DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the file of 2/19/2025. Claims 21-39 are currently pending. The cancelation of claims 1-20 in a preliminary amendment is acknowledged. Claims 21-39 are newly added in the preliminary amendment.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “ejection unit” of claim 21 corresponding to element 32;
the “striking unit” of claim 21 corresponding to the assembly of elements 29 and 30;
the “biasing unit” of claim 21 corresponding to element 27;
the “winding unit” of claim 21 corresponding to element 17;
the “feeder unit” of claim 21 corresponding to element 62;
the “cover unit” of claim 23 corresponding to element 55;
the “battery attachment unit” of claim 33 corresponding to element 23;
the “battery attachment unit” of claim 35 corresponding to element 23;
the “housing unit” of claim 36 corresponding to element 22;
the “housing unit” of claim 37 corresponding to element 22;
similar limitations in claims 38 and 39 as above.
Claim Objections
Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informality: line 13 reads “resect” when it should read “respect.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leathrum (US 2023/0294259 A1) in view of Aizawa (US 2020/0189080 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Leathrum discloses a working machine (10 – Fig. 2) comprising: a magazine (14 – Fig. 2) that includes a drum unit (68 – Fig. 2) having a substantially cylindrical shape (see Fig. 5, 68 is clearly cylindrical) and houses a plurality of fasteners would in a spiral shape (para. 0032, lines 1-2); an ejection unit (74 – Fig. 2) to which the fastener is supplied (para. 0032); a striking unit (28 – Fig. 2) that moves to one side in a first direction (from right to left along 38 – Fig. 2) to strike the fastener supplied to the ejection unit (para. 0031); a biasing unit (the assembly of 18 and 30 – Fig. 2) that biases the striking unit toward one side in the first direction (para. 0031); a winding unit (42 – Fig. 2) that winds up the striking unit toward the other side in the first direction against a biasing force of the biasing unit (para. 0030 and para. 0031, lines 1-7); a motor (46 – Fig. 2) that generates a driving force for driving the winding unit (para. 0031); a handle (24 – Fig. 2) that is gripped by a worker (a worker is fully capable of gripping 24 – Fig. 2); a motor case (50 – Fig. 2) that houses the motor (para. 0030); a feeder unit (86 – Fig. 4) that feeds the fastener from the magazine to the ejection unit along a supply axis (para. 0032); and a feed unit drive (not expressly disclosed but since the feeder unit 86 comprises a pusher mechanism, para. 0032, there is necessarily a drive such as a spring or other mechanism for the pusher mechanism otherwise the pusher would not be able to push fasteners) that drives the feeder unit (see explanation immediately preceding), wherein a motor axis (see annotated Fig. 2 below) which is a rotation axis of the motor extends in a direction intersecting with the first direction (see annotated Fig. 2 below), wherein the drum unit is arranged at a position overlapping with the motor case as viewed in a direction of the motor axis (see annotated Fig. 2 below; note that para. 0037 discloses that the drum unit is positioned behind the motor), and wherein the motor case and the feed unit drive overlap as viewed in the first direction (see Fig. 5 which is a view in which 38 is pointing out of the page, the feed unit drive is necessarily within 78 and 78 overlaps 50).
However, Leathrum does not disclose that the feed drive unit is a solenoid arranged on the one side with respect to the motor case.
Aizawa discloses a similar tool comprising a magazine (54 – Fig. 1 as applied to the embodiment of Fig. 13, para. 0094, lines 1-4) in the shape of a drum (understood from para. 0048 and the shape depicted in Fig. 1), and a solenoid (117 – Fig. 4 in place of 105 in the embodiment of Fig. 13, para. 0120) that drives the feeder unit (para. 0120), wherein the solenoid is arranged on a one side in a first direction with respect to a motor case (as seen in Fig. 13, the solenoid, in the same place as 105 for embodiments in which a solenoid is used, para. 0120, is below the motor). One of ordinary skill in the art, would have recognized that since the magazine of Aizawa is similar to the magazine of Leathrum, then the solenoid of Aizawa would be capable of driving the feeder unit in the working machine of Leathrum.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have used the Solenoid of Aizawa to drive the feeder unit of Leathrum since Leathrum is silent with regard as to how the feeder unit is driven and Aizawa teaches a known solution.
Annotated Fig. 2
Leathrum, as modified by Aizawa, further teaches:
Claim 22, the magazine is arranged on the motor axis (see annotated Fig. 2 above where the drum is clearly overlapping the motor axis; note that this rejection is based on the interpretation in which “arranged on” means overlapping, consistent with applicant’s disclosure).
Claim 23, essentially all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 21.
However, Leathrum, as modified by Aizawa, does not expressly disclose a cover unit that houses the solenoid since Aizawa discloses the solenoid in schematic form only.
In this case, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well-known in the art to house a solenoid in a cover unit since the cover unit protects the solenoid from dust and other debris.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have housed the solenoid of Leathrum and Aizawa in a cover unit since cover unit are old and well-known and provide the benefit of protecting the solenoid from dust and other debris. Note that this would result in an inside of the cover unit and an inside of the motor case being connected. Since they are members of the same working machine, they would be connected via at least the other members of the working machine.
Claim 24, the drum unit overlaps with the solenoid as viewed in a direction of the supply axis (see Fig. 13, Aizawa, the supply axis runs from left to right with a downward slope, the drum is to the left of the solenoid at the place of 105).
Claim 25, the motor case (50 – Fig. 2, Leathrum) is arranged between the solenoid (117 – Fig. 4 in place of 105 – Fig. 13, para. 0120, Aizawa) and the handle (24 – Fig. 2, Leathrum). When Leathrum is modified to include a solenoid as taught by Aizawa, the solenoid would be in 78 – Fig. 2 of Leathrum. As can be seen in Fig. 2 of Leathrum, 50 is between 78 and 24.
Claim 26, the supply axis (as can be seen in Fig. 13 of Aizawa, the supply axis is inclined downwards from left to right) is inclined with respect to the motor axis as viewed in the first direction (the motor axis runs left to right and the supply axis runs inclined downwards from left to right, furthermore, the supply axis on the left is at the side of the working machine and converges to the working machine at the ejection unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leathrum (US 2023/0294259 A1).
Regarding claim 39, Leathrum discloses a working machine (10 – Fig. 2) comprising: a magazine (14 – Fig. 2) that includes a drum unit (68 – Fig. 2) having a substantially cylindrical shape (see Fig. 5, 68 is clearly cylindrical) and houses a plurality of fasteners wound in a spiral shape (para. 0032, lines 1-2); an ejection unit (74 – Fig. 2) to which the fastener is supplied (para. 0032); a striking unit (28 – Fig. 2) that moves to one side in a first direction (from right to left along 38 – Fig. 2) to strike the fastener supplied to the ejection unit (para. 0031); a biasing unit (the assembly of 18 and 30 – Fig. 2) that biases the striking unit toward one side in the first direction (para. 0031); a winding unit (42 – Fig. 2) that winds up the striking unit toward the other side in the first direction against a biasing force of the biasing unit (para. 0030 and para. 0031, lines 1-7); a motor (46 – Fig. 2) that generates a driving force for driving the winding unit (para. 0031); a handle (24 – Fig. 2) that is gripped by a worker (a worker is fully capable of gripping 24 – Fig. 2), wherein the handle extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see Fig. 2, the handle extends vertically), wherein a motor axis (see annotated Fig. 2 below) which is a rotation axis of the motor extends in a direction intersecting with the first direction (see annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein the drum unit is arranged at a position overlapping with a motor case (50 – Fig. 2) as viewed in a direction of the motor axis (see annotated Fig. 2 below; note that para. 0037 discloses that the drum unit is positioned behind the motor), and a magazine axis which is an axis of the drum unit is inclined with respect to a striking axis of the striking unit extending in the first direction as viewed in the second direction (as can be seen in Fig. 2, the magazine axis runs vertically inclined from right to left and the striking axis runs from right to left, furthermore, as seen in Fig. 5, the magazine axis runs from right of the machine to under the machine and the striking axis runs vertically).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 38 is allowed.
Claims 27-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
12/17/2025