DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-9 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to, because details of the claimed invention are difficult to discern, and the drawings are not of sufficient quality so that all details are reproducible in the printed patent. See MPEP 608.02; 37 CFR 1.84. Figure 1 appears to be a low quality scan of Figure 1 submitted with the parent PCT application. It is noted that Figure 1 in parent PCT application, i.e., PCT/EP2023/071101, constitutes sufficient quality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The term “elastic material” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “elastic material” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention (see the instant specification at page 5, lines 8-9).
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itano et al. (US 20190320652 A1), hereafter referred to as “Itano”.
Regarding claim 1, Itano discloses a device for evaporating volatile substances (abstract), comprising:
a porous element (claim 1 and paragraph [0017] teaching a wick) that is impregnated with a product including the volatile substances (claim 1 and paragraphs [0038], [0050]);
a heater (claim 5 and paragraphs [0017]-[0022]) that heats the porous element for evaporating the volatile substances (claim 5);
characterized in that the porous element and the heater have a cylindrical shape (paragraph [0056], claim 5, and paragraph [0017]), the heater being placed around the porous element (paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 5, Itano discloses the device for evaporating volatile substances according to claim 1, and further discloses that the porous element is mounted on a support that presses the porous element (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Itano discloses the device for evaporating volatile substances according to claim 5, and further discloses that the support is made from an elastic material (paragraph [0041] teaching that the porous element is inserted through a stopper sealing a liquid container).
Regarding claim 8, Itano discloses the device for evaporating volatile substances according to claim 1, and further discloses that the diameter of the porous element is comprised between 4 to 8 mm (paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Itano discloses the device for evaporating volatile substances according to claim 1, and further teaches that there is an air gap between the porous element and the heater, the gap is comprised between 1 mm to 3 mm (claim 6 and paragraph [0019]).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deflorian et al. (US 20200147255 A1), hereafter referred to as “Deflorian”.
Regarding claim 1, Deflorian discloses a device for evaporating volatile substances (Fig. 3), comprising:
a porous element (1; fig. 3) that is impregnated with a product including the volatile substances (paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0026]);
a heater (2; fig. 3) that heats the porous element for evaporating the volatile substances (paragraph [0026]);
characterized in that the porous element and the heater have a cylindrical shape (fig. 3; paragraph [0031]), the heater being placed around the porous element (fig. 3; paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Deflorian discloses the device for evaporating volatile substances according to claim 1, and further discloses that the device also comprises a reflective element (3) placed around the heater (1; fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itano as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Itano discloses the device for evaporating volatile substances according to claim 1, and further teaches that the height of the porous element is greater than the height of the heater (claim 5 and paragraph [0018]), and the ratio between the heights of the heater and the porous element is approximately 18% (paragraphs [0021] and [0051], but does not explicitly teach that the ratio is 30-60%.
It is well settled, however, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144, citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Itano, such that the ratio between the heights of the heater and the porous element is 30-60%, in order to improve the sustainability of the pest control effect, as Itano teaches that increasing the porous element and heater facing region relative to the heater length would reduce variations in particle size providing more consistent thermal contact across more of the porous element surface (paragraph [0018] of Itano).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itano, as modified, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Deflorian.
Regarding claim 3, Itano, as modified, teaches the device for evaporating volatile substances according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach that the heater is placed in a centered position with respect to the height of the of the porous element.
Deflorian teaches a device for evaporating volatile substances (fig. 3) including a heater (2) placed in a centered position with respect to the height of the of the porous element (1; fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Itano, such that the heater is placed in a centered position with respect to the height of the of the porous element, as taught by Deflorian, in order to mitigate general heating of the device that can raise the temperature of the surface by directing substantially all the heat provided by the heating element to the porous element (abstract and paragraphs [0008]-[0009] of Deflorian).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deflorian.
Regarding claim 4, Itano teaches the device for evaporating volatile substances according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the device also comprises a reflective element placed around the heater.
Deflorian teaches a device for evaporating volatile substances (figs. 1-4) including a reflective element (3) placed around a heater (2; fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Itano to include a reflective element placed around the heater, as taught by Deflorian, in order to mitigate heating of the surface of the device, itself, and direct all the heat generated by the heating element to the porous element (paragraph [0010] of Deflorian).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harrell et al. (EP 3766524 A1), hereafter referred to as “Harrell”.
Regarding claim 7, Itano teaches the device for evaporating volatile substances according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the heater has a variable heating capacity, which is progressively increased.
Harrell teaches a device for evaporating volatile substances (abstract) including a heater that has a variable heating capacity (paragraph [0105]), which is progressively increased (paragraph [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Itano, such that the heater has a variable heating capacity, which is progressively increased, as taught by Harrell, in order to improve and compensate the substance output rate when the substance levels are depleting (paragraph [0105] of Harrell).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims. For example, US-4968487-A and US-20050186140-A1 teach devices for evaporating volatile substances with similar heater and porous element arrangements.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/MARISA V CONLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3643