DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Price et al. (US 2020/0280158).
Regarding claim 1
Price et al. shows the laser controller for a wearable head mounted display (WHMD) (see para. 0001), the laser controller configured to:
identify a first laser drive level (taken to be power level in the area of a lower power region 420, see Fig. 4A and para. 0047-0049) and a second laser drive level based on a pixel display intensity for displaying an image (taken to be power level in the area of a higher power region 425, see Fig. 4A and para. 0048-0049); and
control a laser to alternate between the first laser drive level and the second laser drive level in a series of laser pulses (see Fig. 8A and para. 0077-0080 that shows laser pulses alternated between a lower power level and higher power level) to emit light at a duty-cycled intensity corresponding to the pixel display intensity (taken to be the width or pulse duration of the laser pulse, see Figs. 8A, and para. 0077).
Regarding claim 10
Price et al. further shows, the laser controller further configured to supply a current to the laser to control an output intensity of the laser (taken to be the drive/pump current or lasing current, see para. 0077 and 0080), wherein a laser drive level of the laser is split into a first region characterized by a linear relationship between the supply current and the output intensity and a second region below the first region that does not follow the linear relationship (taken to regions 420 and 425, see Fig. 4A and para. 0080-0081).
Regarding claim 12
Price et al. further shows, a laser beam scanner for a wearable head mounted display (WHMD), the laser beam scanner comprising:
one or more lasers (105A-105C) each configured to emit light of a particular color (see Fig. 1) ; and
a laser controller (1105) configured to:
identify, for at least one of the one or more lasers (105), a first laser drive level and (taken to be power level in the area of a lower power region 420, see Fig. 4A and para. 0047-0049) and a second laser drive level based on a pixel display intensity for displaying an image (taken to be power level in the area of a higher power region 425, see Fig. 4A and para. 0048-0049); and
control the at least one of the one or more lasers to alternate between the first laser drive level and the second laser drive level in a series of laser pulses (see Fig. 8A and para. 0077-0080 that shows laser pulses alternated between a lower power level and higher power level) to emit light at a duty-cycled intensity corresponding to the pixel display intensity (taken to be the width or pulse duration of the laser pulse, see Figs. 8A, and para. 0077).
Regarding claim 17
Price et al. further shows, a method comprising:
identifying a first laser drive level (taken to be power level in the area of a lower power region 420, see Fig. 4A and para. 0047-0049) and a second laser drive level based on a pixel display intensity for displaying an image (taken to be power level in the area of a higher power region 425, see Fig. 4A and para. 0048-0049); and
controlling a laser to alternate between the first laser drive level and the second laser drive level in a series of laser pulses (see Fig. 8A and para. 0077-0080 that shows laser pulses alternated between a lower power level and higher power level) to emit light at a duty-cycled intensity corresponding to the pixel display intensity (taken to be the width or pulse duration of the laser pulse, see Figs. 8A, and para. 0077).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 11, 13-16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an Examiner's Statement of Reasons for Allowance:
Regarding claims 2-9
The prior art of record, including Price et al. (US 2020/0280158), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the laser controller for a wearable head mounted display (WHMD), as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include:
the laser controller further configured to retrieve at least one of the first laser drive level or the second laser drive level from a lookup table storing values for a plurality of laser drive levels and corresponding pixel display intensities, as recited in claims 2-9.
Further, even though Price et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 2-9, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
the laser controller further configured to retrieve at least one of the first laser drive level or the second laser drive level from a lookup table storing values for a plurality of laser drive levels and corresponding pixel display intensities, as recited in claims 2-9.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Price et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claims 2-9.
Regarding claim 11
The prior art of record, including Price et al. (US 2020/0280158), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the laser controller for a wearable head mounted display (WHMD), as recited in claim 10, having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include:
the laser controller further configured to control the laser to mimic operation of an output intensity in the second region by alternating between the first laser drive level and the second laser drive level, wherein the first laser drive level corresponds to a minimum laser drive level in the first region and the second laser drive level corresponds to a non-lasing state in which the laser does not emit light, as recited in claim 11.
Further, even though Price et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 11, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
the laser controller further configured to control the laser to mimic operation of an output intensity in the second region by alternating between the first laser drive level and the second laser drive level, wherein the first laser drive level corresponds to a minimum laser drive level in the first region and the second laser drive level corresponds to a non-lasing state in which the laser does not emit light, as recited in claim 11.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Price et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claim 11.
Regarding claims 13-16
The prior art of record, including Price et al. (US 2020/0280158), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the laser beam scanner for a wearable head mounted display (WHMD), as recited in claim 12, having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include:
wherein at least one of the first laser drive level or the second laser drive level are identified from a lookup table based on the first laser drive level having a corresponding first pixel display intensity above the pixel display intensity and the second laser drive level having a corresponding second pixel display intensity below the pixel display intensity, as recited in claims 13-16.
Further, even though Price et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 13-16, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
wherein at least one of the first laser drive level or the second laser drive level are identified from a lookup table based on the first laser drive level having a corresponding first pixel display intensity above the pixel display intensity and the second laser drive level having a corresponding second pixel display intensity below the pixel display intensity, as recited in claims 13-16.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Price et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claims 13-16.
Regarding claims 18-20
The prior art of record, including Price et al. (US 2020/0280158), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the method, as recited in claim 17, having the combination of steps, along with having the further limitations which include:
retrieving at least one of the first laser drive level or the second laser drive level from a lookup table storing values for a plurality of laser drive levels and corresponding pixel display intensities, as recited in claims 18-20.
Further, even though Price et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 18-20, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
retrieving at least one of the first laser drive level or the second laser drive level from a lookup table storing values for a plurality of laser drive levels and corresponding pixel display intensities, as recited in claims 18-20.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Price et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claims 18-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Adema (US 2022/0163803), show a wearable head mounted display (see Fig. 1) having a laser controller (930) capable of driving the laser with multiple pulses to emit light at display intensities (see the abstract, Figs. 1-5, and para. 0029-0032 and 0044).
Kimura et al. (US 2014/0240611), show a wearable head mounted display (see para. 0093) having a laser controller (taken to be laser driving circuit, see para. 0091-0096, capable of driving the laser with multiple pulses to emit light at display intensities (see also the abstract, Figs. 1 and 5-14, and para. 0098-0121).
/MUHAMMAD N. EDUN/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2629
/MUHAMMAD N EDUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629