DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant amended the Specification and Claims.
Applicant amended claims 2, 6, 10, and 20.
Applicant canceled claims 4 – 5, 7 – 9, 11, 15 – 19, and 22 – 24.
Applicant added new claims 25 – 34.
The pending claims are 1 – 3, 6, 10, 12 – 14, 20 – 21, and 25 – 34.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged (US Provisional Application 63/403,463 filed on September 2nd, 2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 21st, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (this Office Action). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Due to the excessively lengthy Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant, the examiner has given only a cursory review of the listed references. In accordance with MPEP 609.04(a), applicant is encouraged to provide a concise explanation of why the information is being submitted and how it is understood to be relevant. Concise explanations (especially those which point out the relevant pages and lines) are helpful to the Office, particularly where documents are lengthy and complex and applicant is aware of a section that is highly relevant to patentability or where a large number of documents are submitted and applicant is aware that one or more are highly relevant to patentability. Applicant is required to comply with this statement for any non-English language documents. See 37 CFR § 1.56 Duty to Disclose Information Material to Patentability.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claims 10 and 29 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation – Functional Analysis
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “one or more processors are configured to …” in claims 25 and 30.
The Examiner notes one of ordinary skill in the art would afford the claimed “memory” and “processor” as connoting sufficient structure thus the claims do NOT invoke Functional Analysis under 112(f).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6, 12 – 14, 25 – 28, 30 – 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0030879 A1 referred to as “Mao” throughout), and further in view of Misra, et al. (US PG PUB 2024/0380923 A1 referred to as “Misra” throughout).
Note: Specification Paragraph 39 renders obvious variants to one of latent elements / tensors as being feature maps thus the teachings of latents or feature maps renders obvious the claimed “latent tensor” to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 1, see claim 25 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 2, see claim 26 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 3, see claim 27 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 6, see claim 28 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 12, see claim 30 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 13, see claim 31 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 32 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 25, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data. The combination teaches
one or more processors [Mao Figures 2 – 4 (subfigures included see at least reference characters 20, 30, 43 and 44) as well as Paragraphs 171 – 179 (processor based encoder / decoder implementations)] and
at least one memory coupled to said one or more processors [Mao Figures 2 – 4 (subfigures included see at least reference characters 20, 30, 43, 44, 430, and 440) as well as Paragraphs 171 – 179 (processor based encoder / decoder implementations couple to or using memories)], wherein said one or more processors are configured to:
encode an image with a neural-network based method to generate a first output [Mao Figures 2 – 3 and 10 – 14 (subfigures included where Figures 10 – 11 at least are various neural network based encoders) as well as Paragraphs 181 – 185 and 218 – 220 (neural network implemented encoders / decoders to generate feature map outputs or decoding such encoded inputs), 276 – 280 and 287 – 290 (encoding an image with a neural network encoder for an enhancement layer to generate and output data), 306 – 312 and 329 – 336 (alternative architectures with Encoder2 used with same / similar functions using NN implementations such as in Figures 10 – 11 to generate output data) where the encoders may be implemented by CNNs as taught by Misra Paragraph 63];
obtain a first reconstructed version of said image corresponding to said first output [Mao Figures 14 – 18 (see at least the xd , xc, or xc1 outputs based on the y (and tilde y encoder outputs too) and xc inputs (base / reference layers)) as well as Paragraphs 286 – 297 (reconstructing image data on the feature information and encoded image), 306 – 319 (various methods to obtain reconstructed image and relationships between layers), 372 – 380, 390 and 410 (decoder to reconstruct images from inputs / encoder outputs / quantized latents); Alternatively Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see reconstruction loops within the encoders including autoencoders as the NN based encoder before prediction) and 25 – 26 (encode / decode to reconstruct images and then further process for transmission) as well as Paragraphs 55 – 58 (reconstructed block used for prediction), 60 and 82 – 84 (reconstructed video data for prediction)];
predict a block of said image based on said first reconstructed version of said image to form a predicted block [Mao Figures 14 – 18 (see the encoders / autoencoders to combine / modify be teachings of Misra) as well as Paragraphs 132 – 135 (prediction in NN encoder implementations) and 202 – 204 (inter / intra layer prediction); Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see reconstruction loops within the encoders including autoencoders as the NN based encoder before prediction) and 25 – 26 (encode / decode to reconstruct images and then further process for transmission) as well as Paragraphs 57 – 60 (inter / intra prediction in encoders with reconstruction blocks), 79 – 82 and 87 – 88 (inter / intra prediction), 181, 225, and 234 – 236 (inter layer prediction between base / enhancement layer information based on reconstructed layers)]; and
encode said block based on said predicted block to generate a second output [Mao Figures 14 – 18 (see at least the encoders / autoencoders (such as reference character “AE” or encoders on the left side / modified by other layers) to combine / modify be teachings of Misra) as well as Paragraphs 63 – 67 and 181 – 184 (entropy encoding feature information or image data for each layer), 233 – 237 and 313 – 321 (entropy encoding quantized feature maps / image data / layer information), 338 – 345 and 362 – 372 (encoding feature information for machine processing such as in Paragraph 133); Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see at least reference characters 200, 222, 506, and 710 for entropy encoding) as well as Paragraphs 43 – 45 (PIPE and other entropy encoding techniques to use) and 86 – 91 (entropy encoding outputs / combing base and enhancement layer outputs)].
The motivation to combine Misra with Mao is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of reconstruction of feature data utilizing compression techniques [Misra Paragraphs 1 and 4] in order to improve image quality [Misra Paragraphs 37 and 81 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Mao and Misra which be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 26, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data. The combination teaches
obtain a latent tensor corresponding to said image based on said neural-network based method [Mao Figures 2 – 3 and 14 – 18 (subfigures included additionally where Figures 10 – 11 at least are various neural network based encoders) as well as Paragraphs 181 – 185 and 218 – 220 (neural network implemented encoders / decoders to generate feature map outputs or decoding such encoded inputs), 276 – 280 and 287 – 290 (encoding an image with a neural network encoder for an enhancement layer to generate and output data), 306 – 312 and 329 – 336 (alternative architectures with Encoder2 used with same / similar functions using NN implementations such as in Figures 10 – 11 to generate output data) where the encoders may be implemented by CNNs as taught by Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 as well as Paragraph 63, 86 – 90 (outputting feature maps from encoding / decoding), 131 and 234 (feature tensors and feature maps obvious variants of the claimed latent tensor to one of ordinary skill in the art)];
quantize said latent tensor [Mao Figures 14 – 18 (see the “Q” blocks for quantization) as well as Paragraphs 288 – 297 (quantizing feature values / maps or residuals / predicted tensors / feature maps) and 359 – 362 (quantizing residuals / predictions of feature maps); Misra Figures 8 – 13 (see at least reference characters 502) as well as Paragraphs 86 – 90 (quantization of feature map done by the encoder / autoencoder)]; and
entropy code said quantized latent tensor to generate said first output [Misra Figures 14 – 18 (see at least the encoders / autoencoders (such as reference character “AE” or encoders on the left side / modified by other layers) coding output / feature maps as output of quantization steps and to combine / modify be teachings of Misra) as well as Paragraphs 63 – 67 and 181 – 184 (entropy encoding feature maps or image data for each layer), 233 – 237 and 313 – 321 (entropy encoding quantized feature maps / image data / layer information), 338 – 345 and 362 – 372 (encoding feature information for machine processing such as in Paragraph 133); Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see at least reference characters 200, 222, 506, and 710 for entropy encoding) as well as Paragraphs 43 – 45 (PIPE and other entropy encoding techniques to use) and 86 – 91 (entropy encoding outputs / combing base and enhancement layer outputs)].
See claim 25 for the motivation to combine Mao and Misra.
Regarding claim 27, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data. The combination teaches
obtain a first reconstructed version of said image by performing a second neural-network based method on said quantized latent tensor [Mao Figures 13 – 18 (subfigures included – see the NN architecture of Figure 13 reconstructing based on the quantized feature map / latents and the decoder 1 and decoder2 reference characters in which in view of Paragraphs 148 (decoding network) and 127 – 138 (various NN techniques including DNN / CNN / RNN) render obvious the decoding as a NN implementation) as well as Paragraphs 194 – 201 and 265 – 270 (correct / decoding network used to form reconstructed image based on residual feature maps), 272 – 278 (decoding network architectures); Misra Figures 7 – 12 (subfigures included see at east reference characters 412, 504, and 606 for the autodecoders) as well as Paragraphs 63, 80 and 86 – 90 (autodecoders use kernels / perform as NNs) and 239 (NN implementations including CNNs in Paragraph 63)].
See claim 25 for the motivation to combine Mao and Misra.
Regarding claim 28, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data. The combination teaches
select a prediction mode for said block, from intra prediction, temporal prediction and interlayer prediction [Mao Figures 14 – 18 (see the encoders / autoencoders to combine / modify be teachings of Misra) as well as Paragraphs 132 – 135 (prediction in NN encoder implementations), 142 (Intra frame prediction / intra prediction for selection with inter prediction) and 202 – 204 (inter / intra layer prediction); Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see reconstruction loops within the encoders including autoencoders as the NN based encoder before prediction and see selection between inter / intra prediction as in at least Figures 5 and 10) and 25 – 26 (encode / decode to reconstruct images and then further process for transmission) as well as Paragraphs 57 – 60 (inter / intra prediction in encoders with reconstruction blocks), 79 – 82 and 87 – 88 (inter / intra prediction), 181, 225, and 234 – 236 (inter layer prediction between base / enhancement layer information based on reconstructed layers)], wherein said predicting a block based on said first reconstructed version of said image is performed responsive to inter-layer prediction being selected [Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see reconstruction loops within the encoders including autoencoders as the NN based encoder before prediction) and 25 – 26 (encode / decode to reconstruct images and then further process for transmission) as well as Paragraphs 181, 225, and 233 – 238 (inter layer prediction between base / enhancement layer information based on reconstructed layers prior rendering obvious the first reconstructed version claimed)].
See claim 25 for the motivation to combine Mao and Misra.
Regarding claim 30, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data. The combination teaches
one or more processors [Mao Figures 2 – 4 (subfigures included see at least reference characters 20, 30, 43 and 44) as well as Paragraphs 171 – 179 (processor based encoder / decoder implementations)] and
at least one memory coupled to said one or more processors [Mao Figures 2 – 4 (subfigures included see at least reference characters 20, 30, 43, 44, 430, and 440) as well as Paragraphs 171 – 179 (processor based encoder / decoder implementations couple to or using memories)], wherein said one or more processors are configured to:
entropy decode a latent tensor corresponding an image [Mao Figures 12 – 18 (see Figures 12 – 13 for NN based methods for decoding as well as the “AD” reference character (entropy decoding) processing the y / z labeled feature map / latent tensor inputs and “Decoder1” / “Decoder2” which may include use of decoders taught by Misra) as well as Paragraphs 146 – 150 (entropy decoding with NN implementations), 266 – 267 (autodecoding / entropy decoding), 295, 312, 335, 362, and 397 (entropy decoding in each layer); Misra Figures 4, 6, 8, and 11 – 14 (see at least reference characters 302, 602, and 802 for entropy decoders) as well as Paragraphs 87 – 92 (entropy decoding as first step in decoding process of feature maps / latents)];
obtain a first reconstructed version of said image based on said latent tensor, using a neural network based method [Mao Figures 14 – 18 (see at least the xd , xc, or xc1 outputs based on the y (and tilde y encoder outputs too) and xc inputs (base / reference layers)) as well as Paragraphs 126 – 131 (NN implementations of encoders / decoders), 286 – 297 (reconstructing image data on the feature information and encoded image), 306 – 319 (various methods to obtain reconstructed image and relationships between layers), 372 – 380, 390 and 410 (decoder to reconstruct images from inputs / encoder outputs / quantized latents); Alternatively Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see reconstruction loops within the decoders including autodecoders as the NN based prediction) and 25 – 26 (encode / decode to reconstruct images and then further process for transmission) as well as Paragraphs 55 – 58 (reconstructed block used for prediction), 60 and 82 – 87 (reconstructed video data for prediction and NN based autodecoders which also may be in encoding loops as well using NN based methods in Paragraphs 63 and 239 (e.g. CNN))];
predict a block of said image based on said first reconstructed version of said image to form a predicted block [Mao Figures 14 – 18 (see the encoders / autoencoders to combine / modify be teachings of Misra) as well as Paragraphs 132 – 135 (prediction in NN encoder implementations) and 202 – 204 (inter / intra layer prediction); Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see reconstruction loops within the encoders including autoencoders as the NN based encoder before prediction) and 25 – 26 (encode / decode to reconstruct images and then further process for transmission) as well as Paragraphs 57 – 60 (inter / intra prediction in encoders with reconstruction blocks), 79 – 82 and 87 – 88 (inter / intra prediction), 181, 225, and 234 – 236 (inter layer prediction between base / enhancement layer information based on reconstructed layers)]; and
decode said block based on said predicted block to obtain a second reconstructed version of said image [Mao Figures 2 (see at least reference character 30), 6, and 13 – 18 (subfigures included – see at least “decoder1” and “decoder2” forming the reconstructed images from the feature maps entropy decoded) as well as Paragraphs 126 – 131 (NN implementations of encoders / decoders), 147 – 160 (decoders to undo AI encoding using AI techniques and full system implementation), 286 – 297 (reconstructing image data on the feature information and encoded image), 306 – 319 (various methods to obtain reconstructed image and relationships between layers), 339 – 348 (decoding a base / enhancement layer), 372 – 380 (“decoder2” in processing base / enhancement layer), 390 and 410 (decoder to reconstruct images from inputs / encoder outputs / quantized latents); Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see reconstruction loops within the decoders including autodecoders and at least reference characters 300 and 412A, and 412B) and 25 – 26 (encode / decode to reconstruct images and then further process for transmission) as well as Paragraphs 55 – 58 (decoding / reconstructing blocks for additional processing), 60 and 82 – 87 (reconstructed video data for prediction and NN based autodecoders which are in decoding loops using NN based methods in Paragraphs 63 and 239 (e.g. CNN))].
See claim 25 for the motivation to combine Mao and Misra as similar motivation exists since decoding is the inverse process of encoding to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 31, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data. The combination teaches
wherein obtaining a first reconstructed version of said image comprises performing a second neural-network method based on said latent tensor [Mao Figures 13 – 18 (subfigures included – see the NN architecture of Figure 13 reconstructing based on the quantized feature map / latents and the “AD”, “decoder1” and “decoder2” reference characters in which in view of Paragraphs 148 – 159 (decoding network with autodecoder and NN based decoder implementations) and 127 – 138 (various NN techniques including DNN / CNN / RNN) render obvious the decoding as a NN implementation), 194 – 201 and 265 – 270 (correct / decoding network used to form reconstructed image based on residual feature maps), 272 – 278 (decoding network architectures); Misra Figures 7 – 12 (subfigures included see at east reference characters 412, 504, and 606 for the autodecoders) as well as Paragraphs 63, 80 and 86 – 90 (autodecoders use kernels / perform as NNs) and 239 (NN implementations including CNNs in Paragraph 63)].
See claim 30 for the motivation to combine Mao and Misra.
Regarding claim 32, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data. The combination teaches
upscale output from said second neural-network method to obtain said first reconstructed version of said image [Mao Figures 8 – 13 (method and NNs with down and upscaling / up sampling) as well as Paragraphs 220 – 226 (up-sampling / resolution conversion as part of the final processing of decoding where upscaling / up-sampling are obvious variants to one of ordinary skill in the art); Misra Figures 16 and 22 – 23 as well as Paragraphs 132 and 165 – 166 (decoding with up-samplers as part of reconstructing the image / output for display)].
See claim 30 for the motivation to combine Mao and Misra.
Regarding claim 34, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data. The combination teaches
a syntax element indicates that interlayer prediction is only included when an image is available at a base layer [Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see reconstruction loops within the encoders including autoencoders as the NN based encoder before prediction) and 25 – 26 (encode / decode to reconstruct images and then further process for transmission) as well as Paragraphs 225 (syntax elements with conditions on signaling the use of inter layer prediction which relied on the base layer for reference in prediction described also in Paragraphs 41 and 181), and 233 – 238 (inter layer prediction between base / enhancement layer information based on reconstructed layers prior rendering obvious the first reconstructed version claimed and see inferred inter layer signaling between base / feature layers in Paragraph 236)].
See claim 30 for the motivation to combine Mao and Misra.
Claim(s) 10, 20 – 21, 29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao, Misra, and further in view of Jang, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0301145 A1 referred to as “Jang” throughout).
Regarding claim 10, see claim 29 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 33 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 21, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques. Jang further renders obvious the teachings of Mao and Misra regarding the sampling and numbers of images / sub-images given as outputs in layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data and understanding using different numbers of images / outputs in each layer as taught by Jang. The combination teaches
a syntax element indicates that interlayer prediction is only included when an image is available at a base layer [Misra Figures 5 and 8 – 13 (see reconstruction loops within the encoders including autoencoders as the NN based encoder before prediction) and 25 – 26 (encode / decode to reconstruct images and then further process for transmission) as well as Paragraphs 225 (syntax elements with conditions on signaling the use of inter layer prediction which relied on the base layer for reference in prediction described also in Paragraphs 41 and 181), and 233 – 238 (inter layer prediction between base / enhancement layer information based on reconstructed layers prior rendering obvious the first reconstructed version claimed and see inferred inter layer signaling between base / feature layers in Paragraph 236)].
See claim 20 for the motivation to combine Mao, Misra, and Jang.
Regarding claim 29, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques. Jang further renders obvious the teachings of Mao and Misra regarding the sampling and numbers of images / sub-images given as outputs in layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data and understanding using different numbers of images / outputs in each layer as taught by Jang. The combination teaches
said image is from a video sequence, and wherein said first output is generated for a first subset of images of said video sequence [Mao Figures 8 and 14 – 18 as well as Paragraphs 203 – 206 (images of video sequence as inputs); Misra Figures 16 and 23 as well as Paragraphs 166 (group of pictures from a video sequence as input)], and
said second output is generated for a second subset of images of said video sequence, wherein said second subset of images includes more images than said first subset of images [Mao Figures 16 and 23 as well as Paragraphs 139 – 143 (frame rates different for enhancement layers and the base layer rendering obvious the “more images” in scalable coding as would be readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art in combination with suggestions and figures of Jang); Misra Figures 16 and 23 as well as Paragraphs 166 (groups of pictures for coding / processing in each layer), and 228 – 238 (parameters including subsets of feature maps / tensors / picture to use between base / enhancement layers signaled); Jang Figures 17, 20, 21 – 24, and 25 as well as Paragraphs 182 – 186 and 202 – 204 (stem / layers of the processing for different layers of the encoder / decoder in which the stems are for the various enhancement layers of Mao / Misra as well)].
See claim 25 for the motivation to combine Mao and Misra.
The motivation to combine Jang with Mao and Misra is to combine features in the same / related field of invention if feature encoding / decoding for machine task performance and human vision [Jang Paragraphs 1 – 2] in order to improve performance of image processing for machine only tasking [Jang Paragraphs 2 and 30 – 38 where the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Mao, Misra, and Jang which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 33, Mao teaches several configurations for encoding / decoding feature map / tensor data for human or machine usage depending on the intended user. Misra teaches the use of tensors to represent feature maps and prediction techniques for scalable encoding to modify Mao such as including inter-layer prediction techniques. Jang further renders obvious the teachings of Mao and Misra regarding the sampling and numbers of images / sub-images given as outputs in layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the architectures and neural network encoders / decoders of Mao with the tensor representations of Misra and prediction and sampling techniques additionally taught on the tensors / neural network output data and understanding using different numbers of images / outputs in each layer as taught by Jang. The combination teaches
said image is from a video sequence, and wherein said latent tensor is decoded for a first subset of images of said video sequence [Mao Figures 8 and 14 – 18 as well as Paragraphs 203 – 206 (images of video sequence as inputs); Misra Figures 16 and 23 as well as Paragraphs 166 (group of pictures from a video sequence as input)], and
said second reconstructed version of said image is performed for a second subset of images of said video sequence, wherein said second subset of images includes more images than said first subset of images [See claim 25 for citations of “second reconstructed version of said image” for citations and additionally Mao Figures 16 and 23 as well as Paragraphs 139 – 143 (frame rates different for enhancement layers and the base layer rendering obvious the “more images” in scalable coding as would be readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art in combination with suggestions and figures of Jang); Misra Figures 16 and 23 as well as Paragraphs 166 (groups of pictures for coding / processing in each layer), and 228 – 238 (parameters including subsets of feature maps / tensors / picture to use between base / enhancement layers signaled); Jang Figures 17, 20, 21 – 24, and 25 as well as Paragraphs 182 – 186 and 202 – 204 (stem / layers of the processing for different layers of the encoder / decoder in which the stems are for the various enhancement layers of Mao / Misra as well)].
See claim 29 for the motivation to combine Mao, Misra, and Jang as similar motivation exists since decoding is the inverse process of encoding to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hsiao (WO2024/049441 A1 referred to as “Hsiao” throughout) teaches similar features to the pending application, but as the same effective filing date in Figure 2.
References considered which may raise ODP Rejections based on amendments made to the claims: Racape, et al. (US Patent #12,556,720 B2 referred to as “Racape” throughout) and Galpin, et al. (US Patent #11,973,964 B2 referred to as “Galpin” throughout).
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487