DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/25 & 02/19/25 has been acknowledged and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
excitation module in claims 1-2, 6, 15, and 20 (302 @ figure 3 and paragraph [0053]: e.g., an excitation module 302 (e.g. an excitation fibre)).
objective module in claims 1, 5, 9-10, 12 and 17 (306 @ figure 3 and paragraph [0053]: e.g., an objective module 306 (e.g. objective lens)).
emission module in claims 1, 15, and 20 (310 @ figure 3 and paragraph [0053]: e.g., an emission module 310 (e.g. an emission fibre)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 10, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (A Portable Fiber Based Dual-Wavelength Confocal Raman Spectroscopy System, Vol. 11954, 1195403-1 to 1195403-4, submitted by IDS hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Yoo (US Patent No. 7,362,426).
Regarding claim 1; Zhang discloses a hand-held probe for a Raman spectroscopy system (figure 1 and abstract: e.g., a fiber-based dual-wavelength confocal Raman spectroscopy with handheld probe), comprising:
an excitation module (section 2.1 and figure 1: e.g., 1 671 nm and 785 nm lasers were coupled into a fast fiber switch and single-mode fiber SMF), configured to emit a light beam along a light path (figure 1: e.g., SMF, CM, DPLCF, DM), the light path being non-parallel to an observation axis (figure 1: e.g., DM, NF, CM, MMF);
a beam splitter (dichroic mirror DM @ figure 1), arranged in the light path of the light beam emitted by the excitation module (section 2.1 and figure 1: e.g., 1 671 nm and 785 nm lasers were coupled into a fast fiber switch and single-mode fiber SMF) and oriented to reflect the light beam along the observation axis (figure 1: e.g., DM, NF, CM, MMF);
an objective module (objective lens @ figure 1), disposed along the observation axis (figure 1: e.g., DM, NF, CM, MMF) and configured to receive the reflected light beam and transmit the reflected light beam to an object (figure 1 and abstract: skin diagnosis of patient) to be observed by the objective module (objective lens @ figure 1) so as to generate a scattered light beam by the object (figure 1 and abstract: skin diagnosis of patient), and the objective module (objective lens @ figure 1) further configured to receive the scattered light beam from the object (figure 1 and abstract: skin diagnosis of patient) and transmit the scattered light beam to the beam splitter (dichroic mirror DM @ figure 1) so as to generated a refracted light beam by the beam splitter (dichroic mirror DM @ figure 1); and
an emission module (figure 1 and section 2.1: e.g., multimode fiber MMF), disposed at the focus and configured to receive the focused light beam (figure 1), wherein the emission module (figure 1 and section 2.1: e.g., multimode fiber MMF) is disposed at a same side as the excitation module (section 2.1 and figure 1: e.g., 1 671 nm and 785 nm lasers were coupled into a fast fiber switch and single-mode fiber SMF) with respect to the observation axis (figure 1: e.g., DM, NF, CM, MMF).
Zhang discloses all of features of claimed invention except for a focusing mirror disposed in the observation axis and configured to focus the refracted light beam from the beam splitter to a focus so as to generate a focused light beam. However, Yoo teaches that it is known in the art to provide a focusing mirror (121, 123 @ figure 1 and col.7 lines 36-37: e.g., a single focusing mirror such as mirror 123) disposed in the observation axis and configured to focus the refracted light beam from the beam splitter (108 @ figure 1) to a focus so as to generate a focused light beam (col.4 lines 37-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with a focusing mirror, disposed in the observation axis and configured to focus the refracted light beam from the beam splitter to a focus so as to generate a focused light beam as taught by Yoo for the purpose of improved detection of the PL or Raman signal.
Regarding claim 2; Zhang discloses further comprising: a collimating lens (collimator CM @ figure 1), wherein the collimating lens (collimator CM @ figure 1) is disposed between the excitation module (single mode fiber SMF @ figure 1) and the beam splitter (dichroic mirror DM @ figure 1) and configured to collimate the light beam emitted by the excitation module (single mode fiber SMF @ figure 1).
Regarding claim 5; Zhang discloses the objective module comprises an objective lens assembly (objective lens @ figure 1), configured to focus the reflected light beam by the beam splitter (DM @ figure 1) onto the object (skin diseases of patient @ figure 1) and collimate the scattered light beam received from the object (skin diseases of patient @ figure 1).
Regarding claim 7; Zhang discloses the first laser beam has a wavelength of 671 nm and the second laser beam has a wavelength of 785 nm (section 2.1 and figure 1: e.g., 671 nm and 785 nm lasers).
Regarding claim 8; Zhang discloses the light beam emitted by the excitation module (SMF @ figure 1) is a combination of a first laser beam and a second laser beam (section 2.1 and figure 1: e.g., 671 nm and 785 nm lasers) via a fibre switch (figure 1), the fibre switch being configured to switch between the first laser beam and the second laser beam (section 2.1 and figure 1: e.g., 671 nm and 785 nm lasers).
Regarding claim 10; Zhang discloses further comprising: a housing having a cylindrical main body (figure 1) and a protruding (figure 1) end extending from the cylindrical main body (figure 1), wherein the beam splitter (DM @ figure 1) and the objective module (objective @ figure 1) are disposed in the cylindrical main body of the housing (figure 1).
Zhang discloses all of features of claimed invention except for a focusing mirror disposed in the cylindrical body of the housing. However, Yoo teaches that it is known in the art to provide a focusing mirror (121, 123 @ figure 1 and col.7 lines 36-37: e.g., a single focusing mirror such as mirror 123) disposed in the cylindrical body of the housing (120 @ figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Yoo for the purpose of improved detection of the PL or Raman signal.
Regarding claim 15; Zhang discloses the excitation module (SMF @ figure 1) comprises a single-mode fibre configured to emit the light beam and disposed along an excitation axis (figure 1), and wherein the emission module (multimode fiber MMF @ figure 1) comprises a multi-mode fibre configured to receive the focused light beam from the collimation lens (CM @ figure 1) and disposed along a receiving axis (figure 1).
Zhang discloses all of features of claimed invention except for a focusing mirror along a receiving axis. However, Yoo teaches that it is known in the art to provide a focusing mirror (121, 123 @ figure 1 and col.7 lines 36-37: e.g., a single focusing mirror such as mirror 123) disposed in a receiving axis (figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Yoo for the purpose of improved detection of the PL or Raman signal.
Regarding claim 16; Zhang discloses the excitation axis (SFM, CM, DPLCF @ figure 1) is parallel to the receiving axis (MMF, spectrometer @ figure 1).
Regarding claim 17; Zhang discloses the excitation axis (SFM, CM, DPLCF @ figure 1) and the receiving axis (MMF, spectrometer @ figure 1) are perpendicular to the observation axis (objective, DM, NF, CM @ figure 1).
Claims 3-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view Yoo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vojnovic (US 2022/0252515).
Regarding claim 3; Zhang in view of Yoo combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a short-pass filter having a cut-off wavelength, wherein the short-pass filter is disposed between the collimating lens and the beam splitter in a manner that the light beam emitted by the excitation module passes through the short-pass filter prior to being reflected by the beam splitter. However, Vojnovic teaches that it is known in the art to provide a short-pass filter (67 @ figures 6A-6B) having a cut-off wavelength, wherein the short-pass filter (67 @ figures 6A-6B) is disposed between the collimating lens (68a @ figures 6A-6B) and the beam splitter (64 @ figure 6A) in a manner that the light beam emitted by the excitation module (68 @ figure 6A) passes through the short-pass filter (67 @ figure 6A) prior to being reflected by the beam splitter (64 @ figure 6A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Vojnovic for the purpose of detecting accuracy fluorescence from bacteria.
Regarding claim 4; Zhang discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a filter having a cut-on wavelength, wherein the filter is disposed between the beam splitter and the focusing mirror in a manner that the refracted light beam from the beam splitter passes through the filter prior to being focused by the focusing mirror. However, Yoo teaches that it is known in the art to provide a filter (114 @ figure 1) having a cut-on wavelength, wherein the filter (114 @ figure 1) is disposed between the beam splitter (108 @ figure 1) and the focusing mirror (121, 123 @ figure 1) in a manner that the refracted light beam from the beam splitter (108 @ figure 1) passes through the filter (114 @ figure 1) prior to being focused by the focusing mirror (121, 123 @ figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Yoo for the purpose of improved detection of the PL or Raman signal.
Zhang in view of Yoo combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a long-pass filter having a cut-on wavelength. However, Vojnovic teaches that it is known in the art to provide a long-pass filter (65 @ figures 6A-6B and paragraph [0071]) having a cut-on wavelength. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Vojnovic for the purpose of detecting accuracy fluorescence from bacteria.
Regarding claim 9; Zhang discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for one part of a Rayleigh scatter portion of the scattered light beam received by the objective module from the object is reflected by the beam splitter and the remaining part of the Rayleigh scatter portion of the scattered light beam is blocked by the filter. However, Yoo teaches that it is known in the art to provide one part of a Rayleigh scatter portion of the scattered light beam received by the objective module (109 @ figure 1) from the object (102 @ figure 1) is reflected by the beam splitter (108 figure 1) and the remaining part of the Rayleigh scatter portion of the scattered light beam is blocked by the filter (114 @ figure 1 and col.6 lines 8-28: e.g., For a particular probe wavelength and spectrograph configuration, the spatial position of the Rayleigh peak can be determined at one or more locations in spectrograph 120, and a block positioned to substantially prevent the Rayleigh scattered light from being detected. In some embodiments, a block may be positioned close to detector 131…use one or more filters to substantially remove the Rayleigh signal from the light). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Yoo for the purpose of improved detection of the PL or Raman signal.
Zhang in view of Yoo combination discloses all of features of claimed invention except for a long-pass filter. However, Vojnovic teaches that it is known in the art to provide a long-pass filter (65 @ figures 6A-6B and paragraph [0071]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Vojnovic for the purpose of detecting accuracy fluorescence from bacteria.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view Yoo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lambert et al (US 2004/0127778 hereinafter “Lambert”).
Regarding claim 6; Zhang in view of Yoo combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the light beam emitted by the excitation module is a combination of a first laser beam and a second laser beam via a wavelength division multiplexer (WDM). However, Lambert teaches that it is known in the art to provide the light beam emitted by the excitation module (laser excitation 10 @ figure 5 combined single mode fiber 40 @ figures 6 and 7b) is a combination of a first laser beam (61 @ figure 7) and a second laser beam (62 @figure 7b) via a wavelength division multiplexer (it is inherent in the figure 7b that two or plurality of wavelength beams Lλ1, Lλ2, …, LλN input to single mode fiber 40 as wavelength division multiplexer). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Lambert for the purpose of reduce the energy/area rating of the excitation pulse to provide improved margins of safety.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view Yoo as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Sanchez et al (US 2012/0143065 hereinafter “Sanchez”).
Regarding claim 14; Zhang in view of Yoo combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the housing comprises a recess disposed on an exterior surface thereof and configured to receive a hand or at least one finger of a user. However, Sanchez teaches that it is known in the art to provide the housing (112 @ figure 1) comprises a recess (figures 1 and 5) disposed on an exterior surface (microendoscope @ figures 1 and 5) thereof and configured to receive a hand or at least one finger of a user (human forearm @ figures 1 and 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Sanchez for the purpose of improving optical clarity via the objective.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view Yoo as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ito et al (US 2016/0299170 hereinafter “Ito”).
Regarding claim 18; Zhang in view of Yoo combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the objective module further comprises a miniaturized motor stage and the objective lens assembly is mounted on the miniaturized motor stage, wherein the miniaturized motor stage is configured to actuate the objective lens assembly to achieve a confocal measurement. However, Ito teaches that it is known in the art to provide the objective module (163 @ figure 2) further comprises a miniaturized motor stage (176 @ figure 2) and the objective lens assembly (165 @ figure 2) is mounted on the miniaturized motor stage (167 @ figure 2), wherein the miniaturized motor stage (167 @ figure 2) is configured to actuate the objective lens assembly (165 @ figure 2) to achieve a confocal measurement (paragraph [0161]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the hand-held probe of Zhang with limitation above as taught by Ito for the purpose of improving the accuracy of the laser scanning, a high-resolution angle sensor (e.g., a rotary encoder) used to detect the accuracy of the motor rotation angle with high precision.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails discloses or render obvious a hand-held probe for a Raman spectroscopy system comprising all the specific elements with the specific combination including the protruding end of the housing comprises an annulus structure having an opening, and a support structure extending from opposing ends of the annulus structure of the protruding end to the cylindrical main body of the housing, wherein a gap exists between the annulus structure and the cylindrical main body of the housing in a manner that the opening of the annulus is accessible from the gap in set forth of claim 11.
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails discloses or render obvious a hand-held probe for a Raman spectroscopy system comprising all the specific elements with the specific combination including a Raman spectroscopy system comprises a six-axis mechanical arm, wherein the hand-held probe is mounted on the six-axis mechanical arm, wherein the six-axis mechanical arm comprises a first joint disposed on a body of the Raman spectroscopy system, a second joint, a third joint disposed on the hand-held probe, a first extension movably connected to the first joint and the second joint, and a second extension movably connected to the second joint and the third joint in set forth of claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Zhao (US 2005/0128476) discloses the Raman spectroscope includes a housing detachably mountable to the microscope. The housing contains at least one source of radiation. One or more filters are positioned at desired angles across the beam path provided by the source of radiation.
/SN/
September 16, 2026
/SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877