DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Remboski et al. (US 10,877,060, hereafter Remboski)
With respect to claim 17, Remboski teaches a wind sensor, comprising: a spherical shell body having an exterior wall, a plurality of openings (ports 16) residing in the exterior wall and fluidly communicating with an exterior of the spherical shell body, the plurality of openings having differing locations at the exterior wall relative to one another; a plurality of pressure taps having a plurality of tubes, the plurality of tubes extending to the plurality of openings and fluidly communicating with the plurality of openings; and a plurality of pressure transducers (sensors 18) having connections with the plurality of pressure taps via the plurality of tubes. (col. 4, lines 9-29, 42-65, Fig. 1B)
With respect to claim 18, Remboski teaches a controller (controller 28), the controller residing on a circuit board, wherein the exterior wall of the spherical shell body defines an interior, the plurality of pressure taps and plurality of tubes and plurality of pressure transducers and controller and circuit board all being located within the interior of the spherical shell body and wherein wind direction and wind velocity estimations at the exterior of the spherical shell body are made via the plurality of openings and the plurality of pressure taps and the plurality of pressure transducers. (col. 5, lines 3-24, Fig. 1B)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-11 and 13-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Remboski et al. (US 10,877,060, hereafter Remboski) in view of Raissi et al. (US 2020/0293594, hereafter Raissi)
With respect to claim 1, Remboski teaches a wind sensor, comprising: a spherical shell body; a plurality of pressure taps (ports 16) coupled with the spherical shell body and fluidly communicating with an exterior of the spherical shell body, the plurality of pressure taps having varying locations at the spherical shell body relative to one another; and a plurality of pressure transducers (sensors 18) having connections with the plurality of pressure taps; wherein wind direction and wind velocity at the exterior of the spherical shell body are estimated based at least in part upon pressure measurements taken at the varying locations at the spherical shell body by the plurality of pressure transducers. (col. 4, lines 9-29, 42-65, Figs. 1B)
Remboski does not explicitly teach the estimating is done using an inverse mathematical model and machine learning.
Raissi teaches using modeling and machine learning to determine physical values using sensor data. (par. 39-42, 47-51)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the sensor of Remboski to perform modeling, as taught by Raissi, in order to provide more accurate estimated values.
With respect to claim 4, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches the plurality of pressure taps comprises at least a first pressure tap (16A) having a first location at the spherical shell body, a second pressure tap (16B) having a second location at the spherical shell body, a third pressure tap (16C) having a third location at the spherical shell body, a fourth pressure tap (16D) having a fourth location at the spherical shell a fifth pressure tap (16E) having a fifth location at the spherical shell body, and a sixth pressure tap (16F) having a sixth location at the spherical shell body. (Remboski, col. 9, lines 41-63, Fig. 1B)
With respect to claim 6, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches the wind direction and wind velocity estimations are based upon pressure distribution of the pressure measurements at the exterior of the spherical shell body. (Remboski, col. 8, line 55 – col. 9, line 63)
With respect to claim 7, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches the plurality of pressure taps is coupled at an exterior wall of the spherical shell body via a symmetrical arrangement relative to one another, and the wind direction and wind velocity estimations are based upon pressure distribution of the pressure measurements taken by the plurality of pressure transducers via the symmetrically arranged plurality of pressure taps. (Remboski, col. 8, line 55 – col. 9, line 63)
With respect to claim 8, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches the wind direction and wind velocity estimations are three-dimensional wind direction and wind velocity estimations with respect to the spherical shell body. (Remboski, col. 9, lines 55- 63)
With respect to claim 9, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches a controller receiving the pressure measurements from the plurality of pressure taps and the wind direction and wind velocity estimations are performed via the controller. (Remboski, col. 5, lines 3-24, Fig. 1B)
With respect to claim 10, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches the controller and the plurality of pressure transducers are located within an interior of the spherical shell body. (Remboski, col. 4, line 42 - col. 5, line 24, Fig. 1B)
With respect to claim 11, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches the machine learning involves neural networks. (Raissi, par. 184)
With respect to claim 13, Remboski teaches a method of making wind direction and wind velocity estimations, the method comprising: taking pressure measurements at a plurality of locations on a spherical shell body; using the pressure measurements to estimate the wind direction and wind velocity. (Remboski, col. 5, lines 3-24, col. 8, line 55 – col. 9, line 63, Fig. 1B)
Remboski does not explicitly teach making the estimations in an inverse mathematical model; developing the inverse mathematical model with machine learning; and making the wind direction and wind velocity estimations via the inverse mathematical model.
Raissi teaches using modeling and machine learning to determine physical values using sensor data. (par. 39-42, 47-51)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Remboski to perform modeling, as taught by Raissi, in order to provide more accurate estimated values.
With respect to claim 14, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches taking the pressure measurements via a plurality of pressure taps situated at the plurality of locations on the spherical shell body and via a plurality of pressure transducers having connections with the plurality of pressure taps. (Remboski, col. 4, lines 9-29, 42-65, Figs. 1B)
With respect to claim 15, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches using pressure distribution of the pressure measurements with respect to the plurality of locations around the spherical shell body to make the wind direction and wind velocity estimations. (Remboski, col. 8, line 55 – col. 9, line 63)
With respect to claim 16, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches using aerodynamic properties of wind flow with respect to the spherical shell body in making the wind direction and wind velocity estimations via the inverse mathematical model. (Remboski, col. 8, line 55 – col. 9, line 63)
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Remboski in view of Raissi as applied above, and further in view of Corey et al. (US 7,093,483, hereafter Corey
With respect to claim 2, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches the spherical shell body has an interior. (Remboski, col. 4, lines 9-66, Fig. 1B)
Remboski, as modified by Raissi, does not explicitly teach the plurality of pressure taps has a plurality of tubes that span through the interior.
Corey teaches a wind sensor, comprising: a body (housing 20); a plurality of pressure taps (ports 40) coupled with the body and fluidly communicating with an exterior of the body, the plurality of pressure taps having varying locations relative to one another; and a plurality of pressure transducers (sensors 60) having connections with the plurality of pressure taps; and the plurality of pressure taps has a plurality of tubes (tubular structures 50) that span through the interior of the body. (col. 4, lines 20-26, 51-60, Figs. 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the invention of Remboski to use tubes that span through the interior of the body, as taught by Corey, in order to protect the sensors from damage by locating them further within the body.
With respect to claim 3, Remboski, as modified by Raissi and Corey, teaches the spherical shell body has an exterior wall establishing the interior, a plurality of openings resides in the exterior wall, and the plurality of tubes fluidly communicates with the plurality of openings. (Remboski, col. 4, lines 9-29, 42-65, Figs. 1B)
With respect to claim 5, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, teaches a stem (mount 22) extending from the spherical shell body at the exterior. (Remboski, col. 5, lines 25-58, Fig. 3)
Remboski, as modified by Raissi, does not explicitly teach the plurality of pressure taps having a plurality of tubes that span through an interior of the spherical shell body and that span through the stem.
Corey teaches a wind sensor, comprising: a body (housing 20); a plurality of pressure taps (ports 40) coupled with the body and fluidly communicating with an exterior of the body, the plurality of pressure taps having varying locations relative to one another; and a plurality of pressure transducers (sensors 60) having connections with the plurality of pressure taps; and the plurality of pressure taps has a plurality of tubes (tubular structures 50) that span through the interior of the body. (col. 4, lines 20-26, 51-60, Figs. 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the invention of Remboski to use tubes that span through the interior of the body, as taught by Corey, in order to protect the sensors from damage by locating them further within the body.
Although the references do not explicitly teach the tubes spanning through the stem, this would have been an obvious alternative structure in order to use the stem structure for additional protection.
With respect to claim 12, Remboski, as modified by Raissi, does not explicitly teach a humidity sensor, a temperature sensor, or both a humidity sensor and a temperature sensor.
Corey teaches a wind sensor, comprising: a body (housing 20); a plurality of pressure taps (ports 40) coupled with the body and fluidly communicating with an exterior of the body, the plurality of pressure taps having varying locations relative to one another; and a plurality of pressure transducers (sensors 60) having connections with the plurality of pressure taps; and a humidity sensor, a temperature sensor, or both a humidity sensor and a temperature sensor . (col. 4, lines 20-26, 51-60, col. 5, lines 14-17, col. 6, lines 47-52, Figs. 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the invention of Remboski to include a humidity sensor and a temperature sensor, as taught by Corey, in order to be able to adjust the calculated results based on the current conditions.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Remboski in view of Corey.
With respect to claim 19, Remboski teaches a stem (mount 22) extending from the spherical shell body and situated at least partly at the exterior of the spherical shell body, the exterior wall of the spherical shell defining an interior. (col. 5, lines 25-58, Fig. 3)
Remboski does not explicitly teach the plurality of tubes spanning through the interior and through the stem.
Corey teaches a wind sensor, comprising: a body (housing 20); a plurality of pressure taps (ports 40) coupled with the body and fluidly communicating with an exterior of the body, the plurality of pressure taps having varying locations relative to one another; and a plurality of pressure transducers (sensors 60) having connections with the plurality of pressure taps; and the plurality of pressure taps has a plurality of tubes (tubular structures 50) that span through the interior of the body. (col. 4, lines 20-26, 51-60, Figs. 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Remboski to use tubes that span through the interior of the body, as taught by Corey, in order to protect the sensors from damage by locating them further within the body.
Although the references do not explicitly teach the tubes spanning through the stem, this would have been an obvious alternative structure in order to use the stem structure for additional protection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10,371,713; US 10,921,344; and US 11,566,892 each teach an invention having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853