DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 5-7 and 10 has been amended. No Claims have been newly added. Claims 2 and 20-21 have been/remains canceled. Claims 1 and 3-19 remain pending in the application.
Applicant amendments to the Claims have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 05/12/2026. The objection has been withdrawn in view of the amended Claims.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 7-13 of the remark filed on 06/25/2025, on the limitations of independent Claims 1: “generating a puzzle blockchain transaction, wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises a respective target public key and is configured to, when executed together with a respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value, convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key; generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations using the first private key, the second public key, and each respective target public key, and.”, arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 7-8 that the cited references fail to teach generating a puzzle blockchain transaction. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Aspler-Yaskil teaches on Par. (0102) a blockchain transaction that includes a puzzle that is required to publish the block. Aspler-Yaskil further teaches on Par. (0060) a mathematical puzzle in each of the blocks of the blockchain to validate and accept the blocks by each node.
Applicant argues on Pages 8-9 that the cited references fail to teach wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises a respective target public key and is configured to, when executed together with a respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Chan discloses on Par. (0026-0029) a locking script corresponding to a puzzle and on Par. (0072-0073) describing a blockchain address with a specific public key used for the unlocking and locking scripts of transactions. Chan further describes on Par. (0107-0109) (0139-0141, 0151) a locking and unlocking script in association with a puzzle based on candidate values or a specific set of field values to successfully validate a transaction and unlock with script.
Applicant argues on Pages 9-10 that the cited references fail to teach wherein convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Trevethan teaches on Par. (0125) a conversion of a candidate value or temporary secret key into a public key and matching the candidate and target keys on Par. (0101-0107) by matching temporary keys with original.
Applicant argues on Pages 9-10 that the cited references fail to teach generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations based using the first private key, the second public key, and each respective target public key. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Li teaches on (Par. (0180) a generating of a shared key based on second public key and first private key and on Par. (0106) describing an elliptic curve operation using public key.
Applicant argues on Pages 10 that the cited references fail to teach wherein the second party is configured to generate the shared cryptographic key performing elliptic curve operation using the second private key, the first public key. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Li teaches on Par. (0035, 0174) a second party or communication between initiator and responder and further discloses on Par. (0142) a second party or responder generating a shared key using ECC techniques using a first public key and second private key. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10-11 and 13-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aspler-Yaskil et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230370275, hereinafter referred to as “Aspler-Yaskil”) Chan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20200219097, hereinafter referred to as “Chan”) and Trevethan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20210075600, hereinafter referred to as “Trevethan”) further in view of Li et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230085569, hereinafter referred to as “Li”)
In regards to Claim 1, Aspler-Yaskil teaches a computer-implemented method for generating a shared cryptographic key and enabling a second party to determine the shared cryptographic key, (Par. (0082-0083, 0118); generating shared keys for second party (one or more entities and multi-party))
wherein a first party has a first private key and corresponding first public key, and (Par. (0028); first entity with first private key and first public key), (Par. further teaches (0045); public key of first entity and private key of first entity))
the second party has a second private key and corresponding second public key, and (Par. (0028); second entity with second private and public key pair), (Par. (0054) further teaches; private key of second entity), (Par. (0125) further teaches public key of second entity))
wherein the method is performed by the first party and comprises: (Par. (0024, 0035); first entity with steps)
generating a puzzle blockchain transaction, wherein generating the puzzle blockchain transaction comprises: (Par. (0060); generating (publish next block) a puzzle blockchain transaction (nodes solving puzzle before block is added) (Par. (0102); puzzle blockchain transaction (blockchain transaction with puzzle that needs to be solved to publish the block/transaction)
Aspler-Yaskil does not explicitly teach generating, for each of one or more respective outputs of the puzzle blockchain transaction, a respective puzzle locking script, wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises a respective target public key and is configured to, when executed together with a respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value, convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key; generating the one or more respective outputs of the puzzle blockchain transaction by encoding a respective puzzle locking script into the one or more respective outputs; sending the puzzle blockchain transaction to one or more blockchain nodes of a blockchain network and/or the second party, and generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations based using the first private key, the second public key, and each respective target public key, and wherein the second party is configured to generate the shared cryptographic key performing elliptic curve operation using the second private key, the first public key, and each respective candidate value.
Wherein Chan teaches generating, for each of one or more respective outputs of the puzzle blockchain transaction, a respective puzzle locking script, (Par. (0113-0115); each party generates a puzzle transaction and each party transaction corresponding to script, locking script of the puzzle and outputs), (Par. (0012-0020); locking script with puzzle and transaction))
wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises a respective target public key and is configured to, when executed together with a respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value, (Par. (0077, 0110); locking script with public key), (Par. (0107); unlocking script with respective candidate value (value that is determined and based upon set of conditions)
generating the one or more respective outputs of the puzzle blockchain transaction by encoding a respective puzzle locking script into the one or more respective outputs; (Par. (0111); generating outputs (generating sequence of numbers) by encoding a respective puzzle locking script (encoding in a locking script) into the one or more respective outputs (locking script corresponding to encoding of random number generation), (Par. (0156); encoding the locking script into random outcomes/numbers))
sending the puzzle blockchain transaction to one or more blockchain nodes of a blockchain network and/or the second party, and (Par. (0154); nodes obtain transaction and puzzle)), (Par. (0120-0122); after commitment each of the parties are provided the transaction associated with the puzzle to be revealed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of verifying the source of the data to regulate access to unlocking assets of users and utilizing puzzles to control access to transactions based on solution. (Chan Par. (0009 and 0018-0021))
Aspler-Yaskil and Chan do not explicitly teach convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key; generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations based using the first private key, the second public key, and each respective target public key, and wherein the second party is configured to generate the shared cryptographic key performing elliptic curve operation using the second private key, the first public key, and each respective candidate value.
Wherein Trevethan teaches convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key; (Par. (0125); converting the candidate value (temporary secret key) into a respective candidate public key (public key)), (Par. (0101-0107); matching by determining new public key by matching temporary public key with original public key)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil and Chan to incorporate the teaching of Trevethan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, unlocking transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of determining based on key exchanges individuals that are verified and participants to collaborate to create trust efficiency and sharing of keys. (Trevethan Par. (0010))
Aspler-Yaskil, Chan and Trevethan do not explicitly teach generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations based using the first private key, the second public key, and each respective target public key, and wherein the second party is configured to generate the shared cryptographic key performing elliptic curve operation using the second private key, the first public key, and each respective candidate value.
Wherein Li teaches generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations based using the first private key, the second public key, and (Par. (0180); generating shared key based on second public key and first private key)
each respective target public key, and (Par. (0175); target public key (request key exchange with public key), (Par. (0106); elliptic curve operation using public key)
wherein the second party is configured to generate the shared cryptographic key performing elliptic curve operation using the second private key, the first public key, and (Par. (0035, 0174); second party (initiator and responder device in communication), (Par. (0142); second party (responder) generating a shared key using elliptic curve corresponding to first public key and second private key and first public key)
each respective candidate value. (Par. (0153, 0174); (private key of second party (responder) with elliptic curve operation), (Examiner Note: In the instant application on page 29 of the specification it states the candidate value is a second private key. Therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted as such.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Chan and Trevethan to incorporate the teaching of Li to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification based on exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing elliptic curve operations to verify users based on key and signature values as a form of comparison to determine satisfied conditions and increase data security. (Li Par. (0134-0138 and 0212))
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim 1, Chan further teaches wherein each respective puzzle locking script is configured to require a respective signature corresponding to a respective public key. (Par. (0115-0116); puzzle and locking script with signature needed for solution), (Par. (0082-0087); signature with public key))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing signatures in unlocking script to determine validity based on parameters set along with the corresponding encryption key. (Chan Par. (0077-0083 and 0115-0116))
In regards to Claim 5, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim 1, Chan further teaches wherein at least one of the respective puzzle locking scripts is configured to require the respective unlocking script to comprise a first respective signature corresponding to a fourth respective public key associated with the first party. (Par. (0115-0116); unlocking script based on puzzle with signature as solution), (Par. (0082-0087); signature with public key of party))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing signatures in unlocking script to determine validity based on parameters set along with the corresponding encryption key. (Chan Par. (0077-0083 and 0115-0116))
In regards to Claim 6, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim 1, Chan further teaches wherein at least one of the respective puzzle locking scripts is configured to require the respective unlocking script to comprise a second respective signature corresponding to a fifth respective public key associated with the second party. (Par. (0115-0116); unlocking script based on puzzle with signature as solution), (Par. (0082-0087); signature with public key of party)), (Par. (0113-0114); second party (each party with solution and puzzle))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing signatures in unlocking script to determine validity based on parameters set along with the corresponding encryption key. (Chan Par. (0077-0083 and 0115-0116))
In regards to Claim 7, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim 1, Aspler-Yaskil, further teaches the method of claim 4, wherein at least one respective public key is associated with the first party. (Par. (0028); first entity with first private key and first public key) (Par. further teaches (0045); public key of first entity and private key of first entity))
Aspler-Yaskil does not explicitly teach wherein each respective puzzle locking script is configured to require the respective unlocking script to comprise multiple respective signatures, each corresponding to a respective public key, and
Wherein Chan teaches wherein each respective puzzle locking script is configured to require the respective unlocking script to comprise multiple respective signatures, (Par. (0115-0116); unlocking script based on puzzle with signature as solution), (Par. (0144, 0159-0161) multiple or number of signatures with solution and unlocking script)
each corresponding to a respective public key, and (Par. (0082-0087); signature with public key of party))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing signatures in unlocking script to determine validity based on parameters set along with the corresponding encryption key. (Chan Par. (0077-0083 and 0115-0116))
In regards to Claim 8, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim 1, Aspler-Yaskil further teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the respective public key associated with the first party is the first public key. (Par. (0028); first entity with first private key and first public key) (Par. (0045) further teaches; public key of first entity and private key of first entity))
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim 1, Chan further teaches providing one or more respective candidate values to at least one party for inclusion in one or more respective unlocking scripts, (Par. (0107-0109); respective candidate values to at least one party (transaction with values corresponding to unlocking script after validated are added to blockchain), (Par. (0070); transactions with candidate values (values) provided to for inclusion in blockchain)
each respective unlocking script configured to unlock a respective puzzle locking script of the puzzle blockchain transaction. (Par. (0121-0123); unlocking script with transaction to unlock with solution)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of verifying the source of the data to regulate access to unlocking assets of users and utilizing puzzles to control access to transactions based on solution. (Chan Par. (0009 and 0018-0021))
In regards to Claim 11, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim 1, Chan further teaches wherein a reveal blockchain transaction comprises one or more respective unlocking scripts configured to unlock one or more respective puzzle locking scripts of the puzzle blockchain transaction, and (Par. (0113-0116); revealing the transaction corresponding to unlocking script and puzzle), (Par. (0120-0122); revealing the puzzle and script)
wherein the method comprises providing, for inclusion in the respective unlocking script, a respective signature corresponding to the respective public key associated with the first party. (Par. (0082-0086); signature and public key included or inclusion in script), (Par. (0082-0087); signature with public key of party)), (Par. (0159-0161); signature is included/inclusion in unlocking script of user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing signatures in unlocking script to determine validity based on parameters set along with the corresponding encryption key. (Chan Par. (0077-0083 and 0115-0116))
In regards to Claim 13, Aspler-Yaskil teaches a computer-implemented method of generating a shared cryptographic key, (Par. (0082-0083, 0118); generating shared keys for second party (one or more entities and multi-party))
wherein a first party has a first private key and a corresponding first public key, and (Par. (0028); first entity with first private key and first public key) (Par. further teaches (0045); public key of first entity and private key of first entity))
a second party has a second private key and corresponding second public key, (Par. (0028); second entity with second private and public key pair) (Par. (0054) further teaches; private key of second entity), (Par. (0125) further teaches public key of second entity))
wherein a blockchain comprises a puzzle blockchain transaction, (Par. (0060); generating (publish next block) a puzzle blockchain transaction (nodes solving puzzle before block is added) (Par. (0102); puzzle blockchain transaction (blockchain transaction with puzzle that needs to be solved to publish the block/transaction)
wherein the method is performed by the second party and comprises: (Par. (0028))
Aspler-Yaskil does not explicitly teach wherein the puzzle blockchain transaction comprises one or more respective outputs, each respective output comprising a respective puzzle locking script, wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises a respective target public key and is configured to, when executed together with a respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value, convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key, and obtaining one or more respective reveal blockchain transactions, wherein each respective reveal blockchain transaction comprises one or more respective inputs, each respective input referencing a respective one of the one or more respective outputs of the puzzle blockchain transaction and comprising a respective unlocking script, each respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value; extracting, from the one or more reveal blockchain transactions, one or more respective candidate values; and generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations using the second private key, the first public key, and each respective candidate value, wherein the first party is configured to generate the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations using the first private key, the second public key, and each respective target public key.
Wherein Chan teaches wherein the puzzle blockchain transaction comprises one or more respective outputs, each respective output comprising a respective puzzle locking script, (Par. (0113-0115); each party generates a puzzle transaction and each party transaction corresponding to script, locking script of the puzzle and outputs), (Par. (0012-0020); locking script with puzzle and transaction))
wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises a respective target public key and is configured to, when executed together with a respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value, (Par. (0077, 0110); locking script with public key), (Par. (0107); unlocking script with respective candidate value (value that is determined and based upon set of conditions)
obtaining one or more respective reveal blockchain transactions, (Par. (0119-0120); unlocked and revealed transactions are provided to each party)
wherein each respective reveal blockchain transaction comprises one or more respective inputs, (Par. (0122-0123); transaction with value that are provided as inputs to unlock)
each respective input referencing a respective one of the one or more respective outputs of the puzzle blockchain transaction and comprising a respective unlocking script, (Par. (0107-0109 and 0113); input and outputs for transaction and unlocking script associated with puzzle)
each respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value; (Par. (0107); unlocking script with respective candidate value (value that is determined and based upon set of conditions)
extracting, from the one or more reveal blockchain transactions, one or more respective candidate values; and (Par. (0123-0124); values are provided that compare differences to unlock and reveal transactions)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of verifying the source of the data to regulate access to unlocking assets of users and utilizing puzzles to control access to transactions based on solution. (Chan Par. (0009 and 0018-0021))
Aspler-Yaskil and Chan do not explicitly teach convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key, and generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations using the second private key, the first public key, and each respective candidate value, wherein the first party is configured to generate the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations using the first private key, the second public key, and each respective target public key.
Wherein Trevethan teaches convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key, and (Par. (0125); converting the candidate value (temporary secret key) into a respective candidate public key (public key)), (Par. (0101-0107); matching by determining new public key by matching temporary public key with original public key)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil and Chan to incorporate the teaching of Trevethan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, unlocking transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of determining based on key exchanges individuals that are verified and participants to collaborate to create trust efficiency and sharing of keys. (Trevethan Par. (0010))
Aspler-Yaskil, Chan and Trevethan do not explicitly teach generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations using the second private key, the first public key, and each respective candidate value, wherein the first party is configured to generate the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations using the first private key, the second public key, and each respective target public key.
Wherein Li teaches generating the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations using the second private key, the first public key, and (Par. (0180); generating shared key based on second public key and first private key)
each respective candidate value, (Par. (0153, 0174); (private key of second party (responder) with elliptic curve operation), (Examiner Note: In the instant application on page 29 of the specification it states the candidate value is a second private key. Therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted as such.)
wherein the first party is configured to generate the shared cryptographic key by performing elliptic curve operations using the first private key, the second public key, and (Par. (0035, 0174); second party (initiator and responder device in communication), (Par. (0142); second party (responder) generating a shared key using elliptic curve corresponding to first public key and second private key and first public key)
each respective target public key. (Par. (0175); candidate value (requested key corresponding to public key), (Par. (0106); elliptic curve operation using public key)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Chan and Trevethan to incorporate the teaching of Li to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification based on exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing elliptic curve operations to verify users based on key and signature values as a form of comparison to determine satisfied conditions and increase data security. (Li Par. (0134-0138 and 0212))
In regards to Claim 14, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim 13, Chan further teaches generating at least one respective candidate value; and (Pr. (0107-0109); generating candidate values (values of transaction corresponding to locking script))
providing the at least one respective candidate value for inclusion in a respective unlocking script of a respective reveal blockchain transaction. (Par. (0107-0109); respective candidate values to at least one party (transaction with values corresponding to unlocking script after validated are added to blockchain), (Par. (0070); transactions with candidate values (values) provided to for inclusion in blockchain), (Par. (0113-0116); revealing the transaction corresponding to unlocking script and puzzle)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing signatures in unlocking script to determine validity based on parameters set along with the corresponding encryption key. (Chan Par. (0077-0083 and 0115-0116))
Claim(s) 3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aspler-Yaskil et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230370275, hereinafter referred to as “Aspler-Yaskil”) Chan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20200219097, hereinafter referred to as “Chan”), Trevethan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20210075600, hereinafter referred to as “Trevethan”) and Li et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230085569, hereinafter referred to as “Li”) further in view of Wahab et al. (U.S Pub No. 20220239501, hereinafter referred to as “Wahab”)
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li do not explicitly teach wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises an elliptic curve generator point and a function configured to perform elliptic curve multiplication of the respective candidate value and the elliptic curve generator point.
Wherein Wahab teaches wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises an elliptic curve generator point and (Par. (0104); puzzle with elliptic curve cryptography and locking script), (Par. (0023-0025); elliptic curve generator point)
a function configured to perform elliptic curve multiplication of the respective candidate value and the elliptic curve generator point. (Par. (0023-0025); elliptic curve generator point with multiplication on point and candidate value (key))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Wahab to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of determining validity between nodes and blockchain transactions using ECC operations to identify challenge and reference data and return transactions based on conditions. (Wahab Par. (0005-0008 and 0023))
Claim(s) 9, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aspler-Yaskil et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230370275, hereinafter referred to as “Aspler-Yaskil”) Chan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20200219097, hereinafter referred to as “Chan”), Trevethan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20210075600, hereinafter referred to as “Trevethan”) and Li et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230085569, hereinafter referred to as “Li”) further in view of Subra et al. (U.S Pub No. 20210176041, hereinafter referred to as “Subra”)
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li do not explicitly teach encrypting a message using the shared cryptographic key to generate an encrypted message; and making the encrypted message available to the second party.
Wherein Subra teaches encrypting a message using the shared cryptographic key to generate an encrypted message; and (Par. (0082-0083); encrypting message with block using shared symmetric key)
making the encrypted message available to the second party. (Par. (0082-0083); sending message to each peer and privileged node)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Subra to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of creating trustworthy nodes in a blockchain and using shared keys to identify authentic messages and transmission in communication. (Subra Par. (0004-0006 and 0053-0055))
In regards to Claim 15, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim 13, Aspler-Yaskil further teaches the method of claim 13, comprising: obtaining an encrypted message; and (Par. (0045); encrypting message (encrypting transaction data)), (Par. (0050-0052); node obtaining and decrypting transaction data)
Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li do not explicitly teach using the shared cryptographic key to decrypt the encrypted message.
Wherein Subra teaches using the shared cryptographic key to decrypt the encrypted message. (Pa. (0062-0063); received message is decrypted by shared symmetric key)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Subra to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of creating trustworthy nodes in a blockchain and using shared keys to identify authentic messages and transmission in communication. (Subra Par. (0004-0006 and 0053-0055))
In regards to Claim 16, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li do not explicitly teach encrypting a message using the shared cryptographic key to generate an encrypted message; and making the encrypted message available to the first party.
Wherein Subra teaches encrypting a message using the shared cryptographic key to generate an encrypted message; and (Par. (0082-0083); encrypting message with block using shared symmetric key)
making the encrypted message available to the first party. (Par. (0082-0083); sending message to each peer and privileged node)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Subra to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of creating trustworthy nodes in a blockchain and using shared keys to identify authentic messages and transmission in communication. (Subra Par. (0004-0006 and 0053-0055))
Claim(s) 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aspler-Yaskil et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230370275, hereinafter referred to as “Aspler-Yaskil”) Chan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20200219097, hereinafter referred to as “Chan”), Trevethan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20210075600, hereinafter referred to as “Trevethan”) and Li et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230085569, hereinafter referred to as “Li”) further in view of Wright et al. (U.S Pub No. 20190164138, hereinafter referred to as “Wright”)
In regards to Claim 12, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li teach the method of claim of claim 1, Chan further teaches wherein the reveal blockchain transaction comprises a time lock value, (Par. (0113-0116); the reveal blockchain transaction comprises a time lock value (transaction is revealed within certain time period), (Par. (0128-0129); revealing solution and transaction corresponding to locking/unlocking script)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of implementing time constraints on digital assets to identify validation and penalties and enhance the blockchain puzzles. (Chan Par. (0022-0024))
Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li do not explicitly teach wherein the time lock value prevents the reveal blockchain transaction from being recorded on the blockchain until a time corresponding to the time lock value has passed.
Wherein Wright teaches wherein the time lock value prevents the reveal blockchain transaction from being recorded on the blockchain until a time corresponding to the time lock value has passed. (Par. (0069); lock time and amount of time has passed then adding to the blockchain)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Chan, Trevethan and Li to incorporate the teaching of Wright to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of implementing time locks identify revealed blockchain transactions and create secure asset exchanges that are advantages within non-trusted parties. (Wright Par. (0017-0024))
Claim(s) 17 and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aspler-Yaskil et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230370275, hereinafter referred to as “Aspler-Yaskil”) and Chan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20200219097, hereinafter referred to as “Chan”) further in view of Trevethan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20210075600, hereinafter referred to as “Trevethan”)
In regards to Claim 17, Aspler-Yaskil teaches a computer-implemented method for enabling a second party to determine a shared cryptographic key, (Par. (0082-0083, 0118); generating shared keys for second party (one or more entities and multi-party))
wherein a first party has a first private key and corresponding first public key, and (Par. (0028); first entity with first private key and first public key), (Par. further teaches (0045); public key of first entity and private key of first entity))
the second party has a second private key and corresponding second public key, (Par. (0028); second entity with second private and public key pair) (Par. (0054) further teaches; private key of second entity), (Par. (0125) further teaches public key of second entity))
wherein a blockchain comprises a puzzle blockchain transaction, (Par. (0060); generating (publish next block) a puzzle blockchain transaction (nodes solving puzzle before block is added) (Par. (0102); puzzle blockchain transaction (blockchain transaction with puzzle that needs to be solved to publish the block/transaction)
Aspler-Yaskil does not explicitly teach wherein the puzzle blockchain transaction comprises one or more respective outputs, each respective output comprising a respective puzzle locking script, wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises a respective target public key and is configured to, when executed together with a respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value, convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key, and wherein the method is performed by a third party and comprises: generating one or more respective candidate values; generating one or more respective reveal blockchain transactions, wherein generating each respective reveal blockchain transaction comprises: generating, for one or more respective inputs of the respective reveal blockchain transaction, a respective unlocking script, each respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value; and generating the one or more respective inputs by encoding a respective unlocking script into the respective input and including a respective reference that references a respective one of the one or more respective outputs of the puzzle blockchain transaction; and sending the one or more respective reveal blockchain transactions to one or more blockchain nodes of a blockchain network, the first party, and/or the second party.
Wherein Chan teaches wherein the puzzle blockchain transaction comprises one or more respective outputs, each respective output comprising a respective puzzle locking script, (Par. (0113-0115); each party generates a puzzle transaction and each party transaction corresponding to script, locking script of the puzzle and outputs), (Par. (0012-0020); locking script with puzzle and transaction))
wherein each respective puzzle locking script comprises a respective target public key and is configured to, when executed together with a respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value, (Par. (0077, 0110); locking script with public key), (Par. (0107); unlocking script with respective candidate value (value that is determined and based upon set of conditions)
wherein the method is performed by a third party and comprises: (Par. (0119-0120); third party
generating one or more respective candidate values; (Par. (0107-0109); generating candidate values (values of transaction corresponding to locking script))
generating one or more respective reveal blockchain transactions, (Par. (0113-0114); generating a puzzle transaction corresponding to revealing)
wherein generating each respective reveal blockchain transaction comprises: (Par. (0113-0114); generating a puzzle transaction corresponding to revealing)
generating, for one or more respective inputs of the respective reveal blockchain transaction, a respective unlocking script, (Par. (0113-0115); each party generates a puzzle transaction and each party transaction corresponding to script, locking script of the puzzle and outputs), (Par. (0012-0020); locking script with puzzle and transaction))
each respective unlocking script comprising a respective candidate value; and (Par. (0107); unlocking script with respective candidate value (value that is determined and based upon set of conditions)
generating the one or more respective inputs by encoding a respective unlocking script into the respective input and (Par. (0111); generating outputs (generating sequence of numbers) by encoding a respective puzzle locking script (encoding in a locking script) into the one or more respective outputs (locking script corresponding to encoding of random number generation), (Par. (0156); encoding the locking script into random outcomes/numbers))
including a respective reference that references a respective one of the one or more respective outputs of the puzzle blockchain transaction; and (Par. (0107-0109 and 0113); input and outputs for transaction and unlocking script associated with puzzle)
sending the one or more respective reveal blockchain transactions to one or more blockchain nodes of a blockchain network, the first party, and/or the second party. (Par. (0154); nodes obtain transaction and puzzle)), (Par. (0120-0122); after commitment each of the parties are provided with the transaction associated with the puzzle to be revealed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of verifying the source of the data to regulate access to unlocking assets of users and utilizing puzzles to control access to transactions based on solution. (Chan Par. (0009 and 0018-0021))
Aspler-Yaskil and Chan do not explicitly teach convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key, and
Wherein Trevethan teaches convert the respective candidate value into a respective candidate public key and require the respective candidate public key to match the respective target public key, and (Par. (0125); converting the candidate value (temporary secret key) into a respective candidate public key (public key)), (Par. (0101-0107); matching by determining new public key by matching temporary public key with original public key)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil and Chan to incorporate the teaching of Trevethan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, unlocking transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of determining based on key exchanges individuals that are verified and participants to collaborate to create trust efficiency and sharing of keys. (Trevethan Par. (0010))
In regards to Claim 19, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan and Trevethan teach the method of claim 17, Chan further teaches wherein the third party comprises the first party or the second party. (Par. (0119-0120); third party corresponding to party corresponding to transaction and mined parties of blockchain)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil and Trevethan to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing a third party to verify digital assets and committed valid transactions to the blockchain network. (Chan Par. (0119))
Claim(s) 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aspler-Yaskil et al. (U.S Pub No. 20230370275, hereinafter referred to as “Aspler-Yaskil”) Chan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20200219097, hereinafter referred to as “Chan”) and Trevethan et al. (U.S Pub No. 20210075600, hereinafter referred to as “Trevethan”) further in view of Spector et al. (U.S Pub No. 20190356481, hereinafter referred to as “Spector”)
In regards to Claim 18, the combination of Aspler-Yaskil, Chan and Trevethan teach the method of claim 17, Chan further teaches wherein each respective puzzle locking script is configured to require a respective signature corresponding to a respective public key, and (Par. (0115-0116); puzzle and locking script with signature needed for solution), (Par. (0082-0087); signature with public key))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, and Trevethan to incorporate the teaching of Chan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, puzzle transactions and exchanging of keys, with the motivation of utilizing signatures in unlocking script to determine validity based on parameters set along with the corresponding encryption key. (Chan Par. (0077-0083 and 0115-0116))
Aspler-Yaskil, Chan and Trevethan do not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the respective unlocking scripts comprises a respective signature corresponding to a third public key associated with the third party.
Wherein Spector teaches wherein at least one of the respective unlocking scripts comprises a respective signature corresponding to a third public key associated with the third party. (Par. (0042); unlocking script with signature and public key), (Par. (0118); third public key)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aspler-Yaskil, Chan and Trevethan to incorporate the teaching of Spector to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain technologies, and unlocking transactions, with the motivation of improving security in the distributed ledger by transferring digital assets based on encryption keys and values that cannot be deduced to promote efficiency in the transactions. (Spector Par. (0003))
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PAUNOIU; Alexandru (U.S Pub. No. 20240291669) “MULTI-PARTY BLOCKCHAIN ADDRESS SCHEME”. Considered this reference because it addressed exchanging of cryptographic keys to multiple parties in blockchain network.
KISLEY; RICHARD VICTOR (U.S Pub. No. 20220321331) “QUANTUM SAFE KEY EXCHANGE SCHEME”. Considered this application because it relates to elliptic curve operation of public keys and sharing of encryption keys in network.
Boutaba; Raouf (U.S Pub. No. 20190245680) “BLOCKCHAIN BASED SECURE NAMING AND UPDATE VERIFICATION”. Considered this application because it addressed converting encryption keys in blockchain network.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 2497
/ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497