DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Re-claim 10 recites “single unitary part”. as a first recitation, it is unclear if it is previously recited limitation of claim 1.
Re-claim 12, recites “an aircraft” as a first recitation, it is unclear if it is previously recited limitation of claim 1.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3,7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (US PG Pub 20140139057 hereinafter “Ho”) in view of Schweinert (US PG Pub 20170126084 hereinafter “Schweinert”).
Re-claim 1, Ho discloses a stator element (10,12,13,14,15) of an electric machine (Title) for an aircraft, the stator element comprising: an electrical conductor (12) that is elongate and hollow (P[0018]) in order to define a flow channel (121,flow channel, P[0018]) configured to have a coolant to flow (coolant fluid, see P[0018]) from a first end to a second end (two opposite ends of each electrically conducting pipe) of the conductor (12) , the conductor (12) being designed to pass an electrical current (P[0018[, current input thru 1201, output portion 1202); and a first connection element (121,121) located at one of the first and second ends of the conductor (input and output of 12), the first connection element comprising: a first fluid connection terminal (121) designed to allow the coolant to enter the channel (inside of 12) or to exit from the channel (channels 1212,1211), and a first electrical connection terminal (1201,1202) designed to electrically connect the conductor (12) wherein the conductor (12) and the connection element (121) are formed from a single unitary part (They are same part).
Ho fails to explicitly teach electric machine for an aircraft.
However, Schweinert teaches using the electric machine for an aircraft (P[0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the use of the electric machine of Ho wherein the electric machine is for an aircraft as suggested by Schweinert to provide needed actuation in an aircraft system and electrify the aircraft (Schweinert, P[0007]).
Re-claim 2, Ho as modified discloses the stator element according to claim 1, wherein the unitary part is made by one of additive manufacturing, wire drawing, machining, and molding (product is manufactured and flexibly adjusted) Product by process, Examiner points out this limitation is considered a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113. In this case as mentioned in P[0021], those skilled int eh art can “flexibly adjust number of turns of pipe 12 which has the unitary part).
Re-claim 3, Ho as modified discloses the stator element according to claim 1, wherein the unitary part is made of copper, aluminum, a copper alloy, or an aluminum alloy (copper material P[0018]).
Re-claim 7, Ho as modified discloses the stator element according to claim 1, wherein the first electrical connection terminal (1201) comprises an electrical connection hole (see fig.4, it is hole).
Re-claim 8, Ho as modified discloses the stator element according to claim 1.
Ho fails to explicitly teach wherein the first electrical connection terminal comprises a threaded rod.
However, Schweinert teaches the first electrical connection terminal comprises a threaded rod (P[0020],electrical hollow conductors connect via bolts, threaded connections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the of the electric machine of Ho wherein the first electrical connection terminal comprises a threaded rod as suggested by Schweinert to better assembly, leakproof connections and non-destructive structure (Schweinert, P[0020]).
Re-claim 9, Ho as modified discloses the stator element according to claim 1, wherein the first fluid connection terminal (121) comprises a male or female end piece (end part at 16).
Re-claim 10, Ho as modified discloses the stator element according to claim 1,further comprising a second connection element (another one of 121,121) located at another ends of the conductor (any one of 2 inputs, outputs of 12 input and output of 12), the second connection element (any of 121, 1212) comprising: a second fluid connection terminal (121, any of 121) for the coolant to enter the flow channel (inside of 12) or to exit from the flow channel (channels 1212,1211), and a second electrical connection terminal (any of 1201,1202) for electrically connecting the conductor (12) wherein the conductor (12) and the connection element (121,121) are formed from a single unitary part (They are same part).
Re-claim 11, Ho as modified discloses the electric machine comprising: a stator ,the stator (10) comprising the stator element (13,14,15,12,10) according to claim 1.
Ho fails to explicitly teach a rotor and a stator configured to drive the rotor.
However, Schweinert teaches a rotor (21) and a stator (22) configured to drive the rotor (21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the of the electric machine of Ho wherein a rotor and a stator configured to drive the rotor as suggested by Schweinert to provide a unit where conductor unit works as stator making it lightweight making it a highly efficient machine for aerospace applications for high acceleration (Schweinert, P[0051]).
Re-claim 12, Ho as modified by Schweinert teach an aircraft (see claim 1 above, as Schweinert teach an aircraft) comprising the electric machine according to claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 4, recites “inter alia”: 4. (Currently amended) The stator element according to claim 1,wherein the flow channel (308) has an internal diameter (d) and the fluid connection element (210) has an internal diameter (D) greater than the internal diameter (d) of the flow channel, as well as a constriction (310) between the diameter (D) of the connection element and the diameter (d) of the flow channel (308).”
The prior art of record, ip.com search , AI Sim search and other prior art references including Ho and other references fail to teach the combined limitations of claim 4 with claim 1. They prior art teach general structure of flow channel and fluid connection element with diameter, but fail to teach the diameters and the constriction between diameters as indicated in claim 4.
Claims 5-6 are rejected based on dependency from claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834