DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the New Zealand parent Application No. NZ791508 (filed on 08/18/2022) was received with the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs that are mentioned in the description: 114 (in paragraph 0075), 204 (in paragraph 0075), and 214 (in paragraph 0076). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters which are not mentioned in the description: 214a (in figure 2), 214b (in figure 2), 710 (in figure 7C), and 805 (in figure 9A). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the reference character “430” has been used to designate both the bevel gear linkage/drive mechanism (in figures 4A, 10A-10D, and 11A; see also paragraphs 0083, 0085, and 0128) and the receiving portion of the wire guide carriage (in figures 11B and 11D; see also paragraph 0081). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because in figure 10C, the reference character “110” has been used to designate both the reel spool and the fixed handle. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wire (as recited in claim 11) must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In paragraph 0085, line 6, the phrase “the rotating shaft 440” should read -- the rotating shaft 402 --.
In paragraph 0088, line 6, the phrase “the planet gears 156” should read -- the planet gears 608 --.
In paragraph 0088, line 8, the phrase “which rollers 522” should read -- which rollers 622 --.
In paragraph 0088, line 10, the phrase “the rollers 522” should read -- the rollers 622 --.
In paragraph 0105, line 12, the phrase “the clutch portion 804” should read -- the clutch portion 802 --.
In paragraph 0129, line 5, the phrase “each guide edge 1008” should read -- each guide edge 1010 --.
In paragraph 0130, line 1, the phrase “an outer surface 1102” should read -- an inner surface 1102 --.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 8-9, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In claim 4, line 2, the limitation “the clutch to provide” should read -- the clutch portion to provide --.
In claim 8, line 2, the limitation “and clutch portion” should read -- and the clutch portion --.
In claim 8, line 3, the limitation “the clutch to the coupler” should read -- the clutch portion to the coupler --.
In claim 9, line 3, the limitation “the clutch to the coupler” should read -- the clutch portion to the coupler --.
In claim 9, line 4, the limitation “the clutch from the coupler” should read -- the clutch portion from the coupler --.
In claim 11, line 7, the limitation “the helical track” should read -- the external helical track --.
In claim 11, line 8, the limitation “the shaft as the shaft” should read -- the rotating shaft as the rotating shaft --.
In claim 11, line 9, the limitation “the carriage” should read -- the wire guide carriage --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “the frame of the reel spool” (in line 3). There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It’s is also unclear if the frame of the reel spool is referring to the frame of the portable fence reel as described in parent claim 1, or another structural feature of the reel spool in said portable fence reel. Clarification by the applicant is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitations “the wire” (in line 2) and “the annular flanges” (in line 3). There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 12-13 depends from parent claim 1. Subsequently, claims 12-13 are also rejected as being indefinite for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jian (U.S. PGPUB 2007/0272787 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Jian teach (Figures 1-13 and 25-27) a portable fence reel (cable reeler illustrated in figures 25-27, which has substantially the same structural and functional configuration as the cable reeler illustrated in figures 1-13 and can be used to retract/dispense/store a cable or a hose as disclosed in paragraph 0001) comprising: a frame (housing formed of the right housing 3 and the left housing 24; where said left housing 24 is provided with the side cover 36 and the partition 37) that includes at least one arm (right housing 3 and left housing 24); a reel spool (reeling wheel formed of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13) that is rotatably mounted to the at least one arm (right housing 3 and left housing 24); a crank shaft (reeling wheel axle 15B) for rotating the reel spool (reeling wheel formed of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13); a winding handle (lever 34 with the treadle 35); and an automatic engaging mechanism (clutch 47) that includes a coupler (second clutch half 18) rotationally fixed (i.e. the second clutch half 18 is fixed to the left reeling wheel disk 17, and the circumferential surface 48B of the reeling wheel axle 15B is fixed to the central through hole 38 of said left reeling wheel disk 17) to the crank shaft (reeling wheel axle 15B), and a clutch portion (first clutch half 20) configured to be driven by the winding handle (lever 34 with the treadle 35) and to move along a longitudinal axis of the crank shaft (central axis of the reeling wheel axle 15B) for engaging with or disengage from the coupler (second clutch half 18); the automatic engaging mechanism (clutch 47) being operatively configured such that, the rotation (i.e. about the secondary axle 26) of the winding handle (lever 34 with the treadle 35) moves the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) between a first position (i.e. when the teeth 51 on the first clutch half 20 is not meshed with or axially disengaged from the teeth 52 on the second clutch half 18) in which the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) is disengaged from the coupler (second clutch half 18), and a second position (i.e. when the teeth 51 on the first clutch half 20 is meshed with or axially engaged with the teeth 52 on the second clutch half 18) in which the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) is engaged with the coupler (second clutch half 18) so that the rotation (i.e. in the counterclockwise direction) of the winding handle (lever 34 with the treadle 35) causes rotation (i.e. in the clockwise direction during the retraction and winding of the cable/hose 10) of the crank shaft (reeling wheel axle 15B) and therefore the reel spool (reeling wheel formed of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13); wherein the rotation (i.e. in the counterclockwise direction during the dispensing/withdrawal and unwinding of the cable/hose 10) of the reel spool (reeling wheel formed of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13) independently of the winding handle (lever 34 with the treadle 35) causes the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) to disengage (i.e. at least partially under action/force of the compression spring 19) from the coupler (second clutch half 18) so that the winding handle (lever 34 with the treadle 35) is disconnected (i.e. both physically and in a rotational force/torque transmitting manner) from the crank shaft (reeling wheel axle 15B) (see also paragraphs 0047-0057 and 0072-0077).
In regards to claims 2-5, Jian teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Jian further teach (Figures 1-13 and 25-27), the portable fence reel (cable reeler illustrated in figures 25-27) also comprising a stationary reference (control member 21) that is fixed relative to the frame (housing formed of the right housing 3 and the left housing 24); the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) being configured to interact with the stationary reference (control member 21) to provide the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) with a resistance against rotation; wherein the stationary reference (control member 21) having an annular radially inward facing surface (inner surface of the control member 21 that defines the recesses 58) that is configured to interact with the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) to provide said the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) with the resistance against rotation, and the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) has clutch resistance features (one-way cogs 55) configured to interact with the stationary reference (control member 21) to provide said clutch portion (first clutch half 20) with the resistance against rotation (see also paragraphs 0049-0050, 0055, 0057, 0075, and 0077).
In regards to claims 8-9, Jian teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Jian further teach (Figures 1-13 and 25-27), the coupler (second clutch half 18) and the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) having complementary engaging features (teeth 51 of the first clutch half 20 and teeth 52 of the second clutch half 18) configured to engage with one another to transfer rotational forces from the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) to the coupler (second clutch half 18), and therefore through to the reel spool (reeling wheel formed of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13); the complementary engaging features (teeth 51 of the first clutch half 20 and teeth 52 of the second clutch half 18) including clutch teeth (teeth 51 of the first clutch half 20) and coupler teeth (teeth 52 of the second clutch half 18); wherein the clutch teeth (teeth 51 of the first clutch half 20) and/or coupler teeth (teeth 52 of the second clutch half 18) having a first side (tapered/slopes surface of the teeth 51 that engages and presses on the tapered/sloped surface of the teeth 52, when the first clutch half 20 rotates in the clockwise direction to force the rotation of the second clutch half 18 in said clockwise direction; or tapered/sloped surface of the teeth 52 that is engaged and pressed by the tapered/slopes surface of the teeth 51, when the first clutch half 20 rotates in the clockwise direction to force the rotation of the second clutch half 18 in said clockwise direction) configured to transfer rotational forces from the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) to the coupler (second clutch half 18), and a second side (tapered/sloped surface of the teeth 51 that engages and axially slide along the tapered/slopes surface of the teeth 52, when the first clutch half 20 moves axially away from the second clutch half 18 as said first clutch half 20 rotates in the counterclockwise direction; tapered/sloped surface of the teeth 52 that engages and axially slide along the tapered/slopes surface of the teeth 51, when the first clutch half 20 moves axially away from the second clutch half 18 as said first clutch half 20 rotates in the counterclockwise direction) configured to encourage disconnection of the clutch portion (first clutch half 20) from the coupler (second clutch half 18) (see also paragraphs 0049, 0055, and 0075).
In regards to claim 11, Jian teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Jian further teach (Figures 1-13 and 25-27), the portable fence reel (cable reeler illustrated in figures 25-27) also comprising a traverse winder mechanism (cable/hose distribution mechanism formed of the synchronizing gear 6, the synchronizing gear cover 5, the pinion gear ‘a’, the two-way trapezoid screw ‘b’, the commutator ‘c’, the mounting frame ‘e’, the pulleys ‘f’, the two iron bars ‘g’, and the timing toothed belt ‘7’) that is configured to guide the feeding of a wire (cable 10) across a barrel of the reel spool (cylindrical hub/drum portion of the reeling wheel formed of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13, as clearly illustrated in figures 1 and 25) and between annular flanges (circular flange portions of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13, as clearly illustrated in figures 1 and 25) of the reel spool (reeling wheel formed of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13), during the rotation of said reel spool (reeling wheel formed of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13); the traverse winder mechanism (cable/hose distribution mechanism formed of the synchronizing gear 6, the synchronizing gear cover 5, the pinion gear ‘a’, the two-way trapezoid screw ‘b’, the commutator ‘c’, the mounting frame ‘e’, the pulleys ‘f’, the two iron bars ‘g’, and the timing toothed belt ‘7’) including a rotating shaft (two-way trapezoid screw ‘b’) and having an external helical track (helical track on the two-way trapezoid screw ‘b’, as clearly illustrated in figure 2), and a wire guide carriage (mounting frame ‘e’ with the commutator ‘c’, the pulleys ‘f’, and the two iron bars ‘g’) having a track follower (commutator ‘c’) and a guide passage (cable traveling opening defined within the mounting frame ‘e’, which is where the pulleys ‘f’ are located/mounted); wherein the track follower (commutator ‘c’) is configured to engage with the external helical track (helical track on the two-way trapezoid screw ‘b’, as clearly illustrated in figure 2) in order to guide the wire guide carriage (mounting frame ‘e’) across the rotating shaft (two-way trapezoid screw ‘b’) during the rotation of said rotating shaft (two-way trapezoid screw ‘b’), and the guide passage (cable traveling opening defined within the mounting frame ‘e’, which is where the pulleys ‘f’ are located/mounted) is configured to locate the wire (cable 10) relative to the wire guide carriage (mounting frame ‘e’) (see also paragraph 0051).
In regards to claim 12, Jian teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Jian further teach (Figures 1-13 and 25-27), the frame (housing formed of the right housing 3 and the left housing 24) including an anterior frame portion (left housing 24) defining a posterior facing surface (side surface of the left housing 24 that faces the right housing 3) that has a superior raised bearing feature (guide column ‘d’) with a first bearing surface (outer surface of the guide column ‘d’); wherein the wire guide carriage (mounting frame ‘e’) has an anterior protrusion (portion of the mounting frame ‘e’ that defines the round hole 66) with a first anterior bearing surface (inner surface of the round hole 66) configured to bear against the first bearing surface (outer surface of the guide column ‘d’) in use.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tracey et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0087645 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Tracey”).
In regards to claim 1, teach (Figures 4, 4C-5B, 6A, and 7A) a portable fence reel (combined structure of the hand crank assembly 50 and the reel 60; where said hand crank assembly 50 is configured with the engagement clutch 100 illustrated in figure 4C) comprising: a frame (housing that encloses the reel 60, which is partially formed by the frame portion 116 as described in paragraph 0046) that includes at least one arm (frame portion 116); a reel spool (reel 60, which is configured to wind/unwind/store linear materials, such as a hose or a wire, as disclosed in paragraphs 0005 and 0026) that is rotatably mounted to the at least one arm (frame portion 116); a crank shaft (reel shaft 68, which is rotatably coupled to the driven shaft 110) for rotating the reel spool (reel 60); a winding handle (lever 180, which is coupled to the driven shaft 110 via the first pulley member 150, the second pulley member 152, the third pulley member 154, the fourth pulley member 156, the first belt 160, the second belt 162, and the driving shaft 170); and an automatic engaging mechanism (engagement clutch 100) that includes a coupler (driven part 102) rotationally fixed to the crank shaft (reel shaft 68), and a clutch portion (driving part 104) configured to be driven by (i.e. the driven shaft 110, the first pulley member 150, the second pulley member 152, the third pulley member 154, the fourth pulley member 156, the first belt 160, the second belt 162, and the driving shaft 170) the winding handle (lever 180) and to move along a longitudinal axis of the crank shaft (central axis of the reel shaft 68) for engaging with or disengage from the coupler (driven part 102); the automatic engaging mechanism (engagement clutch 100) being operatively configured such that, the rotation (i.e. in the second/counterclockwise rotational direction) of the winding handle (lever 180) moves the clutch portion (driving part 104) between a first position (i.e. when the teeth 104b of the driving part 104 is not meshed/disengaged from and axially spaced apart from the teeth 102b of the driven part 102) in which the clutch portion (driving part 10) is disengaged from the coupler (driven part 102), and a second position (i.e. when the teeth 104b of the driving part 104 is meshed/engaged with the teeth 102b of the driven part 102) in which the clutch portion (driving part 104) is engaged with the coupler (driven part 102) so that the rotation (i.e. in the first/clockwise rotational direction) of the winding handle (lever 180) causes rotation of the crank shaft (reel shaft 68) and therefore the reel spool (reel 60); wherein the rotation of the reel spool (reel 60) independently of the winding handle (lever 180) causes the clutch portion (driving part 10) to disengage (i.e. due to the retraction force applied by the spring 109 overcoming the resistance force applied onto the driving part 104 by the resistance bushing 108a of the one-way clutch 108) from the coupler (driven part 102) so that the winding handle (lever 180) is disconnected from the crank shaft (reel shaft 68) (see also paragraphs 0043-0060).
In regards to claims 2-5, Tracey teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Tracey further teach (Figures 4, 4C-5B, 6A, and 7A), the portable fence reel (combined structure of the hand crank assembly 50 and the reel 60) also comprising a stationary reference (one-way clutch 108 and resistance bushing 108a) that is fixed (via the collar 106) relative to the frame (housing that encloses the reel 60, which is partially formed by the frame portion 116); the clutch portion (driving part 104) being configured to interact with the stationary reference (one-way clutch 108 and resistance bushing 108a) to provide the clutch portion (driving part 104) with a resistance against rotation; wherein the stationary reference (one-way clutch 108 and resistance bushing 108a) having an annular radially inward facing surface (inner surface of the resistance bushing 108a that engages/contacts the outer surface of the driving part 104) that is configured to interact with the clutch portion (driving part 104) to provide said the clutch portion (driving part 104) with the resistance against rotation, and the clutch portion (driving part 104) has clutch resistance features (outer surface of the driving part 104 that engages/contacts the inner surface of the resistance bushing 108a) configured to interact with the stationary reference (one-way clutch 108 and resistance bushing 108a) to provide said clutch portion (driving part 104) with the resistance against rotation (see also paragraphs 0048-0052).
In regards to claims 6-7, Tracey teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Tracey further teach (Figures 4, 4C-5B, 6A, and 7A), the clutch portion (driving part 104) and the winding handle (lever 180, which is coupled to the driven shaft 110 via the first pulley member 150, the second pulley member 152, the third pulley member 154, the fourth pulley member 156, the first belt 160, the second belt 162, and the driving shaft 170; therefore, the driven shaft 110 can be considered to be a functional part or indirectly linked component of the lever 180) includes complementary translation features (threads 104c on the driving part 104 and threaded portion 110b on the driven shaft 110); wherein the complementary translation features (threads 104c on the driving part 104 and threaded portion 110b on the driven shaft 110) are complementary threads (see also paragraphs 0050-0052).
In regards to claims 8-9, Tracey teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Tracey further teach (Figures 4, 4C-5B, 6A, and 7A), the coupler (driven part 102) and the clutch portion (driving part 104) having complementary engaging features (teeth 102b of the driven part 102 and teeth 104b of the driving part 104) configured to engage with one another to transfer rotational forces from the clutch portion (driving part 104) to the coupler (driven part 102), and therefore through to the reel spool (reel 60); the complementary engaging features (teeth 102b of the driven part 102 and teeth 104b of the driving part 104) including clutch teeth (teeth 104b) and coupler teeth (teeth 102b); wherein the clutch teeth (teeth 104b) and/or coupler teeth (teeth 102b) having a first side (tapered/slopes surface of the teeth 104b that engages and presses on the tapered/sloped surface of the teeth 102b, when the driving part 104 rotates in the first/clockwise rotational direction to force the rotation of the driven part 102 in said first/clockwise rotational direction; or tapered/sloped surface of the teeth 102b that is engaged and pressed by the tapered/slopes surface of the teeth 104b, when the driving part 104 rotates in the first/clockwise rotational direction to force the rotation of the driven part 102 in said first/clockwise rotational direction) configured to transfer rotational forces from the clutch portion (driving part 104) to the coupler (driven part 102), and a second side (tapered/sloped surface of the teeth 104b that engages and axially slide along the tapered/slopes surface of the teeth 102b, when the driving part 104 moves axially away from the driven part 102 as said driving part 104 rotates in the second/counterclockwise rotational direction; tapered/sloped surface of the teeth 102b that engages and axially slide along the tapered/slopes surface of the teeth 104b, when the driving part 104 moves axially away from the driven part 102 as said driving part 104 rotates in the second/counterclockwise rotational direction) configured to encourage disconnection of the clutch portion (driving part 104) from the coupler (driven part 102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian in view of Gardner et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0151198 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Gardner”).
In regards to claim 10, Jian teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Jian fails to teach, the portable fence reel (cable reeler illustrated in figures 25-27, which has substantially the same structural and functional configuration as the cable reeler illustrated in figures 1-13 and can be used to retract/dispense/store a cable or a hose as disclosed in paragraph 0001) also comprising a strand connection feature configured to connect a conductive strand (cable 10) on the reel spool (reeling wheel formed of the left reeling wheel disk 17 and the right reeling wheel disk 13) with the frame (housing formed of the right housing 3 and the left housing 24) to provide an electrically conductive connection.
However, Gardner does teach (Figures 1-11) a portable fence reel (reel 1) comprising: a frame (frame 3) that includes at least one arm (left side and right side arm portions of the frame 3), a reel spool (bobbin 2) that is rotatably mounted to the at least one arm (left side and right side arm portions of the frame 3), a crank shaft (crank shaft 61) for rotating the reel spool (bobbin 2), a winding handle (crank 4) for selectively rotating the crank shaft (crank shaft 61), an engaging mechanism (disengagement lever 5) configured to selectively connect/disconnect the winding handle (crank 4) from the crank shaft (crank shaft 61), and a strand connection feature (bar 86 with the switch 87, the hot-up wire 90, the inserts 91, the bolts 92, and the conductive piece 94) configured to connect a conductive strand (conductor wound on/unwound from the bobbin 2) on the reel spool (bobbin 2) with the frame (frame 3) so as to provide an electrically conductive connection (as disclosed in paragraphs 0117-0120) (see also paragraphs 0075-0121).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Jian’s portable fence reel, with a strand connection feature, as suggested by Gardner; where said strand connection feature is configured to connect the conductive strand (e.g. an electrical fence wire/cable) wound on or unwound from the reel spool with the frame in an electrically conductive manner. Arranging such a strand connection feature on the portable fence reel taught by Jian, would enable said portable fence reel to be used for deploying and/or storing any type of electrical wire/cable that needs to be electrically powered (i.e. in addition to being used for deploying and/or storing any other elongated strand-type material, e.g. non-electric wires, non-electric wires cables, ropes, etc.), and also to effectively and safely supply electricity to said electrical wire/cable when required; thereby improves the overall versatility, utility, and operational resourcefulness of Jian’s portable fence reel.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian in view of Wang (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0294872 A1).
In regards to claim 13, Jian teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Jian fails to teach, the posterior facing surface of the anterior frame portion (side surface of the left housing 24 that faces the right housing 3) having an inferior raised bearing feature with a second bearing surface, or the externa surface of the wire guide carriage (outer surface of the mounting frame ‘e’) bearing against such an inferior raised bearing feature on the posterior facing surface of the anterior frame portion (side surface of the left housing 24 that faces the right housing 3).
Nevertheless, Wang doe teach (Figures 1-9) a portable reel (winding device ‘A’) comprising: a reel spool (winding rack 11) that is rotatably mounted to a frame (winding device main body 10), and a traverse winder mechanism (guiding slider 50, driving shaft 60, and driven part 62) configured to guide the feeding of an elongated material (water hose 20) wound on the reel spool (winding rack 11) during the rotation of said reel spool (winding rack 11); the traverse winder mechanism (guiding slider 50, driving shaft 60, and driven part 62) including: a rotating shaft (driving shaft 60) extending across the reel spool (winding rack 11) and having an external helical track (bi-directional screws 61); and an elongated material guide carriage (guiding slider 50) having a track follower (driven through hole 54) configured to engage with the helical track (bi-directional screws 61) in order to guide the elongate material guide carriage (guiding slider 50) across the rotating shaft (driving shaft 60) during the rotation (via the driven part 62) of said rotating shaft (driving shaft 60), and a guide passage (through hole 51) configured to locate the elongated material (water hose 20) relative to the elongated material guide carriage (guiding slider 50); the frame (winding device main body 10) including: an anterior frame portion (front portion of the winding device main body 10 that defines the exit guide hole 13) defining a posterior facing surface (interior surface on the front portion of the winding device main body 10) that has a superior raised bearing feature (lower track 102) with a first bearing surface (upper end grooved portion of the lower track 102, which receives and engages the lower sliding support 53 of the guiding slider 50), and that has an inferior raised bearing feature (upper track 101) with a second bearing surface (lower end grooved portion of the upper track 101, which receives and engages the upper sliding support 52 of the guiding slider 50); wherein the elongated guide carriage (guiding slider 50) has an anterior protrusion (lower sliding support 53) with a first anterior bearing surface (lower end protruding portion of the lower sliding support 53, which is disposed within and engages the lower track 102) configured to bear against the first bearing surface (upper end grooved portion of the lower track 102) in use, and has an external surface (upper end protruding portion of the upper sliding support 52, which is disposed within and engages the upper track 101) configured to bear against the second bearing surface (lower end grooved portion of the upper track 101) in use (see also paragraphs 0028-0036).
Consequently, using the suggestions in Wang, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the anterior frame portion of the frame in Jian’s portable fence reel, with an inferior raised bearing feature that is located on the posterior facing surface of the anterior frame portion and that has a second bearing surface (i.e. in addition to the superior raised bearing feature having the first bearing surface, along which the first anterior bearing surface of the anterior protrusion on the wire guide carriage bear against/travels); where the external surface on the wire guide carriage of the traverse winder mechanism is configured to bear against/travels on the second bearing surface of the inferior raised bearing feature. Arranging both an superior raised bearing feature having a first bearing surface (which engages/guides the first anterior bearing surface of the anterior protrusion on the wire guide carriage) and an inferior raised bearing feature having a second bearing surface (which engages/guides first anterior bearing surface of the anterior protrusion on the wire guide carriage) on the anterior frame portion of the frame in the portable fence reel, would facilitate and enhance the proper traversal movement of the wire guide carriage along the rotating shaft of the traverse winder mechanism, without allowing said wire guide carriage to rotate relative to said rotating shaft. In other words, since the wire guide carriage bears against at least two contact points on the posterior facing surface of the anterior frame portion (e.g. the superior raised bearing feature and the inferior raised bearing feature), said wire guide carriage is effectively prevented from rotating about the rotating shaft during the rotation of said rotating shaft; which will allow the traverse winder mechanism in the modified portable fence reel to orderly wind a wire about the reel spool, and to correctly/efficiently dispense said wire from the reel spool; thereby optimizing the overall operative functionality/performance of said traverse winder mechanism and said portable fence reel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the attached PTO-892 for complete list of pertinent prior art references made of record by the examiner.
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654