DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/19/2025 was filed on the filing date of the instant application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “expansion valve” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character “12” has been used to designate both “a positioning aid” and “an anti-rotation device” in par. 34.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation of “the circumferential opening” (claim 5, line 3) is believed to be --the at least one circumferential opening--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“anti-rotation device” → a radial projection introduced into the outside of the sleeve 5, which engages in a congruent indentation introduced in the recess of the base body 2 is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the end face" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been examined as --an end face--.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the circumferential openings" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been examined as --the at least one circumferential opening--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheek (US 4,039,003).
Regarding claim 1, Cheek discloses an arrangement (refer to figs.1-5) for a temperature control circuit, comprising a base body (16), in which at least one channel (44) for the transport of temperature control medium is introduced, and at least one check valve (refer to fig.3), which at least limits the transport of temperature control medium in one flow direction of the channel (refer to col.2, lines 8-12), wherein the check valve is formed as an insert (through upper horizontal surface 38 as in fig.3) and is at least partially accommodated in the base body (16).
Regarding claim 2, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Cheek discloses wherein the base body (16) is formed as a distribution channel (refer to fig.2).
Regarding claim 3, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Cheek discloses wherein the check valve has a sleeve (20), a piston (refer to dart 26 and col.4, lines 7-9, wherein the dart is forced with a piston-like action) and a fastening section (refer to cap 68), wherein at least one opening (52) is introduced in the sleeve (20) on the circumferential side, wherein the sleeve (20) has a further opening (56) on an end face facing away from the fastening section (68), wherein the piston (26) is allocated to the further opening (56 as in fig.2).
Regarding claim 4, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Cheek discloses wherein multiple circumferential openings (52, fig.3) are introduced in the sleeve (20).
Regarding claim 5, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Cheek discloses wherein temperature control medium flows in via the further opening (56 via inlet 14) and flows out via the at least one circumferential opening (52).
Regarding claim 6, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Cheek discloses wherein an annular channel (refer to fig.2 below) is introduced in the base body (16), the annular channel being allocated to the at least one circumferential opening (8).
Regarding claim 7, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Cheek discloses wherein at least one anti-rotation device (74) is introduced into the fastening section (68) and into the base body (refer to fig.2) respectively.
Regarding claim 8, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Cheek discloses wherein a conical receiving section (refer to fig.2 below) for a pipe connection is formed from the fastening section (wherein throat portion 36 which forms the conical receiving section is formed from the fastening section as can be seen from fig.2). For clarity, the recitation “for a pipe connection” has been considered a recitation of intended use. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 9, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Cheek discloses wherein the fastening section (68) is equipped with a positioning aid (76).
Regarding claim 11, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Cheek discloses wherein a transverse channel (channel that allows fluid flow through outflow passageway 48) is provided which runs transversely to the sleeve (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheek (US 4,039,003) in view of McCarra (US 11,365,820).
Regarding claim 12, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Cheek discloses the base body, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the base body is formed of metallic material.
However, McCarra teaches a system and method for piston check valves, wherein a base body is formed of metallic material (refer to col.3, lines 19-20, wherein body 12 may be formed of a corrosion-resistant material, such as a metal material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cheek such that the base body is formed of metallic material in view of the teachings by McCarra, in order to provide a corrosion-resistant material.
Regarding claim 13, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Cheek discloses the sleeve and the fastening section, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sleeve and the fastening section are formed of metallic material.
However, McCarra teaches a system and method for piston check valves, wherein a sleeve (refer to portion 90) and a fastening section (14) are formed of metallic material (refer to col.3, lines 19-20, col.4, line 67, and col.5, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cheek such that the sleeve and the fastening section are formed of metallic material in view of the teachings by McCarra, in order to provide a corrosion-resistant material.
Claim(s) 10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheek (US 4,039,003) in view of Hirota (US 2003/0213516).
Regarding claims 10 and 14-15, Cheek meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Cheek discloses at least one channel and the temperature control medium, but fails to explicitly disclose a temperature control circuit which is a coolinq circuit having the temperature control medium being a refrigerant based on CO2, and wherein an expansion valve is allocated to the at least one channel.
However, Hirota teaches that it is known in the art of refrigeration, to provide a temperature control circuit (refer to fig.1) which is a coolinq circuit having a temperature control medium being a refrigerant based on CO2 (refer to par.9), and including at least one check valve (9) and an expansion valve (4) allocated to at least one channel of the temperature control circuit, in order to provide an automotive air conditioner (refer to par.3).
One having ordinary skill in the art of refrigeration would recognize that providing CO2 as the temperature control medium, it will provide a clean, safe and efficient cooling solution with minimal environmental impact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cheek by providing a temperature control circuit which is a coolinq circuit having the temperature control medium being a refrigerant based on CO2, and wherein an expansion valve is allocated to the at least one channel, in order to provide an automotive air conditioner and a clean, safe and efficient cooling solution with minimal environmental impact in view of the teachings by Hirota along with the knowledge generally available to one having ordinary skill in the art of refrigeration.
Conclusion
/ANA M VAZQUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763