DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 6/5/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the shared special technical feature is not known and provides a meaningful contribution over the art. This is not found persuasive because Miller et al. (US 2019/0032792) is known to anticipate all of the shared special technical features between the sets of claims (see rejection below). The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 9 and 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-8 and 25 are prosecuted below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (US 2019/0032792).
Re Clms 1, 4, and 5: Miller et al. disclose (fig 2) a device comprising: a needle (52 with 60) having a taper surface toward a distal end (right) and a proximal portion (towards left) opposite the distal end in an axial direction, wherein a surface of the needle includes polycrystalline diamond (paragraph 0014); and a base (54, 56) including a non-diamond material (para 0020, non-super hard material) positioned around the proximal portion (as shown in fig 2), wherein the base at least partially surrounds and is joined to the proximal portion of the needle by a compression fit (shrink fit/interference fit, para 0022), wherein the base includes a pressure-balancing volume (cavity/volume behind base 59 of needle proximal portion) between at least a portion of the needle and at least a portion of the base (see fig 2).
Re Clm 2: Miller et al. disclose wherein the needle includes a monolithic diamond billet (portion 50).
Re Clms 6 and 7: Miller et al. disclose wherein the needle includes a plurality of angular segments relative to the axial direction (conical needle inherently has a plurality of angular segments, for example, 2 halves), wherein the angular segments of the plurality of angular segments each have a uniform arcuate length (see figs).
Re Clm 8: Miller et al. disclose a diamond seat (70, paragraph 0023 describing a super hard material, paragraph 0014 describing a super hard material being various diamond material) configured to receive the taper surface of the needle (fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 2019/0032792).
Re Clm 3: Miller et al. fail to explicitly disclose the size of the dimension of the diamond billet being greater than 10mm. Examiner, however, notes that a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a dimension of the diamond billet of Miller et al. to be at least 10mm for the purpose of providing a properly sized needle surface for the desired application and choke valve size.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose wherein the volume includes a leak channel to a low pressure end of the needle.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678