DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suhara et al. (US 2017/0008023), hereinafter Suhara.
Regarding claim 1, Suhara discloses a fluid application method for applying a fluid to a surface of a workpiece comprising:
(a) a shape-retained portion forming step of forming a shape-retained portion made of the fluid (P) extruded from a discharge port (50) of a nozzle (30) (Fig. 13A), which is arranged in a position spaced from the application surface (application object W) (par. 0059, 0084; see Fig. 13A), to be adhered to the application surface (W), and
(b) a shape-retained portion cutting step of cutting the shape-retained portion to be left in an adhesion state on the application surface side by sliding a wire (64) toward the shape-retained portion formed in the shape-retained portion forming step in a transverse direction crossing the discharge port of the nozzle (par. 0077, 0079-0080, 0088; Figs. 3A-3D).
Regarding claim 4, Suhara discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the nozzle is moved away from the surface and the wire slides across in the transverse direction as to cut the material (par. 0094).
Regarding claim 5, Suhara discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the shape-retained portion is formed by adhesion of the fluid to the application surface (Fig. 13A) in an inclined state where the nozzle is obliquely arranged with respect to the application surface (as shown in the drawings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suhara (US 2017/0008023) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of de Vries et al. (US 2021/0086221), hereinafter de Vries.
Regarding claims 2-3, Suhara discloses the subject matter of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the fluid is sucked in the manner as required in the claims.
However, de Vries discloses a similar process of applying a fluent material from a die, in which the die is operated to both “suck” (de Vries, par. 0039) a material in one direction from an opening and also to force the material through the opening (de Vries, par. 0045), explaining that this feature helps to achieve the desired shape of the product as it is being deposited, with respect to the shape of the bead being formed by the device.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have modified the above from Suhara to have specified that the fluid is both sucked and pushed with pressure as to have likewise achieved a satisfactorily shaped material.
Claim(s) 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suhara (US 2017/0008023).
Regarding claim 6, Suhara discloses the subject matter of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the surface has an opening.
However, Suhara does recognize the utility of the process for the use of production of materials, such as industrial products (par. 0059). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the surface has an opening as to produce a given industrial product from the process of Suhara above.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742