DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 11-19 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/19/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10, the term “recording unit” acts as a generic placeholder for the term “means”. Also, the generic placeholder is modified by functional language. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The structure corresponding to the “recording unit” may be found in at least paragraphs 0027-0065, and 0341-0353 of Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claims 1-8, the term “control unit” acts as a generic placeholder for the term “means”. Also, the generic placeholder is modified by functional language. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The structure corresponding to the “control unit” may be found in at least paragraphs 0027-0065, and 0341-0353 of Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claims 2-4, the term “display unit” acts as a generic placeholder for the term “means”. Also, the generic placeholder is modified by functional language. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The structure corresponding to the “display unit” may be found in at least paragraphs 0027-0065, and 0341-0353 of Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claims 5 and 8, the term “communication unit” acts as a generic placeholder for the term “means”. Also, the generic placeholder is modified by functional language. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The structure corresponding to the “communication unit” may be found in at least paragraphs 0027-0065, and 0341-0353 of Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 9, the term “information processing device” acts as a generic placeholder for the term “means”. Also, the generic placeholder is modified by functional language. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The structure corresponding to the “information processing device” may be found in at least paragraphs 0027-0065, and 0341-0353 of Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because it fails to claim statutory subject matter.
Claim 10 is directed to a program without any structural recitations. Claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations (See MPEP 2106.03 I). Therefore, claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as failing to claim statutory subject matter.
In the interest of compact prosecution, examination of claim 10 will continue as if claim 10 were amended to be directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter (See MPEP § 2106.03, subsections I and II). Claims 1-8 are directed to a computer-implemented system (i.e., machine, and manufacture). Claim 9 is directed to a computer-implemented method (i.e., process). Claim 10 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (i.e., manufacture). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1)). The independent claims under a broadest reasonable interpretation recite an abstract idea because the claims describe wallet management, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II). The claim limitations reciting the abstract idea are grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas because the limitations describe fundamental economic principles or practices, including mitigating risk, and describe commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea.
Claim 1:
An information processing device comprising:
a recording unit that records address information of a plurality of wallets of a user including a custodial wallet and a non-custodial wallet in correlation with each other; and
a control unit that switches, based on the address information, the wallet to be used among the plurality of wallets according to an operation by the user.
Claim 9:
An information processing method comprising:
switching, by an information processing device, based on address information of a plurality of wallets of a user including a custodial wallet and a non-custodial wallet recorded in correlation with each other in a recording unit, the wallet to be used among the plurality of wallets according to an operation by the user.
Claim 10:
A program that causes a computer to execute processing comprising a step of
switching, based on address information of a plurality of wallets of a user including a custodial wallet and a non-custodial wallet recorded in correlation with each other in a recording unit, the wallet to be used among the plurality of wallets according to an operation by the user.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Prong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2)). Examiners evaluate integration into a practical application by: (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application, using one or more of the considerations discussed in more detail in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1), 2106.04(d)(2), 2106.05(a) through (c) and 2106.05(e) through (h). Here, the non-underlined claim limitations above recite additional elements. The additional elements do not improve the functioning of computers, another technology, or a technical field (MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)). The Specification does not assert that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. The claim does not purport to improve computer capabilities, but rather invokes computers merely as a tool by adding general purpose computers post-hoc to an abstract idea. A commonplace business method being applied on a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement to technology. The claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology. The Specification and the claim language provide evidence that the focus of the claim is on a scheme. An improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology. Even if the Specification describes technical improvements, they are not claimed. The additional elements do not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2)). The additional elements do not implement the abstract idea with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(b)). A general-purpose computer that applies a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea, by use of conventional computer functions does not qualify as a particular machine. The additional elements do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP § 2106.05(c)). The claim does not recite any transformation of an article where the article changes to a different state or thing. Nor do the additional elements apply the abstract idea in a meaningful way or impose a meaningful limit on it beyond linking its use to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The additional elements generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. A wholly generic computer implementation is not generally the sort of additional feature that provides any practical assurance that the process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the abstract idea itself. The additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements are being used in their ordinary capacity. The additional elements do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process. The additional elements generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above.
Step 2B
Step 2B determines whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP § 2106.05). In Step 2B examiners carry over their identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two; carry over their conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two on the considerations discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.05(a)-(c), (e), (f) and (h); re-evaluate any additional element or combination of elements that was considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity per MPEP § 2106.05(g), because if such re-evaluation finds that the element is unconventional or otherwise more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, this finding may indicate that the additional element is no longer considered to be insignificant; and evaluate whether any additional element or combination of elements are other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, or simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, per MPEP § 2106.05(d). The additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The additional elements generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Here, the additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry. A factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Here, the specification of the application indicates that additional elements are well-known or conventional (See Spec. 0027-0065, 0341-0353). There is nothing in the specification to indicate that the operations recited in the claims require any specialized hardware or inventive computer components or that the claimed invention is implemented using other than generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. The ordered combination recites no more than the individual elements do. Thus, the additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above without significantly more. The claims are not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Dependent Claims
Claim 2 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes wallet management, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0027-0065, 0341-0353). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
a display unit that displays a screen related to an application that uses the wallet,
wherein the control unit switches the wallet according to an operation on the screen by the user.
Claim 3 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes wallet management, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0027-0065, 0341-0353). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the display unit displays a list of the plurality of wallets on the screen, and
the control unit switches the wallet to be used to the wallet selected from the list by the user.
Claim 4 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes wallet management, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0027-0065, 0341-0353). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the display unit displays the screen in a mode in which the wallet selected is used, and
the control unit switches the mode and the wallet according to a swipe operation on the screen.
Claim 5 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes wallet and NFT management, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0027-0065, 0341-0353). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
a communication unit that acquires, from a server managing a private key of the custodial wallet, NFT information related to an NFT held in an account related to each of the plurality of wallets of the user,
wherein the control unit displays, based on the NFT information, a list of the NFTs in at least one of an OFF-chain state and an ON-chain state held in each of the plurality of accounts of the user on a screen in a mode in which the custodial wallet is used.
Claim 6 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes wallet and NFT management, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0027-0065, 0341-0353). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the control unit executes, based on the NFT information, processing of correlating the NFT in an OFF-chain state designated by the user among the NFTs listed with the wallet designated by the user to set the NFT in an ON-chain state.
Claim 7 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes wallet management and transactions, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0027-0065, 0341-0353). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the control unit executes, based on the address information, processing of transferring an asset held in the wallet of the user to another wallet of the user.
Claim 8 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes wallet management and identity verification, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0027-0065, 0341-0353). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
a communication unit that acquires, from a server managing a private key of the custodial wallet, user information used for identity verification of the user at time of opening an account related to the custodial wallet,
wherein the control unit uses the user information as information regarding the user when using a predetermined service in a mode in which the non-custodial wallet is used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0262137 A1 (“Armstrong”).
Claims 1 and 9-10:
Armstrong discloses:
a recording unit that records address information of a plurality of wallets of a user including a custodial wallet and a non-custodial wallet in correlation with each other; and (0008, 0083-0084, 0111, 0144-0145, 0149, 0160, 0163-0164, 0169-0170, 0179-0182)
a control unit that switches, based on the address information, the wallet to be used among the plurality of wallets according to an operation by the user. (0090, 0095, 0153, 0159, 0161)
Claim 2:
Armstrong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Armstrong further discloses:
a display unit that displays a screen related to an application that uses the wallet, wherein the control unit switches the wallet according to an operation on the screen by the user. (0085, 0089-0090, 0095, 0101, 0153, 0161)
Claim 3:
Armstrong discloses all limitations of claim 2. Armstrong further discloses:
wherein the display unit displays a list of the plurality of wallets on the screen, and the control unit switches the wallet to be used to the wallet selected from the list by the user. (0085, 0089-0090, 0095, 0101, 0153, 0161)
Claim 7:
Armstrong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Armstrong further discloses:
wherein the control unit executes, based on the address information, processing of transferring an asset held in the wallet of the user to another wallet of the user. (0111-0112, 0117-0121, 0124, 0126, 0153, 0159, 0161)
Claim 8:
Armstrong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Armstrong further discloses:
a communication unit that acquires, from a server managing a private key of the custodial wallet, user information used for identity verification of the user at time of opening an account related to the custodial wallet, (0089-0090, 0094)
wherein the control unit uses the user information as information regarding the user when using a predetermined service in a mode in which the non-custodial wallet is used. (0144-0145, 0149)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong in view of US 2017/0357973 A1 (“Van Os”).
Claim 4:
Armstrong discloses all limitations of claim 2. Armstrong further discloses:
wherein the display unit displays the screen in a mode in which the wallet selected is used, and the control unit switches the mode and the wallet (0085, 0089-0090, 0095, 0101, 0153, 0161)
Armstrong does not disclose:
according to a swipe operation on the screen
Van Os, an analogous art of mobile wallet transactions, discloses:
according to a swipe operation on the screen (0237, 0258)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Armstrong to include switching according to a swipe operation on the screen, as disclosed in Van Os. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to improve security and efficiency (See Van Os, 0003).
Claims Free of Art
Claims 5-6 are free of art. The prior art does not teach, neither singly nor in combination the following:
a communication unit that acquires, from a server managing a private key of the custodial wallet, NFT information related to an NFT held in an account related to each of the plurality of wallets of the user, wherein the control unit displays, based on the NFT information, a list of the NFTs in at least one of an OFF-chain state and an ON-chain state held in each of the plurality of accounts of the user on a screen in a mode in which the custodial wallet is used.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0273048 A1 (“Andon”) discloses: Presented are cryptographic digital assets for retail products, methods for making/using such cryptographic digital assets, and computing systems for generating, intermingling, and exchanging blockchain-protected products. A method for provisioning cryptographic digital assets associated with retail product transfers includes broadcasting notifications of a future transaction of a retail product, and receiving, over a distributed computing network from the computing devices of multiple users, requests to participate in the transaction. A select number of users is added to a virtual line associated with the retail product transaction; from the virtual line, a first user is selected to receive the retail product and a second user is selected to receive a cryptographic digital asset containing a digital retail product and a unique digital asset code. The cryptographic digital asset is transferred to the second user's digital wallet, and the unique digital asset code is recorded on a record block of a blockchain ledger.
/ARI SHAHABI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697