DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1st, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Blackwell fails to teach or disclose the newly amended features of claims 1 and 14. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. As outlined below in greater detail, the new interpretation of Blackwell teaches the newly amended subject matter. The frames are now considered elements 100 and 102 which comprise the blocking mechanism 28 as required by the newly amended claims. Additionally, the disclosure in ¶33 of Blackwell is a sufficient teaching of the channel oriented along a direction that differs from the blade direction.
Next, Applicant argues that Prasad et al. fails to teach or disclose the newly amended features of claims 1 and 14. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. As outlined below in greater detail, the new interpretation of Blackwell teaches the newly amended subject matter. The frames (38, 40) have features (38a, 40a) in which a blocking mechanism (20) is included on the frame (features 20d, 2e) engage features (38a, 40a) to place it ON the frame as they are in engagement with one another. Element 20 of Prasad et al. acts as a blocking mechanism as it prevents lateral translation/movement of the blades and frames relative to one another when connected to the blocking mechanism. Lastly, Applicant argues that the drawing objection is inappropriate. Specifically stating that “The applicant shall furnish a drawing where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter south to be patented”. The Examiner agrees and it is necessary for Applicant to furnish a drawing depicting the scope of claims 9 and 17. One cannot ascertain the distal end and its radio opaque distal end/marker without the presence of the drawing. The same rationale applies to the specification objection. The absence of disclosure in the current specification and the parent PCT specification lack antecedence for these claimed features. The Examiner suggest applicant cancel these claims to rectify the drawing and specification issues.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The specification fails to provide support for “the dilator having a radio opaque distal end or includes any kind of marker and can be used to measure or control the position of a cage or implant to be placed in between the vertebral bodies” as required by claims 9 and 17.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the dilator having a radio opaque distal end or includes any kind of marker and can be used to measure or control the position of a cage or implant to be placed in between the vertebral bodies” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blackwell et al. (US 2009/0036746).
Regarding claim 1, Blackwell et al. disclose a retractor system for spine surgery comprising two retractor members (22+100 , 24+102) each comprising a blade (22, 24) and a proximal part forming a frame (100, 102), at least two pins (26a, 26b) having each a distal end (72) configured to be anchored in a vertebra, and a blocking mechanism (28) included on the frame (¶43) and configured for maintaining the retractor members at a certain distance from each other (figure 1); wherein at least one retractor member contains a channel (50) that is configured to slidably hold a pin (figures 1, 4); wherein the channel is oriented along a direction that differs from the blade direction (the blade extends at 90 degrees relative to the pin and is also laterally offset from the centerline, ¶33).
Regarding claim 2, Blackwell et al. disclose the channel (50) is extending along the full blade length (figures 2-4, ¶37).
Regarding claim 3, Blackwell et al. disclose the channel is a groove (50, figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Blackwell et al. disclose a dilator (160) for expanding the retractor, wherein said dilator is configured to be slidably mounted between the blades (figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Blackwell et al. disclose the dilator contains at least one groove (164a, 164b) that is configured to slidably hold said pin (10), together with the said blade groove (figure 7). Regarding claim 11, Blackwell et al. disclose wherein each retractor member includes two arms (88, 94, figure 2). Regarding claim 14, Blackwell et al. disclose a retractor system for spine surgery comprising two blades (22+100, 24+102) having each a proximal part forming a frame (100, 102), a blocking mechanism (28) included on the frame (¶43) and configured for maintaining the blades at a certain distance from each other (figure 1), and at least one dilator (160) for expanding the retractor, wherein said dilator is configured to be slidably mounted between the blades (figure 6).
Regarding claim 15, Blackwell et al. disclose the dilator contains at least one groove (164a, 164b) that is configured to slidably hold said pin, together with the said blade groove (figure 7).
Claims 1, 4-5, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Prasad et al. (US 2020/0237358).
Regarding claim 1, Prasad et al. disclose a retractor system for spine surgery comprising two retractor members (see figure below) each comprising a blade (26, 28) and a proximal part forming a frame (38, 40), at least two pins (32’s) having each a distal end (32b) configured to be anchored in a vertebra (figure 8), and a blocking mechanism (20) included on the frame (via engagement of 38a and 40a with 20d and 20e) and configured for maintaining the retractor members at a certain distance from each other (figure 2); wherein at least one retractor member contains a channel (50) that is configured to slidably hold a pin (¶19, figure 2); wherein the channel is oriented along a direction that differs from the blade direction (the blade differs in direction as it flairs at its distal end and the pin is entirely straight).
Regarding claim 4, Prasad et al. disclose the channel distal part is a groove (see figure below) and the channel proximal part is a ring (see figure below). Regarding claim 5, Prasad et al. disclose each blade contains a channel that is configured to slidably hold one pin (figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Prasad et al. disclose a shim (36) located between the blades (figures 3-4)
Regarding claim 12, Prasad et al. disclose each retractor member includes only one arm (38, 40 are arms).
Regarding claim 13, Prasad et al. disclose a retractor system for spine surgery comprising two blades (26, 28) having each a proximal part forming a frame (38, 40), a blocking mechanism (20) included on the frame (via engagement of 38a and 40a with 20d and 20e) for maintaining the blades at a certain distance from each other (figure 2), and at least one shim (36) slidably mounted between the blades and comprising lateral linear guiding grooves (formed between 36c and main shim body); characterized by the fact that the guiding grooves end before the shim distal end (figures 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackwell et al. (US 2009/0036746) in view of Villamil et al. (US 2022/0265256).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Blackwell et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the dilator being made of two members that interlock together by means of guides.
Villamil et al. disclose the use of a dilator (110) made of two members (111, 112) that interlock together (¶38) by means of guides (¶38, inner surface of 112 and outer surface of 111 act as guides and interlock and nest 111 within 112) as the use of two members allows for gradual, progressive dilation of the tissue reducing the likelihood of ripping or tearing of the tissue.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackwell et al. (US 2009/0036746) in view of Altarac et al. (US 2007/0239159).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Blackwell et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the dilator has a radio opaque distal end or includes any kind of marker and can be used to measure or control the position of a cage or an implant to be placed in between vertebral bodies. Altarac et al. disclose a dilator (1112) which has a radiopaque distal end (¶301, figures 56-58) or includes any kind of marker (¶301) these elements may be used for a variety of purposes, such as to facilitate rotational alignment or orientation (within a single tool, between different tools, and/or between one or more tools and the patient's spine), to measure insertion depth or rod length, to determine engagement or deployment status, or any combination thereof (¶323).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have constructed the dilator of Blackwell et al. to include a radio opaque distal end or includes any kind of marker as taught by Altarac et al. as these indicators may be used for a variety of purposes, such as to facilitate rotational alignment or orientation (within a single tool, between different tools, and/or between one or more tools and the patient's spine), to measure insertion depth or rod length, to determine engagement or deployment status, or any combination thereof as taught by Altarac et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619