DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 02/19/2025. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2025 and 06/24/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 02/19/2025 accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Objection(s)
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 12,
The recitation “each provide” in line 3 would be “each provides”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1,
The recitation “the other radiation lines” in line 15 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 4,
The recitation “the insulating material” in line 5 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 5,
The recitation “the at least one insulating material” in line 2 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
The recitation “the sides of the insulating layers” in line 4 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 9,
The recitation “the bridges” in line 2 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 10,
The recitation “the bridges” in line 2 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
The recitation “and/or” in line 2 is considered vague because it is unclear regarding what is included or excluded by the claim language. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 11,
The recitation “the bridges” in line 2 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 13,
The recitation “the other radiation line” in line 5 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 14,
The recitation “and/or” in line 4 is considered vague because it is unclear regarding what is included or excluded by the claim language. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 16,
The recitation “each radiator” in line 2 is considered vague because it is confused with “at least on radiator” in line 1. Clarification is required.
The recitation “the other radiation lines” in line 13 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 19,
The recitation “the device” in lines 3-4 is considered vague because it is confused with “at least on radiator” in line 1. Clarification is required.
The recitation “each radiator” in line 7 is considered vague because it is confused with “at least on radiator” in line 1. Clarification is required.
The recitation “the other radiation lines” in line 18 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9-10 and 15-16, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ecklund et al (US 5600338), hereinafter Ecklund.
Regarding claim 1,
Ecklund discloses a radiator (a radiator Rad10, Fig 1), comprising a plurality of radiation lines (a plurality of radiation lines 101 and 102, Fig 1), each radiation line comprising a shielded conductor (an inner conductor 12, Fig 1) and an exposed conductor (an outer conductor 14, Fig 1);
the shielded conductor and the exposed conductor of each radiation line extending parallel to one another in a longitudinal direction of the radiation line (Fig 1), the exposed conductor surrounding the shielded conductor in a circumferential direction of the radiation line (Fig 1);
the radiation lines being arranged parallel to one another with respect to their longitudinal direction (Fig 1), and having a first end and a second end (ends 28, Fig 14) in the longitudinal direction;
the shielded conductor and the exposed conductor of the same radiation line being electrically insulated from each other at least between the first end and the second end (Fig 1; col 4, lines 13-20); and
the shielded conductor of one of the radiation lines being electrically connected to the exposed conductor of at least one of the other radiation lines by a bridge (a solder joint 18, Fig 1).
[AltContent: textbox (z)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rad10)][AltContent: textbox (Ecklund (US 5600338))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (102)][AltContent: textbox (101)]
[AltContent: textbox (Ecklund (US 5600338))]
Regarding claim 3,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund teaches the radiation lines are provided as a cable having an inner conductor and an outer conductor, wherein the inner conductor forms the shielded conductor and the outer conductor forms the exposed conductor (col 4, lines 13-20).
Regarding claim 7,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund teaches the radiation lines have the same length (Fig 14).
Regarding claim 9,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund teaches the bridges electrically connect the shielded conductor of the one of the radiation lines to the exposed conductor of at least one of the radiation lines being the neighbor or next-neighbor to the one of the radiation lines (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 10,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund teaches the bridges are provided at the first end and/or the second end of the radiation lines (Fig 14).
Regarding claim 15,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund teaches the radiation lines are arranged on virtual axes in the longitudinal direction, the virtual axes being non-coincident (Fig 14).
Regarding claim 16,
Ecklund discloses an antenna (a coaxial-collinear antenna 10, Fig 1), comprising at least one radiator (a radiator Rad10, Fig 1), each radiator comprising:
a plurality of radiation lines (a plurality of radiation lines 101 and 102, Fig 1), each radiation line comprising a shielded conductor (an inner conductor 12, Fig 1) and an exposed conductor (an outer conductor 14, Fig 1);
the shielded conductor and the exposed conductor of each radiation line extending parallel to one another in a longitudinal direction of the radiation line (Fig 1), the exposed conductor surrounding the shielded conductor in a circumferential direction of the radiation line (Fig 1);
the radiation lines being arranged parallel to one another with respect to their longitudinal direction (Fig 1), and having a first end and a second end (ends 28, Fig 14) in the longitudinal direction;
the shielded conductor and the exposed conductor of the same radiation line being electrically insulated from each other at least between the first end and the second end (Fig 1; col 4, lines 13-20); and
the shielded conductor of one of the radiation lines being electrically connected to the exposed conductor of at least one of the other radiation lines by a bridge (a solder joint 18, Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-6, 8 and 19-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ecklund et al (US 5600338), hereinafter Ecklund.
Regarding claim 2,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund does not explicitly teach the radiator comprises a radiation direction, wherein the radiation lines are aligned perpendicular to the radiation direction.
However, Ecklund teaches the radiation lines are in z-direction (Fig 1). It is well known in the art that the radiation lines are aligned perpendicular to their radiation direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radiator comprising a radiation direction, wherein radiation lines being aligned perpendicular to the radiation direction in Ecklund, in order to provide an improved coaxial antenna.
Regarding claim 4,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund does not explicitly teach the radiator comprises: at least one or more of: a dielectric insulating material and a non-dielectric insulating material and at least one conducting material applied to the insulating material, wherein at least parts of the at least one conducting material form the shielded conductor and the exposed conductor.
However, Ecklund teaches the radiator comprises at least one conducting material (each inner conductor 12 and 14 is typically fabricated of copper; col 3, lines 28-42) applied to the insulating material (the dielectric spacer 16), wherein at least parts of the at least one conducting material form the shielded conductor and the exposed conductor (Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radiator comprising at least one conducting material applied to an insulating material, wherein at least parts of the at least one conducting material forming a shielded conductor and an exposed conductor in Ecklund, in order to provide an improved coaxial antenna.
Regarding claim 5,
Ecklund as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 4.
Ecklund does not explicitly teach the at least one insulating material comprises two parallel insulating layers, wherein between the insulating layers the at least one conducting material is applied forming the shielded conductor and wherein on each of the sides of the insulating layers opposite to the shielded conductor, the at least one conducting material is applied forming parts of the exposed conductor.
However, Ecklund teaches the at least one insulating material comprises two parallel insulating layers (two dielectric spacers 16, Fig 1), wherein between the insulating layers the at least one conducting material is applied forming the shielded conductor (Fig 1) and wherein on each of the sides of the insulating layers opposite to the shielded conductor, the at least one conducting material is applied forming parts of the exposed conductor (Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one insulating material comprising two parallel insulating layers, wherein between the insulating layers at least one conducting material being applied forming a shielded conductor and wherein on each of sides of the insulating layers opposite to the shielded conductor, the at least one conducting material being applied forming parts of an exposed conductor in Ecklund as modified, in order to provide an improved coaxial antenna.
Regarding claim 6,
Ecklund as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 5.
Ecklund does not explicitly teach the insulating layers are different insulating layers of a multilayered printed circuit board.
However, Ecklund teaches dielectric spacer 16 is typically fabricated of Teflon or may also be fabricated of other dielectric materials (col 4; lines 9-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use insulating layers being different insulating layers of a multilayered printed circuit board in Ecklund as modified, in order to provide an improved coaxial antenna.
Regarding claim 8,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund does not explicitly teach a carrier frequency the radiator is designed for is at most 2 GHz.
However, Ecklund teaches the ends 28 of the improved coaxial-collinear antenna 10 are tuned so as to maintain a voltage maximum and a current minimum at each end 28 for a particular frequency of operation (col 5, lines 21-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a carrier frequency a radiator being designed for being at most 2 GHz in Ecklund as modified, in order to provide an improved coaxial antenna.
Regarding claim 19,
Ecklund does not explicitly discloses a biologically embedded device, a smart device, an electrical magnetic field probe, a wearable or an Internet of Things device, comprising an antenna, the device being a device for blood sugar monitoring, a hearing aid, a passport, an ID-badge, a subcutaneous identification chip for animals or humans, a subcutaneous diagnosis device, a swallowable diagnosis device or an electrical magnetic field measuring device. However, it is well known in the art that these devices comprise an antenna.
Ecklund discloses an antenna (a coaxial-collinear antenna 10, Fig 1), wherein the antenna comprising at least one radiator (a radiator Rad10, Fig 1), each radiator comprising:
a plurality of radiation lines (a plurality of radiation lines 101 and 102, Fig 1), each radiation line comprising a shielded conductor (an inner conductor 12, Fig 1) and an exposed conductor (an outer conductor 14, Fig 1);
the shielded conductor and the exposed conductor of each radiation line extending parallel to one another in a longitudinal direction of the radiation line (Fig 1), the exposed conductor surrounding the shielded conductor in a circumferential direction of the radiation line (Fig 1);
the radiation lines being arranged parallel to one another with respect to their longitudinal direction (Fig 1), and having a first end and a second end (ends 28, Fig 14) in the longitudinal direction;
the shielded conductor and the exposed conductor of the same radiation line being electrically insulated from each other at least between the first end and the second end (Fig 1; col 4, lines 13-20); and
the shielded conductor of one of the radiation lines being electrically connected to the exposed conductor of at least one of the other radiation lines by a bridge (a solder joint 18, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a biologically embedded device, a smart device, an electrical magnetic field probe, a wearable or an Internet of Things device, comprising an antenna, the device being a device for blood sugar monitoring, a hearing aid, a passport, an ID-badge, a subcutaneous identification chip for animals or humans, a subcutaneous diagnosis device, a swallowable diagnosis device or an electrical magnetic field measuring device in Ecklund as modified, in order to provide an improved coaxial antenna.
Regarding claim 20,
Ecklund as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Ecklund teaches the radiation lines are provided as a cable having an inner conductor and an outer conductor, wherein the inner conductor forms the shielded conductor and the outer conductor forms the exposed conductor (col 4, lines 13-20).
Claims 11 and 13-14, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ecklund et al (US 5600338), hereinafter Ecklund, in view of Hosseini-Fahraji et al (US 20220216612), hereinafter Hosseini-Fahraji.
Regarding claim 11,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund does not teach the bridges connecting radiation lines are located at the first end, in particular located only at the first end, and wherein the shielded conductor of each radiation line is electrically, galvanically connected to the exposed conductor of the same radiation line at the second end by a shorting contact.
However, Hosseini-Fahraji teaches a radiator (a coaxial collinear antenna, Fig 1), wherein bridges connecting radiation lines are located at a first end (an end E1, Fig 1), and wherein a shielded conductor of each radiation line is electrically, galvanically connected to the exposed conductor of the same radiation line at a second end (an end E2, Fig 1) by a shorting contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use bridges connecting radiation lines being located at a first end, in particular located only at the first end, and wherein a shielded conductor of each radiation line being electrically, galvanically connected to an exposed conductor of the same radiation line at a second end by a shorting contact in Ecklund, as taught by Hosseini-Fahraji, in order to provide a wideband high-gain coaxial collinear antenna with a stable radiation pattern.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (E1)][AltContent: textbox (E2)][AltContent: textbox (Hosseini-Fahraji (US 20220216612))]
Regarding claim 13,
Ecklund discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ecklund does not teach for connecting one of the radiation lines with another one in a neighboring one of the radiation lines, two bridges are provided both at the first end or both at the second end, electrically connecting the shielded conductor to the exposed conductor of the other radiation line and electrically connecting the exposed conductor to the shielded conductor of the other radiation line, respectively.
However, Hosseini-Fahraji teaches a radiator (a coaxial collinear antenna, Fig 1), wherein for connecting one of the radiation lines with another one in a neighboring one of the radiation lines, two bridges are provided both at a first end (an end E1, Fig 1) or both at the second end, electrically connecting the shielded conductor to the exposed conductor of the other radiation line and electrically connecting the exposed conductor to the shielded conductor of the other radiation line (Fig 1), respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use for connecting one of radiation lines with another one in a neighboring one of the radiation lines, two bridges being provided both at a first end or both at a second end, electrically connecting a shielded conductor to an exposed conductor of other radiation line and electrically connecting the exposed conductor to the shielded conductor of the other radiation line, respectively in Ecklund, as taught by Hosseini-Fahraji, in order to provide a wideband high-gain coaxial collinear antenna with a stable radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 14,
Ecklund in view of Hosseini-Fahraji discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Hosseini-Fahraji teaches one or both: the exposed conductor and the shielded conductor of a first one of the radiation lines provide connections for feeding the radiator and/or receiving from the radiator; and the exposed conductor and the shielded conductor of a last one of the radiation lines are electrically, in particular galvanically connected by a shorting contact (Fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the exposed conductor of a first one of the radiation lines and the shielded conductor of a last one of the radiation lines each provide a connection for one or both feeding the radiator and receiving from the radiator”.
Regarding claim 17, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the antenna comprises at least two radiators, wherein the longitudinal directions of the radiation lines of the at least two radiators are oriented at an angle, wherein the longitudinal directions of the two radiators are one or both perpendicular to one another and extend in parallel planes”.
Regarding claim 18, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “a tuning capacitor is connected to connections provided by the radiator, the connections being designed for one or both feeding signals to the radiation lines and receiving signals from the radiation lines”.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845