Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 4/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/21/2025 has been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunha et al. (US2019/0115159).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, Bunha discloses a conductive dispersion (para 0058) comprising a conductive polymer (para 0033-34), an epoxy compound having at least two epoxy groups as a film former (para 0072), and water (para 0019, 0088), the conductive slurry has a pH of 1 to 8 (para 0081), wherein the conductive polymers include poly(4-(2,3-dihydrothieno-[3,4-b][1,4]dioxin-2-yl)methoxy)-1-butane-sulphonic acid, salt, para 0033-34), which reads on the claimed formula (1) (acid) and (2)(salt). Bunha discloses the conductive dispersion comprising 3 to 10wt% of the conductive polymer (para 0082). Bunha further discloses the dispersion comprising polyacrylic acid as a film former (para 0073). Bunha does not disclose a content of the epoxy compound and the polyacrylic acid. However, Bunha discloses that the film formers (epoxy and polyacrylic acid) which can improve polymer film strength upon drying of the film (para 0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to determine the content of the epoxy compound in forming the conductive dispersion of Bunha, with expectation that the conductive dispersion will form a film having improved polymer film strength upon drying.
Regarding claim 3, Bunha discloses the conductive dispersion comprising sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, calcium hydroxide or ammonia, or organic bases, for example ethylamine, diethylamine, triethylamine, propylamine, dipropylamine, tripropylamine, isopropylamine, diisopropylamine, butylamine, dibutylamine, tributylamine, isobutylamine, diisobutylamine, triisobutylamine, which meet the claimed compound D. Bunha does not disclose a content of these compounds. However, Bunha discloses that they are used to adjust the pH of the dispersion (para 0081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to determine the content of these compound to adjust the pH of the conductive dispersion as needed.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Bunha discloses the conductive dispersion comprising sugar alcohols, for example sorbitol, mannitol (para 0029), which meet the claimed compound E. Bunha does not disclose a content of these compounds. However, Bunha discloses that they are used to enhance the conductivity of layers formed using the conductive dispersion (para 0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to determine the content of these compound in the dispersion to further enhance the conductivity of layers formed.
Regarding claims 8-10, Bunha discloses the conductive dispersion comprising an electrically conductive polymer (F) which is a composite of a polyanion, which is polystyrenesulfonic acid or salt of polystyrenesulfonate (para 0038) and poly-3,4-polyethylene dioxythiophene (PEDOT) (para 0035), which reads on the claimed formula (3). Bunha does not disclose a content of the conductive polymer (F). However, Bunha discloses that the film formers (epoxy and polyacrylic acid) which can improve polymer film strength upon drying of the film (para 0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to determine the content of the compound (F) in forming the conductive dispersion of Bunha, to achieve complete corner and edge coverage and improved interfacial adhesion in a solid electrolyte capacitor (para 0019).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
6/26/2026