DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 11-17 remain pending in the application.
The previous rejections under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn in response to the amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1, 9 13 and 16-17 under 35 USC 102 as anticipated by Kaechele have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Kaechele fails to teach the guide vane body is configured to form different flow profiles along an axial extension, which flow profiles differ at the leading edge and/or at the trailing edge. The Applicant appears to be taking an interpretation of “axial extension” that is more commonly known in the art as the radial direction of the blade (where the typical axial direction is parallel with the shaft axis of the turbine). The claim is interpreted by the Examiner as the flow profile differing in the axial direction at the leading and trailing edges. A “flow profile” is also reasonably interpreted as the manner in which the vane affects the flow. Thus, the flow profile at the leading and trailing edges in Kaechele is clearly different due to the airfoil shape and curved edges. The Applicant appears to be arguing for a radial cross sectional profile that differs. The rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 2-5 under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Kaechele in view of Kotzbacher and claims 7-8, 11, 14 and 15 under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Kaechele in view of Osako are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaechele et al. (DE19950227).
Regarding claim 1, Kaechele teaches a guide vane for a guide wheel of a pump or turbine, comprising a guide vane body (see Fig. 3) having a leading edge (4, right side), a trailing edge (4, left side), a chord (not outlined but inherent to the blade), and at least one pivot pin (aligned with axis 1), wherein the guide vane is mountable such that it can be rotated about a rotation axis (1) that is defined by the pivot pin, wherein the chord (5) of the guide vane (1) is, at least in some regions, spaced apart from the rotation axis (see Fig. 4), wherein the guide vane body is configured to form different flow profiles along an axial extension, which flow profiles differ at the leading edge and/or at the trailing edge (the flow profiles are considered different at inner and outer radial sides of the blade because of its curved shape), and wherein the rotation axis is positioned, at least in some regions, outside of the guide vane body (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Kaechele teaches chords of the end flow profiles at the leading edge are at an angle to chords of flow profiles between axial ends of the leading edge (see Fig. 3 showing the outer and inner radial edges are angled relative to the midspan of the vane).
Regarding claim 13, Kaechele teaches the pivot pins comprise an end face which is embodied to be roughly perpendicular to the rotation axis and at which the pivot pins are connected to the guide vane body (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Kaechele teaches a guide wheel for a pump or turbine, which is formed by multiple guide vanes (Fig. 3), wherein the guide vanes are embodied according to claim 1 (see rejection above).
Regarding claim 17, Kaechele teaches the vane bodies of the guide vanes are arranged to be eccentric (Fig. 3 shows the eccentricity) from the rotation axes of the respective guide vanes such that the chords of the vane bodies have a smaller spacing from the machine axis than the rotation axes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaechele in view of Kotzbacher (DE102012101974).
Regarding claim 2, Kaechele teaches the guide vane according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach the rotation axis is positioned outside of the guide vane body along an entire axial extension of the guide vane body.
In an analogous art, Kotzbacher teaches a rotatable turbine vane. Kotzbacher teaches a rotation axis (14) is arranged outside the contour of the vane for advantageous movement of the vane (see translation, page 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the guide vane of Kaechele and change it so that the rotation axis is positioned outside of the guide vane body along an entire axial extension of the guide vane body as taught by Kotzbacher to provide advantageous movement for the vane.
Regarding claims 3-5, Kaechele teaches the guide vane according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach the rotation axis has, at least in some regions, preferably along an entire axial extension of the guide vane body, a spacing from the guide vane body which corresponds to at least 50%, of a maximum thickness of the guide vane, wherein the chord comprises, at least in a partial region of the guide vane, preferably along an entire axial extension of the guide vane body, a spacing from the rotation axis that corresponds to at least 15%, of a length of the chord, and wherein the chord comprises, at least in a partial region of the guide vane, preferably along an entire axial extension of the guide vane body, a spacing from the rotation axis that corresponds to at least 50%, of a maximum thickness of the guide vane.
Kotzbacher further teaches the rotation axis (14) is spaced from a centroid (20) of the vane by a distance (22) that is optimized to reduce the pitch circle radius and improve efficiency of the turbine (see translation page 5). Thus, Kotzbacher teaches the spacing of the rotation axis from blade components is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the guide vane of Kaechele and change it so that the rotation axis has, at least in some regions, preferably along an entire axial extension of the guide vane body, a spacing from the guide vane body which corresponds to at least 50%, preferably at least 75%, of a maximum thickness of the guide vane, wherein the chord comprises, at least in a partial region of the guide vane, preferably along an entire axial extension of the guide vane body, a spacing from the rotation axis that corresponds to at least 15%, preferably at least 30%, of a length of the chord, and wherein the chord comprises, at least in a partial region of the guide vane, preferably along an entire axial extension of the guide vane body, a spacing from the rotation axis that corresponds to at least 50%, preferably at least 75%, of a maximum thickness of the guide vane according to the teachings of Kotzbacher to optimize a result effective variable to improve efficiency of the turbine.
Claims 7-8, 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaechele in view of Osako et al. (US2014/0341729).
Regarding claims 7-8, 11, and 14-15, Kaechele teaches the guide vane according to claim 1, but fails to teach the flow profiles at the leading edge have at the axial ends a greater thickness than in a region therebetween, wherein the flow profiles at the leading edge have at the axial ends chords which are longer than chords of flow profiles therebetween, so that end noses are formed at the leading edge, wherein flow profiles in a region that is close to the trailing edge have a greater thickness at the axial ends than in a region therebetween, so that a thickening forms, wherein a rounding is arranged at a transition region between the guide vane body and end face, wherein the rounding has different curvature radii along a longitudinal direction of the guide vane, wherein the guide vane body comprises at the axial ends roundings which extend from the leading edge to the trailing edge.
In an analogous art, Osako teaches a turbine vane. Osako teaches thickened leading edges at the axial ends (see Fig. 3A), wherein flow profiles in a region that is close to the trailing edge have a greater thickness (Fig. 3A shows the thickened edges continue from leading to trailing edge), wherein the guide vane body comprises at the axial ends roundings (the inner and outer radial features are considered “roundings”) which extend from the leading edge to the trailing edge. The roundings have variable curvature (see Osako paragraph [0075]). Osako teaches this arrangement causes the vane angle to correspond with an inflow angle of working gas (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the guide vane of Kaechele and change it so that the flow profiles at the leading edge have at the axial ends a greater thickness than in a region therebetween, wherein the flow profiles at the leading edge have at the axial ends chords which are longer than chords of flow profiles therebetween, so that end noses are formed at the leading edge, wherein flow profiles in a region that is close to the trailing edge have a greater thickness at the axial ends than in a region therebetween, so that a thickening forms, wherein a rounding is arranged at a transition region between the guide vane body and end face, wherein the rounding has different curvature radii along a longitudinal direction of the guide vane, wherein the guide vane body comprises at the axial ends roundings which extend from the leading edge to the trailing edge as taught by Osako to cause the vane angle to correspond with an inflow angle of working gas.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaechele in view of Crespo et al. (US8668445).
Regarding claim 12, Kaechele teaches the guide vane of claim 1, but fails to teach gaskets are arranged on faces of the guide vane body.
In an analogous art, Crespo teaches a guide vane. Crespo teaches gaskets (162) disposed on faces of the guide vane body to seal with an adjacent vane sleeve (148).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the guide vane of Kaechele and add gaskets arranged on faces of the guide vane body as taught by Crespo to provide sealing with turbine mounting structure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745