DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to invent provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (JP 2021112116 A; “Inoue”).
Inoue discloses:
Regarding claim 1:
An electric axle device (depicted in FIG. 1) for a vehicle (abstract “vehicle drive device”), comprising:
an axle housing (1) for containing a differential device (DF; FIG. 2);
a reduction gear (G; FIG. 2) attached to the axle housing (depicted in FIG. 2);
an electric motor (MG) attached to the reduction gear (depicted in FIG. 2); and
an inverter (INV; FIG. 1-2) attached to at least one of the reduction gear and the electric motor (via at least boss B, flange Fl, and fastener Fa and within compartment 3 as seen in FIG. A below).
FIGURE A: Annotated view of Inoue
Regarding claim 2:
The electric axle device for the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the inverter is attached on the housing of at least one of the reduction gear and the electric motor (via at least boss B, flange Fl, and fastener Fa and within compartment 3 as seen in FIG. A above).
Regarding claim 3:
The electric axle device for the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a boss (B in FIG. A above) that stands upward is provided on the housing of at least one of the reduction gear and the electric motor (FIG. A above depicts boss B extending vertically upward from the floor of the compartment 3 of the housing 1), and the inverter is attached to the boss (depicted in FIG. A above, FIG. 2 as well).
Regarding claim 4:
The electric axle device for the vehicle according to claim 3, wherein a flange (Fl; FIG. A above) that protrudes to a side is provided on a bottom surface portion of the inverter (FIG. A above depicts flange FL extending laterally and provided on a bottom surface of inverter INV), and the flange is attached to the boss (via fastener ass reasonably disclosed/depicted in FIG. A above; see MPEP § 2125).
Regarding claim 6:
The electric axle device for the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the inverter is attached inside of the housing of at least one of the reduction gear and the electric motor (FIG. 1-2 reasonably depicts/discloses the inverter INV attached inside housing 1 via compartment 3; see MPEP § 2125), and a housing (1) of the inverter is shared with the housing of at least one of the reduction gear and the electric motor (FIG. 2 depicts all of the inverter INV, reduction gear G and motor MG sharing housing 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Hamanaka et al. (JP 2021024327 A; “Hamanaka”).
Regarding claim 5, Inoue discloses the limitations of claim 4, see above, but does not expressly disclose that the flange and the boss are attached via an elastic body.
Hamanaka teaches a flange (6) and a boss (upward extending portion of body 4 as seen in FIG. 2) attached (via fastener 11) via an elastic body (9; FIG. 2) as a vibration absorbing means (abstract, “vibration absorption bush 9”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Inoue such that the flange and the boss are attached via an elastic body. The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified that the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way is a rationale that supports a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would recognize that both Inoue and Inoue are drawn to analogous/similar structures i.e. mounting instruments to a vehicle, and would therefore recognize that modifying Inoue in view of the known technique taught in Hamanaka as described supra would, with reasonable predictability, result in Inoue’s flange Fl and boss B being attached via an elastic body like elasitc body 9 in Hamanaka. “[A]n implicit motivation to combine exists not only when a suggestion may be gleaned from the prior art as a whole, but when the ‘improvement’ is technology-independent and the combination of references results in a product or process that is more desirable, for example because it is stronger, cheaper, cleaner, faster, lighter, smaller, more durable, or more efficient. Because the desire to enhance commercial opportunities by improving a product or process is universal-and even common-sensical-we have held that there exists in these situations a motivation to combine prior art references even absent any hint of suggestion in the references themselves. In such situations, the proper question is whether the ordinary artisan possesses knowledge and skills rendering him capable of combining the prior art references." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1651 (Fed. Cir. 2006); see MPEP § 2143(I)(G). Here, one having ordinary skill in the art would be capable of using an elastic like Hamanaka’s elastic/vibration absorbing means 9 between Inoue’s flange Fl and boss B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/DANIEL D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656