DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claims filed on April 27, 2026 for the application filed February 18, 2025 which claims priority to a provisional application filed on September 15, 2022. Claims 1-9, 11-12 and 14-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9, 11-12 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Eligibility Step 1:
Under step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, claims 1-9m 11-12, 14-17 and 21-22 are directed towards a system (i.e. a machine), which is a statutory category. Claims 18-19 are directed towards a method (i.e. a process), which is a statutory category. Claim 20 is directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable storage media (i.e. a manufacture). Since the claims are directed towards statutory categories, it must be determined if the claims are directed towards a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). In the instant application, the claims are directed towards an abstract idea.
Eligibility Step 2A, Prong One:
Under step 2A, prong one of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, independent claims 1, 18 and 20 are determined to be directed to an judicial exception because an abstract idea is recited in the claims which fall within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas.
The abstract idea (identified in bold) recited in claims 1 and 20 is identified in representative claim 1 as:
A medical system comprising:
memory; and
processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry being configured to:
obtain, during performance of a procedure in a medical facility on a patient, data representing an operating parameter of a medical component, the medical component comprising a medical device or a pharmacological agent; and
generate, based on the data representing the operating parameter, procedure records of the procedure;
determine a desired operating parameter of the medical component; and
output, responsive to determining that the obtained operating parameter is different than the desired operating parameter of the medical component, a warning.
The identified limitations of the abstract idea fall within the subject matter grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity related and the sub grouping of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The claims recite the human activity of generating procedure records based on obtained data representing an operating parameter of a medical component in the medical facility during performance of a procedure and outputting a warning when a desired parameter is different than the obtained operating parameters. The claimed steps are merely rules or instructions a human should follow in order to generate a report and provide warnings. The determining desired parameters and differences between obtained parameters and desired parameters is determined to be directed to the abstract idea falling under the subject matter grouping of mental processes as this can be performed in the human mind using observations, evaluations, judgments and opinions.
The abstract idea (identified in bold) recited in claim 18 is identified as:
A method comprising:
obtaining, during performance of a procedure in a medical facility on a patient, data representing an operating parameter of a medical component, the medical component comprising a medical device or a pharmacological agent, wherein the operating parameter comprises a pressure of a balloon used in performance of the procedure;
adjusting, based on the pressure, operation of an indeflator that inflates and deflates the balloon; and
generating, based on the data representing the operating parameter, procedure records of the procedure
The identified limitations of the abstract idea fall within the subject matter grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity related and the sub grouping of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The claims recite the human activity of generating procedure records and adjusting an indeflator based on obtained data representing an operating parameter of a medical component in the medical facility during performance of a procedure. The claimed steps are merely rules or instructions a human should follow in order to generate a report and adjust the indeflator.
Accordingly, claims 1, 18 and 20 recite an abstract idea under step 2A, prong one.
Eligibility Step 2A, Prong Two:
Under step 2A, prong two of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it must be determined whether the identified abstract ideas are integrated into a practical application. After evaluation, there is no indication that any additional elements or combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, such as through: an additional element that reflects an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or an improvements to any other technology or technical field; an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition; an additional element that implements the judicial exception with, or uses the judicial exception in connection with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim; an additional element that effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; or an additional element that applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. As shown below, the additional elements, other than the abstract idea per se, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, amount to no more than a recitation of: generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use; insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and/or adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea as evidenced below.
The additional elements recited in representative claim 1 are identified in italics as:
A medical system comprising:
memory; and
processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry being configured to:
obtain, during performance of a procedure in a medical facility on a patient, data representing an operating parameter of a medical component, the medical component comprising a medical device or a pharmacological agent; and
generate, based on the data representing the operating parameter, procedure records of the procedure;
determine a desired operating parameter of the medical component; and
output, responsive to determining that the obtained operating parameter is different than the desired operating parameter of the medical component, a warning.
The additional limitations of “A medical system comprising: memory; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry being configured to:” are determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f). The memory and processing circuitry are recited at a high level of generality and used in the ordinary capacity to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, these additional elements amount to no more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer or no more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
Accordingly, claims 1, 18 and 20 do not recite additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Eligibility Step 2B:
Under step 2B of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it must be determined whether provide an inventive concept by determining if the claims include additional elements or a combination of elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. After evaluation, there is no indication that an additional element or combination of elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitations are determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f), which is do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements amounts to an inventive concept.
Dependent Claims:
The dependent claims merely present additional abstract information in tandem with further details regarding the elements from the independent claims and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons as given above. None of these limitations are deemed to integrate the claims into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because, as detailed below.
Regarding claims 2, 11-12, 15-16 and 18, merely defining the obtained information (i.e. specific medical component parameters, audio data, clinical data) used to generate the procedure records and what information to generate and include in the procedure records (i.e. transcriptions of audio data, and clinical data) is determined to also be directed to the abstract idea falling under the grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity.
Regarding claims 3, 14 and 18 the processing of image data and audio data to determine parameters, desired parameters and differences between obtained parameters and desired parameters is determined to be directed to the abstract idea falling under the subject matter grouping of mental processes as this can be performed in the human mind using observations, evaluations, judgments and opinions. The outputting of a warning based on discrepencies between the image data and audio data is determined to be directed to certain methods of organizing human activity, similar to claim 1.The receiving of data from a camera an is the insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception of mere necessary data gathering and data outputting under MPEP §2106.05(g), which is well-understood, routine and convention as evidenced by MPEP §2106.05(d), subsection II The use of a natural language processing algorithm and computer vision algorithm is mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f), as no details as to how the data is processed in order to accomplish the determining of parameters is provided.
Regarding claims 4-7 and 9, the limiting the obtaining of data to receiving of the data using receivers and transmitters is considered to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f) and limiting the transmitters to be RFID, NFC, RF or Bluetooth and the receivers to be pads attached to tables and disparately positioned about a medical facility are determined to be no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use under MPEP §2106.05(h).
Regarding claim 8, the receivers configured to wirelessly provide power to the medical component is determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional as evidenced by Kesler et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0248888).
Regarding claim 17, providing indications that a medical component has been removed from a storage system is determined to be directed to the abstract idea falling under the subject matter grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity and the storage system used to provide the indication the storage system is determined mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f).
Regarding claim 21, controlling a contrast deliver a specified amount of contrast based on operating parameters is determined to be directed to the abstract idea groping of certain methods of organizing human activity. The automation of the delivery is determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f).
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kotian et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0090954).
Regarding claim 1, Kotian discloses a medical system (Abstract) comprising:
memory (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs [0023] and [0040]); and
processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry being configured to (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs [0023] and [0040]):
obtain, during performance of a procedure in a medical facility on a patient, data representing an operating parameter of a medical component, the medical component comprising a medical device or a pharmacological agent (Paragraph [0019], the surgical suite 10 is provided with a plurality of cameras arranged about the surgical suite 10 in order to acquire intra-procedure images of the people, equipment, and activity within the surgical suite 10. Paragraph [0022], user interfaces 44 may be arranged at locations accessible to one or more clinicians 12A-D and configured to receive clinician inputs in order to control medical devices. Paragraph [0042], The system 60 may operate to acquire and analyze real-time geometry information regarding the position and orientation of various equipment, clinicians, and the patient within the surgical suite. The computer vision system 52 may use image processing and detection techniques to determine exact position, orientation, or shape of the medical equipment, clinicians, or patient from the image data provided to the computer vision system 52. Paragraph [0055], Monitors can be identified at 88. The monitors, if within the field of view of the collected image data can be analyzed to determine what information is currently being presented to the clinician. Also see figs. 4-5 and 6A-6B and paragraph [0018].);
generate, based on the data representing the operating parameter, procedure records of the procedure (Paragraph [0030], the computer vision system 52 uses image processing techniques and analysis to interpret procedural steps and events in the image data. These procedure steps and events may be recorded in an automatedly generated procedure log which is provided to or stored at the HIS 56. Also see figs. 6A-6B.);
determine a desired operating parameter of the medical component; and output, responsive to determining that the obtained operating parameter is different than the desired operating parameter of the medical component, a warning (Paragraph [0042], Analysis of this real-time geometry information in the image data from the cameras enables the AI enabled controller 62 to anticipate medical equipment collisions with other medical equipment (e.g. the table), clinicians, or the patient. Once these potential collisions are anticipated, interventional imaging system movement trajectories may be calculated and instructed in order to avoid obstacles. Alternatively, alarms may be enacted. In a further embodiment, the speed of movement of the robotic medical equipment may be slowed during movement within areas of high potential for collisions. Paragraph [0045], These operation controls may include a prompt or suggestion in a user interface to perform or set up a particular function or operation of a piece of medical equipment. Paragraph [0025], The dimensions, device shapes, and kinematic information in the static configuration data can be used by the computer vision system to aid in the identification of medical equipment in the surveillance data, and also to determine operational commands, warnings, or guidance based upon detected or predicted medical equipment movement. Also see paragraphs [0028], [0035], [0053] and [0057]. The desired movement parameters are calculated and output based on the obtained detected or predicted movement parameters to avoid collision. Desired movement parameters output to avoid collision are construed as different from the obtained/detected/predicted movement parameters which would cause a collision. ).
Regarding claim 2, Kotian further discloses wherein the operating parameter comprises one or more of: a location of the medical component; a pressure of the medical component; a rotational speed of the medical component; power delivery parameters of the medical component; a size of the medical component; and a serial number of the medical component (Paragraphs [0027] and [0043], barcodes; paragraph [0029], positions and locations; paragraph [0042], speed of movement and shape; paragraph [0038], dimensional and geometrical data; paragraph [0055], locations.).
Regarding claim 3, Kotian further discloses wherein, to obtain the data representing the operating parameter of the medical component, the processing circuitry is configured to:
obtain image data generated by a camera of the medical facility (Paragraph [0019], the surgical suite 10 is provided with a plurality of cameras arranged about the surgical suite 10 in order to acquire intra-procedure images of the people, equipment, and activity within the surgical suite 10.); and
process the image data to determine the operating parameter of the medical component (Paragraph [0042], The system 60 may operate to acquire and analyze real-time geometry information regarding the position and orientation of various equipment, clinicians, and the patient within the surgical suite. The computer vision system 52 may use image processing and detection techniques to determine exact position, orientation, or shape of the medical equipment, clinicians, or patient from the image data provided to the computer vision system 52.).
Regarding claim 11, Kotian further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
obtain, during the performance of the procedure, a representation of audio data from the medical facility (Paragraph [0036], A still further example of a surveillance system is an audio system 70 which is configured to receive audio data from a plurality of microphones 72. The microphones 72 provide audio data to the audio system 70 interpretation and processing before the data is provided to the AI enabled controller 62. Paragraph [0021], the microphones, as will be described in further detail herein, can provide additional contextual information regarding the actions of the clinicians during the procedure or the progress of the procedure.), wherein, to generate the procedure records, the processing circuitry is further configured to:
generate the procedure records based on the representation of the audio data (Paragraph [0036], The audio system 70 may exemplarily process the audio data in a number of ways to obtain additional context regarding the actions and events occurring in the surgical suite in performance of the surgical procedure. Audio data may be interpreted through speech recognition processing and techniques for the communicative content of the audio data itself, for example to interpret the discussion between clinicians in order to identify actions or events in the surgery procedure. Additionally, in one embodiment, one or more clinicians may be tasked with the job of narrating the surgical procedure so as to provide an audio record of the procedure, which may later be processed into a text, or other data form, record of occurrences or events in the surgical procedure Also see paragraph [0050].).
Regarding claim 12, Kotian further discloses wherein, to generate the procedure records based on the representation of the audio data, the processing circuitry is configured to: generate a transcription of the representation of the audio data; and include, in the procedure records, the transcription (Paragraph [0036], in one embodiment, one or more clinicians may be tasked with the job of narrating the surgical procedure so as to provide an audio record of the procedure, which may later be processed into a text, or other data form, record of occurrences or events in the surgical procedure. Paragraph [0050], In still further embodiments, the system 60 may operate to process the surveillance data to extract semantics within the surveillance data by translating the surveillance data into meaningful events or actions in the surgical procedure. These may be an automatedly recorded in a procedure log which can be stored at the HIS 56.).
Regarding claim 14, Kotian further discloses wherein, to determine the desired operating parameter, the processing circuitry is configured to: process the representation of the audio data to determine the desired operating parameter (Paragraph [0021], Apart from system design for audio based instruction or commands to medical devices, the microphones, as will be described in further detail herein, can provide additional contextual information regarding the actions of the clinicians during the procedure or the progress of the procedure. Paragraph [0036], in still further embodiments, rather than the content of the audio data itself, the audio data collected from a plurality of omnidirectional microphones and/or various directional microphones can help to locate particular clinicians within the surgical suite and to enhance and verify clinician location determinations made upon the basis of the image data or wearable data. Paragraph [0041], The workflow assistance system 60 as depicted and described with respect to FIG. 3 may exemplarily operate to carry out a variety of functions within the scope of the present disclosure. These functions include, but are not limited to collision avoidance between the interventional imaging system and other medical equipment and/or clinicians. Also see fig. 6B, recommended/desired operating parameters. Processing audio data to determine positions of clinicians and to determining recommended operating parameters to avoid collisions and the like based on clinician positions is construed as determining the recommended/desired operating parameters based on the audio data.).
Regarding claim 15, Kotian further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
obtain, via a display in the medical facility, clinical data of the procedure, wherein, to generate the procedure records (Paragraph [0022], user interfaces 44 may be arranged at locations accessible to one or more clinicians 12A-D and configured to receive clinician inputs in order to control medical devices. the table 16, or the display of medical image data at one or more of the graphical displays 26.), the processing circuitry is further configured to:
generate the procedure records based on the clinical data (Paragraph [0057], The procedure log 106 may create as many time stamps and events or action notations as needed to document detected actions and events within the surgical suite. As further shown in the procedure log 106 the procedure log may include for example clinician actions 112, procedure summaries and durations predictions 114, medical equipment movements or actions 116, scanning or identification of surgical tools 118, procedure events 120, or recommended actions to be taken 122.).
Regarding claim 20: all limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1. Claim 20 pertains to a non-transitory computer-readable storage media, corresponding to the system of claim 1. Claim 20 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond claims 1; therefore claims 20 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotian et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0090954) in view of Kesler et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0248888).
Regarding claim 4, Kotian does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Kesler teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing wherein, to obtain the data representing the operating parameter of the medical component, the processing circuitry is configured to: receive, via a transmitter attached to the medical component, the data representing the operating parameter of the medical component (Paragraph [1096], Wireless power transfer may be used to power surgical robots, equipment, sensors, and the like. Many medical procedures and surgical operations utilize robots or robotic equipment to perform or aid in medical procedures or operations. Wireless power transfer may be used to transfer power to the robotic equipment, to parts of the equipment, or to instruments or tools manipulated by the equipment which may reduce the potentially hazardous and troublesome wiring of the systems. Paragraph [1097], The surgical robot may have a device resonator. Paragraph [1104], a drug delivery rack and a computer rack are depicted in FIG. 135(a) and FIG. 135(b). Device resonators 13508, 13506 and power and control circuitry may be integrated. Paragraph [1106], surgical tools such as a cauterizer 13604 may be fitted with a device resonator 13606. In some embodiments monitoring circuitry, such as voltage or current sensing circuitry 13610 may integrated into the device resonator along with a wireless communication capability to relay the measured values to a source. Paragraph [1008], Communication of information between resonators may be implemented using in-band or out-of-band communications or communications channels. Paragraph [1009], Communication between resonators may be used to coordinate the wireless energy transfer or to adjust the parameters of a wireless energy transfer system, to identify and authenticate available power sources and devices, to optimize efficiency, power delivery, and the like, to track and bill energy preferences, usage, and the like, and to monitor system performance, battery condition, vehicle health, extraneous objects, also referred to as foreign objects, and the like.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing to modify the system of Kotian such that to obtain the data representing the operating parameter of the medical component, the processing circuitry is configured to: receive, via a transmitter attached to the medical component, the data representing the operating parameter of the medical component, as taught by Kesler, in order to eliminate the problems and hazards of traditional wired connection in hospital and operating room environments.
Regarding claim 5, Kotian does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Kesler teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing wherein the transmitter comprises one or more of a radio frequency identification (RFID) transmitter, a near field communication (NFC) transmitter, a radio frequency (RF) transmitter, or a BLUETOOTH transmitter (Paragraph [10008], An out-of-band communication channel may use an antenna and a signaling protocol that is separated from the energy transfer resonator and magnetic fields. An out-of-band communication channel may use or be based on Bluetooth, WiFi, Zigbee, NFC technology and the like.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing to modify the system of Kotian such that the transmitter comprises one or more of a radio frequency identification (RFID) transmitter, a near field communication (NFC) transmitter, a radio frequency (RF) transmitter, or a BLUETOOTH transmitter, as taught by Kesler, in order to eliminate the problems and hazards of traditional wired connection in hospital and operating room environments.
Regarding claim 6, Kotian does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Kesler teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing to provide one or more receivers configured to receive the data from the transmitter (Paragraph [1011], An exemplary embodiment of a wireless energy system is shown in FIG. 119. This exemplary embodiment comprises two device resonators 11902, 11916 each with an out-of- band communication module 11904, 11918 respectively and two source resonators 11906, 11910 each with their own out-of- band communication modules 11908, 11912 respectively. Paragraph [1106], In some embodiments monitoring circuitry, such as voltage or current sensing circuitry 13610 may integrated into the device resonator along with a wireless communication capability to relay the measured values to a source.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing to modify the system of Kotian one or more receivers configured to receive the data from the transmitter, as taught by Kesler, in order to eliminate the problems and hazards of traditional wired connection in hospital and operating room environments.
Regarding claim 7, Kotian does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Kesler teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing wherein at least one receiver of the one or more receivers comprises a pad attached to a table on which the patient is placed during the procedure (Paragraph [1097], The surgical robot may be powered wirelessly from a wireless source embedded in the bed, floor, or other structure. The robot may be wirelessly powered from a source 13314 that is integrated, attached, or next to the operating bed. Paragraph [1101], In some embodiments the source powering the appendages and the tools may be mounted on the operating bed, under the bed, or next to the patient. Paragraph [1102], The source may be mounted on the operating room bed. Paragraph [0583], source resonator embedded in the object, pad, and the like. Also see fig. 14 and paragraph [0328].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing to modify the system of Kotian such that at least one receiver of the one or more receivers comprises a pad attached to a table on which the patient is placed during the procedure, as taught by Kesler, in order to eliminate the problems and hazards of traditional wired connection in hospital and operating room environments.
Regarding claim 8, Kotian does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Kesler teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing wherein the one or more receivers are configured to wirelessly provide power to the medical component (Paragraph [1097], The surgical robot may be powered wirelessly from a wireless source embedded in the bed, floor, or other structure. The robot may be wirelessly powered from a source 13314 that is integrated, attached, or next to the operating bed. Paragraph [1101], In some embodiments the source powering the appendages and the tools may be mounted on the operating bed, under the bed, or next to the patient. Paragraph [1104], Device resonators 13508, 13506 and power and control circuitry may be integrated or attached to the base or the body of the rack or the supporting structure allowing wireless power transfer from a source resonator mounted into the floor, wall, charging station, or other objects. Also see paragraph [1106].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing to modify the system of Kotian such that the one or more receivers are configured to wirelessly provide power to the medical component, as taught by Kesler, in order to eliminate the problems and hazards of traditional wired connection in hospital and operating room environments.
Regarding claim 9, Kotian does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Kesler teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing wherein the one or more receivers comprise a plurality of receivers disparately positioned about the medical facility (Paragraph [1102], Likewise the source may be mounted on any number of objects of various dimensions depending on the application and use of the robot. The source may be mounted on the operating room bed or pedestal as shown in the FIG. 133. In other embodiments a source may be mounted in the floor, walls, ceilings, other devices, and the like. Also see paragraph [1095].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical devices at the time of the filing to modify the system of Kotian such that the one or more receivers comprise a plurality of receivers disparately positioned about the medical facility, in order to eliminate the problems and hazards of traditional wired connection in hospital and operating room environments.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotian et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0090954) in view of Lowry et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0381107).
Regarding claim 16, Kotian does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Lowry teaches that it was old and well known in the art of inventory tracking systems at the time of the filing wherein, to obtain the data representing the operating parameter, the processing circuitry is configured to obtain the data via a medical component storage system from which a clinician obtained the medical component (Paragraph [00789], The ER inventory tracking and management system 10 through the processing server 43 also automatically keeps track of supplies and inventory levels. This is accomplished with the weight-based scales 66 discussed above to keep track of used items. Pressure sensors and light sensors are also used to advise the ER inventory tracking and management system 10 when items have been removed or misplaced based on size. It is also anticipated that cameras 44 could monitor the bins 20 b, drawers 20 d, and/or cabinets 20 c and recognize changes in the shapes and quantity of the contents of the bins 20 b, drawers 20 d, and/or cabinets 20 c. With the foregoing in mind, and considering communication between the central database 12, the processing server 43, and the various components of the ER inventory tracking and management system 10, the ER inventory tracking and management system 10 is able to keep a running count of items used in a code or trauma for medical professionals to look back at when charting. Paragraph [0085], Another advantage to the proposed invention is the potential liability reduction for the hospital and its staff. With cameras, sensors and advanced recordation, the ER inventory tracking and management system 10 provide a comprehensive record of items used and the corresponding procedures. Also see paragraph [0070].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical reporting at the time of the filing to modify the system of Kotian such that to obtain the data representing the operating parameter, the processing circuitry is configured to obtain the data via a medical component storage system from which a clinician obtained the medical component, as taught by Lowry, in order to reduce potential liability for hospitals.
Regarding claim 17, Kotian does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Lowry teaches that it was old and well known in the art of inventory tracking systems at the time of the filing to include the medical component storage system, wherein the medical component storage system is configured to output, to the processing circuitry, an indication that the medical component has been removed from the medical component storage system (Paragraph [00789], The ER inventory tracking and management system 10 through the processing server 43 also automatically keeps track of supplies and inventory levels. This is accomplished with the weight-based scales 66 discussed above to keep track of used items. Pressure sensors and light sensors are also used to advise the ER inventory tracking and management system 10 when items have been removed or misplaced based on size. It is also anticipated that cameras 44 could monitor the bins 20 b, drawers 20 d, and/or cabinets 20 c and recognize changes in the shapes and quantity of the contents of the bins 20 b, drawers 20 d, and/or cabinets 20 c. With the foregoing in mind, and considering communication between the central database 12, the processing server 43, and the various components of the ER inventory tracking and management system 10, the ER inventory tracking and management system 10 is able to keep a running count of items used in a code or trauma for medical professionals to look back at when charting. Paragraph [0085], Another advantage to the proposed invention is the potential liability reduction for the hospital and its staff. With cameras, sensors and advanced recordation, the ER inventory tracking and management system 10 provide a comprehensive record of items used and the corresponding procedures. Also see paragraph [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical reporting at the time of the filing to modify the system of Kotian to include the medical component storage system, wherein the medical component storage system is configured to output, to the processing circuitry, an indication that the medical component has been removed from the medical component storage system, as taught by Lowry, in order to reduce potential liability for hospitals.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotian et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0090954) in view of Groth et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0006032).
Regarding claim 18, Kotian discloses obtaining, during performance of a procedure in a medical facility on a patient, data representing an operating parameter of a medical component, the medical component comprising a medical device or a pharmacological agent, Paragraph [0019], the surgical suite 10 is provided with a plurality of cameras arranged about the surgical suite 10 in order to acquire intra-procedure images of the people, equipment, and activity within the surgical suite 10. Paragraph [0022], user interfaces 44 may be arranged at locations accessible to one or more clinicians 12A-D and configured to receive clinician inputs in order to control medical devices. Paragraph [0042], The system 60 may operate to acquire and analyze real-time geometry information regarding the position and orientation of various equipment, clinicians, and the patient within the surgical suite. The computer vision system 52 may use image processing and detection techniques to determine exact position, orientation, or shape of the medical equipment, clinicians, or patient from the image data provided to the computer vision system 52. Paragraph [0055], Monitors can be identified at 88. The monitors, if within the field of view of the collected image data can be analyzed to determine what information is currently being presented to the clinician. Also see figs. 4-5 and 6A-6B and paragraph [0018].);
generating, based on the data representing the operating parameter, procedure records of the procedure (Paragraph [0030], the computer vision system 52 uses image processing techniques and analysis to interpret procedural steps and events in the image data. These procedure steps and events may be recorded in an automatedly generated procedure log which is provided to or stored at the HIS 56. Also see figs. 6A-6B and paragraphs [0051]-[0052.)
Kotian further discloses obtaining data relating to balloon inflation and providing real-time recommendations, instructions and controls (Paragraphs [0030], [0041], [0045], [0048] and [0051]), but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the operating parameter comprises a pressure of a balloon used in performance of the procedure, and, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: adjust, based on the pressure, operation of an indeflator that inflates and deflates the balloon.
Groth teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical reporting at the time of the filing whereing the operating parameter comprises a pressure of a balloon used in performance of the procedure, and, adjust, based on the pressure, operation of an indeflator that inflates and deflates the balloon (Paragraph [0141], enabling the input of information relating to the lesion site 42, the area on the coronary artery 44 where the lesion site may be viewed, fields defining the type of stent used 46, fields defining the length 48 and the diameter 50 of the stent, and parameters relating to the balloon inflation pressure 52 and duration 54. Paragraph [0039], (x) a balloon inflation signal. Abstract, formation of clinical reports based on structured interventional medical reporting data recorded during a medical intervention. Also see paragraphs [0080]-[0081], [0116], [0142]-[0143] and [0151].) to provide an interventional medical procedure report generated substantially instantaneously following the end of an interventional medical procedure, containing verifiably accurate medical information (Paragraph [0200]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical reporting at the time of the filing to modify the system of Kotian, such that the operating parameter comprises a pressure of a balloon used in performance of the procedure, and, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: adjust, based on the pressure, operation of an indeflator that inflates and deflates the balloon, as taught by Groth, in order to provide an interventional medical procedure report generated substantially instantaneously following the end of an interventional medical procedure, containing verifiably accurate medical information.
Regarding claim 19, Kotian further discloses wherein, to obtain the data representing the operating parameter of the medical component, the processing circuitry is configured to:
obtaining image data generated by a camera of the medical facility (Paragraph [0019], the surgical suite 10 is provided with a plurality of cameras arranged about the surgical suite 10 in order to acquire intra-procedure images of the people, equipment, and activity within the surgical suite 10.); and
processing the image data to determine the operating parameter of the medical component (Paragraph [0042], The system 60 may operate to acquire and analyze real-time geometry information regarding the position and orientation of various equipment, clinicians, and the patient within the surgical suite. The computer vision system 52 may use image processing and detection techniques to determine exact position, orientation, or shape of the medical equipment, clinicians, or patient from the image data provided to the computer vision system 52.).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotian et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0090954) in view of Starbonets et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0158946).
Regarding claim 21, Kotian further discloses wherein the medical component comprises Paragraph [0019], The images produced by the interventional imaging system 20 may be done so with or without the introduction of one or more contrast agents to the patient to facilitate imaging. Paragraph [0051], contrast injection.):
Paragraph [0027], , the static configuration data 54 may be accessed by the computer vision system 52 upon detection of one or more pieces of medical equipment within the surgical suite. Paragraph [0028], The computer vision system 52 is further communicatively connected to the hospital information system (HIS) 56. The HIS may further include procedure guidelines, for example personnel and equipment spacing, expected duration, procedural milestones, radiation dose, contrast agent quantities. Paragraph [0051], contrast injection.).
Starobinets teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical imaging to provide and control an automated contrast delivery device (Starobinets, pargraph [0034], To provide for contrast enhanced imaging, a contrast injector 11 is configured to inject the patient with a contrast agent. The contrast injector 11 is a configurable automated contrast injector having a display 13. The user (usually the imaging technician) loads a vial or syringe of contrast agent (or two, or more, vials of different contrast agent components) into the contrast injector 11, and configures the contrast injector 11 by entering contrast injector settings such as flow rates, volumes, time delays, injection time durations, and/or so forth via a user interface (UI) of the contrast injector 11. The UI may be a touch-sensitive overlay of the display 13, and/or physical buttons, keypad, and/or so forth. In a variant embodiment, the contrast injector 11 is integrated with the imaging device controller 10 (e.g., via a wired or wireless data connection), and the contrast injector 11 is controlled via the imaging device controller 10, including displaying the contrast injector settings in a (optionally selectable) window on the display of the imaging device controller 10. In general, the automated contrast injector 11 can employ any suitable mechanical configuration for delivery of the contrast agent (or agents), such as being a syringe injector, a dual-syringe injector, pump-driven injector, or so forth, and may include hardware for performing advanced functions such as saline dilution of the contrast agent, priming and/or flushing of the contrast injection line with saline, and/or so forth.) to increase patient safety and exam quality (Starobinets, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 22, Kotian further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
process the representation of the audio data using a natural language processing algorithm to determine the desired operating parameter (Paragraph [0021], Apart from system design for audio based instruction or commands to medical devices, the microphones, as will be described in further detail herein, can provide additional contextual information regarding the actions of the clinicians during the procedure or the progress of the procedure. Paragraph [0036], The audio system 70 may exemplarily process the audio data in a number of ways to obtain additional context regarding the actions and events occurring in the surgical suite in performance of the surgical procedure. Audio data may be interpreted through speech recognition processing and techniques for the communicative content of the audio data itself, for example to interpret the discussion between clinicians in order to identify actions or events in the surgery procedure. in still further embodiments, rather than the content of the audio data itself, the audio data collected from a plurality of omnidirectional microphones and/or various directional microphones can help to locate particular clinicians within the surgical suite and to enhance and verify clinician location determinations made upon the basis of the image data or wearable data. Paragraph [0041], The workflow assistance system 60 as depicted and described with respect to FIG. 3 may exemplarily operate to carry out a variety of functions within the scope of the present disclosure. These functions include, but are not limited to collision avoidance between the interventional imaging system and other medical equipment and/or clinicians. Also see fig. 6B, recommended/desired operating parameters. Processing audio data to determine positions of clinicians and to determining recommended operating parameters to avoid collisions and the like based on clinician positions is construed as determining the recommended/desired operating parameters based on the audio data.);
process image data using a computer vision algorithm to determine the obtained operating parameter (Paragraph [0042], The system 60 may operate to acquire and analyze real-time geometry information regarding the position and orientation of various equipment, clinicians, and the patient within the surgical suite. The computer vision system 52 may use image processing and detection techniques to determine exact position, orientation, or shape of the medical equipment, clinicians, or patient from the image data provided to the computer vision system 52.); and
output the warning when a discrepancy between the representation of the audio data and the image data is detected.
Subject Matter Allowable Over the Prior Art
Claim 22 is determined to be allowable over the prior art.
The closest prior art does not disclose, teach or suggest to “process the representation of the audio data using a natural language processing algorithm to determine the desired operating parameter; process image data using a computer vision algorithm to determine the obtained operating parameter; and output the warning when a discrepancy between the representation of the audio data and the image data is detected.” as required by claim 22, as Kotian find discrepancies based on the audio and video data, not discrepancies between the audio and video data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 regarding claims 1-9, 11-12 and 14-22 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicat argues that amended claim 18 improves the technical field of medical device control as it recites an active physical control of a specific piece of medical hardware and provide a particular treatment by adjusting the indeflator, which integrate any abstract idea into a practical application.
In response, the method of claim 18 merely recited actions which may be performed by a human and thus are directed to certain methods of organizing human activity. Merely obtaining parameters, adjusting an indeflator based on the obtained parameters and generating a report representing the parameters in a record of the procedure are all routine activities physicians perform when performing and documenting procedures involving inflation of a balloon. There is no active control of the indeflator in some improved way which could be considered an improvement to technology and the adjusting the operation indeflator does not actually provide a treatment or prophylaxis as it does not require that the balloon to actually be used on the patient. Regarding the arguments pertaining to Diamon v. Diehr, while controlling a press to open is controlling a particular machine, adjusting a parameter of a indeflator used by physicians is not controlling a machine, but merely adjusting settings of a machine. Furthermore, the claims encompass a human adjusting the indeflator.
Applicant argues that the outputting of a warning of claim 1 based on monitoring real-time operating parameters against desired parameters is an improvement to safety and operation of medical procedures, similar to Thales.
In response, claim 1 does not recite any sensors, how operating and desired parameters are obtained or determined or even how the difference is determined. Rather the claims recite the abstract idea of providing warning when a desired operating parameter is different from a obtained operating parameters, without any details. While this system may improve safety, improving safety by comparing data is not an improvement to technology.
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 regarding claims 1-3, 11-15 and 18-20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant is directed to the instant rejection to show how the amended limitations are disclosed by Kotian. Specifically, when current operating parameters of a device that will cause a collision are different from desired operating parameters which will avoid a collision, an output is generated.
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 regarding claims 4-10, 16 and 17 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Groth does not teach the adjusting of the indeflator based on the obtain ballon pressure as recited in claim 18. However, claim 18 is a method claim which encompassed a human adjusting the indeflator and Groth teaches a human recording balloon pressures during a procedure involving balloon inflation and therefore teaches adjusting the indeflator to the obtained balloon pressure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIN C HEIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3686