurality of second microlenses arranged around a first microlenses.
Whereas, Sambongi, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches
wherein both the first microlens assembly and the second microlens assembly arrays comprise at least one first microlens and a second microlens array, and the second microlens array comprises a plurality of second microlenses arranged around the at least one first microlens in an array (see para. 0046 – “As shown in FIG. 2, the microlens array 9 is formed by alternately arraying, in diameter directions, two types of microlenses 9a and 9b [first and second microlens arrays] having different diameters.”); and
wherein both the first microlens and the second microlens are convex spheres protruding from the first surface in a direction away from the second surface (Fig. 12, microlens 9a and 9b are convex shaped).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the microlenses in the microlens assemblies, as disclosed in Zhang, by having the microlenses as a plurality of second microlenses arranged around a first microlens, as disclosed in Sambongi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to acquire an image signal that can realize both wide-measurement-range distance measurement and high-resolution distance measurement if the spatial resolution is maintained, as taught in Sambongi (see para. 0028).
Furthermore, regarding claim 2, Zhang further teaches wherein two adjacent second microlens assembly arrays are arranged at intervals and along the radial direction of the annular array track of the plurality of second microlens assemblies, and the first microlens assembly and the adjacent second microlens assembly array are arranged at intervals and along the radial direction of the annular array track of the plurality of second microlens assemblies (Fig. 2, where a ring of microlens 121 on a concentric circle 122 is a microlens assembly; see pg. 7, para. 5 – “Referring to FIG. 2, a plurality of micro-lens 121 on the first surface 111 on the annular array arrangement, to form a plurality of concentric circles 122 with the center of the first surface 111 as the center of the center of the center of the micro-lens 121.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 3, Zhang further teaches wherein a plurality of second microlens assemblies in each second microlens assembly array are also arranged at intervals and along the annular array track of the plurality of second microlens assemblies (Fig. 2, where a ring of microlens 121 on a concentric circle 122 is a microlens assembly; see pg. 7, para. 5 – “Referring to FIG. 2, a plurality of micro-lens 121 on the first surface 111 on the annular array arrangement, to form a plurality of concentric circles 122 with the center of the first surface 111 as the center of the center of the center of the micro-lens 121.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 4, Sambongi further teaches wherein the second microlens array and the at least one first microlens are arranged at intervals and along the radial direction of the annular array track of the plurality of second microlenses (see para. 0046 – “As shown in FIG. 2, the microlens array 9 is formed by alternately arraying, in diameter directions, two types of microlenses 9a and 9b [first and second microlens arrays] having different diameters.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 5, Sambongi further teaches wherein the plurality of second microlenses in the second microlens array are also arranged at intervals and
Furthermore, regarding claim 7, Sambongi further teaches wherein there are a plurality of the first microlenses in the at least one first microlens, the plurality of first microlenses are arranged in a row, and an arrangement direction of the plurality of first microlenses in the second microlens assembly is consistent with an extension direction of the annular array track of the second microlens assembly array in which the second microlens assembly is located (see para. 0046 – “As shown in FIG. 2, the microlens array 9 is formed by alternately arraying, in diameter directions, two types of microlenses 9a and 9b [first and second microlens arrays] having different diameters.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 8, Zhang further teaches wherein in both the first microlens assembly and the second microlens assemblies, the plurality of first microlenses are arranged at intervals (Fig. 2, where a ring of microlens 121 on a concentric circle 122 is a microlens assembly; see pg. 7, para. 5 – “Referring to FIG. 2, a plurality of micro-lens 121 on the first surface 111 on the annular array arrangement, to form a plurality of concentric circles 122 with the center of the first surface 111 as the center of the center of the center of the micro-lens 121.”).
The motivation for claims 4-5 and 7 was shown previously in claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Sambongi, as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Cai et al. (CN 111095283 A, published May 1, 2020), hereinafter referred to as Cai.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Sambongi teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 5 above.
Zhang in view of Sambongi teaches a first microlens around a plurality of second microlenses (Sambongi: Fig. 2, first microlens 9a around a plurality of second microlenses 9b), but does not explicitly teach where a quantity of the second microlenses is six.
Whereas, Cai, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein a quantity of the first microlenses in the at least one first microlens is one, and a quantity of the second microlenses in the second microlens array is six (see pg. 13, para. 6-7 – “as shown in FIG. 4 to FIG. 6, the fingerprint detection device 30: Microlens array 310, comprising a plurality of circular microlenses, each of which is a circular micro-lens and six circular micro-lens of the plurality of circular microlenses in adjacent, and the connecting line of the centre of the six circular microlens is regular hexagon;”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the number of second microlenses, as disclosed in Zhang in view of Sambongi, by having a quantity of the second microlenses is six, as disclosed in Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve a plurality of circular micro-lens area ratio in the lenticular array, increase the intensity of the light signal received by the micro-lens array, so as to improve quality and fingerprint identification performance of the fingerprint image, as taught in Cai (see pg. 3, para. 2).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Sambongi, as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Chapman et al. (US 20190348456 A1, published November 14, 2019), hereinafter referred to as Chapman.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Sambongi teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 8 above.
Zhang in view of Sambongi teaches a first microlens around a plurality of second microlenses (Sambongi: Fig. 2, first microlens 9a around a plurality of second microlenses 9b), but does not explicitly teach a quantity of the first microlenses is two, and a quantity of the second microlenses in the second microlens array is twelve.
Whereas, Chapman, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein in both the first microlens assembly and the second microlens assembly, a quantity of the first microlenses is two, and a quantity of the second microlenses in the second microlens array is twelve (see para. 0056 – “In addition to a toroidal microlens 206, each microlens group covering a given pixel in FIG. 10 includes four additional microlenses (226-1, 226-2, 226-3, and 226-4)…In general, each microlens pixel group may include any desired number of additional microlenses (e.g., one, two, three, four, more than four, etc.) in any desired arrangement. Each additional microlens may have any desired shape.” So the configuration of the microlens can be to where the number of first microlenses is two, and the number of second microlenses is twelve).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the number of first microlenses and second microlenses, as disclosed in Zhang in view of Sambongi, by having a quantity of the first microlenses is two, and a quantity of the second microlenses in the second microlens array is twelve, as disclose in Chapman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to focus light on the corners of the pixels and reduce cross-talk (see para. 0056) to provide improved imaging systems with high dynamic range functionalities, as taught in Chapman (see para. 0004).
Furthermore, regarding claim 10, Chapman further teaches wherein in both the first microlens assembly and the second microlens assemblies, a quantity of the first microlenses is two, and a quantity of the second microlenses in the second microlens array is six (see para. 0056 – “In addition to a toroidal microlens 206, each microlens group covering a given pixel in FIG. 10 includes four additional microlenses (226-1, 226-2, 226-3, and 226-4)…In general, each microlens pixel group may include any desired number of additional microlenses (e.g., one, two, three, four, more than four, etc.) in any desired arrangement. Each additional microlens may have any desired shape.” So the configuration of the microlens can be to where the number of first microlenses is two, and the number of second microlenses is six).
The motivation for claim 10 was shown previously in claim 9.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Sambongi, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Tatsukoshi et al. (JP 2012148907 A, published August 9, 2012), hereinafter referred to as Tatsukoshi.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Sambongi teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 11 above, and
Zhang further teaches a curvature of an end that is of the first microlens and that is away from the first surface is 0 mm-1 (so the curvature of the microlens is flat at a point; Fig. 1, surface of micro-lens 120 has a 0 curvature (flat) at a surface away from the first surface of lens base layer (substrate) 110).
Zhang in view of Sambongi teaches the microlenses, and microlenses inherently has a diameter, curvature, and height, but does not explicitly teach specifics of the diameter, curvature and height of the microlenses.
Whereas, Tatsukoshi, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches
a diameter of an occupied region of the first microlens on the first surface is greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.15 mm (Fig. 1; see pg. 2, para. 7 – “The concave holes 2a are arranged in a grid pattern, one of which has a circular opening corresponding to the size of one microlens to be molded.”; see pg. 3, para. 3 – “The size of the opening of the concave hole 2a is 30 to 1000 μm in diameter…” 30 to 1000 μm = 0.03 to 1 mm, which is within the range of 0.1 to 0.15 mm),
a curvature of an end that is of the first microlens and that is connected to the first surface is greater than or equal to 8 mm and less than or equal to 10 mm-1 (see pg. 4, para. 8 – “…a microlens having …a radius of curvature of 0.01 mm to 10 mm is used.” so diameter is 0.02 to 20 mm, which is within the range of 8 to 10 mm), and
a height of the first microlens protruding from the first surface is greater than or equal to 0.0252 mm and less than or equal to 0.034 mm (see pg. 4, para. 8 – “…a microlens having a height of 10 to 100 μm …” 10 to 100 microns = 0.01 to 0.1 mm, which is within the range of 0.0252 to 0.034 mm).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the microlenses, as disclosed in Zhang in view of Sambongi, by having specifics of the diameter, curvature, and height of the microlenses, as disclosed in Tatsukoshi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve shape accuracy to thereby enhance yield, as taught in Tatsukoshi (see Abstract).
Furthermore, regarding claim 12, Zhang further teaches a curvature of an end that is of the given second microlens and that is away from the first surface is 0 mm-1 (so the curvature of the microlens is flat at a point; Fig. 1, surface of micro-lens 120 has a 0 curvature (flat) at a surface away from the first surface of lens base layer (substrate) 110), and
Tatsukoshi further teaches a diameter of an occupied region of a given second microlens on the first surface is greater than or equal to 0.05 mm and less than or equal to 0.1 mm, (Fig. 1; see pg. 2, para. 7 – “The concave holes 2a are arranged in a grid pattern, one of which has a circular opening corresponding to the size of one microlens to be molded.”; see pg. 3, para. 3 – “The size of the opening of the concave hole 2a is 30 to 1000 μm in diameter…” 30 to 1000 μm = 0.03 to 1 mm, which is within the range of 0.05 to 0.1 mm),
a curvature of an end that is of the given second microlens and that is connected to the first surface is greater than or equal to 5 mm1 and less than or equal to 40 mm1 (see pg. 4, para. 8 – “…a microlens having …a radius of curvature of 0.01 mm to 10 mm is used.” so diameter is 0.02 to 20 mm, which is within the range of 5 to 40 mm), and
a height of the given second microlens protruding from the first surface is greater than or equal to 0.01 mm and less than or equal to 0.0175 mm (see pg. 4, para. 8 – “…a microlens having a height of 10 to 100 μm …” 10 to 100 microns = 0.01 to 0.1 mm, which is within the range of 0.01 to 0.0175 mm).
Furthermore, regarding claim 13, Tatsukoshi further teaches wherein the microlens array is integrally formed with the light-transmitting substrate, and material of the microlens array and the light-transmitting substrate comprises at least one of glass, sapphire, polyamide, polycarbonate, polymeric methyl methacrylate, thermoplastic polyurethanes, [[and]] or transparent nylon (see pg. 2, para. 7 – “A microlens array mold 1 shown in FIG. 1 includes an upper mold 2 having a plurality of concave holes 2a for molding a lens on the lower surface, and a flat lower mold 3 on which a glass material 50 is placed on the upper surface.”).
The motivation for claim 13 was shown previously in claim 11.
Claims 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 207650835 U, published July 24, 2018), hereinafter referred to as Li, in view of Zhang and Sambongi.
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches a photoplethysmography, comprising:
a cover plate, wherein the cover plate comprises a first light transmissive part and a second light transmissive part (see pg. 6, para. 10 – “Referring to FIG. 1, the display panel 1 includes a transparent cover plate 11, an organic luminescent layer on the transparent cover plate 11 is 12 [transmissive parts],…”);
a light emitter, wherein the light emitter is located on an inner side of the cover plate, and a light emitting surface of the light emitter faces the first light transmissive part (Fig. 1 and 5, light source array 15 (light emitter) below cover plate 11, light source array 15 (light emitter) facing light transmissive part (light emitting layer 12); see pg. 6, para. 10 – “…light source array 15…”);
a light receiver, wherein the light receiver is located on the inner side of the cover plate, and a light incident surface of the light receiver faces the second light transmissive part (Fig. 1 and 5, light detector array 14 (light receiver) below cover plate 11, light detector array 14 (light receiver) facing light transmissive part (light emitting layer 12); see pg. 6, para. 10 – “…light detector array 14…”); and
an optical lens, wherein the optical lens is disposed on a surface that is of the first light transmissive part and that faces the light emitter, a first surface of the optical lens faces the light emitter, and a second surface faces the first light transmissive part (Fig. 1, and 5 microlens array 13 (optical lens) on light transmissive part (light emitting layer 12), microlens array 13 (optical lens) facing light source array 15 (light emitter); see pg. 6, para. 10 – “…microlens array 13…”).
Li teaches a microlens array, but does not explicitly teach where the microlens are in an annular array.
Whereas, Zhang, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the optical lens comprises:
a light-transmitting substrate, wherein the light-transmitting substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Fig. 1-3; see pg. 6, para. 3-4 – “The optical element 100 is a basic component unit in the optical system, which is a component for imaging or matching imaging in the camera module, which is generally made of light-transmitting optical material. wherein the lens base layer 110 [light transmitting substrate] has a first surface 111 and a second surface 112 opposite to the first surface 111.”); and
a microlens array, wherein the microlens array is arranged on the first surface (see pg. 7, para. 5 – “Referring to FIG. 2, a plurality of micro-lens 121 on the first surface 111 on the annular array arrangement, to form a plurality of concentric circles 122 with the center of the first surface 111 as the center of the center of the center of the micro-lens 121.”),
the microlens array comprises a first microlens assembly and a plurality of second microlens assembly arrays, each of the second microlens assembly arrays comprises a plurality of second microlens assemblies arranged around the first microlens assembly in an array, and the plurality of second microlens assembly arrays are sequentially arranged along a radial direction of an annular array track of the plurality of second microlens assemblies (Fig. 2, where a ring of microlens 121 on a concentric circle 122 is a microlens assembly; see pg. 7, para. 5 – “Referring to FIG. 2, a plurality of micro-lens 121 on the first surface 111 on the annular array arrangement, to form a plurality of concentric circles 122 with the center of the first surface 111 as the center of the center of the center of the micro-lens 121.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a microlens array, as disclosed in Li, by having the microlens in an annular array, as disclosed in Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have the micro-lens distributed more densely and uniformly on the first surface to further improve the imaging definition, as taught in Zhang (see pg. 3, para. 2).
Li in view of Zhang teaches a plurality of microlens assemblies (rings of microlens), but does not explicitly teach where the microlens assemblies includes a plurality of second microlenses arranged around a first microlenses.
Whereas, Sambongi, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches
wherein both the first microlens assembly and the second microlens assembly arrays comprise at least one first microlens and a second microlens array, and the second microlens array comprises a plurality of second microlenses arranged around the at least one first microlens in an array (see para. 0046 – “As shown in FIG. 2, the microlens array 9 is formed by alternately arraying, in diameter directions, two types of microlenses 9a and 9b [first and second microlens arrays] having different diameters.”); and
wherein both the first microlens and the second microlens are convex spheres protruding from the first surface in a direction away from the second surface (Fig. 12, microlens 9a and 9b are convex shaped).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the microlenses in the microlens assemblies, as disclosed in Li in view of Zhang, by having the microlenses as a plurality of second microlenses arranged around a first microlens, as disclosed in Sambongi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to acquire an image signal that can realize both wide-measurement-range distance measurement and high-resolution distance measurement if the spatial resolution is maintained, as taught in Sambongi (see para. 0028).
Furthermore, regarding claim 15, Li further teaches wherein an array center of the microlens array of the optical lens is aligned with the light emitting surface of the light emitter. (Fig. 1 and 5, microlens array 13 aligned with light source array 15 (light emitter)).
Furthermore, regarding claim 16, Li further teaches wherein the optical lens is integrally formed with the first light transmissive part (see pg. 7, para. 3 – “In one implementation of the disclosed embodiments, microlens array 13 [optical lens] can be directly integrated on the organic light emitting layer 12 [light transmissive part]…”).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches an electronic device (see pg. 10, para. 4 – “…the present disclosure provides a mobile terminal, as shown in FIG. 6,..”), comprising:
a display (Fig. 6, display panel 1; see pg. 10, para. 4 – “…the mobile terminal comprising a body 2 and a body 2 on the display panel 1…”);
a casing (Fig. 6, body 2 as casing; see pg. 10, para. 4 – “…the mobile terminal comprising a body 2…”); and
the photoplethysmograph according to claim 14 (see claim 14 above);
wherein the display is connected to the casing, the casing comprises a back cover, and the back cover is opposite to the display (Fig. 6, where a mobile terminal body 2 (casing) inherently has a back cover that is opposite of display panel 1; see pg. 10, para. 4 – “the present disclosure provides a mobile terminal, as shown in FIG. 6, the mobile terminal comprising a body 2 and a body 2 on the display panel 1,…”); and
wherein the cover plate of the photoplethysmograph is disposed on the back cover, and the light emitter and the light receiver of the photoplethysmograph are located in the casing (Fig 1 and 5-6; see pg. 7, para. 4 – “the display panel 1 for fingerprint recognition. When the user unlocking the display panel 1 or pay any such as fingerprint identification, a user pressing a finger at any position of the display panel 1. the light source array 15, for sending the non-parallel light… photo-detector array 14 used for fingerprint imaging according to the finger after reflected by parallel.”; see pg. 10, para. 4 – “the mobile terminal can be a mobile phone terminal, tablet computer or intelligent wearing equipment has any one display panel 1 of the mobile terminal.” So the light emitter (light source array 15) and light receiver (light detector array 14) are in the casing (body 2), and cover plate 11 (where finger is placed) is in display panel 1. So it would be inherent to have the cover plate 11 in the body 2 in order to not impede the view of the display with the user’s finger).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Zhang and Sambongi, as applied to claim 14 above, and in further view of Wang et al. (CN 114545648 A, published May 27, 2022), hereinafter referred to as Wang.
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Zhang and Sambongi teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 14 above.
Li in view of Zhang and Sambongi teaches a cover plate, but does not explicitly teach where the cover plate comprises a light shielding part.
Whereas, Wang, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the cover plate further comprises a light shielding part, the light shielding part is opaque to light, and the light shielding part is located between the first light transmissive part and the second light transmissive part (Fig. 6; see pg. 10, para. 4 – “…light shielding layer 202 is propped against the cover plate 30, so, as shown in FIG. 6,…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover plate, as disclosed in Li in view of Zhang and Sambongi, by having the cover plate comprises a light shielding part, as disclosed in Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent light leakage, as taught in Wang (see pg. 10, para. 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lu et al. (US 20220373387 A1, published November 22, 2022) discloses an optical sensing device includes a substrate, a sensing element layer, a light-shielding layer, and a light absorbing layer.
Perwass et al. (US 20120050562 A1, published March 1, 2012) discloses the microlenses of type 1 are concentrated in the center and the microlenses of types 2 from a ring around the center, and each group of microlenses of the same type allows for the generation of a resultant image with a high spatial resolution for a particular part of the virtual image space (Fig. 27, configuration 1230).
Goodwin (CN 215416157 U, published January 4, 2022) discloses annular multi-point micro lens defocusing lens, two surfaces of the lens are aspheric surface, the outer aspheric central circular area is provided with a laminated layer, the overlapped layer is composed of spherical micro-lens and rod-shaped micro-lens arranged at intervals (Fig. 1).
/N.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3798