DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 02/18/2025. Claims 2-9, 11, 12, 14, and 57 are amended, claims 10, 13, 15-56, and 58-62 are cancelled, and claims 63-69 are newly added in the preliminary amendments filed on 02/18/2025. Claims 1-9, 11, 12, 14, 57, and 63-69 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, 14, 57, and 63-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2021/0168584 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 57 and 69), Li discloses:
A wireless communication method for data transfer, comprising:
receiving, by a function entity, a first request, wherein the first request indicates quality-of-service (QoS) parameters associated with a list of time windows for Application Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML) Data Transfer (AAMDT) (PCRF receiving BDT request message including parameters associated with time window, Li: [0047], [0102]-[0104]); and
selecting, by the function entity, an AAMDT policy based on the QoS parameters (PCRF selecting BDT policy based on parameters, Li: [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Li further discloses:
wherein the function entity is a Policy Control Function (PCF) entity (PCRF, Li: [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Li further discloses:
wherein the first request is an AAMDT policy control request, and the first request is request from an Application Function (AF) via a Network Exposure Function (NEF) entity (AF sending BDT request to NEF, Li: [0104]).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Li further discloses:
requesting, by the function entity, network performance analytics associated with the QoS parameters (PCF requesting detailed policy profile, Li: [0087]).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Li further discloses:
wherein the AAMDT policy is selected based on the network performance analytics (utilizing detailed policy profile for BDT policy selection, Li: [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Li further discloses:
sending, by the function entity, the AAMDT transfer policy (PCRF sending BDT policy, Li: [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Li further discloses:
wherein the AAMDT transfer policy is sent to the AF (PCRF sending BDT policy to AF, Li: [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Li further discloses:
receiving, by the function entity, a second request to create or update the AAMDT policy (PCF receiving request message to update policy, Li: [0047], [0087]).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Li further discloses:
wherein the second request is an AF request, and the AAMDT policy is associated with the AAMDT for a protocol data unit (PDU) session served by the function entity (PCF receiving request message to update policy for PDU session, Li: [0047], [0087]).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Li further discloses:
retrieving, by the function entity, an AAMDT policy from a User Data Repository (UDR) entity (obtaining BDT policy from UDR, Li: [0074]).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Li further discloses:
deriving, by the function entity, a set of policy and charging control (PCC) rules for the AAMDT based on the AAMDT policy (PCF determining new BDT policy, Li: [0074]).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Li further discloses:
wherein the QoS parameters comprises a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) and at least one of a packet delay budget (PDB), a packet loss rate (PLR), and a traffic rate (QoS parameters such as maximum data rates and latency, Li: [0081]).
Regarding claims 63-68, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2-5, 8, and 9. Therefore, claims 63-68 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 2-5, 8, and 9 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Zhou et al. (US 2023/0239132 A1: Background Data Transfer Policy Formulation Method, Apparatus, and System), Wu et al. (US 2022/0110023 A1: Method, Apparatus, and System for Managing Background Data Transfer Policy), and Iwai et al. (US 2020/0022027 A1: Apparatus and Method for Background Data Transfer).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2454