DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is in response to amendments/remarks for application 19105105 filed on 05/27/2026. Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
Prior Art Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0405491 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2015/0102985 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a display device (Yamamoto, Figs. 2 and 5, display device 1), comprising:
a pixel array including a plurality of pixels (Yamamoto, Fig. 2, pixels PX);
a control unit including a plurality of output terminals that outputs video signals (Yamamoto, Fig. 2, driver IC 110; Yamamoto, Fig. 4, driver terminals E where the driver is connected to);
a plurality of selectors provided between the pixel array and the control unit, each selector electrically connecting or electrically disconnecting a corresponding output terminal of the control unit and a corresponding pixel of the pixel array to or from each other (Yamamoto, Fig. 5, switches SWA); and
a plurality of paths (Yamamoto, Fig. 5, wires V and dummy wires D), wherein
the plurality of paths includes:
a plurality of connection paths, wherein a first end of each connection path in the plurality of connection paths is connected to a corresponding output terminal included in the plurality of output terminals, and wherein a second end of each connection path in the plurality of connection paths is connected to a corresponding selector included in the plurality of selectors (Yamamoto, Fig. 5, wires V having two ends connected to driver terminals E and switches SWA); and
a dummy path, wherein a second end of the dummy path is not connected to any selector included in the plurality of selectors (Yamamoto, Fig. 5, dummy wires D).
Yamamoto does not seem to explicitly teach the dummy path, wherein a first end of the dummy path is connected to a corresponding output terminal included in the plurality of output terminals.
However, in a related art of display with dummy electrodes at the peripheries, Kim teaches dummy path, wherein a first end of the dummy path is connected to a corresponding output terminal included in a plurality of output terminals, and wherein a second end of the dummy path is not connected to any selector (Kim, Figs. 1-5, wiring between driving IC 90 and dummy driving pads 61 62, one end connected to driving IC and other end not connected to any selector).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to connect the dummy wires of Yamamoto to the driver as suggested by Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to utilize the dummy wires as a repair line when pixels in the display has a faulty connection (Kim, [0007]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the dummy path is shorter than the connection paths (Yamamoto, Fig. 6, dummy wires D are shorter than wires V).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the plurality of paths includes a plurality of the dummy paths having lengths different from each other (Yamamoto, Fig.6, dummy wires D with different lengths).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the connection paths include a plurality of wiring lines connected in series between the output terminals and the selectors (Yamamoto, Fig. 5, wires V between driver terminal E and switches SWA), and
the dummy path includes a smaller number of wiring lines than the plurality of wiring lines of the connection paths (Yamamoto, Fig. 5, number of dummy wires D is smaller than wires V).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches a wiring line located closest to the selectors in the dummy path is shorter than a corresponding wiring line of the connection paths (Yamamoto, Figs. 5-6, adjacent dummy wire D shorter than wire V).
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches another end of the dummy path is opened (Yamamoto, [0059], dummy wires D floats, i.e., opened; Kim, Figs. 1-5, repair rings 51 and 52 are open when no repair is needed).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6 and 9 as amended have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current reference combination including the new reference of Kim being used in the current rejections under new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. See above rejections for full detail.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11 and 12 are allowed.
Claims 7, 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the claimed invention in context as a whole. Specifically, the further connection of the adjacent wiring lines via a via in the manner claimed as a whole, is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the claimed invention in context as a whole. Specifically, the connection of the connection paths with switches are also the dummy path in the manner claimed as a whole, is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the claimed invention in context as a whole. Specifically, the dummy path with switches connected in series in the manner claimed as a whole, is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the claimed invention in context as a whole. Specifically, the connection of another end of the dummy path to ground via a capacitor in the manner claimed as a whole, is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Regarding claim 11 and 12, the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the claimed invention in context as a whole. The above cited prior art Yamamoto teaches the display device as claimed, but does not seem to teach or suggest the further analysis method in the manner claimed as a whole. Neither is it sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art to combine with the particular display device as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONG HUI LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629