DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (Korean Applications KR-10-2023-0093234 and KR-10-2022-003224 the earliest of which was filed August 18th, 2022).
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 11 – 13, and 15 – 16 to address formalities, 112, and 101 Rejections.
The pending claims are 1 – 16 [Page 8 lines 1 – 7].
Applicant amended the Drawings and Specification to address Examiner’s Drawing Objections [Page 8 lines 13 – 22].
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s Claim Objections [Page 8 lines 23 – 26]. The Examiner reconsiders the Claim Objections in view of the amended claims.
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s 112(b) Rejections [Page 8 line 27 – Page 9 line 12]. The Examiner reconsiders the 112(b) Rejections in view of the amended claims.
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s 101 Rejection [Page 9 lines 13 – 20]. The Examiner reconsiders the 101 Rejection in view of the amended claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended claim 16 to change the statutory category of the claim to address Examiner’s 102 Product-by-Process Rejection and thus the interpretation of the claim. Thus, the arguments regarding the 102 Rejection are moot [Page 9 line 21 – Page 11 line 5].
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 12 line 12 – Page 13 line 3, filed May 19th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 12, and 16 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhao, et al. (WO 2022/132230 A1 referred to as “Zhao” throughout).
Note: The Examiner does not include Figures and their captions in the line numbering provided.
First, the Applicant recites the references against the claims [Page 11 lines 6 – 11].
Second, the Applicant recites the disputed limitation allegedly not taught by the cited references [Page 11 lines 12 – 15].
Third, the Applicant argues the clipping features of the non-linear filters of Lim does not render obvious the disputed features [Page 11 line 16 – Page 12 line 8]. While the argument itself is not necessarily persuasive, the Examiner observes the filter being cross component considers luma components, but not in the details of the disputed limitation.
Fourth, the Applicant persuasive argues Zhang does not render obvious features of the disputed limitation [Page 12 line 12 – Page 13 line 3]. While the Examiner notes the cited sections included luma values for the CC-ALF and non-linear flags for non-linear implementation; the Examiner in the sole interest to expedite prosecution cites a new reference against the claim rendering obvious the disputed feature.
Fifth, the Applicant contends the claims are allowable for at least the reasons given [Page 13 lines 4 – 13]. The Examiner notes the claims will be rejected in further view of Zhao.
The indicated allowability of claim 11 [Page 8 lines 8 – 12] is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Zhao, et al. (WO 2022/132230 A1 referred to as “Zhao” throughout). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 18th, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (mailed February 19th, 2026). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, et al. (US PG PUB 2022/0248006 A1 referred to as “Lim” throughout) [Cited in Applicant’s February 18th, 2025 IDS], and further in view of Zhang, et al. (US PG PUB 2023/0396773 A1 referred to as “Zhang” throughout) [Cited in Applicant’s February 18th, 2025 IDS] and Zhao (WO2022/132230 A1 referred to as “Zhao” throughout).
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
obtaining a reconstructed frame that is an output of a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 281 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks) and Paragraphs 431 – 434)), 464 – 469 (applying SAO before ALF to samples)];
generating an adaptive loop filter output (ALF output) by inputting the reconstructed frame into an adaptive loop filter (ALF), the ALF output including a luma ALF output and a chroma ALF output [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used for blocks / picture / frame base implementations), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALFs); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 ];
generating corrected values of a chroma component by inputting the luma ALF output into a nonlinear cross-component ALF (nonlinear CC-ALF) [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALF for luma / chroma components); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components) where the filter of Zhang may be modified as suggested in Zhao Figures 23 – 26 as well as Paragraphs 201 – 208 in which luma reconstructed samples are used in the filtering to generate chroma offset / correction values (e.g. Paragraph 203) with other permutations for the filters in Figure 27 (subfigures included) and Paragraphs 209 – 218]; and
generating an enhanced chroma ALF output by summing the corrected values of the chroma component and the chroma ALF output [Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components and summing junction for correction values)].
The motivation to combine Zhang with Lim is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video encoding / decoding [Zhang Paragraphs 2 – 3] in order to improve adaptive loop filtering by incorporating corrections on the chroma components by incorporating cross component filtering techniques [Zhang Paragraphs 6 – 7 and 10 – 13 where the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Zhao with Zhang and Lim is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video coding [Zhao Paragraphs 2 and 4] in order to improve coding efficiency considering filtering processes used [Zhao Paragraphs 150 – 152 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
decoding, from a bitstream, a nonlinear CC-ALF flag that indicates whether the nonlinear CC-ALF is enabled or disabled [Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well]; and
checking the nonlinear CC-ALF flag, wherein, when the nonlinear CC-ALF flag is true, proceeding with generating the corrected values of the chroma components and generating the enhanced chroma ALF output [See claim 1 regarding the “generating the corrected values” limitation claim and regarding the flag signaling see Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 160 – 163 and 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 33 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 3, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
when the nonlinear CC-ALF flag is false generating the corrected values of the chroma component by inputting the luma ALF output into a linear cross-component ALF (linear CC-ALF) [Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 160 – 163 and 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim Figures 70 – 80 as well as Paragraphs 294 – 300 (linear / non-linear filter types for selection for the CC ALF) and 909 – 914 (signaling linear / nonlinear ALF filter usage to combine / modify by Zhang in view of at least Paragraph 165 (ALF techniques used for CC-ALF))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 4, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
wherein the nonlinear CC-ALF is applied at a level common to a linear CC-ALF and the ALF, the level being a level of sequence, picture, sub-picture, slice, tile, and/or coding tree unit (CTU) [Zhang Paragraphs 322 – 324, 334 – 338, and 613 (signaling of ALF / CCALF information at SPS / PPS / picture / slice level (combinable with Lim Figure 56 as well as Paragraphs 750 – 760) or CU / LCU level (includes CTU rendering obvious the coding unit claimed)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 5, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
generating the corrected values of the chroma component [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALF for luma / chroma components); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components)],
generating nonlinear modeled values of luma samples by using a nonlinear model with respect to the luma samples within a target region to filter [Lim Figures 8 – 12 as well as Paragraphs 334 – 340 (Wiener Hopf models / block classification for modeled values / filter coefficient selection to combine with at least Zhang Figure 4A (filter implementation) as well as Paragraphs 74 – 84 (implementation of ALF including non-linear); Zhao Figures 23 – 26 as well as Paragraphs 201 – 208 in which luma reconstructed samples are used in the filtering to generate chroma offset / correction values (e.g. Paragraph 203) with other permutations for the filters in Figure 27 (subfigures included) and Paragraphs 209 – 218]; and
generating the corrected values based on a product between the nonlinear modeled values and filter coefficients of the nonlinear CC-ALF [Lim Figures 8 – 12 as well as Paragraphs 334 – 340 (Wiener Hopf models / block classification for modeled values / filter coefficient selection to combine with at least Zhang Figure 4A (filter implementation to generate corrected value) as well as Paragraphs 74 – 84 (implementation of ALF including non-linear), 166 – 190 and 445 – 450 (correction of samples but CC-ALF filters)); Zhao Paragraphs 184 – 188 (filter weights / coefficients and sample values / reconstructed values used)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 6, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
a polynomial model, a hyperbolic model, a model based on a Fourier transform, or an exponential function model [Lim Figures 8 – 12 as well as Paragraphs 298 – 304 (Wiener Hopf to minimize noise rendering obvious the polynomial model, Fourier transform based models at least), 334 – 340 (Wiener Hopf models / block classification for modeled values / filter coefficient selection to combine with at least Zhang Figure 4A (filter implementation to generate corrected value) as well as Paragraphs 74 – 84 (implementation of ALF including non-linear), 166 – 190 and 445 – 450 (correction of samples but CC-ALF filters)); Zhao Paragraphs 206 – 209 (relationships between luma and chroma components)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 7, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
wherein the nonlinear CC-ALF has a diamond-shaped luma region of size 3x4 as the target region to filter [Zhang Figure 5 as well as Paragraphs 143 – 153 (3 x 4 diamond shaped filter for CC-ALF)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 8, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
wherein the nonlinear CC-ALF when applied to 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 chroma formats, is not applied to samples in a third row and a fourth row above a coding tree unit (CTU) boundary [Lim Figures 7, 19 – 22, and 28 – 31 (two rows outside CTU / given block used in 4:4:4 and 4:2:2 sampling formats in which subsampling is considered) as well as Paragraphs 764 – 779 (formats signaled and use of neighboring samples); Zhang Paragraphs 253 – 264 and 529 – 536 (two samples used above the block / CTU for processing for 4:2:0 / 4:2:2 formats)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 9, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
wherein the nonlinear CC-ALF has filter coefficients that are either transmitted in a form of an adaptation parameter set (APS) from a video encoding device or are predefined values [Lim Figures 58, 71 – 78 and 90 (APS level signaling of ALF parameters) as well as Paragraphs 678 (fixed filter for the ALF), 758 – 763 (APS level filter parameters signaled) and 771 – 795 (parameters for APS signaling); Zhang Paragraphs 92 – 103 (Table included – signaling filter information in the APS and using predefined values (index coefficients)), 119 – 127 (APD level ALF filter signaling), 298 – 318 and 560 – 575 (CC ALF information signaled at the APS level); Zhao Figures 16 – 18 as well as Paragraphs 165 – 170 (transmitting filter coefficients)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 10, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
decoding coefficients of the nonlinear model from a bitstream [Lim Figures 2 (see at least reference character 210 and 260) and 56 – 61 as well as Paragraphs 772 – 780 (decoding ALF / filter parameters in the APS) and 862 – 878 (coefficient information decoded from the bitstream / syntax elements associated with the ALF coefficients or CC-ALF in Zhang Figure 4A as well as Paragraphs 130 – 142); Zhao Figures 16 – 18 as well as Paragraphs 165 – 170 (transmitting filter coefficients and 215 – 220)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 11, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
wherein generating the corrected values of the chroma component comprises [See claim 1 for citations]: adaptively using the nonlinear CC-ALF and a linear CC-ALF, but changing the nonlinear CC-ALF to the linear CC-ALF by setting to zero coefficients of the nonlinear model that are not related to the linear CC-ALF [Zhao Figures 16 – 19 and 23 – 26 as well as Paragraphs 185 – 188 (zeroing nonlinear filter coefficients for a linear filtering effecting / behavior based on differences / changes of pixels to simplify signaling filters to be linear or close to linear) to combine with 204 – 213 (CCSO / SO- NLM techniques) rendering obvious changing non-linear coefficients to linear coefficients based on differences for linear behavior].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 12, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
obtaining a reconstructed frame that is an output of a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 281 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks) and Paragraphs 431 – 434)), 464 – 469 (applying SAO before ALF to samples)];
generating an adaptive loop filter output (ALF output) by inputting the reconstructed frame into an adaptive loop filter (ALF), the ALF output including a luma ALF output and a chroma ALF output [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used for blocks / picture / frame base implementations), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALFs); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components)];
generating corrected values of a chroma component by inputting the luma ALF output into a nonlinear cross-component ALF (nonlinear CC-ALF) [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALF for luma / chroma components); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components) where the filter of Zhang may be modified as suggested in Zhao Figures 23 – 26 as well as Paragraphs 201 – 208 in which luma reconstructed samples are used in the filtering to generate chroma offset / correction values (e.g. Paragraph 203) with other permutations for the filters in Figure 27 (subfigures included) and Paragraphs 209 – 218]; and
generating a first enhanced chroma ALF output by summing the corrected values of the chroma component and the chroma ALF output [Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components and summing junction for correction values)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao as the filter information processing for encoding / decoding as similarly described / obvious inverses as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art in at least Lim Paragraph 652, 678, and 706.
Regarding claim 13, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
generating corrected values of the chroma component by inputting the luma ALF output into a linear cross-component ALF (linear CC-ALF) [Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 160 – 163 and 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim Figures 70 – 80 as well as Paragraphs 294 – 300 (linear / non-linear filter types for selection for the CC ALF) and 909 – 914 (signaling linear / nonlinear ALF filter usage to combine / modify by Zhang in view of at least Paragraph 165 (ALF techniques used for CC-ALF)); Zhao Figures 23 – 26 as well as Paragraphs 201 – 208 in which luma reconstructed samples are used in the filtering to generate chroma offset / correction values (e.g. Paragraph 203) with other permutations for the filters in Figure 27 (subfigures included) and Paragraphs 209 – 218]; and
generating a second enhanced chroma ALF output by summing the corrected values of the chroma component and the chroma ALF output [Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components and summing junction for correction values)].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 14, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
determining a CC-ALF flag that indicates whether or not the linear CC-ALF is applied, based on the chroma ALF output, the first enhanced chroma ALF output, and the second enhanced chroma ALF output [Zhang Figures 1 (see the entropy encoder at least), 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well]; and
encoding the CC-ALF flag [Zhang Figures 1 (see the entropy encoder at least), 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well and syntax from the previous limitation].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 15, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
checking the CC-ALF flag, wherein, when the CC-ALF flag is true, determining a nonlinear CC-ALF flag based on the first enhanced chroma ALF output and the second enhanced chroma ALF output [Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 160 – 163 and 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim Figures 70 – 80 as well as Paragraphs 294 – 300 (linear / non-linear filter types for selection for the CC ALF) and 909 – 914 (signaling linear / nonlinear ALF filter usage to combine / modify by Zhang in view of at least Paragraph 165 (ALF techniques used for CC-ALF))]; and
encoding the nonlinear CC-ALF flag [Zhang Figures 1 (see the entropy encoder at least), 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well encode syntax from the previous limitation].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 16, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video. Zhao teaches using luma ALF filter / reconstructed luma values for the non-linear CC ALF for chroma components and zeroing coefficient considerations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations with additional non-linear relationships for chroma filtering using reconstructed luma components as taught by Zhao. The combination teaches
generating a bitstream by a video encoding method [Lim Figure 1 (see output of reference character 150 as a bitstream from the encoder of reference character 100) as well as Paragraphs 159 – 170 (bitstream generation in an encoder)]; and
transmitting the bitstream [Lim Figures 1 – 2 as well as Paragraphs 160 and 184 – 185 (transmission of the encoded bitstream)],
wherein the video encoding method comprises:
obtaining the reconstructed frame that is an output of a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 281 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks) and Paragraphs 431 – 434)), 464 – 469 (applying SAO before ALF to samples)];
generating an adaptive loop filter output (ALF output) by inputting the reconstructed frame into an adaptive loop filter (ALF), the ALF output including a luma ALF output and a chroma ALF output [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used for blocks / picture / frame base implementations), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALFs); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 ];
generating corrected values of a chroma component by inputting the luma ALF output into a nonlinear cross-component ALF (nonlinear CC-ALF) [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALF for luma / chroma components); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components) where the filter of Zhang may be modified as suggested in Zhao Figures 23 – 26 as well as Paragraphs 201 – 208 in which luma reconstructed samples are used in the filtering to generate chroma offset / correction values (e.g. Paragraph 203) with other permutations for the filters in Figure 27 (subfigures included) and Paragraphs 209 – 218]; and
generating an enhanced chroma ALF output by summing the corrected values of the chroma component and the chroma ALF output [Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components and summing junction for correction values)].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Lim, Zhang, and Zhao as similar motivations for the methods to transmit the encoded bitstream of claim 12 exist.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Paluri, et al. (US PG PUB 2022/0132114 A1 referred to as “Paluri” throughout) teaches binary signaling of the ALF filter usage (Table 8) and coefficient derivation where coefficient clipping is considered generation for a non-linear filter.
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487