DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komukai et al. (“Komukai”; US 2023/0416474), with reference to the Toray Industries ‘Torayca’ Carbon Fiber reference manual, attached herein.
Regarding claim 1: Komukai discloses a rotor for an electric motor (Fig. 1), wherein the rotor comprises a rotor core (4) and a rotor sleeve (2) which circumferentially encloses the rotor core, wherein the rotor core comprises one or more magnets (5), wherein the rotor sleeve comprises a plastic and fibres, wherein the fibres have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 4440 MPa (paragraph 0151 or 0163, such as Torray Industries T700S or T800S, see below Toray Industries spec sheet – the T700S has a tensile strength of 4900 Mpa and T800S is 5880 Mpa).
Regarding claim 2: Komukai discloses the fibres are selected from carbon fibres, aramid fibres or glass fibres (paragraph 0152: carbon fiber).
Regarding claim 3: Komukai discloses the fibres have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 5000 MPa (the T800S is 5880 MPa).
Regarding claim 4: Komukai discloses the fibres have a dry fibre tensile modulus in the range of 200 to 450 GPa (230 or 294 GPa, see chart above).
Regarding claim 8: Komukai discloses the rotor sleeve comprises between 30% and 70% by volume of fibre (paragraph 0133, preferably 50%).
Regarding claim 9: Komukai discloses the plastic is a thermoplastic, wherein the thermoplastic comprises a polyaryletherketone (paragraph 0132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komukai, in view of Olsen et al. (“Olsen”; US 2023/0179045).
Regarding claim 7: Komukai discloses a rotor sleeve, but does not explicitly disclose the rotor sleeve has a thickness of less than 2.5mm.
However, Olsen discloses the rotor sleeve has a thickness of less than 2.5mm (paragraph 0016, such as 0.1-2mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rotor sleeve thickness of Komukai to be the less than 2.5mm as disclosed by Olsen, in order to allow for a compact design.
Regarding claim 10: Komukai discloses the rotor sleeve, but does not explicitly disclose the rotor sleeve has a pre-tension between 10% and 60% of the rotor sleeve tensile strength.
However, Olsen discloses the rotor sleeve is pretensioned (paragraph 0016).
And, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discovered in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to modify the rotor sleeve of Komukai to be pretensioned, as disclosed by Olsen, in order minimize thickness (paragraph 0016), and to have it within the claimed range in order to optimize the design.
Claims 13-16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saban et al. (“Saban”; US 2010/0019601), in view of Komukai.
Regarding claim 13: Saban discloses a stator for an electric motor comprising a gap pipe (358, Fig. 3M-3Q), wherein the gap pipe comprises a plastic and fibres (paragraph 0176), Saban does not explicitly disclose the fibres have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 4440 MPa and dry fibre tensile modulus in the range of 200 to 450 GPa.
However, Komukai discloses the fibres have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 4440 MPa and dry fibre tensile modulus in the range of 200 to 450 GPa (for example, Toray Industries T700S for T800S Fibers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the carbon fibers of Saban to be the fibers of Komukai in order to ensure they are strong enough for sustained operation.
Regarding claim 14: Saban discloses the fibres are selected from carbon fibres, aramid fibres or glass fibres (paragraph 0176).
Regarding claim 15: Saban modified by Komukai disclose the fibers, Komukai further discloses the fibers have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 5000 MPa (for example, the T800S fiber).
Regarding claim 16: Saban modified by Komukai disclose the fibers, Komukai further discloses the fibres have a dry fibre tensile modulus in the range of 240 to 350 GPa (230 or 294 GPa, see chart above).
Regarding claim 19: Saban discloses the gap pipe has a thickness, but does not explicitly disclose the thickness is between 0.3 mm and 3 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discovered in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to modify the gap pipe thickness to be within the claimed range in order to optimize the design.
Regarding claim 20: Saban discloses the gap pipe comprises fiber, but does not explicitly disclose the fiber between 30 and 70% by volume of fibre.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discovered in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to modify the gap pipe fiber volume to be within the claimed range in order to optimize the design.
Regarding claim 21: Saban discloses the plastic is a thermoplastic (paragraph 0176), wherein the thermoplastic comprises a polyaryletherketone (PAEK) (paragraph 0159).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komukai, in view of Saban.
Regarding claim 24: Komukai discloses an electric motor assembly comprising;
a rotor comprises a rotor core (4) and a rotor sleeve (2) which circumferentially encloses the rotor core, wherein the rotor core comprises one or more magnets (5), wherein the rotor sleeve comprises a plastic and fibres, wherein the fibres have a tensile strength greater than or equal to 4440 MPa (paragraph 0151 or 0163, such as Torray Industries T700S or T800S, see below Toray Industries spec sheet – the T700S has a tensile strength of 4900 Mpa and T800S is 5880 Mpa); and
the fibers have a dry fiber tensile modulus in the range of 200 to 450 GPa (see above chart).
an air gap (inherent).
Komukai does not explicitly disclose and a stator comprising a gap pipe, wherein the gap pipe comprises a plastic and fibres and wherein an air gap is provided between the rotor sleeve and the gap pipe.
However, Saban discloses a stator for an electric motor comprising a gap pipe (358, Fig. 3M-3Q), wherein the gap pipe comprises a plastic and fibres (paragraph 0176); and
an air gap is provided between the rotor sleeve (306) and the gap pipe (358, shown in Fig. 3L).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electric motor of Komukai to include the stator and gap pipe of Saban in order to allow for current to be generated and to allow for high strength, corrosion resistance, and abrasion resistance (paragraph 0176).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komukai and Saban, further in view of Olsen.
Regarding claim 25: Komukai and Saban discloses the assembly according to claim 24, but do not explicitly disclose a vehicle.
However, Olsen discloses a vehicle comprising an electric motor (paragraphs 0001-0002).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly to be in a vehicle, as disclosed by Olsen, in order to allow for further applications.
Claim 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komukai.
Regarding claim 26: Komukai discloses the dry fibre tensile modulus and the tensile strength, but does not explicitly disclose the dry fibre tensile modulus is 276 GPa and/or the tensile strength is 5600 MPa.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to modify the dry fiber tensile modulus and the tensile strength to be the claimed value in order to optimize the design.
Regarding claim 27: Komukai discloses the dry fibre tensile modulus and the tensile strength, but does not explicitly disclose the dry fibre tensile modulus is 313 GPa and/or the tensile strength is 6800 MPa.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to modify the dry fiber tensile modulus and the tensile strength to be the claimed value in order to optimize the design.
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834