DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 20, 2025, October 10, 2025, April 28, 2026, and July 20, 2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugimoto et al. (US 2020/0408293 A1), hereinafter “Sugimoto”.
Regarding claim 1, Sugimoto discloses a motor drive device (transaxle 1A, ¶[0130], fig. 7) for outputting motor drive force for a hybrid vehicle (“UTV 100 serves as a typical four-wheel driving hybrid vehicle”, ¶[0080], fig. 1), comprising: a motor (electric motor 8); a first output shaft (main shaft portion 3c of input shaft 3A) configured to be connected to a PTO shaft for extracting engine drive force from the hybrid vehicle (drive force transfer from engine 120 by way of engine output shaft 120a and CVT 121, ¶¶[0068]-[0070]); a power transmission mechanism connecting the motor and the first output shaft (idle gear 12 and distribution gear 13 constituting motor gear train 15, ¶[0104]); a second output shaft (clutch shaft portion 3d of input shaft 3A) configured to be connected to a drive source (front wheel driving gear train 16) for a mounted equipment on the hybrid vehicle (“power from engine 120 is transmitted to second output shaft 7, front wheel driving gear train 16 and PTO shaft 14 via CVT 121, input shaft 3…”, ¶[0125]); and a switching mechanism (coupling sleeve 3e, ¶[0137]) configured to selectively connect the first output shaft to the second output shaft.
Regarding claim 2, Sugimoto discloses the motor drive device according to claim 1, wherein the first output shaft and the second output shaft are disposed coaxially (coaxial arrangement of shaft portions 3c and 3d at coupling sleeve 3e, fig. 7, ¶[0138]), and the switching mechanism includes: a first spline provided on an outer periphery of the first output shaft (splines of main shaft portion 3c engaging inner splines of coupling sleeve 3e, ¶[0137]); a second spline provided on an outer periphery of the second output shaft (“left end of clutch shaft portion 3d is spline-fitted into coupling sleeve 3e”, ¶[0138]); a sleeve (“coupling sleeve 3e formed with inner splines is provided on a right end portion of main shaft portion 3c”, ¶[0137]) movable between a second position where the sleeve meshes with the second spline only and a first position where the sleeve meshes with both the first spline and the second spline; and a sleeve drive member that drives the sleeve (“extracting clutch shaft portion 3d from coupling sleeve 3e to separate clutch shaft portion 3d from main shaft portion 3c”, ¶[0139]).
Regarding claim 3, Sugimoto discloses the motor drive device according to claim 2, wherein the switching mechanism includes an actuator that drives the sleeve drive member (“clutch actuator 9d with a solenoid is provided on discoid clutch member 9b” resulting in extraction of shaft portion 3d from coupling sleeve 3e, ¶[0109]).
Regarding claim 4, Sugimoto discloses the motor drive device according to claim 1, wherein the second output shaft is configured to be coaxially connected to an input shaft of the drive source (“left end portion of second output shaft 7 disposed coaxially to input shaft 3”, ¶[0107], fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Sugimoto discloses the motor drive device according to claim 1, comprising a housing for containing the motor, the first output shaft, the power transmission mechanism, the second output shaft, and the switching mechanism (“motor housing 2g is formed therein with entire motor-and-clutch chamber 18A in which motor 8, motor gear train 15 and first and second clutches 9 and 10 are entirely disposed”, ¶[0133], fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Sugimoto discloses the motor drive device according to claim 7, wherein the housing has a seat surface for directly mounting the drive source (“right portion of motor housing 2g and PTO housing 2d are joined to each other so as to define front wheel driving gear chamber 19”, ¶[0140], fig. 7).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dalum (WO 2022/132807 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Dalum discloses the motor drive device according to claim 1 as a motor drive device for outputting motor drive force for a hybrid vehicle (hybrid vehicle drive system described in ¶[0075] and shown in fig. 1C), comprising: a motor (electric motor 2032); a first output shaft (output shaft shown on left side of motor 2032 extending to clutch 2012, fig. 1C) configured to be connected to a PTO shaft for extracting engine (prime mover engine 2002) drive force from the hybrid vehicle; a power transmission mechanism connecting the motor and the first output shaft (power transmission components described in ¶[0076] comprising clutch 2012 and motor 2032); a second output shaft (output shaft shown on right side of motor 2032 extending to generator 2006, fig. 1C) configured to be connected to a drive source (generator 2006) for a mounted equipment (electrical load 2020) on the hybrid vehicle; and a switching mechanism (clutch 2014) configured to selectively connect the first output shaft to the second output shaft. Specifically relevant to claim 5, Dalum further teaches the second output shaft is configured to be directly connected to an input shaft of the drive source (portion of the second output shaft extending from clutch 2014 to generator 2006 shown in fig. 1C as one continuous connection).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagao et al. (JP 2005-329871 A), hereinafter “Nagao”.
Regarding claim 9, Nagao discloses the motor drive device according to claim 1 as a motor drive device (hydraulic drive system, fig. 2, ¶[0024]) for outputting motor drive force for a hybrid vehicle, comprising: a motor (electric motor 15); a first output shaft (portion of drive shaft 11 between clutch 18 and PTO device 12) configured to be connected to a PTO shaft for extracting engine drive force from the hybrid vehicle; a power transmission mechanism connecting the motor and the first output shaft (“electric motor 15 is connected to the drive shaft 11 via a transmission mechanism 16 such as a belt”, ¶[0022]); a second output shaft (portion of drive shaft 11 between clutch 18 and hydraulic pump 10) configured to be connected to a drive source for a mounted equipment on the hybrid vehicle (hydraulic pump 10 for supplying pressure to hydraulic cylinders of the vehicle, ¶[0004]); and a switching mechanism (“clutch 18 is interposed in the drive shaft 11”, ¶[0023]) configured to selectively connect the first output shaft to the second output shaft (“clutch 18 connects and disconnects the power take-out device 12 and the hydraulic pump 10”, ¶[0023]). Specifically relevant to claim 9, Nagao recites the drive source is a hydraulic pump (“numeral 10 denotes a hydraulic pump, and the hydraulic pump 10 is configured to be driven by a combination of engine driving and electric motor driving or by either driving”, ¶[0020], fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto (US 2020/0408293 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Sugimoto discloses the motor drive device according to claim 1 as rejected above under 35 USC § 102, but Sugimoto does not recite the second output shaft is configured to be connected to an input shaft of the drive source in an offset state. However, Sugimoto teaches that the “motor shaft is axially offset from the input shaft and the second output shaft” (¶[0010]). Sugimoto further recites such arrangement beneficial because “the whole length of the transaxle in the axial direction of the input shaft and the second output shaft can be reduced, thereby minimizing the hybrid vehicle in this direction, or expanding a free space in the hybrid vehicle” (¶[0011]). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to connect, with a reasonable expectation of success, the second output shaft (clutch shaft portion 3d of input shaft 3A) to an input shaft of the drive source (shaft 7 of front wheel driving gear train 16) in an offset state, as taught by Sugimoto and motivated by the benefits recited by Sugimoto above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art of record relates to drive systems having features relevant to the claimed invention. Epple et al. (DE 102020202807 A1) discloses a power take-off device for a hybrid vehicle comprising a sliding sleeve with three switching positions for engagement of first and second outputs in order to power a hydraulic pump by either output alone or in combination.
/MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613