DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 10, 12, 28, 29 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Christensen et al. (US 2020/0381183).
Regarding claim 1, Christensen discloses a thin film photovoltaic device (67) configured for receiving and converting a target wavelength range of light to electricity (inherent property of photovoltaic devices), comprising:
a flexible substrate (61) configured for roll-to-roll deposition processes ([0032]);
a bottom electrode (62) disposed over the substrate (see Figure 1);
a lower carrier transport layer (63) disposed over the bottom electrode (see Figure 1);
a perovskite absorber layer (64d) disposed over the lower carrier transport layer (see Figure 1), wherein the perovskite absorber layer has a physical thickness of 900 nm or less (0.5 micron thick; [0056]) and is characterized by a bandgap energy (BE) (inherent property);
an upper carrier transport layer (65) disposed over the perovskite absorber layer (see Figure 1); and
a top electrode (66) disposed over the upper carrier transport layer (see Figure 1),
wherein at least one of the top and bottom electrodes comprises a transparent conducting layer which is transparent to the target wavelength range of light ([0030]), and
wherein the perovskite absorber layer has an optical path length that is greater than or equal to 8 times the physical thickness of the perovskite absorber layer for incident radiation that is i) within the target wavelength range, and ii) within an incident energy range of BE to (BE +0.52 eV).
While Christensen does not expressly disclose the perovskite absorber layer has an optical path length that is greater than or equal to 8 times the physical thickness of the perovskite absorber layer for incident radiation that is i) within the target wavelength range, and ii) within an incident energy range of BE to (BE +0.52 eV), it is noted that once a thin film photovoltaic device is disclosed to have the above-recited structure, and therefore is substantially the same as the thin film photovoltaic device in claim 1, it will, inherently, display the recited properties. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 3, Christensen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the perovskite material to be ABX3 ([0016]) and the lower carrier transport layer and the upper carrier transport layer can be selected from conductive polymers and metal oxides that are hole transport layers or electron transport layers ([0031]).
While Christensen does not expressly disclose the perovskite absorber layer has a refractive index that is greater than i) a refractive index of the upper carrier transport layer, ii) a refractive index of the lower carrier transport layer, or iii) both (i) and (ii), it is noted that once a thin film photovoltaic device is disclosed to have the above-recited structure, and therefore is substantially the same as the thin film photovoltaic device in claim 3 as described in paragraph [0042] of the instant specification, it will, inherently, display the recited properties. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 4, Christensen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the transparent conducting layer can be various metal oxides ([0030]).
While Christensen does not expressly disclose the transparent conducting layer has a refractive index that is less than i) a refractive index of the upper carrier transport layer, ii) a refractive index of the lower carrier transport layer, or iii) both (i) and (ii), it is noted that once a thin film photovoltaic device is disclosed to have the above-recited structure, and therefore is substantially the same as the thin film photovoltaic device in claim 4 as described in paragraph [0032] of the instant specification, it will, inherently, display the recited properties. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 5, Christensen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the substrate is transparent, and wherein the bottom electrode is a transparent electrode comprising the transparent conducting layer ([0015] and [0029]).
Regarding claim 8, Christensen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the top electrode is a transparent electrode and comprises the transparent conducting layer ([0015]; as set forth above).
Regarding claim 10, Christensen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the bottom electrode comprises a reflective metal layer (it is disclosed metal thin films or metal foil can be used; [0030]).
Regarding claim 12, Christensen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the substrate is transparent ([0029]), and wherein the bottom electrode is a transparent electrode comprising a bottom transparent conducting layer (it is disclosed the electrode 62 can comprise a transparent and semitransparent electrode with metal nanowires and metal mesh and metal grid electrodes; [0030]).
Regarding claim 28, Christensen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Christensen does not expressly disclose the optical path length is greater than or equal to 15 times the physical thickness of the perovskite absorber layer, it is noted that once a thin film photovoltaic device is disclosed to have the above-recited structure, and therefore is substantially the same as the thin film photovoltaic device in claim 28, it will, inherently, display the recited properties. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 29, Christensen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the perovskite absorber layer has a physical thickness of 500 nm or less (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 34, Christensen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the target wavelength range is within a range of at least 450 nm to 800 nm (visible light; [0038]).
Claim(s) 1, 3-13, 16, 21, 22, 28, 29, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Snaith et al. (US 2021/0399246).
Regarding claim 1, Snaith discloses a thin film photovoltaic device (see Figure 3A) configured for receiving and converting a target wavelength range of light to electricity (the tandem structure allows each perovskite semiconductor to be tuned to absorb specific regions of the solar spectrum; [0009]), comprising:
a flexible substrate configured for roll-to-roll deposition processes ([0023]);
a bottom electrode (FTO) disposed over the substrate;
a lower carrier transport layer (PC61BM) disposed over the bottom electrode;
a perovskite absorber layer (FA0.83Cs0.17Pb(Br0.7 I 0.3)3) disposed over the lower carrier transport layer,
wherein the perovskite absorber layer has a physical thickness of 900 nm or less (296.7 nm; [0476]) and is characterized by a bandgap energy (BE) (inherent property of the perovskite material);
an upper carrier transport layer (Spiro-OMeTAD) disposed over the perovskite absorber layer; and
a top electrode (ITO nanoparticles:PCBM between the bottom and middle cells) disposed over the upper carrier transport layer,
wherein at least one of the top and bottom electrodes comprises a transparent conducting layer which is transparent to the target wavelength range of light (as set forth above).
While Snaith does not expressly disclose the perovskite absorber layer has an optical path length that is greater than or equal to 8 times the physical thickness of the perovskite absorber layer for incident radiation that is i) within the target wavelength range, and ii) within an incident energy range of BE to (BE +0.52 eV), it is noted that once a thin film photovoltaic device is disclosed to have the above-recited structure, and therefore is substantially the same as the thin film photovoltaic device in claim 1, it will, inherently, display the recited properties. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 3, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the perovskite material to be AMX3 and the lower carrier transport layer is PCBM and the upper carrier transport layer is Spiro-OMeTAD ([0474]; see Figure 3A), in which the perovskite absorber layer has a refractive index that is greater than i) a refractive index of the upper carrier transport layer, ii) a refractive index of the lower carrier transport layer, or iii) both (i) and (ii) (the refractive index of formamidinium cesium lead alloy is in the 2.2-2.4 range as shown in Figure 4a of Ndione et al., where the refractive index of PCBM is about 1.98, as set forth below).
Regarding claim 4, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the transparent conducting layer is FTO ([0320]; see Figure 3A), where the refractive index of FTO is 1.85 (see Sigma Aldrich), such that the transparent conducting layer has a refractive index that is less than i) a refractive index of the upper carrier transport layer, ii) a refractive index of the lower carrier transport layer, or iii) both (i) and (ii) (it is disclosed by Mahendia et al. that the refractive index of PCBM is about 1.98 in Table 1).
Regarding claim 5, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the substrate is transparent (glass; see Figure 3A; [0446]), and wherein the bottom electrode is a transparent electrode comprising the transparent conducting layer (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 8, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the top electrode is a transparent electrode and comprises the transparent conducting layer (ITO nanoparticles:PCBM).
Regarding claim 9, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the top electrode further comprises a top pattern of metal lines in contact with the transparent conducting layer (it is disclosed a semi transparent electrode using silver nanowires can be selected for the recombination layer instead of the ITO nanoparticles in the example; [0012]).
Regarding claim 11, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a reflective or opaque light scattering layer provided i) as part of the substrate, or ii) attached to the substrate (the recombination layer between the middle and top cells), wherein the bottom electrode is a transparent bottom electrode (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 12, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the substrate is transparent (as set forth above), and wherein the bottom electrode is a transparent electrode comprising a bottom transparent conducting layer (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 16, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses at least one textured layer or textured surface selected for increasing the optical path length (recombination layer between the middle and top cells; [0033]).
Regarding claim 21, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the textured layer or textured surface comprises nanoparticles ([0033]).
Regarding claim 22, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the nanoparticles are at least partially embedded in a layer comprising a material having a different chemical composition and index of refraction relative to the nanoparticles ([0273]).
Regarding claim 28, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Snaith does not expressly disclose the optical path length is greater than or equal to 15 times the physical thickness of the perovskite absorber layer, it is noted that once a thin film photovoltaic device is disclosed to have the above-recited structure, and therefore is substantially the same as the thin film photovoltaic device in claim 28, it will, inherently, display the recited properties. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 29, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the perovskite absorber layer has a physical thickness of 500 nm or less (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 35, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a tandem structure (see Figure 1B), the tandem structure comprising:
a) a first cell including the bottom electrode, the lower carrier transport layer, the perovskite absorber layer, the upper carrier transport layer, and the top electrode (top cell and recombination layer); and
b) a second cell (bottom cell) in optical communication with the first cell (see Figure 1B), the second cell comprising a second perovskite absorber layer having a second bandgap energy (BE2),wherein BE2 is less than BE ([0085] and [0429]).
Alternatively, regarding claim 1, Snaith discloses a thin film photovoltaic device (see Figure 1B) configured for receiving and converting a target wavelength range of light to electricity (the tandem structure allows each perovskite semiconductor to be tuned to absorb specific regions of the solar spectrum; [0009]), comprising:
a flexible substrate configured for roll-to-roll deposition processes ([0023]);
a bottom electrode (ITO NPs: PEDOT) disposed over the substrate;
a lower carrier transport layer (PC61BM) disposed over the bottom electrode;
a perovskite absorber layer (MAPbI3) disposed over the lower carrier transport layer,
wherein the perovskite absorber layer has a physical thickness of 900 nm or less (530 nm; [0474]) and is characterized by a bandgap energy (BE) (inherent property of the perovskite material);
an upper carrier transport layer (Spiro-OMeTAD) disposed over the perovskite absorber layer; and
a top electrode (Ag) disposed over the upper carrier transport layer,
wherein at least one of the top and bottom electrodes comprises a transparent conducting layer which is transparent to the target wavelength range of light (as set forth above).
While Snaith does not expressly disclose the perovskite absorber layer has an optical path length that is greater than or equal to 8 times the physical thickness of the perovskite absorber layer for incident radiation that is i) within the target wavelength range, and ii) within an incident energy range of BE to (BE +0.52 eV), it is noted that once a thin film photovoltaic device is disclosed to have the above-recited structure, and therefore is substantially the same as the thin film photovoltaic device in claim 1, it will, inherently, display the recited properties. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 5, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the substrate is transparent (glass; see Figure 1B; [0446]), and wherein the bottom electrode is a transparent electrode comprising the transparent conducting layer (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 6, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the top electrode comprises a reflective metal layer (Ag; see Figure 1B).
Regarding claim 7, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the bottom electrode further comprises a bottom pattern of metal lines in contact with the transparent conducting layer (it is disclosed a semi transparent electrode using silver nanowires can be selected as the recombination layer; [0012]).
Regarding claim 12, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the substrate is transparent (as set forth above), and wherein the bottom electrode is a transparent electrode comprising a bottom transparent conducting layer (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 13, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the bottom electrode further comprises a bottom set of metal lines in contact with the bottom transparent conducting layer (it is disclosed a semi transparent electrode using silver nanowires can be selected as the recombination layer; [0012]).
Alternatively, regarding claim 1, Snaith discloses a thin film photovoltaic device (see Figure 1B) configured for receiving and converting a target wavelength range of light to electricity (the tandem structure allows each perovskite semiconductor to be tuned to absorb specific regions of the solar spectrum; [0009]), comprising:
a flexible substrate configured for roll-to-roll deposition processes ([0023]);
a bottom electrode (Ag) disposed over the substrate;
a lower carrier transport layer (Spiro-OMeTAD) disposed over the bottom electrode;
a perovskite absorber layer (MAPbI3) disposed over the lower carrier transport layer,
wherein the perovskite absorber layer has a physical thickness of 900 nm or less (530 nm; [0474]) and is characterized by a bandgap energy (BE) (inherent property of the perovskite material);
an upper carrier transport layer (PCBM) disposed over the perovskite absorber layer; and
a top electrode (ITO nanoparticles:PCBM recombination layer) disposed over the upper carrier transport layer,
wherein at least one of the top and bottom electrodes comprises a transparent conducting layer which is transparent to the target wavelength range of light (as set forth above).
While Snaith does not expressly disclose the perovskite absorber layer has an optical path length that is greater than or equal to 8 times the physical thickness of the perovskite absorber layer for incident radiation that is i) within the target wavelength range, and ii) within an incident energy range of BE to (BE +0.52 eV), it is noted that once a thin film photovoltaic device is disclosed to have the above-recited structure, and therefore is substantially the same as the thin film photovoltaic device in claim 1, it will, inherently, display the recited properties. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 8, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the top electrode is a transparent electrode and comprises the transparent conducting layer (ITO nanoparticles:PCBM).
Regarding claim 10, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the bottom electrode comprises a reflective metal layer (as set forth above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snaith et al. (US 2021/0399246) in view of Ahn (US 2018/0019358).
Regarding claim 14, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but the reference does not expressly disclose a transparent superstrate and a transparent adhesive layer interposed between the transparent superstrate and the transparent top electrode.
Ahn discloses a transparent superstrate (200) and a transparent adhesive layer (205) interposed between the transparent superstrate and a transparent top electrode (160) of a perovskite solar cell (see Figure 5) so as to encapsulate the perovskite solar cell and provide a protective cover on the outermost surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a transparent superstrate and a transparent adhesive layer interposed between the transparent superstrate and the transparent top electrode of Snaith, as taught by Ahn, in order to provide a solar cell that is protected by a cover and is encapsulated to prevent degradation and deterioration through use and transport.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snaith et al. (US 2021/0399246) as evidenced by Snaith et al. (US 2015/0249170) (hereinafter Snaith 2015).
Regarding claim 34, Snaith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Snaith 2015 discloses it is well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention perovskite materials are capable of absorbing light in the wavelength range of 300 nm to 800 nm ([0127]), but the reference does not expressly disclose the target wavelength range is within a range of at least 450 nm to 800 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant points out that the Office states “Snaith does not expressly disclose the perovskite absorber layer has an optical path length that is greater than or equal to 8 times the physical thickness of the perovskite absorber layer for incident radiation that is i) within the target wavelength range, and ii) within an incident energy range of BE to (BE + 0.52 eV)” and that Applicant disagrees it is an inherent property, but no explanation was provided as to why it is not an inherent property.
Applicant then argues that Snaith does not teach or suggest a textured surface configured for “light trapping” within the perovskite absorber layer. However, Snaith discloses the sputtered ITO layer with nanoparticles is able to scatter light through any subsequent light absorbing layers, thus increasing the light absorption of the device ([0033]), in which the recombination layers comprise ITO nanoparticles, as set forth in the Office Action and in Snaith.
Therefore, the arguments were not found to be persuasive.
Applicant’s further arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-14, 16, 21, 22, 28, 29, 34 and 35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA CHERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722