DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, a new reference (US Pub. 2019/0164494 A1 to Bae et al.) is applied to a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park’954 et al. (US Pub. 2017/0124954 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Park’954”) in view of Bae et al. (US Pub. 2019/0164494 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Park’954 teaches a display device (a display device, Figs. 20 and 26) comprising:
(Fig. 20 of Park’954 reproduced)
a plurality of signal lines that extends along a first direction (Fig. 26, a plurality of data lines DL along a vertical direction are connected between a data driver 1730 and a plurality of pixels PX a display panel 1710);
a plurality of control lines that extends along a second direction different from the first direction (Fig.26; a plurality of control lines (e.g., scan lines, compensation control signal lines GC, initialization control signal lines GI, and emission control signal lines EM) along a horizontal direction are connected between a scan driver 1750, a control driver 1770, and the plurality of pixels PX in the display panel 1710);
a plurality of pixels (a plurality of pixels PX, Fig. 26); and
a drive unit (a driving circuit comprises the data driver 1730, the scan driver 1750, and the control driver 1770; Fig. 26) configured to drive the plurality of pixels (para. [0175]), wherein each of the plurality of pixels (Fig.20 reproduced above shows a pixel circuit 1300) includes
a light emitting element (a light emitting diode OLED),
a capacitor (a storage capacitor CST),
a write transistor (a scan transistor 1310) configured to cause a voltage corresponding to a pixel signal supplied from a corresponding signal line among the plurality of signal lines to be accumulated in the capacitor (para. [0072], the storage capacitor CST may store a voltage (e.g., a data voltage VDATA) transferred from the data line DL by the scan transistor 1310),
a drive transistor (a driving transistor 1330) configured to supply, to the light emitting element, a current corresponding to the voltage accumulated in the capacitor (para. [0074], the driving transistor 1330 may generate a driving current based on the data voltage VDATA stored in the storage capacitor CST), and
an initialization transistor (an initialization transistor 1370) including a source node and a drain node, wherein one of the source node or the drain node is connectable to an anode of the light emitting element (see Fig.20, a drain electrode of the initialization transistor 1370 is connected to an anode of the light emitting diode OLED (i.e., node N3)), wherein
the drive unit is configured to turn off the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels at or before a timing at which the plurality of pixels are turned on (Fig. 21, one frame comprises an off-bias and initialization period TINIT, a VTH compensation period TCOMP, a data writing period TWRITE, an anode initialization period TINIT2, and an emission period TEMI. In the anode initialization period TINIT2, para. [0079], an initialization control signal GI may be a global control signal that is concurrently (e.g., substantially simultaneously) applied to all of the pixels included in the organic light emitting diode display device. In the anode The initialization control signal GI transitions from a low level (i.e., turn on the initialization transistor 1470) to a high level (i.e., turn off the initialization transistor 1470) before a start time of the emission period TEMI).
In the first embodiment, Park’954 does not teach a light emission control transistor configured to control supply of the current corresponding to the voltage accumulated in the capacitor from the drive transistor to the light emitting element; and the initialization transistor comprising the other of the source node and the drain node is connectable to a cathode of the light emitting element.
In a second embodiment, Park’954 teaches that a light emission control transistor configured to control supply of the current corresponding to the voltage accumulated in the capacitor from the drive transistor to the light emitting element (Figs. 13-14 and 17; para. [0027 and 0107-0113], an emission control transistor T7 is connected between the driving transistor T3 and the light emitting diode OLED. The emission control transistor T7 is configured to supply current corresponding to a data voltage accumulated in the storage capacitor CST from the driving transistor T3 to the light emitting diode OLED. More specifically, the emission control transistor T7 is controlled by an emission control signal EM which defines an emission period TEMI (see Fig. 14)); and the initialization transistor comprising the other of the source node and the drain node is connectable to a cathode of the light emitting element (Fig.15, an initialization transistor 970 comprises a source electrode connected to a cathode of the light emitting diode OLED).
(Fig. 17 of Park’954 reproduced)
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first embodiment of Park’954 to include the teaching of the second embodiment of Park’954 of providing an emission control transistor T7 between the driving transistor and the light emitting diode; and connecting a source electrode of an initialization transistor to a cathode of the light emitting diode OLED. As such, the node N3 would be initialized by the second power supply voltage ELVSS. The motivation would have been in order to simplify the pixel driving circuit and to reduce leakage current.
Park’954 does not explicitly teach the emission period at which the light emission control transistor of each of a set of pixels configured to simultaneously emit light among the plurality of pixels is turned on.
Bae teaches the emission period (an emission period, Fig. 6) at which the light emission control transistor of each of a set of pixels configured to simultaneously emit light among the plurality of pixels is turned on (para. [0061 and 0080], in the emission period, an emission driver 140 concurrently supplies a plurality of emission control signals EM to a plurality of pixels PX. Thus, the plurality of pixels PX may simultaneously emit light based on the data voltages VD. It is noted that, as shown in Figs. 4 and 6, before the emission period, a plurality of bypass transistors T7 are simultaneously turned off by supplying a high-level bypass signals GB to the plurality of bypass transistors T7. The bypass transistor T7 is equivalent to “the initialization transistor” as claimed).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park’954 to include the teaching of Bae of simultaneously controlling a plurality of pixels to emit light by concurrently applying a plurality of emission control signals EM to the plurality of pixels. Accordingly, in the display system of Park’954 in view of Bae, an emission control signal EM is simultaneously applied to a plurality of pixels in the emission period so that all pixels emit light simultaneously. The motivation would have been in order to simplify the driving method.
Regarding claim 2; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Park’954 further teaches the drive unit is further configured to turn off the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels within a period from a timing at which the write transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on to the timing of an emission period of all pixels (Fig.21, the anode initialization period TINIT2 is performed between the data writing period TWRITE and the emission period TEMI. Therefore, the initialization transistors are turned off within the anode initialization period from a timing at which the scan transistors 1410 are turned on to write data voltage to the storage capacitor CST to the start timing of the emission period TEMI. The scan transistor 1310 is turned on to supply a data voltage to the storage capacitor CST).
In the first embodiment, Park’954 does not teach in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on.
In the second embodiment, Park’954 teaches in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on (see the analysis of claim 1, in the emission period, the emission control signal EM is applied to a pixel to turn on the light emission transistor T7).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Park’954 further teaches the drive unit is further configured to simultaneously turn off the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 21, para. [0079 and 0087], the initialization control signal GI is a global control signal. The initialization control signal GI has a high value during the emission period TEMI).
Regarding claim 4; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Park’954 further teaches the drive unit is further configured to simultaneously turn off the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels at the timing of the emission period (Fig. 21, para. [0079 and 0087], the initialization transistors 1370 are turned off at the timing at the start time of the emission period).
In the first embodiment, Park’954 does not teach in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on.
In the second embodiment, Park’954 teaches in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on (see the analysis of claim 1, in the emission period, the emission control signal EM is applied to a pixel to turn on the light emission transistor T7).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Park’954 further teaches the drive unit is further configured to turn on the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels at or after the emission period (Fig.21, para. [0079 and 0087], in the anode initialization period ITINT2, the initialization transistors 1370 are turned on before the emission period. In other words, the initialization transistors are turned off after the emission period of previous frame).
In the first embodiment, Park’954 does not teach after in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned off.
In the second embodiment, Park’954 teaches after in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned off (see the analysis of claim 1, Figs. 14 and 21, in the emission period, the emission control signal EM is applied to a pixel to turn on the light emission transistor T7).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 6 as discussed above.
Park’954 further teaches the drive unit is further configured to simultaneously turn on the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels at or after the emission period (Fig.21, para. [0079 and 0087], in the anode initialization period ITINT2, the initialization transistors 1370 are turned on before the emission period. In other words, the initialization transistors are turned off after the emission period of previous frame).
In the first embodiment, Park’954 does not teach in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on.
In the second embodiment, Park’954 teaches in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on (see the analysis of claim 1, in the emission period, the emission control signal EM is applied to a pixel to turn on the light emission transistor T7).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Park’954 further teaches the light emitting element and the initialization transistor are connected to a common power supply (Fig.15, the light emitting diode OLED and the initialization transistor 970 are commonly connected to the second power supply voltage ELVSS). The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Park’954 further teaches the light emitting element and the drive transistor are in series (Fig.20, the light emitting diode OLED and the driving transistor 1330 are connected in series).
In the first embodiment, Park’954 does not teach the initialization transistor is in parallel with the light emitting element.
In the second embodiment, Park’954 teaches the initialization transistor is in parallel with the light emitting element (Fig.15, the initialization transistor 970 and the light emitting diode OLED are connected in parallel).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches an electronic apparatus (Park’954, Fig.27, para. [0178], an electronic device 1800) comprising a display device, wherein the display device includes a plurality of signal lines that extends along a first direction, a plurality of control lines that extends along a second direction different from the first direction, a plurality of pixels, and a drive unit is configured to drive the plurality of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes a light emitting element, a capacitor, a write transistor is configured to cause a voltage corresponding to a pixel signal supplied from a corresponding signal line among the plurality of signal lines to be accumulated in the capacitor, a drive transistor configured to supply, to the light emitting element, a current corresponding to the voltage accumulated in the capacitor, a light emission control transistor configured to control supply of the current corresponding to the voltage accumulated in the capacitor from the drive transistor to the light emitting element, and an initialization transistor including a source node and a drain node, wherein one of the source node or the drain node is connectable to an anode of the light emitting element and the other of the source node and the drain node is connectable to a cathode of the light emitting element, wherein the drive unit is configured to turn off the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels at or before a timing at which the light emission control transistor of each of a set of pixels configured to simultaneously emit light among the plurality of pixels is turned on (similar to the analysis of claim 1).
Regarding claim 13; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches a driving method, comprising in a the display device, including a plurality of signal lines extending along a first direction, a plurality of control lines extending along a second direction different from the first direction, a plurality of pixels, and a drive unit is configured to drive the plurality of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes a light emitting element, a capacitor, a write transistor is configured to cause a voltage corresponding to a pixel signal supplied from a corresponding signal line among the plurality of signal lines to be accumulated in the capacitor, a drive transistor configured to supply, to the light emitting element, a current corresponding to the voltage accumulated in the capacitor, a light emission control transistor configured to control supply of the current corresponding to the voltage accumulated in the capacitor from the drive transistor to the light emitting element, and an initialization transistor including a source node and a drain node, wherein one of the source node or the drain node is connectable to an anode of the light emitting element and the other of the source node and the drain node is connectable to a cathode of the light emitting element, wherein the driving method comprising: turning off, by the drive unit, the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels at or before a timing at which the light emission control transistor of each of a set of pixels configured to simultaneously emit light among the plurality of pixels is turned on (similar to the analysis of claim 1).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park’954 et al. (US Pub. 2017/0124954 A1, referred to as “Park’954”) in view of Bae et al. (US Pub. 2019/0164494 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Xiong et al. (US Pub. 2021/0233457).
Regarding claim 5; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Park’954 further teaches the drive unit is further configured to turn off the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels by simultaneous turning off of the initialization transistor of each of the set of pixels at or before the emission period (see the analysis of claim 1 above).
In the first embodiment, Park’954 does not teach in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on.
In the second embodiment, Park’954 teaches in the emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on (see the analysis of claim 1, in the emission period, the emission control signal EM is applied to a pixel to turn on the light emission transistor T7).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Park’954 in view of Bae does not teach simultaneous turning off of the initialization transistor of each of the set of the pixels, for each region associated with the set of pixels, at or before the timing at which the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on.
Xiong teaches simultaneous turning off of the initialization transistor of each of the set of the pixels, for each region associated with the set of pixels, at or before the timing at which the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned on (Figs. 6, 10, and 16; Xiong discloses a display panel comprising four regions 111-114. Each region comprises a plurality of pixels which are commonly connected to a same reset signal bus. For example, a plurality of pixels in the first region 111 are connected to a first reset signal bus 21. The reset signal bus is configured to supply a reset signal to a reset transistor M4 so that a reference voltage Vref is applied to an anode of a pixel. Accordingly, a reset signal would be simultaneously supplied to each of reset transistor M4 of a plurality of pixels in each region. In addition, Fig. 11, a reset stage T2 is performed before a light emitting stage T3. In other words, a reset signal is simultaneously supplied to all pixels in each region at or before a light emission control transistor (e.g., M5/M6 in Fig. 10) is turned on).
(Fig. 6 of Xiong reproduced)
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park’954 in view of Bae to include the teaching of Xiong of dividing a display panel into a plurality of display regions; and simultaneously supplying a reset signal to each region. The motivation would have been in order to improve the phenomenon of sub-pixels being unexpectedly lighted and color cast with a lower gray scale, and improve the display effect of the display panel (Xiong, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 7; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 6 as discussed above.
Park’954 further teaches the drive unit is further configured to turn on the initialization transistor of each of the plurality of pixels by simultaneous turning on of the initialization transistor of each of the set of pixels at or after the previous emission period (see the analysis of claim 1 above. It is noted that the anode initialization TINIT2 would be performed after an emission period of previous frame).
In the first embodiment, Park’954 does not teach after the previous emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned off .
In the second embodiment, Park’954 teaches that after the previous emission period, the light emission control transistor of each of the set of pixels is turned off (see the analysis of claim1. The emission control signal EM is applied to the emission control transistor to define an emission period TEMI. Therefore, in the combination of first and second embodiments of Park’954, the initialization transistor would be turned on during the anode initialization period which is after an emission period of a previous frame). The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Park’954 in view of Bae does not teach simultaneous turning off of the initialization transistor of each of the set of the pixels, for each region associated with the set of pixels.
Xiong teaches simultaneous turning off of the initialization transistor of each of the set of the pixels, for each region associated with the set of pixels (Figs. 6, 10, and 16; Xiong discloses a display panel comprising four regions 111-114. Each region comprises a plurality of pixels which are commonly connected to a same reset signal bus. For example, a plurality of pixels in the first region 111 are connected to a first reset signal bus 21. The reset signal bus is configured to supply a reset signal to a reset transistor M4 so that a reference voltage Vref is applied to an anode of a pixel. Accordingly, a reset signal would be simultaneously supplied to each of reset transistor M4 of a plurality of pixels in each region. In addition, Fig. 11, a reset stage T2 is performed after a light emitting stage T3. In other words, a reset signal is simultaneously supplied to all pixels in each region at or before a light emission control transistor (e.g., M5/M6 in Fig. 10) is turned on).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park’954 in view of Bae to include the teaching of Xiong of dividing a display panel into a plurality of display regions; and simultaneously supplying a reset signal to each region. The motivation would have been in order to improve the phenomenon of sub-pixels being unexpectedly lighted and color cast with a lower gray scale, and improve the display effect of the display panel (Xiong, para. [0005]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park’954 et al. (US Pub. 2017/0124954 A1, referred to as “Park’954”) in view of Bae et al. (US Pub. 2019/0164494 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ono (US Pub. 2013/0169702 A1).
Regarding claim 11; Park’954 in view of Bae teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Park’954 in view of Bae does not teach the drive unit is further configured to control the light emission control transistor of each of the plurality of pixels for each region associated with the set of pixels.
Ono teaches the drive unit (Figs.1 and 3, a scanning/control line driver circuit 14 and a data line drive circuit 15) is further configured to control the light emission control transistor of each of the plurality of pixels for each region associated with the set of pixels (Figs. 1 and 3, a display panel is divided into a plurality of odd drive blocks including a plurality of pixels 11A and even drive blocks including a plurality of pixels 11B. In a kth drive block shown at the top stage of FIG. 3, a first control line 131 (k) is connected in common to the gates of the respective switching transistors 116 included in all the pixels 11A in a first drive block. Similarly, a first control line 131 (k+1) is connected in common to the gates of the respective switching transistors 116 included in all the pixels 11B in a second drive block. The first control line 131 has a function of controlling the timing for supplying a drain current of a driver transistor 114 to an organic EL element 113. As such, by applying a control signal to the first control line 131 (k) in the first driver block, transistors 116 of all pixels in the first driver block are simultaneously turned on to emit light. More specifically, Fig.4A, para. [0111], at the time t6, the scanning/control line drive circuit 14 causes the voltage level of the first control line 131 (k) to change from HIGH to LOW. In other words, the respective switching transistors 116 in all of the pixels 11A in the kth drive block are simultaneously turned ON).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park’954 in view of Bae to include the teaching of Ono of dividing a display panel into a plurality of drive blocks and controlling a plurality of pixels in each driver block to simultaneously emit light. The motivation would have been in order to decrease drive circuit output load and improve display quality (Ono, para. [0018]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/NGUYEN H TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623