DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 16 and 17 are presented as depending from claim 1 (now cancelled); it appears that claims 16 and 17 were intended to depend from claim 11, and for the purpose of examination are interpreted thus.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasper et al. (US Pub No 2019/0084533).
In regard to claim 11, Kasper discloses a control device for a brake system (see the Abstract: “A braking controller”), comprising:
a processing device (vehicle controller 22, see Paragraph 0047 along with Figs 2 and 3) configured to receive data (operator brake operation/actuation data 314, see Fig 3 and Paragraph 0081: “The capabilities and dynamic performance data includes in the example, a signal 314 indicative of activation by an operator of a brake pedal of the towing vehicle”) from a target value generator (brake pedal 224, see Fig 2), ascertain an actuating command for a brake actuator (322, Fig 3) using the received data from the target value generator (see Fig 3 and Paragraph 0081, controller 22 receiving data 314) and control data (platooning/automatic braking request data 312. See Fig 3 and Paragraph 0090: “an automated deceleration request 312 received by the one or more radio frequency (RF) antennas 252”), and output the ascertained actuating command for the brake actuator (see Paragraph 0078: “brake control logic of the towing vehicle controller 22 processes the automated deceleration request to generate a brake control transmission signal to be sent to the brake control unit 322”); and
a radio interface (with at least RF antenna 252 and transmitter/receiver module 250, see Fig 2 and Paragraph 0062) configured to receive the control data from a remote processing apparatus (see Paragraph 0078: “vehicle controller 22 may receive information from one or more other platooning vehicle platoon members via one or more radio frequency (RF) antennas 252 for wireless communication of platoon control and command data, GPS data, and the like”).
In regard to claim 12, Kasper discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the radio interface (with at least RF antenna 252 and transmitter/receiver module 250, see Fig 2 and Paragraph 0062) is further configured to transmit operating data of the brake system to the remote processing apparatus (see Paragraph 0124 (emphasis added): “transmitter device 250 operatively coupled with the processor. The transmitter device is configured to receive message data and to transmit the message data as a message signal comprising the message data. The transmitter device selectively receives the brake warning data and transmits the brake warning data”).
In regard to claim 13, Kasper discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the radio interface is further configured to transmit user-specific data to the remote processing apparatus (the message data/brake warning data transmitted out by element 250 (See Paragraph 0124, quoted immediately above) is considered to be “user-specific” as broadly claimed as it is data from the specific primary (or “ego”) vehicle containing processing device 22).
In regard to claim 14, Kasper discloses the device of claim 11, wherein:
the processing device is configured
to ascertain first data for an actuating command for the brake actuator using the control data received from the radio interface (data from 312 (automatic braking: i.e., NOT foot pedal input) received by 22, see Fig 3) and
to ascertain second data for an actuating command for the brake actuator using local control data (data from 314 (operator brake operation, i.e., foot pedal input) received by 22, see Fig 3); and
the control device is configured to output the first data for the actuating command of the brake actuator, when a deviation between the first data and the second data for the actuating command falls below a predetermined threshold value.
See the Abstract (emphasis added): “A controller deceleration command input receives a deceleration command signal which is compared against predetermined threshold deceleration rate value or against a current deceleration value being executed by the combination vehicle and, based on a result of the comparisons, either the enhanced or the non-enhanced braking modes are implemented by the controller.”
See Fig 8a, blocks 818 and 822, the non-enhanced braking mode used when the foot pedal is operated.
See Fig 8a, blocks 818 and 824, the enhanced braking mode used when the foot pedal is not operated.
In regard to claim 18, Kasper discloses a system for controlling a brake system in a motor vehicle (see the Abstract: “A braking controller and method in a towing vehicle”), comprising:
a control device (air brake system 10, see Fig 1 and Paragraph 0047) arranged in the motor vehicle (see Fig 1), the control device including:
a processing device (vehicle controller 22, see Paragraph 0047 along with Figs 2 and 3) configured to receive data (operator brake operation/actuation data 314, see Fig 3 and Paragraph 0081: “The capabilities and dynamic performance data includes in the example, a signal 314 indicative of activation by an operator of a brake pedal of the towing vehicle”) from a target value generator (brake pedal 224, see Fig 2), ascertain an actuating command for a brake actuator (322, Fig 3) using the received data from the target value generator (see Fig 3 and Paragraph 0081, controller 22 receiving data 314) and control data (platooning/automatic braking request data 312. See Fig 3 and Paragraph 0090: “an automated deceleration request 312 received by the one or more radio frequency (RF) antennas 252”), and output the ascertained actuating command for the brake actuator (see Paragraph 0078: “brake control logic of the towing vehicle controller 22 processes the automated deceleration request to generate a brake control transmission signal to be sent to the brake control unit 322”), and
a radio interface (with at least RF antenna 252 and transmitter/receiver module 250, see Fig 2 and Paragraph 0062) configured to receive the control data from a remote processing apparatus (see Paragraph 0078: “vehicle controller 22 may receive information from one or more other platooning vehicle platoon members via one or more radio frequency (RF) antennas 252 for wireless communication of platoon control and command data, GPS data, and the like”); and
the remote processing apparatus which is remote from the motor vehicle (Paragraph 0078: “one or more other platooning vehicle platoon members”), the remote processing apparatus being configured to receive data from the radio interface of the control device in the motor vehicle, to generate the control data using the received data, and send the generated control data to the radio interface of the control device in the motor vehicle (see Paragraph 0124 (emphasis added): “transmitter device 250 operatively coupled with the processor. The transmitter device is configured to receive message data and to transmit the message data as a message signal comprising the message data. The transmitter device selectively receives the brake warning data and transmits the brake warning data”).
In regard to claim 19, Kasper discloses a method for controlling a brake system in a motor vehicle (see the Abstract: “A braking controller and method in a towing vehicle”), comprising the following steps:
receiving control data for a braking operation from a remote processing apparatus via a wireless communication link (platooning/automatic braking request data 312. See Fig 3 and Paragraph 0090: “an automated deceleration request 312 received by the one or more radio frequency (RF) antennas 252”);
receiving data from a local target value generator (operator brake operation/actuation data 314, see Fig 3 and Paragraph 0081: “The capabilities and dynamic performance data includes in the example, a signal 314 indicative of activation by an operator of a brake pedal of the towing vehicle”);
ascertaining an actuating command for a brake actuator using the received data from the target value generator and the control data from the remote processing apparatus (see Paragraph 0078: “brake control logic of the towing vehicle controller 22 processes the automated deceleration request to generate a brake control transmission signal to be sent to the brake control unit 322”); and
outputting the ascertained actuating command to the brake actuator (Paragraph 0078: “brake control unit of the towed vehicle 322 reacts to the signal to appropriately apply the trailer brakes in accordance with the brake control transmission signal”).
In regard to claim 20, Kasper discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising wirelessly transmitting to the remote processing apparatus user-specific data, and/or operating data of the brake system and/or environmental data (see Paragraph 0124 (emphasis added): “transmitter device 250 operatively coupled with the processor. The transmitter device is configured to receive message data and to transmit the message data as a message signal comprising the message data. The transmitter device selectively receives the brake warning data and transmits the brake warning data”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but appear they would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 15, Examiner notes the following limitation (emphasis added): “wherein the processing device is configured to monitor a communication link between the radio interface and the remote processing apparatus, and to output the second data for the actuating command of the brake actuator, when a fault has been detected in the communication link between the radio interface and the remote processing apparatus.”
In regard to claim 16, Examiner notes the following limitations (emphasis added): “wherein the processing device is configured to ascertain a signal propagation time between the radio interface and the remote processing apparatus, and to ascertain the control command for the brake actuator using the ascertained signal propagation time”.
In regard to claim 17, Examiner notes the following limitations (emphasis added): “wherein the processing device is configured to monitor a local ascertainment of the actuating command of the brake actuator, and to ascertain the control data for the actuating command of the brake actuator using control data from the radio interface, when a malfunction has been detected of the local ascertainment”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schurmann et al. (US Pub No 2022/0281454), which discloses remotely updating a vehicle braking profile based on user data.
/JACOB M AMICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747