DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed 4/29/2026. Claims 21, 23-34, 36-41 are currently pending. Claims 21, 23, 26-27, 29-33, and 38-39 have been amended. The cancelation of claims 22 and 35 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 have been previously canceled. Claims 40 and 41 are newly added.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “ejection unit” of claim 21 corresponding to element 32;
the “striking unit” of claim 21 corresponding to the assembly of elements 29 and 30;
the “biasing unit” of claim 21 corresponding to element 27;
the “conversion mechanism” of claim 21 corresponding to element 17;
the “feeder unit” of claim 21 corresponding to element 62;
the “cover unit” of claim 23 corresponding to element 55;
the “battery attachment unit” of claim 21 corresponding to element 23;
the “housing unit” of claim 36 corresponding to element 22;
similar limitations as above in the rest of the claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
the “virtual plane” of claim 39; and
the “straight supply path” of claim 40.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 40, the limitation “wherein the magazine has a straight supply path connecting the drum unit and the ejection unit, and wherein, as viewed from the other side in the first direction, a majority of the supply path is located within an area in which the handle is located” comprises new matter not disclosed by applicant in the specification as originally filed. Neither the written description nor the drawings have expressly disclosed a straight supply path. While there must necessarily be a supply path, that path is not known from applicant’s specification. Even if it is assumed to be essentially along the axis of the magazine, it is not disclosed in the written description or clear from the drawings that the majority of this path is located within an area in which the handle is located when viewed from the other side in the first direction. Therefore, it cannot be concluded that the inventors had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. Claim 41 is rejected based on its dependency from claim 40.
Claims 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 39, the limitation “the virtual plane including a striking axis of the striking unit extending in the first direction and extending parallel to the striking axis” is indefinite because it is not clear how a plane can both contain an axis and be parallel to the axis. If the plane includes an axis, then every point on the axis lies in the plane. If the plane is parallel to the axis, then none of the points on the axis lie in the plane. Clearly, it is not possible for a plane to both contain an axis and be parallel to an axis. In order to further prosecution, and consistent with applicant’s remarks dated 4/29/2026, the limitation has been interpreted such that the virtual plane includes the striking axis. Claims 40 and 41 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 39.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leathrum (US 2023/0294259 A1).
Regarding claim 39, Leathrum discloses a working machine (10 – Fig. 2) comprising: a magazine (14 – Fig. 2) that includes a drum unit (68 – Fig. 2) having a substantially cylindrical shape (see Fig. 5, 68 is clearly cylindrical) and houses a plurality of fasteners wound in a spiral shape inside the drum unit (para. 0032, lines 1-2); an ejection unit (74 – Fig. 2) to which the fastener is supplied (para. 0032); a striking unit (28 – Fig. 2) that moves toward one side in a first direction (from right to left along 38 – Fig. 2) to strike the fastener supplied to the ejection unit (para. 0031); a biasing unit (the assembly of 18 and 30 – Fig. 2) that biases the striking unit toward the one side in the first direction (para. 0031); a conversion mechanism (42 – Fig. 2) that moves the striking unit toward the other side in the first direction against a biasing force of the biasing unit (para. 0030 and para. 0031, lines 1-7); a motor (46 – Fig. 2) that generates a driving force for driving the conversion mechanism (para. 0031); a handle (24 – Fig. 2) that is gripped by a worker (a worker is fully capable of gripping 24 – Fig. 2), wherein the handle extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see Fig. 2, the handle extends vertically), wherein a motor axis (see annotated Fig. 2 below) which is a rotation axis of the motor extends in a direction intersecting the first direction (see annotated Fig. 2 below), wherein the drum unit is arranged at a position overlapping with a motor case (50 – Fig. 2) as viewed in a direction of the motor axis (see annotated Fig. 2 below; note that para. 0037 discloses that the drum unit is positioned behind the motor), and wherein a magazine axis, which is an axis of the drum unit, is inclined to intersect, and not be contained in, a virtual plane, the virtual plane including a striking axis of the striking unit extending in the first direction (see annotated Fig. 5 below; as can be seen, the virtual plane includes the striking axis which is out of the figure at 82 and is intersecting but not containing the magazine axis).
Annotated Fig. 2
Annotated Fig. 5
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 23-34, and 36-38 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 21, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of a battery attachment that has a center axis parallel to a motor axis. The closest invention, Leathrum (US 2023/0294259 A1) in view of Aizawa (US 2020/0189080 A1) as set forth in the Office action dated 1/2/2026, discloses a battery attachment and a motor axis, but it is clear from Leathrum that the center axis of the battery attachment is not parallel to the motor axis. As is clear from Fig. 2 of Leathrum, the battery axis is angled with respect to the motor axis.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Leathrum and Aizawa does not disclose that the solenoid is arranged in the air path of the fan. Aizawa teaches a solenoid (117 – Fig. 4 in place of 105 in the embodiment of Fig. 13, para. 0120). However, there is no indication that this is arranged in an air path of a fan.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Leathrum and Aizawa does not disclose a handle axis that extends towards the rear of the tool and a supply axis that extends toward the front of the tool such that the two extend in different directions. While a reference may exist that discloses a handle extending toward the rear of the tool, it is not clear what rationale may allow the Leathrum to be further modified without relying on applicant’s disclosure and engaging in impermissible hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 39, applicant argues that Leathrum does not disclose the claimed virtual plane and provides an annotated Figure to support the argument.
However, it is noted that the claims do not require the virtual plane to be in the exact location argued by applicant. As shown above in the rejection of claim 39, the claim language allows the virtual plane to be located at other positions which meet the requirements of the claim. Therefore, applicant’s argument is found to be not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
6/3/2026