DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is a First Office Action Non-Final on Merits.
Claims 1-19 have been cancelled and claims 20-42 have been added in preliminary amendment filed on 02/21/2025.
Therefore, Claims 20-42 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application AU2022902413, filed on 08/23/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the text in Figures 5, 6, 7, 8A-8B is not legible. Further, Figure 4 is objected to because it is improper because it is a photograph, but the concepts could practicably be depicted in a line drawing (37 CFR 1.84(b)(1)). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. No new matter may be introduced .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 20-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without a practical application and significantly more.
Step 1: Identifying Statutory Categories
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (i.e., Step 1). In the instant case, claims 20-28 and 42 are directed to a device (i.e. a machine). Claims 29-34 and 41 are directed to a system (i.e. a machine). Claims 35-40 are directed to a method (i.e. a process). Thus, each of these claims fall within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong One: Abstract Ideas
Claims 20-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea. Independent claim 20 recites: A device that is separate from a bin for indicating information about the bin allocated to a location, the device being allocated to the location, the device in respect of the bin allocated to the location, indicating one or more of: the level of waste in the bin, a status of the bin, and an indication that collection of waste from the bin is pending; display in respect of the bin allocated to the location at least one of: the level of waste in the bin; the status of the bin and whether collection of waste from the bin is pending.
Claim 21 recites: A device that is separate from a bin for indicating information about the bin allocated to a location, the device in respect of the bin allocated to the location indicating collection of waste from the bin is pending; display in respect of the bin allocated to the location whether collection of waste from the bin is pending.
Claim 29 recites: A system for indicating the information about a bin, comprising: a device allocated to a location of the bin; allocated to the location of the bin, the bin configured to measure the level of waste in the bin and/or a status of the bin, wherein the bin is configured to transmit the level of waste in the bin and/or the status of the bin along with an identifier of the bin, where the identifier is associated with the allocated location; determine when collection of waste from the bin is pending based on the location of the bin and scheduling information about when the bin or a group of bins including the bin is expected to have its waste collected; transmitting to the device one or more of: the level of rubbish in the bin, the status of the bin and an indication that collection of waste from the bin is pending; and wherein the device is configured to receive the transmitted one or more of: level of waste in the bin, the status of the bin and whether collection of waste from the bin is pending, wherein the device is also configured to display in respect of the bin allocated to the location the respective one or more of: the level of rubbish in the bin, the status of the bin and the whether collection of waste from the bin is pending.
Claim 35 recites: A method of indicating information about a bin allocated to a location comprising: measuring one or both of: the level of waste in the bin and a status of the bin; transmitting one or both of the level of waste in the bin and the status of the bin, along with one or both of an identifier of the bin which is associated with a location of the bin; receiving the transmission from the bin; transmitting in respect of the bin allocated to the location one or more of: the level of waste in the bin and the status of the bin and the indication of when collection of waste from the bin is pending, to a device separate from the bin, where the device is allocated to the location; receiving at the device the transmitted level of waste in the bin and the status of the bin and the indication of when collection of waste from the bin is pending; and displaying on the device the level of waste in the bin and the status of the bin and an indication that collection of waste from the bin is pending.
Claim 41 recites: A system for indicating information about bins at a location, where each bin at the location is allocated to a different type of waste, the system comprising: a device separate from the bin and also allocation to the location; allocated to the location for each bin, each bin configured to measure the level of waste in each bin and the status of each bin, wherein each bin is configured to transmit the level of waste in the respective bin and the status of the respective bin along with an identifier of the respective bin, where the identifier is associated with the respective bin and the allocated location; a receiver of the transmission from the bin, determine when collection of waste from each bin is pending based on the location of each bin and scheduling information about when each bin is expected to have its waste collected; transmitting to the device of one or more of: the level of rubbish in each bin, the status of each bin and an indication of when collection of waste from each bin is pending; and the device is configured to receive transmissions from the transmitter and to display based on the received transmissions: the level of waste in each bin, the status of each bin and when collection of waste from one of the bins is pending an indication that collection of waste from the respective bin is pending.
Claim 42 recites: A device that is separate from bins allocated to a location, the device being allocated to the location, the device in respect of the bins allocated to the location indicating one or more of: the level of waste in each bin, a status of each bin, and an indication that collection of waste from one or more of the bins is pending; processing activation of a display accordingly; wherein the display is configured to display in respect of each bin: the level of waste in each bin; the status of each bin and whether collection of waste from each bin is pending. The limitations as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls under the abstract groupings of: Certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions (including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations; (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). As the claims discuss (for example claim 20) information about a bin allocated to a location, indicating one or more of: the level of waste in the bin, a status of the bin, and an indication that collection of waste from the bin is pending; display in respect of the bin allocated to the location at least one of: the level of waste in the bin; the status of the bin and whether collection of waste from the bin is pending, which is one of certain methods of organizing human activity. Mental Processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion (independent claim 20, recites for example: “indicating one or more of: the level of waste in the bin, a status of the bin, and an indication that collection of waste from the bin is pending; display in respect of the bin allocated to the location at least one of: the level of waste in the bin; the status of the bin and whether collection of waste from the bin is pending.”; Claim 21 recites: “the device in respect of the bin allocated to the location indicating collection of waste from the bin is pending; display in respect of the bin allocated to the location whether collection of waste from the bin is pending”; claim 29 recites: “measure the level of waste in the bin and/or a status of the bin”; “transmit the level of waste in the bin and/or the status of the bin along with an identifier of the bin, where the identifier is associated with the allocated location”; “determine when collection of waste from the bin is pending based on the location of the bin and scheduling information about when the bin or a group of bins including the bin is expected to have its waste collected”; “transmitting to the device one or more of: the level of rubbish in the bin, the status of the bin and an indication that collection of waste from the bin is pending”; “receive the transmitted one or more of: level of waste in the bin, the status of the bin and whether collection of waste from the bin is pending”; “display in respect of the bin allocated to the location the respective one or more of: the level of rubbish in the bin, the status of the bin and the whether collection of waste from the bin is pending.” Independent claims 35, 41 and 42 are similar.) Concepts performed in the human mind as mental processes because the steps of indicating, collecting, measuring, determining, scheduling, displaying, transmitting and analyzing data mimic human thought processes of observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion, perhaps with paper and pencil, where data interpretation is perceptible in the human mind. See In re TLI Commc’ns LLCPatentLitig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016); FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Further, dependent claims add additional limitations, for example: (claims 22) indicates one or more of: the level of waste in the bin, and the status of the bin; activates the display to indicate at least one of: the level of waste in the bin; and the status of the bin; (claim 24) displays at least both of the level of waste and the status of the bin; (claim 25) displays a level of waste for each of or a selected one of a plurality of bins allocated to the location, where each bin is allocated to a type of waste; (claim 26) displays an indicator of a type of waste that is pending for collection; (claim 27) an indication that collection of the bin is imminent, changes the display of the collection of waste from the bin is pending to a display that the collection is imminent; (claim 28) each bin is allocated to a different type of waste; the level of waste in one or more of the bins, the status of one or more of the bins, and an indication that collection of a respective type of waste is pending; display in respect of each bin: the level of waste in each bin; the status of each bin and whether collection of waste of the respective type is pending for each bin; (claim 30) displays at least both of the level of waste and whether collection of the waste is pending; (claim 31) displays the status of the bin; (claim 32) displays a level of waste for each of or a selected one of a plurality of bins allocated to the location, where each bin is allocated to a type of waste; (claim 33) displays an indicator of a type of waste that is pending for collection; (claim 34) determines whether the collection is imminent and when collection is imminent transmits that collection from the bin is imminent; wherein the device changes the display of the collection of waste from the bin is pending to a display that the collection is imminent; (claim 36) determining when collection of waste from the bin is pending based on the location of the bin and scheduling information about when the bin or a group of bins at or within an area are expected to have its waste collected; (claim 37) determining when collection of waste from the bin is pending based on the location of a collection truck and its proximity to the location of the bin; (claim 38) receiving at the device allocated to the location an indication that the collection is imminent and changing the display from indicating that the collection is pending to display that the collection of waste from the bin is imminent; (claim 39) wherein the status of the bin comprises whether the bin is upright or tipped over; (claim 40) wherein the status if the bin comprises whether a lid of the bin is open or closed,
but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes, but for the recitation of generic computing components, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea. In particular, the claims only recite the additional elements – (independent claims) receiver; server; processor; display; sensor; (claim 23) attachment mechanism. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the abstract idea, as it adds the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The limitations generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computing, see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Furthermore, claims 20-42 have been fully analyzed to determine whether there are additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The limitations fail to include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. The claims are ineligible. Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurani et al. (US 2021/0188541 A1), hereinafter “Kurani”, over Lyman (US 2015/0307273 A1), hereinafter “Lyman”.
Regarding Claim 20, Kurani teaches A device that is separate from a bin for indicating information about the bin allocated to a location, the device being allocated to the location, the device comprising (See at least Kurani Figures 3 and 4, showing a device separate from a bin with sensors for indication information about the bin; Kurani, Figure 15, shows GPS location sensor, element 604, para 0321, The location sensor values 604 are stored in the secure digital card of the SBM 800. The geospatial position is converted into street address; Further, see Figure 63, teaching Waste bin identifiers and address, for example: “Waste Bin 95112-1 is address 95 N 4th Street”); a receiver for receiving signals from a server in respect of the bin allocated to the location, each signal indicating one or more of: (See at least Kurani, para 0316, The GPS receiver operating principle is based on the global positioning system. The global positioning system is a satellite navigation system that provides location information to the user);
the level of waste in the bin, a status of the bin, and an indication that ... (See at least Kurani, para 0326, FIGS. 16, 17 and 18 illustrate an example fill level sensor 306, wherein the fill level sensor 306 implements, operates, detects, measures, and monitors a waste fill level inside the waste bin; For status of bin, see at least Kurani, para 0029, teaching the accelerometer sensor is used to set the waste fill level status to zero, when the waste bin is tipped, flipped upside down, or emptied, and the waste weight sensor is used to detect, measure, and monitor weight of waste inside the waste bin);
a processor for processing each of the signals and activation of a display accordingly; (See at least Kurani, para 0138 and para 0156, teaches a microprocessor is an integrated circuit that contains all the functions of a central processing unit of a computer; Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device); wherein the display is configured to display in respect of the bin allocated to the location at least one of: the level of waste in the bin; the status of the bin and whether ... (See at least Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device; see at least Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information with status of bins; Further see at least Kurani, para 0029, teaching status of bins including when the waste bin is tipped, flipped upside down, or emptied).
Yet Kurani does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Lyman teaches collection of waste from the bin is pending ... collection of waste from the bin is pending (See at least Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kurani with collection of waste from the bin is pending ... collection of waste from the bin is pending as taught by Lyman with the motivation for pickup for trash receptacle automatically scheduled upon determining that trash in the trash receptacle is within a predetermined range of a maximum capacity of the trash receptacle (Lyman, para 0006). The Kurani invention now incorporating the Lyman invention, has all the limitations of claim 20.
Regarding Claim 21, Kurani teaches A device that is separate from a bin for indicating information about the bin allocated to a location, the device comprising (See at least Kurani Figures 3 and 4, showing a device separate from a bin with sensors for indication information about the bin; Kurani, Figure 15, shows GPS location sensor, element 604, para 0321, The location sensor values 604 are stored in the secure digital card of the SBM 800. The geospatial position is converted into street address; Further, see Figure 63, teaching Waste bin identifiers and address, for example: “Waste Bin 95112-1 is address 95 N 4th Street”);
a receiver for receiving signals from a server in respect of the bin allocated to the location indicating ... (See at least Kurani, para 0316, The GPS receiver operating principle is based on the global positioning system. The global positioning system is a satellite navigation system that provides location information to the user);
a processor for processing the signal and activation of a display to display in respect of the bin allocated to the location whether ... (See at least Kurani, para 0138 and para 0156, teaches a microprocessor is an integrated circuit that contains all the functions of a central processing unit of a computer; Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device). Yet Kurani does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Lyman teaches collection of waste from the bin is pending; ... collection of waste from the bin is pending (See at least Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kurani with collection of waste from the bin is pending; ... collection of waste from the bin is pending as taught by Lyman with the motivation for pickup for trash receptacle automatically scheduled upon determining that trash in the trash receptacle is within a predetermined range of a maximum capacity of the trash receptacle (Lyman, para 0006). The Kurani invention now incorporating the Lyman invention, has all the limitations of claim 21.
Regarding Claim 22, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A device according to claim 21, wherein the signal from the server in respect of the bin allocated to the location also indicates one or more of: (See at least Kurani, para 0316, The GPS receiver operating principle is based on the global positioning system. The global positioning system is a satellite navigation system that provides location information to the user);
the level of waste in the bin, and the status of the bin; (See at least Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device; see at least Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information with status of bins; Further see at least Kurani, para 0029, teaching status of bins including when the waste bin is tipped, flipped upside down, or emptied); wherein the processor processes the signal and activates the display to indicate at least one of: the level of waste in the bin; and the status of the bin (See at least Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device; see at least Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information with status of bins; Further see at least Kurani, para 0029, teaching status of bins including when the waste bin is tipped, flipped upside down, or emptied).
Regarding Claim 23, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A device according to claim 21, wherein the device is allocated to the location and has an attachment mechanism for attaching it in place at the location (See at least Kurani, Abstract and para 0023, teaches smart waste bin sensor device installed on the waste bin of a waste bin; Kurani, para 0269, teaches attachment of sensors).
Regarding Claim 24, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A device according to claim 20, wherein the display displays at least both of the level of waste and the status of the bin (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, teaches fill level of bins status and multiple status’s of bins displayed).
Regarding Claim 25, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A device according to claim 20, wherein the display displays a level of waste for each of or a selected one of a plurality of bins allocated to the location, where each bin is allocated to a type of waste (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information; Kurani, Figure 63, shows plurality of bins and locations and waste type. For example: “Waste Bin UDI 95112-1 at Address 95 N 4th Street; Waste Type: Food Waste; Garbage”).
Regarding Claim 26, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A device according to claim 25, wherein the display displays an indicator of a type of waste that is pending for collection (See at least Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device; Kurani, Figure 63; Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster).
Regarding Claim 27, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A device according to claim 20, wherein when the received signal includes an indication that collection of the bin is imminent, the processor changes the display of the collection of waste from the bin is pending to a display that the collection is imminent (See at least Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device; Kurani, Figure 63; Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster; Lyman, para 0041, teaches predetermined range of a maximum capacity of the trash receptacle...upon detecting the trash is at or near capacity, or exceeding capacity, a device of FIG. 1 may communicate a request for a pickup to a waste management company. In some cases, the communicated request may only include a signal (e.g., a binary “1” for full and a binary “0” for not-full) from a sensor that detects an amount of trash in a trash receptacle.)
Regarding Claim 28, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A device according to claim 20, wherein the bin is one of a plurality of bins allocated to the location and each bin is allocated to a different type of waste; wherein the receiver is configured to receive the signal, wherein the signal indicates one or more of: (See at least Kurani, para 0316, The GPS receiver operating principle is based on the global positioning system. The global positioning system is a satellite navigation system that provides location information to the user; See Kurani, Figure 63, teaches different types of waste and locations; for example: “Waste Bin UDI 95112-1 at Address 95 N 4th Street; Waste Type: Food Waste; Garbage”);
the level of waste in one or more of the bins, the status of one or more of the bins, and an indication that collection of a respective type of waste is pending; (See at least Kurani, para 0326, FIGS. 16, 17 and 18 illustrate an example fill level sensor 306, wherein the fill level sensor 306 implements, operates, detects, measures, and monitors a waste fill level inside the waste bin; See Kurani, Figures 60 and 63; Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster);
wherein the display is configured to display in respect of each bin: (Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device);
the level of waste in each bin; the status of each bin and whether collection of waste of the respective type is pending for each bin; and (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information with status of bins; Further see at least Kurani, para 0029, teaching status of bins including when the waste bin is tipped, flipped upside down, or emptied; Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster);
wherein the processor is configured to process each of the signals and activate the display according to processing of each of the signals (See at least Kurani, para 0138 and para 0156, teaches a microprocessor is an integrated circuit that contains all the functions of a central processing unit of a computer; Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device).
Regarding Claim 29, Kurani teaches A system for indicating the information about a bin, comprising: a device allocated to a location of the bin; bin sensor allocated to the location of the bin, (See at least Kurani Figures 3 and 4, showing a device for a bin with sensors for indication information about the bin; Kurani, Figure 15, shows GPS location sensor, element 604, para 0321, The location sensor values 604 are stored in the secure digital card of the SBM 800. The geospatial position is converted into street address; Further, see Figure 63, teaching Waste bin identifiers and address, for example: “Waste Bin 95112-1 is address 95 N 4th Street”);
the bin sensor configured to measure the level of waste in the bin and/or a status of the bin, wherein the bin sensor is configured to transmit the level of waste in the bin and/or the status of the bin along with an identifier of the bin, where the identifier is associated with the allocated location; (See at least Kurani, para 0316, The GPS receiver operating principle is based on the global positioning system. The global positioning system is a satellite navigation system that provides location information to the user; See Kurani, Figure 63, teaches different types of waste and locations; for example: “Waste Bin UDI 95112-1 at Address 95 N 4th Street; Waste Type: Food Waste; Garbage”);
a receiver of the transmission from the bin sensor; (See at least Kurani, para 0316, The GPS receiver operating principle is based on the global positioning system. The global positioning system is a satellite navigation system that provides information to the user);
a processor configured to determine when collection of waste from the bin is pending based on the location of the bin and scheduling information about when the bin or a group of bins including the bin is expected to have its waste collected; (See at least Kurani, para 0138 and para 0156, teaches a microprocessor is an integrated circuit that contains all the functions of a central processing unit of a computer; Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device);
a transmitter for transmitting to the device one or more of: the level of rubbish in the bin, the status of the bin and an indication that ... ; and (See at least Kurani, para 0326, FIGS. 16, 17 and 18 illustrate an example fill level sensor 306, wherein the fill level sensor 306 implements, operates, detects, measures, and monitors a waste fill level inside the waste bin; See Kurani, Figures 60 and 63);
wherein the device is configured to receive the transmitted one or more of: level of waste in the bin, the status of the bin and whether ... , (See at least Kurani, para 0326, FIGS. 16, 17 and 18 illustrate an example fill level sensor 306, wherein the fill level sensor 306 implements, operates, detects, measures, and monitors a waste fill level inside the waste bin; See Kurani, Figures 60 and 63);
wherein the device is also configured to display in respect of the bin allocated to the location the respective one or more of: the level of rubbish in the bin, the status of the bin and the whether ... (See at least Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device; Kurani, Figure 63).
Yet Kurani does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Lyman teaches collection of waste from the bin is pending ... collection of waste from the bin is pending ... collection of waste from the bin is pending (See at least Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kurani with collection of waste from the bin is pending ... collection of waste from the bin is pending ... collection of waste from the bin is pending as taught by Lyman with the motivation for pickup for trash receptacle automatically scheduled upon determining that trash in the trash receptacle is within a predetermined range of a maximum capacity of the trash receptacle (Lyman, para 0006). The Kurani invention now incorporating the Lyman invention, has all the limitations of claim 29.
Regarding Claim 30, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A system according to claim 29, wherein the display displays at least both of the level of waste and whether collection of the waste is pending (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, teaches fill level of bins status and multiple status’s of bins displayed).
Regarding Claim 31, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A system according to claim 30, wherein the display also displays the status of the bin (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, teaches fill level of bins status and multiple status’s of bins displayed).
Regarding Claim 32, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A system according to claim 29, wherein the display displays a level of waste for each of or a selected one of a plurality of bins allocated to the location, where each bin is allocated to a type of waste (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information; Kurani, Figure 63, shows plurality of bins and locations and waste type. For example: “Waste Bin UDI 95112-1 at Address 95 N 4th Street; Waste Type: Food Waste; Garbage”).
Regarding Claim 33, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A system according to claim 32, wherein the display displays an indicator of a type of waste that is pending for collection (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information; Kurani, Figure 63, shows plurality of bins and locations and waste type. For example: “Waste Bin UDI 95112-1 at Address 95 N 4th Street; Waste Type: Food Waste; Garbage”; See at least Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster).
Regarding Claim 34, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A system according to claim 29, wherein the processor determines whether the collection is imminent and when collection is imminent transmits a signal to the device that collection from the bin is imminent; wherein the device changes the display of the collection of waste from the bin is pending to a display that the collection is imminent (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information; Kurani, Figure 63, shows plurality of bins and locations and waste type. For example: “Waste Bin UDI 95112-1 at Address 95 N 4th Street; Waste Type: Food Waste; Garbage”; Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster; Lyman, para 0041, teaches predetermined range of a maximum capacity of the trash receptacle...upon detecting the trash is at or near capacity, or exceeding capacity, a device of FIG. 1 may communicate a request for a pickup to a waste management company. In some cases, the communicated request may only include a signal (e.g., a binary “1” for full and a binary “0” for not-full) from a sensor that detects an amount of trash in a trash receptacle.)
Regarding Claim 35, Kurani teaches A method of indicating information about a bin allocated to a location comprising: measuring one or both of: the level of waste in the bin and a status of the bin; transmitting one or both of the level of waste in the bin and the status of the bin, along with one or both of an identifier of the bin which is associated with a location of the bin; (See at least Kurani Figures 3 and 4, showing a device for a bin with sensors for indication information about the bin; Kurani, Figure 15, shows GPS location sensor, element 604, para 0321, The location sensor values 604 are stored in the secure digital card of the SBM 800. The geospatial position is converted into street address; Further, see Figure 63, teaching Waste bin identifiers and address, for example: “Waste Bin 95112-1 is address 95 N 4th Street”; Further, Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information);
receiving the transmission from the bin; (See at least Kurani, para 0316, The GPS receiver operating principle is based on the global positioning system. The global positioning system is a satellite navigation system that provides information to the user);
transmitting in respect of the bin allocated to the location one or more of: the level of waste in the bin and the status of the bin and the indication of when ..., to a device separate from the bin, where the device is allocated to the location; (See at least Kurani, para 0326, FIGS. 16, 17 and 18 illustrate an example fill level sensor 306, wherein the fill level sensor 306 implements, operates, detects, measures, and monitors a waste fill level inside the waste bin; See Kurani, Figures 60 and 63);
receiving at the device the transmitted level of waste in the bin and the status of the bin and the indication of when ... ; and (See at least Kurani, para 0316, The GPS receiver operating principle is based on the global positioning system. The global positioning system is a satellite navigation system that provides information to the user);
displaying on the device the level of waste in the bin and the status of the bin and an indication that ...(See at least Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device; Kurani, Figure 63).
Yet Kurani does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Lyman teaches collection of waste from the bin is pending (See at least Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kurani with collection of waste from the bin is pending as taught by Lyman with the motivation for pickup for trash receptacle automatically scheduled upon determining that trash in the trash receptacle is within a predetermined range of a maximum capacity of the trash receptacle (Lyman, para 0006). The Kurani invention now incorporating the Lyman invention, has all the limitations of claim 35.
Regarding Claim 36, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A method according to claim 35, wherein the method further comprises determining when collection of waste from the bin is pending based on the location of the bin and scheduling information about when the bin or a group of bins at or within an area are expected to have its waste collected (See at least Kurani, Figure 62, shows a map with trucks and location information for an area waste is to be collected; Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster).
Regarding Claim 37, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A method according to claim 36, wherein the method further comprises determining when collection of waste from the bin is pending based on the location of a collection truck and its proximity to the location of the bin (See at least Kurani, Figure 62, shows a map with trucks and location information for an area waste is to be collected; Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information; Kurani, Figure 63, shows plurality of bins and locations and waste type. For example: “Waste Bin UDI 95112-1 at Address 95 N 4th Street; Waste Type: Food Waste; Garbage”; Kurani, Figure 62, shows a map, trucks for collection of bins/waste and locations; See at least Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster).
Regarding Claim 38, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A method according to claim 35, further comprising receiving at the device allocated to the location an indication that the collection is imminent and changing the display from indicating that the collection is pending to display that the collection of waste from the bin is imminent (See at least Kurani Figures 60 and 63; Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster; Lyman, para 0041, teaches predetermined range of a maximum capacity of the trash receptacle...upon detecting the trash is at or near capacity, or exceeding capacity, a device of FIG. 1 may communicate a request for a pickup to a waste management company. In some cases, the communicated request may only include a signal (e.g., a binary “1” for full and a binary “0” for not-full) from a sensor that detects an amount of trash in a trash receptacle.)
Regarding Claim 39, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A method according to claim 35, wherein the status of the bin comprises whether the bin is upright or tipped over (See at least Kurani, para 0029, The accelerometer sensor is used to set the waste fill level status to zero, when the waste bin is tipped, flipped upside down).
Regarding Claim 40, Kurani, now incorporating Lyman, teaches A method according to claim 35, wherein the status if the bin comprises whether a lid of the bin is open or closed (See at least Kurani, para 0122, The smart waste bin sensor device installed inside the bottom of the waste bin lid can be programmed to go into power saving sleep mode when the waste bin lid is closed; Kurani, para 0011, teaches sensor which is designed to detect an opening of the lid).
Regarding Claim 41, Kurani teaches A system for indicating information about bins at a location, where each bin at the location is allocated to a different type of waste, the system comprising: a device separate from the bin and also allocation to the location; (See at least Kurani Figures 3 and 4, showing a device for a bin with sensors for indication information about the bin; Kurani, Figure 15, shows GPS location sensor, element 604, para 0321, The location sensor values 604 are stored in the secure digital card of the SBM 800. The geospatial position is converted into street address; Further, see Figure 63, teaching Waste bin identifiers and address, for example: “Waste Bin 95112-1 is address 95 N 4th Street”; Further, Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information);
a bin sensor allocated to the location for each bin, each bin sensor configured to measure the level of waste in each bin and the status of each bin, wherein each bin sensor is configured to transmit the level of waste in the respective bin and the status of the respective bin along with an identifier of the respective bin sensor, where the identifier is associated with the respective bin and the allocated location; (See at least Kurani, para 0326, FIGS. 16, 17 and 18 illustrate an example fill level sensor 306, wherein the fill level sensor 306 implements, operates, detects, measures, and monitors a waste fill level inside the waste bin; See Kurani, Figures 60 and 63);
a receiver of the transmission from the bin sensors; (See at least Kurani, para 0316, The GPS receiver operating principle is based on the global positioning system. The global positioning system is a satellite navigation system that provides information to the user);
a processor configured to determine when collection of waste from each bin is pending based on the location of each bin and ... (See at least Kurani, para 0138 and para 0156, teaches a microprocessor is an integrated circuit that contains all the functions of a central processing unit of a computer; Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device);
a transmitter for transmitting to the device of one or more of: the level of rubbish in each bin, the status of each bin and an indication of when ... ; and the device is configured to receive transmissions from the transmitter and to display based on the received transmissions: (See at least Kurani, para 0326, FIGS. 16, 17 and 18 illustrate an example fill level sensor 306, wherein the fill level sensor 306 implements, operates, detects, measures, and monitors a waste fill level inside the waste bin; See Kurani, Figures 60 and 63);
the level of waste in each bin, the status of each bin and when ... (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, teaches fill level of bins status and multiple status’s of bins displayed).
Yet Kurani does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Lyman teaches scheduling information about when each bin is expected to have its waste collected; ... collection of waste from each bin is pending ... collection of waste from one of the bins is pending an indication that collection of waste from the respective bin is pending (See at least Lyman, para 0020, trash removal schedules typically include removing trash on a weekly basis; Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kurani with scheduling information about when each bin is expected to have its waste collected; ... collection of waste from each bin is pending ... collection of waste from one of the bins is pending an indication that collection of waste from the respective bin is pending as taught by Lyman with the motivation for pickup for trash receptacle automatically scheduled upon determining that trash in the trash receptacle is within a predetermined range of a maximum capacity of the trash receptacle (Lyman, para 0006). The Kurani invention now incorporating the Lyman invention, has all the limitations of claim 41.
Regarding Claim 42, Kurani teaches A device that is separate from bins allocated to a location, the device being allocated to the location, the device comprising a receiver for receiving signals from a server in respect of the bins allocated to the location indicating one or more of: (See at least Kurani Figures 3 and 4, showing a device for a bin with sensors for indication information about the bin; Kurani, Figure 15, shows GPS location sensor, element 604, para 0321, The location sensor values 604 are stored in the secure digital card of the SBM 800. The geospatial position is converted into street address; Further, see Figure 63, teaching Waste bin identifiers and address, for example: “Waste Bin 95112-1 is address 95 N 4th Street”; Further, Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information);
the level of waste in each bin, a status of each bin, and an indication that ... (See at least Kurani, Figure 60, teaches fill level of bins status and multiple status’s of bins displayed; Further, see Figure 63, teaching Waste bin identifiers and address, for example: “Waste Bin 95112-1 is address 95 N 4th Street”; Further, Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information);
a processor for processing the signals and activation of a display accordingly; (See at least Kurani, para 0138 and para 0156, teaches a microprocessor is an integrated circuit that contains all the functions of a central processing unit of a computer; Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device);
wherein the display is configured to display in respect of each bin: the level of waste in each bin; the status of each bin and whether ... (See at least Kurani, para 0035, display results of the smart waste bin sensor device; Kurani, Figure 63; Further, Kurani, Figure 60, shows a display including waste bin fill levels and information).
Yet Kurani does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Lyman teaches collection of waste from one or more of the bins is pending; ... collection of waste from each bin is pending (See at least Lyman, para 0020, trash removal schedules typically include removing trash on a weekly basis; Lyman, para 0025, waste management company may schedule pickups based on the monitored capacity and/or fullness of each trash receptacle and/or dumpster). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kurani with collection of waste from one or more of the bins is pending; ... collection of waste from each bin is pending as taught by Lyman with the motivation for pickup for trash receptacle automatically scheduled upon determining that trash in the trash receptacle is within a predetermined range of a maximum capacity of the trash receptacle (Lyman, para 0006). The Kurani invention now incorporating the Lyman invention, has all the limitations of claim 42.
Additional Prior Art Consulted
The prior art made of record and not relied upon which is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure includes the following:
Dancy, Mark A. US 2009/0119113 A1 - A method and system for unit-based refuse collection is described. The method includes providing a resident or user with visually identifiable, and in some cases standard-sized bags to contain the refuse to be collected, and providing the resident with a container for holding filled bags while awaiting collection, the container having at least one substantially transparent portion for observing the filled bags therein. While collecting the refuse, an operator visually determines compliance with the collection system by observing the filled visually identifiable bags through the substantially transparent portion or portions of the container, to ensure usage of the proper bags, which may be sold at a price including the cost of collection. The resident is then billed in accordance with the amount of refuse that is generated, reflected by the number of visually identifiable bags that are used.
Kurani; Hemal B. US 2020/0082354 A1 - "Waste Bin is a bin that holds rubbish until it is collected."; "the server system creating with the signals from the set of sensors a set of waste bin statistics for the waste bin"; "a waste bin storing a waste, wherein the waste bin comprises a set of sensors attached on the waste bin."
NPL – K.S Savita; Luqmanulhakim; Manoranjitham Muniandy; K. Mathiyazhagan, “Smart Event Management Waste Bin”, Published in: 2018 4th International Conference on Computer and Information Sciences (ICCOINS); https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/8510606 - An overfilling of waste bins is a serious offence that it should not be taken lightly. Common cases of such issues can be found during events in any university and there is often no proper monitoring system to monitor such waste bins. Thus, the development of this `Smart Event Management Waste Bin' will assist organizers of an event to clear out the waste bins before overfilling occurs. User acceptance study will also be carried out to investigate if users agree such smart bins can solve the issue of overfilling of waste bins. The `Smart Event Management Waste Bin' will have an ultrasonic sensor attached to it along with an LED that will enable the user to know when the waste bin is full. The data will be viewable online where users will be able to access either through mobile or web application. Interviews, surveys and user testing were carried out throughout the development of the `Smart Event Management Waste Bin' prototype. The results obtained from the surveys and user feedback proved that majority of the respondents as well as the users agree that the application of such smart waste bins can help to overcome the issue of overfilling of waste bins during an event.
Applicant is advised to review additional references supplied on the PTO-892 as to the state of the art of the invention.
Conclusion
/R.R.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/SANGEETA BAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626