DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (Korean Applications KR-10-2023-0093234 and KR-10-2022-003224 the earliest of which was filed August 18th, 2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 18th, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (this Office Action). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “702” (on the “CC_ALF Cb” block) and “564” (on the “SAO Cr” block) in Figure 7.
The drawings are objected to because:
In Figure 1, reference character “130” was described as an adder, but a multiplication symbol is shown when an addition symbol is needed.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites the limitation “checking the CC_ALF flag”, however the claim is in an encoder claim which generates the flag (claim 14) and thus the flag is not checked in an encoder (but is in a decoder) and thus raises Indefinite metes and bounds issues to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the preambles are not ordinarily given patentable weight thus the “of filtering a reconstructed frame by a video decoding device” would ordinarily not be afforded patentable weight and is not in the art Rejection of the claims (being treated as a method claim). However, the claim is Indefinite as to the “device” performing the method being intended to be a method claim or an apparatus claim of a device being functionally claimed.
Regarding claim 12, the preambles are not ordinarily given patentable weight thus the “of filtering a reconstructed frame by a video encoding device” would ordinarily not be afforded patentable weight and is not in the art Rejection of the claims (being treated as a method claim). However, the claim is Indefinite as to the “device” performing the method being intended to be a method claim or an apparatus claim of a device being functionally claimed.
Regarding claims 2 – 11 and 13 – 15, the dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of their respective independent claims and thus are similarly Rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Regarding claim 16, the claimed “computer-readable recording medium” includes transitory embodiments which is non-statutory subject matter. In view of Specification Paragraphs 10 and 191, the “recording medium” is only described as “non-transitory” as an exemplary embodiment and thus transitory media embodiments are encompasses by the claims as the claimed subject matter is not explicitly limited to only non-transitory embodiments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim, et al. (US PG PUB 2022/0248006 A1 referred to as “Lim” throughout) [Cited in Applicant’s February 18th, 2025 IDS].
Regarding claim 16, Lim teaches a computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream generated by a video encoding method [Lim Figure 1 (see at east reference character 100) as well as Paragraph 160 (encoded bitstream stored on computer readable media), 727, 1171, and 1316 (computer readable media storing a bitstream that was encoded or decoded where there is no structural differences in the bitstream see MPEP2113 I)], the video encoding method comprises [The method steps do not carry patentable weight as the claim is a product-by-process claim in which only the bitstream (product) generated / created is given weight (see MPEP2113 I and II)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 10 and 12 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, et al. (US PG PUB 2022/0248006 A1 referred to as “Lim” throughout) [Cited in Applicant’s February 18th, 2025 IDS], and further in view of Zhang, et al. (US PG PUB 2023/0396773 A1 referred to as “Zhang” throughout) [Cited in Applicant’s February 18th, 2025 IDS].
Regarding claim 16, while the method steps are not afforded patentable weight (product by process claim), in the sole interest to expedite prosecution the claim when afforded patentable weight is similarly rejected to claim 12 as the encoding method claimed.
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
obtaining the reconstructed frame that is an output of a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 281 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks) and Paragraphs 431 – 434)), 464 – 469 (applying SAO before ALF to samples)];
generating an adaptive loop filter output (ALF output) by inputting the reconstructed frame into an adaptive loop filter (ALF), the ALF output including a luma ALF output and a chroma ALF output [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used for blocks / picture / frame base implementations), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALFs); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 ];
generating corrected values of a chroma component by inputting the luma ALF output into a nonlinear cross-component ALF (nonlinear CC-ALF) [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALF for luma / chroma components); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components)]; and
generating an enhanced chroma ALF output by summing the corrected values of the chroma component and the chroma ALF output [Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components and summing junction for correction values)].
The motivation to combine Zhang with Lim is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video encoding / decoding [Zhang Paragraphs 2 – 3] in order to improve adaptive loop filtering by incorporating corrections on the chroma components by incorporating cross component filtering techniques [Zhang Paragraphs 6 – 7 and 10 – 13 where the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
decoding, from a bitstream, a nonlinear CC-ALF flag that indicates whether the nonlinear CC-ALF is enabled or disabled [Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well]; and
checking the nonlinear CC-ALF flag, wherein, when the nonlinear CC-ALF flag is true, proceeding with generating the corrected values of the chroma components and generating the enhanced chroma ALF output [See claim 1 regarding the “generating the corrected values” limitation claim and regarding the flag signaling see Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 160 – 163 and 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 33 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 3, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
when the nonlinear CC-ALF flag is false generating the corrected values of the chroma component by inputting the luma ALF output into a linear cross-component ALF (linear CC-ALF) [Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 160 – 163 and 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim Figures 70 – 80 as well as Paragraphs 294 – 300 (linear / non-linear filter types for selection for the CC ALF) and 909 – 914 (signaling linear / nonlinear ALF filter usage to combine / modify by Zhang in view of at least Paragraph 165 (ALF techniques used for CC-ALF))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 4, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
wherein the nonlinear CC-ALF is applied at a level common to a linear CC-ALF and the ALF, the level being a level of sequence, picture, sub-picture, slice, tile, and/or coding tree unit (CTU) [Zhang Paragraphs 322 – 324, 334 – 338, and 613 (signaling of ALF / CCALF information at SPS / PPS / picture / slice level (combinable with Lim Figure 56 as well as Paragraphs 750 – 760) or CU / LCU level (includes CTU rendering obvious the coding unit claimed)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 5, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
generating the corrected values of the chroma component [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALF for luma / chroma components); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components)],
generating nonlinear modeled values of the luma samples by using a nonlinear model with respect to luma samples within a target region to filter [Lim Figures 8 – 12 as well as Paragraphs 334 – 340 (Wiener Hopf models / block classification for modeled values / filter coefficient selection to combine with at least Zhang Figure 4A (filter implementation) as well as Paragraphs 74 – 84 (implementation of ALF including non-linear)]; and
generating the corrected values based on a product between the nonlinear modeled values and filter coefficients of the nonlinear CC-ALF [Lim Figures 8 – 12 as well as Paragraphs 334 – 340 (Wiener Hopf models / block classification for modeled values / filter coefficient selection to combine with at least Zhang Figure 4A (filter implementation to generate corrected value) as well as Paragraphs 74 – 84 (implementation of ALF including non-linear), 166 – 190 and 445 – 450 (correction of samples but CC-ALF filters))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 6, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
a polynomial model, a hyperbolic model, a model based on a Fourier transform, or an exponential function model [Lim Figures 8 – 12 as well as Paragraphs 298 – 304 (Wiener Hopf to minimize noise rendering obvious the polynomial model, Fourier transform based models at least), 334 – 340 (Wiener Hopf models / block classification for modeled values / filter coefficient selection to combine with at least Zhang Figure 4A (filter implementation to generate corrected value) as well as Paragraphs 74 – 84 (implementation of ALF including non-linear), 166 – 190 and 445 – 450 (correction of samples but CC-ALF filters))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 7, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
wherein the nonlinear CC-ALF has a diamond-shaped luma region of size 3x4 as the target region to filter [Zhang Figure 5 as well as Paragraphs 143 – 153 (3 x 4 diamond shaped filter for CC-ALF)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 8, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
wherein the nonlinear CC-ALF when applied to 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 chroma formats, is not applied to samples in a third row and a fourth row above a coding tree unit (CTU) boundary [Lim Figures 7, 19 – 22, and 28 – 31 (two rows outside CTU / given block used in 4:4:4 and 4:2:2 sampling formats in which subsampling is considered) as well as Paragraphs 764 – 779 (formats signaled and use of neighboring samples); Zhang Paragraphs 253 – 264 and 529 – 536 (two samples used above the block / CTU for processing for 4:2:0 / 4:2:2 formats)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 9, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
wherein the nonlinear CC-ALF has filter coefficients that are either transmitted in a form of an adaptation parameter set (APS) from a video encoding device or are predefined values [Lim Figures 58, 71 – 78 and 90 (APS level signaling of ALF parameters) as well as Paragraphs 678 (fixed filter for the ALF), 758 – 763 (APS level filter parameters signaled) and 771 – 795 (parameters for APS signaling); Zhang Paragraphs 92 – 103 (Table included – signaling filter information in the APS and using predefined values (index coefficients)), 119 – 127 (APD level ALF filter signaling), 298 – 318 and 560 – 575 (CC ALF information signaled at the APS level)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 10, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
decoding coefficients of the nonlinear model from a bitstream [Lim Figures 2 (see at least reference character 210 and 260) and 56 – 61 as well as Paragraphs 772 – 780 (decoding ALF / filter parameters in the APS) and 862 – 878 (coefficient information decoded from the bitstream / syntax elements associated with the ALF coefficients or CC-ALF in Zhang Figure 4A as well as Paragraphs 130 – 142)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 12, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
obtaining the reconstructed frame that is an output of a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 281 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks) and Paragraphs 431 – 434)), 464 – 469 (applying SAO before ALF to samples)];
generating an adaptive loop filter output (ALF output) by inputting the reconstructed frame into an adaptive loop filter (ALF), the ALF output including a luma ALF output and a chroma ALF output [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used for blocks / picture / frame base implementations), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALFs); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components)];
generating corrected values of a chroma component by inputting the luma ALF output into a nonlinear cross-component ALF (nonlinear CC-ALF) [Lim Figure 2 (see at least reference character 260 (filter unit / bank)) as well as Paragraphs 192 and 279 – 283 (filter bank includes those illustrated by Zhang Figure 1 and 10 (DF, SAO, and ALF blocks)) and Paragraphs 431 – 434, 801 – 807 (luma / chroma ALF signaled / used), and 1174 – 1189 (non-linear ALF for luma / chroma components); Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components)]; and
generating a first enhanced chroma ALF output by summing the corrected values of the chroma component and the chroma ALF output [Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components and summing junction for correction values)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang as the filter information processing for encoding / decoding as similarly described / obvious inverses as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art in at least Lim Paragraph 652, 678, and 706.
Regarding claim 13, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
generating corrected values of a chroma component by inputting the luma ALF output into a linear cross-component ALF (linear CC-ALF) [Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 160 – 163 and 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim Figures 70 – 80 as well as Paragraphs 294 – 300 (linear / non-linear filter types for selection for the CC ALF) and 909 – 914 (signaling linear / nonlinear ALF filter usage to combine / modify by Zhang in view of at least Paragraph 165 (ALF techniques used for CC-ALF))]; and
generating a second enhanced chroma ALF output by summing the corrected values of the chroma component and the chroma ALF output [Zhang Figure 4A (CC-ALF structure with luma / chroma components processed) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 174 (ALF with cross component filter for chroma components and summing junction for correction values)].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 14, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
determining a CC-ALF flag that indicates whether or not the linear CC-ALF is applied, based on the chroma ALF output, the first enhanced chroma ALF output, and the second enhanced chroma ALF output [Zhang Figures 1 (see the entropy encoder at least), 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well]; and
encoding the CC-ALF flag [Zhang Figures 1 (see the entropy encoder at least), 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well and syntax from the previous limitation].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Regarding claim 15, Lim teaches using multiple syntax elements / flags to signal the use of non-linear filters and various techniques for filtering non-linear information and application of non-linear filters. Zhang teaches filter banks with various filters to use and various cross component filtering techniques and filtering shapes to use processing video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim’s use of non-linear filters with the illustrated filter banks (also described by Lim) taught by Zhang including other non-linear cross component filtering considerations. The combination teaches
checking the CC-ALF flag, wherein, when the CC-ALF flag is true, determining a nonlinear CC-ALF flag based on the first enhanced chroma ALF output and the second enhanced chroma ALF output [Zhang Figures 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 160 – 163 and 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim Figures 70 – 80 as well as Paragraphs 294 – 300 (linear / non-linear filter types for selection for the CC ALF) and 909 – 914 (signaling linear / nonlinear ALF filter usage to combine / modify by Zhang in view of at least Paragraph 165 (ALF techniques used for CC-ALF))]; and
encoding the nonlinear CC-ALF flag [Zhang Figures 1 (see the entropy encoder at least), 4 – 5 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 168 – 174 (CC ALF enabling flags for each luma / chroma component) and Paragraph 186 (see code segment from Pages 13 – 14 as well in the alf_data()) and 197 – 205 and 339 – 356 (component CC ALF signaling flags) where the CC-ALF may incorporate non-linear techniques taught by Lim as well encode syntax from the previous limitation].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Lim and Zhang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 11, Lim Paragraphs 875 – 885 teaches zeroing coefficients for encoding into a Golub-exponential coding for the entropy coding / decoding step, but does not relate the run on 0s in the binarization scheme to the use of linear / non-linear CC-ALF. Thus, claim 11 is not fairly rendered obvious in the prior art and the claim when taken as a whole recites allowable subject matter should the claim be incorporated entirely into its respective independent claim including intervening dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Paluri, et al. (US PG PUB 2022/0132114 A1 referred to as “Paluri” throughout) teaches binary signaling of the ALF filter usage (Table 8) and coefficient derivation where coefficient clipping is considered generation for a non-linear filter.
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487