Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge (US 20180081085, of record) in view of MATSUGAI (US 20180108697).
Regarding claim 1, Ge teaches (Figs. 1,3-4,7,10) A medical device comprising an optical element (Fig. 4) having a substrate (36) and an anti-reflective coating (42+42T) applied to an application surface of the substrate,
wherein the anti-reflective coating comprises an alternating layer sequence (42) of sublayers having different refractive indices,
wherein, in addition to the alternating layer sequence, the anti-reflective coating comprises an anti-corrosion layer (42T), which is the layer of the anti-reflective coating that is farthest away from the application surface of the substrate,
wherein the anti-corrosion layer is designed such that a ratio of a refractive index of the anti-corrosion layer to a layer thickness of the anti-corrosion layer in nanometers ([44], “hafnium oxide”).
Ge does not explicitly teach the device is a medical device and the ratio is in a range is of 0.3 to 0.9.
However, in an analogous optics field of endeavor, MATSUGAI teaches a device is a medical device ([71], “endoscopes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device is a medical device as taught by MATSUGAI in the teaching of Ge for the purposes of having medical applications.
Ge in view of MATSUGAI does not explicitly teach the ratio is in a range is of 0.3 to 0.9.
However the ratio is “a result-effective variable” because it confers antireflection and scratch resistance. And it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ratio is in a range is of 0.3 to 0.9, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, MPEP2144.05.
One would be motivated to have the ratio is in a range is of 0.3 to 0.9 for the purposes of having good antireflection and good scratch resistance.
Regarding claim 2, Ge further teaches The medical device according to claim 1, wherein the anti-corrosion layer (consists of a highly refractive material selected from the group consisting of zirconium oxide, hafnium oxide and mixed oxides thereof ([44], “hafnium oxide”).
Regarding claim 3, Ge further teaches The medical device according to claim 2, wherein the refractive index of the anti-corrosion layer is in a range of 1.8 to 2.5 (1.9 for hafnium oxide).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Ge in view of MATSUGAI teaches all the limitations as stated in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach The medical device according to claim 1, wherein the layer thickness of the anti-corrosion layer is in a range of 3.0 to 6.0 nm.
However the layer thickness is “a result-effective variable” because it confers antireflection and scratch resistance. And it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the layer thickness of the anti-corrosion layer is in a range of 3.0 to 6.0 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, MPEP2144.05.
One would be motivated to have the layer thickness of the anti-corrosion layer is in a range of 3.0 to 6.0 nm for the purposes of having good antireflection and good scratch resistance.
Regarding claim 5, Ge further teaches The medical device according to claim 1, wherein the anti-corrosion layer is applied by means of sputtering ([42,45], “sputtering”).
Regarding claim 6, Ge further teaches The medical device according to claim 5, wherein the anti-corrosion layer has a packing density of 90% or more of a theoretically maximum achievable packing density ([45], Ge indicates any suitable deposition techniques can be used including “sputtering” for which a packing density of 90% or more appears to be common practical results, since Applicant does not present any special different sputtering technique different from commonly known ones).
Regarding claim 7, Ge further teaches The medical device according to claim 5, wherein the anti-corrosion layer has a surface roughness Ra of 0.50 nm or less (roughness from sputtering is a statistical result so there are always some achieving small roughness).
Regarding claim 8, Ge further teaches The medical device according to claim 1, wherein after six stripping cycles, the optical element exhibits an increase in reflectance of 1% or less, wherein one stripping cycle includes treatment of the optical element in an ultrasonic bath having a power of 300 W at a temperature of 60° C for one hour, wherein the ultrasonic bath includes an aqueous potassium hydroxide solution having a concentration of 10 percent by weight of potassium hydroxide, based on a total weight of the potassium hydroxide solution (Ge uses same method and material so it is expected to have same performance).
Regarding claim 9, Ge further teaches The medical device according to claim 1, wherein the alternating layer sequence comprises one or more coats, each coat having a first sublayer and a second sublayer, and the refractive index of the first sublayer being lower than the refractive index of the second sublayer ([42], “alternating thin layers...”).
Regarding claim 10, Ge further teaches (Fig. 10) The medical device according to claim 9, wherein the anti-corrosion layer (42T) is applied directly to a first sublayer of the alternating layer sequence (42).
Regarding claim 11, Ge further teaches The medical device according to claim 9, wherein the alternating layer sequence comprises at least four coats (42 in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Ge in view of MATSUGAI further teaches The medical device according to claim 1, wherein the medical device is an endoscope (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 13, Ge further teaches The medical device according to claim 1, wherein the optical element is a lens or a window (16 in Fig. 3) of the medical device.
Regarding claims 14-15,17-20, mutatis mutandis, the modified Ge in view of MATSUGAI teaches all the limitations as stated in claims 1,8,2-5 rejections above.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Ge in view of MATSUGAI teaches all the limitations as stated in claim 14, but does not explicitly teach The medical device according to claim 1, wherein the anti-corrosion layer consists of zirconium oxide.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having the anti-corrosion layer consists of zirconium oxide would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of design choices (as zirconium oxide being well known scratch resistant material for coating).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the modified Ge in view of MATSUGAI by having the anti-corrosion layer consists of zirconium oxide for the purposes of design choices.
Conclusion
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234