Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (KR 20200120045 A) in view of Hong (KR 102069729 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong discloses a stick-type cosmetics container (figure 1)
a container main body (item 10, figure 2);
a rotary dial rotatably coupled to the container main body (item 30, figure 2; ¶[0043]);
an activation member (item 20, figure 2) … and including an elevating protrusion (item 22, figure 2);
and a stick holder screw-coupled to the activation member (item 40, figure 2; ¶[0047-48]), to which a stick cosmetic product is attached, and including an elevating spiral groove formed thereon (item 42, figure 2);
wherein the rotary dial and the activation member include a first fitting protrusion (item 34, figure 2) and a second fitting protrusion (item 24, figure 2), respectively, so as to be fitted and engaged with each other in an attachment/detachment direction of the container main body and the protective tube (¶[0045]).
However, Jeong does not teach the container is refillable with a detachable protective tube.
Hong discloses a stick-type cosmetics container having a refill structure (items 200/300, figure 1; ¶[0112]);
a protective tube detachably coupled to the container main body (item 250, figure 1; ¶[0059]).
Although Jeong does not teach the container is refillable with a detachable protective tube, attention is directed to Hong, which discloses another stick-type cosmetics container with a refill structure and protective tube. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design a detachable protective tube with refill structure in order to enable the cosmetic stick container to be refilled and thereby reusable.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong discloses the stick-type cosmetics container of claim 1, but is silent on the protective tube detachably coupled to the main body.
Hong teaches the protective tube (item 250, figure 1) include a first attachment/detachment
Hong discloses a locking recess (item 421, figure 3), and not explicitly a protrusion. However, a protrusion/groove mating and protrusion against protrusion mating are well-understood equivalent ways to make detachable snap-coupling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that substituting one mating method for another is a predictably mechanical design choice that yields the same attachment/detachment coupling result. See MPEP §2144.04.
Regarding claim 3, Jeong discloses the stick-type cosmetics container of claim 1, wherein a lower cap is coupled to one side of the container main body (item 50, figure 2);
and a coupling extension protrusion wheel extends upward from the lower cap so as to be coupled to the rotary dial (items 52/54, figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong discloses the stick-type cosmetics container of claim 1, wherein the first and second fitting protrusions extend in the attachment/detachment direction of the container main body and the protective tube (items 24 and 34, figure 2);
in which a plurality of first fitting protrusions are formed along an inner peripheral circumference of the rotary dial while being spaced apart from each other by a predetermined interval (item 34, figure 2);
and a plurality of second fitting protrusions are formed along an outer peripheral circumference of the activation member while being spaced apart from each other by a predetermined interval (item 24, figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong discloses the stick-type cosmetics container of claim 1, but is silent on the protective tube detachably coupled to the main body.
Hong teaches the protective tube (item 250, figure 2) and the activation member (item 230, figure 2) include a first coupling protrusion (item 251, figure 2) and a second coupling protrusion (item 235, figure 2), respectively, so as to be rotatably coupled to each other (¶[0051-52]).
Although Jeong does not teach the container with a detachable protective tube, attention is directed to Hong, which discloses another stick-type cosmetics container with a protective tube. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design a detachable protective tube in order to enable the cosmetic stick container to be refilled and thereby reusable.
Regarding claim 6, Jeong discloses the stick-type cosmetics container of claim 1, but is silent on the protective tube detachably coupled to the main body.
Hong teaches while the container main body and the protective tube (item 250, figure 2) are unfastened from each other (¶[0117]);
the activation member (item 230, figure 2) comes out so as to be separated from the rotary dial (item 400, figure 2; ¶[0112]);
and while the activation member is inserted into and engaged with the rotary dial (¶[0043]);
Although Jeong does not teach the container with a detachable protective tube fastened to the main body, attention is directed to Hong, which discloses another stick-type cosmetics container with a protective tube. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design a detachable protective tube fastened to the main body in order to enable the cosmetic stick container to be refilled and thereby reusable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art.
/NOAH JACOB ARIF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 July 1, 2026