DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 14 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 February 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-13, 18-19, and 22-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12: “said emitted laser beam” in line 6, “said laser beam emitted” in line 6, and ”the emitted laser beam” in line 7 should all be either “said laser beam” or “the laser beam” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 13: “the transverse direction” in line 2 should be “the transversal direction” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 18: “said reflected beam” in line 8 should be “said reflected beam of light”; “the on-axis reflected beam” in line 11 should be “the of light”; and “said laser beam” in line 12 should be “said coherent laser beam” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 19: “said emitted laser beam” in line 2 should be “said coherent laser beam”; and “said laser beam” in line 3 should be “said coherent laser beam” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 22: “said reflected beam” in line 10 should be “said reflected beam of light”; :the on-axis reflected beam” in line 13 should be “the of light”; “said optical system” in line 14 should be “each of the plurality of s”; and “said laser beam” in line 14 should be “said coherent laser beam” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 23: “said emitted laser beam” in lines 2-3 should be “said coherent coherent laser beam” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“a data processing unit for…” in claims 16 and 17: there is no sufficient structure provided in the specification for this limitation.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a data processing unit for...” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 12-19 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, “the wavelength” in line 7, “the distance” in lines 7-8, and “the movement” in line 12 all lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore all unclear.
Claims 13-17 are rejected for their dependency on claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, “the distance” in line 13 is unclear as a different distance has been mentioned previously in claim 12, on which claim 13 is dependent. “the distance” in claim 13 is the amount the optical system has travelled while “the distance” in claim 12 is the amount between the laser source and the surface. This limitation need to be claimed in a way that differentiates the two. Additionally, “the relative transversal movement” in lines 2-3 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Regarding claim 14, “said relative movement” in line 1 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear (it should also be noted that movement in both a transversal direction and an axial direction has been mentioned in claim 12; there is no differentiation between these two movements in claim 14). Additionally, “the movement” in line 2 is unclear as movement has been mentioned previously in claim 12 when referring to a movement of the surface in the axial direction, while this limitation is referring to a movement of a vehicle. This limitation need to be claimed in a way that differentiates the two. Additionally, “the relative transversal movement” in lines 2-3 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Claim 17 is rejected for its dependency on claim 14.
Regarding claim 15¸ “said relative movement” in line 1 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear (it should also be noted that movement in both a transversal direction and an axial direction has been mentioned in claim 12; there is no differentiation between these two movements in claim 15). Additionally, “the translation and/or rotation” in line 2 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Regarding claim 16, “said data” in line 2 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Regarding claim 17, “said data” in line 2 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Regarding claim 18, “coherent light” in line is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in line 3 of the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same coherent light mentioned previously or a different coherent light? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same coherent light mentioned previously. Additionally, “the intersection” in line 13 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Claim 19 is rejected for its dependency on claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, “the focal point” in line 2 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Regarding claim 22, “coherent light” in line 6 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in line 5 of the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same coherent light mentioned previously or a different coherent light? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same coherent light mentioned previously. Additionally, “the intersection” in line 15 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Claims 23-25 are rejected for their dependency on claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, “the focal point” in line 2 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Regarding claim 24, “insulation material” in line 4 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in line 3 of the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same insulation material mentioned previously or a different insulation material? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same insulation material mentioned previously. Additionally, “them” in line 4 is unclear. To what elements is this limitation referring? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer.
Regarding claim 25, “insulation material” in line 4 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in line 3 of the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same insulation material mentioned previously or a different insulation material? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same insulation material mentioned previously. Additionally, “them” in line 4 is unclear. To what elements is this limitation referring? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grimaldi et al. (USPGPub 20230168083 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Grimaldi teaches a method for optically measuring divergence of a surface (22) in an axial direction at an angle with respect to said surface (22) (¶1, The present invention relates to a system for generating a signal representative of the profile of a surface moving relative to the system; ¶52, it is desired to observe the profile of the outer surface of a medium. Ideally, the angle of incidence is along the normal to the median plane, thereby making it possible to observe any convex surface profile. In fact, the system imposes at least a certain inclination in the plane of relative movement of the system with respect to the outer surface so as to observe Doppler effects; and see ¶63 for further details), said method comprising: providing an optical system (1), said optical system (1) comprising a laser source (2) and a detector (3/3’) (see figures 1 and 2, light source 2 and light sensors 3 and 3’; and ¶33, The light source may be for example a laser source); emitting a laser beam of coherent light from said laser source (2) of said optical system (1) in said axial direction towards said surface (22) while said surface (22) is moving in a transversal direction relative to said emitted laser beam (¶33, The light source may be for example a laser source, such as a laser diode for example. These laser-type sources generate coherent light; and ¶124, the backscattered beam is subjected to the Doppler effect provoked by the speed of movement V between the device comprising the generation system 1 and the medium 21 in the direction U); said laser beam emitted such that the beam radius on said surface (22) is larger than or equal to
λ
L
π
wherein λ is the wavelength of the emitted laser beam and L is the distance from the laser source (2) to said surface (22) such as the beam radius on said surface (22) being within a range of
λ
L
π
to 5 times
λ
L
π
(¶33, The light source may be for example a laser source, such as a laser diode for example. These laser-type sources generate coherent light, and the propagation of light is also naturally Gaussian; ¶35, The term “Gaussian beam” is understood to mean that the propagation of light in the direction of propagation of the beam is Gaussian; and NOTE: in Gaussian beam optics, the formula
z
R
=
π
ω
0
2
λ
, wherein:
z
R
is the distance (i.e. L),
ω
0
is the beam radius, and λ is the wavelength. When this equation is solved for beam radius, it is as follows:
ω
0
=
λ
z
R
π
. Since Grimaldi’s beam is a Gaussian beam, it satisfies this equation.); measuring an optical signal of a reflected beam reflected from said surface (22) (¶11, At least one first sensor able to evaluate the effects of electromagnetic interference between a portion of the first emitted light beam and a portion of the light beam backscattered from the outer surface of the medium); determining the Doppler frequency of the reflected beam (¶147, The first step 2001 consists in defining the Doppler frequency associated with the relative speed V); based on the Doppler frequency determining the movement of said surface (22) in said axial direction (¶71, The distance information is carried by the fundamental and the harmonics of the Doppler frequency. Consequently, it is necessary to determine the Doppler frequency on each signal).
Regarding claim 13, Grimaldi teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the distance said optical system (1) has travelled in the transverse direction relative to said surface (22) and/or the speed of the relative transverse movement is monitored (¶71, it is first necessary to have two time signals corresponding, at all times, to the response of the same geometric point of the readout line on the outer surface of the medium under observation. The distance information is carried by the fundamental and the harmonics of the Doppler frequency. Consequently, it is necessary to determine the Doppler frequency on each signal. This depends on the relative speed V of movement in the direction U between the system and the medium under observation).
Regarding claim 14, Grimaldi teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein said relative movement between said surface (22) and said optical system (1) is due to the movement of a vehicle on which said optical system (1) is mounted along said surface (22) (¶63, The system may therefore be installed on a device that allows the system to be integrated into the desired operating environment. This device may thus be mobile, such as for example a land vehicle moving relative to the ground. The ground is then the observation medium for the measurement system).
Regarding claim 15, Grimaldi teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein said relative movement between said surface (22) and said optical system (1) is due to the translation and/or rotation of said surface (22) while said optical system (1) is static (¶63, The device may also be static, such as an industrial station for inspecting a linear appearance in relation to the scrolling of objects on a conveyor belt. The system installed on a mobile or static device may also observe the rotational movements of a medium relative to the device in order to analyse uniformity defects of the outer surface of this medium).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimaldi et al. (USPGPub 20230168083 A1) in view of Khalil et al. (USPGPub 20110176138 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Grimaldi teaches processing data (see figure 3; and ¶150, The last phase is evaluating the variation in the distance d of the outer surface from a reference, making it possible to deduce the profile of the outer surface). However, Grimaldi fails to explicitly teach a data processing unit for storing and/or processing said data.
However, Khalil teaches data processing unit (180) for storing and/or processing said data (¶38, The output of the interferometer 100 is measured by the optical spectrometer 160, and then inverse Fourier transformed to produce an IFFT signal 170. The IFFT signal 170 is input to an image processor 180 to obtain a depth scan signal; and see ¶40 for further details).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grimaldi to incorporate the teachings of Khalil to further include a data processing unit in order to evaluate the signals input therein and output the associated data, thereby providing a functioning device.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimaldi et al. (USPGPub 20230168083 A1) in view of Shiraishi et al. (USPGPub 20220342161 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Grimaldi teaches an optical system (1) configured for use in a method of measuring surface divergence based on Doppler frequency measurements (¶1, The present invention relates to a system for generating a signal representative of the profile of a surface moving relative to the system; ¶52, it is desired to observe the profile of the outer surface of a medium. Ideally, the angle of incidence is along the normal to the median plane, thereby making it possible to observe any convex surface profile. In fact, the system imposes at least a certain inclination in the plane of relative movement of the system with respect to the outer surface so as to observe Doppler effects; and see ¶63 for further details), said optical system (1) comprising: a laser source (2) for emitting coherent light (see figures 1 and 2, light source 2; and ¶33, The light source may be for example a laser source, such as a laser diode for example. These laser-type sources generate coherent light), a first optical path (11) being arranged to guide coherent light from said laser source (2) and for directing a coherent laser beam towards a surface (22) (see figures 1 and 2, first optical path 11 guiding light from light source 2 to surface 22), a detector (3/3’), for detecting a reflected beam of light reflected off of said surface (22) (see figures 1 and 2, light sensors 3 and 3’; and ¶11, At least one first sensor able to evaluate the effects of electromagnetic interference between a portion of the first emitted light beam and a portion of the light beam backscattered from the outer surface of the medium), a second optical path (11’/12) for collecting and guiding said reflected beam to said detector (3/3’) (see figures 1 and 2, upstream optical path 11’ reflected from surface 22), a beam splitter (4) arranged between said first optical path (11) and said second optical path (11’/12) for diverting the on-axis reflected beam to said second optical path (11’/12) (see figures 1 and 2, splitter cube 4 for directing light along different paths), said optical system providing said laser beam with a beam radius being larger than or equal to
λ
L
π
at the intersection with said surface, such as the beam radius being within a range of
λ
L
π
to 5 times
λ
L
π
(¶33, The light source may be for example a laser source, such as a laser diode for example. These laser-type sources generate coherent light, and the propagation of light is also naturally Gaussian; ¶35, The term “Gaussian beam” is understood to mean that the propagation of light in the direction of propagation of the beam is Gaussian; and NOTE: in Gaussian beam optics, the formula
z
R
=
π
ω
0
2
λ
, wherein:
z
R
is the distance (i.e. L),
ω
0
is the beam radius, and λ is the wavelength. When this equation is solved for beam radius, it is as follows:
ω
0
=
λ
z
R
π
. Since Grimaldi’s beam is a Gaussian beam, it satisfies this equation.). However, Grimaldi fails to explicitly teach said first optical path being polarization maintaining, said second optical path being polarization maintaining, and a polarizing beam splitter.
However, Shiraishi teaches said first optical path being polarization maintaining (see figure 1, first light L1 emitted from light source 21 to object 82; and ¶50, first light L1 has the predetermined polarization plane. Therefore, polarization separating unit 22 transmits first light L1 emitted from laser light source 21 without changing a traveling direction of first light L1), said second optical path being polarization maintaining (see figure 1, first reflected light LR1 reflected from object 82; and ¶53, first reflected light LR1 is converted from circularly polarized light to linearly polarized light. A polarization plane of first reflected light LR1 passing through wave plate 24 is orthogonal to the polarization plane (the predetermined polarization plane described above) of first light L1 before passing through wave plate 24. Therefore, first reflected light LR1 passing through wave plate 24 is reflected by polarization separating unit 22), and a polarizing beam splitter (22) (see figure 1, first reflected light LR1 reflected from object 82 and reflected onto second optical path by polarizing beam splitter 22; and ¶53, first reflected light LR1 is converted from circularly polarized light to linearly polarized light. A polarization plane of first reflected light LR1 passing through wave plate 24 is orthogonal to the polarization plane (the predetermined polarization plane described above) of first light L1 before passing through wave plate 24. Therefore, first reflected light LR1 passing through wave plate 24 is reflected by polarization separating unit 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grimaldi to incorporate the teachings of Shiraishi for the device to use polarized light due to the ability of polarized light to detect subtle material or surface changes that the use of non-polarized light would otherwise miss.
Regarding claim 19, Grimaldi as modified by Shiraishi teaches an optical system according to claim 18, comprising a lens system for controlling the focal point of said emitted laser beam such that said beam radius at the intersection of said laser beam and said surface is larger than or equal to
λ
L
π
, such as the beam radius being within a range of
λ
L
π
to 5 times
λ
L
π
(Grimaldi, see figures 1 and 2, focusing lenses 5 and 6; ¶136, since the geometric points d1 and d2 for each of the light beams are wanted to be situated either side of the median plane, it is sufficient for that to relatively displace the two focusing lenses 5 and 6 on their respective optical paths 11′ and 12′ for the focal distance f1 and f2 of each of the lenses to define different geometric points d1 and d2. It is also possible to use focusing lenses 5 and 6 with different focusing distances f1 and f2 so as to define the different geometric points; ¶33, The light source may be for example a laser source, such as a laser diode for example. These laser-type sources generate coherent light, and the propagation of light is also naturally Gaussian; ¶35, The term “Gaussian beam” is understood to mean that the propagation of light in the direction of propagation of the beam is Gaussian; and NOTE: in Gaussian beam optics, the formula
z
R
=
π
ω
0
2
λ
, wherein:
z
R
is the distance (i.e. L),
ω
0
is the beam radius, and λ is the wavelength. When this equation is solved for beam radius, it is as follows:
ω
0
=
λ
z
R
π
. Since Grimaldi’s beam is a Gaussian beam, it satisfies this equation.).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimaldi et al. (USPGPub 20230168083 A1) in view of Qui et al. (USPGPub 20200150237 A1) and Shiraishi et al. (USPGPub 20220342161 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Grimaldi teaches a measurement system configured for use in a method of measuring surface divergence based on Doppler frequency measurements (¶1, The present invention relates to a system for generating a signal representative of the profile of a surface moving relative to the system; ¶52, it is desired to observe the profile of the outer surface of a medium. Ideally, the angle of incidence is along the normal to the median plane, thereby making it possible to observe any convex surface profile. In fact, the system imposes at least a certain inclination in the plane of relative movement of the system with respect to the outer surface so as to observe Doppler effects; and see ¶63 for further details), said measurement system comprising an optical system (1) comprising, a laser source (2) for emitting coherent light (see figures 1 and 2, light source 2; and ¶33, The light source may be for example a laser source, such as a laser diode for example. These laser-type sources generate coherent light), a first optical path (11) being arranged to guide coherent light from said laser source (2) and for directing a coherent laser beam towards a surface (22) (see figures 1 and 2, first optical path 11 guiding light from light source 2 to surface 22), a detector (3/3’), for detecting a reflected beam of light reflected off of said surface (22) (see figures 1 and 2, light sensors 3 and 3’; and ¶11, At least one first sensor able to evaluate the effects of electromagnetic interference between a portion of the first emitted light beam and a portion of the light beam backscattered from the outer surface of the medium), a second optical path (11’/12) for collecting and guiding said reflected beam to said detector (3/3’) (see figures 1 and 2, upstream optical path 11’ reflected from surface 22), a beam splitter (4) arranged between said first optical path (11) and said second optical path (11’12) for diverting the on-axis reflected beam to said second optical path (11’/12) (see figures 1 and 2, splitter cube 4 for directing light along different paths), said optical system (1) providing said laser beam with a beam radius being larger than or equal to
λ
L
π
at the intersection with said surface (22), such as the beam radius being within a range of
λ
L
π
to 5 times
λ
L
π
(¶33, The light source may be for example a laser source, such as a laser diode for example. These laser-type sources generate coherent light, and the propagation of light is also naturally Gaussian; ¶35, The term “Gaussian beam” is understood to mean that the propagation of light in the direction of propagation of the beam is Gaussian; and NOTE: in Gaussian beam optics, the formula
z
R
=
π
ω
0
2
λ
, wherein:
z
R
is the distance (i.e. L),
ω
0
is the beam radius, and λ is the wavelength. When this equation is solved for beam radius, it is as follows:
ω
0
=
λ
z
R
π
. Since Grimaldi’s beam is a Gaussian beam, it satisfies this equation.). However, Grimaldi fails to explicitly teach wherein the measurement system comprises a plurality of optical systems; said first optical path being polarization maintaining, said second optical path being polarization maintaining, a polarizing beam splitter; and wherein the plurality of optical systems are arranged along a mounting bar.
However, Qui teaches wherein the measurement system comprises a plurality of optical systems (see figure 6; and ¶71, upper part 602 is configured to mount the central LiDAR device and lower part 604 is configured to mount the multiple auxiliary LiDAR device); and wherein the plurality of optical systems are arranged along a mounting bar (600) (see figure 6, mounting apparatus 600 (i.e. mounting bar) with a plurality of LiDAR devices mounted thereto).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grimaldi to incorporate the teachings of Qui to provide a plurality of optical systems in order to increase the field of view of the assembly, thereby providing information regarding the entire environment to a user. However, the combination fails to explicitly teach said first optical path being polarization maintaining, said second optical path being polarization maintaining, and a polarizing beam splitter.
However, Shiraishi teaches said first optical path being polarization maintaining (see figure 1, first light L1 emitted from light source 21 to object 82; and ¶50, first light L1 has the predetermined polarization plane. Therefore, polarization separating unit 22 transmits first light L1 emitted from laser light source 21 without changing a traveling direction of first light L1), said second optical path being polarization maintaining (see figure 1, first reflected light LR1 reflected from object 82; and ¶53, first reflected light LR1 is converted from circularly polarized light to linearly polarized light. A polarization plane of first reflected light LR1 passing through wave plate 24 is orthogonal to the polarization plane (the predetermined polarization plane described above) of first light L1 before passing through wave plate 24. Therefore, first reflected light LR1 passing through wave plate 24 is reflected by polarization separating unit 22), and a polarizing beam splitter (22) (see figure 1, first reflected light LR1 reflected from object 82 and reflected onto second optical path by polarizing beam splitter 22; and ¶53, first reflected light LR1 is converted from circularly polarized light to linearly polarized light. A polarization plane of first reflected light LR1 passing through wave plate 24 is orthogonal to the polarization plane (the predetermined polarization plane described above) of first light L1 before passing through wave plate 24. Therefore, first reflected light LR1 passing through wave plate 24 is reflected by polarization separating unit 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grimaldi and Qui to incorporate the teachings of Shiraishi for the device to use polarized light due to the ability of polarized light to detect subtle material or surface changes that the use of non-polarized light would otherwise miss.
Regarding claim 23, Grimaldi as modified by Qui and Shiraishi teaches a measurement system according to claim 22, wherein each of the plurality of optical systems (1) comprises a lens system (5/6) for controlling the focal point of said emitted laser beam such that said beam radius at the intersection of said laser beam and said surface (22) is larger than or equal to
λ
L
π
such as the beam radius being within a range of
λ
L
π
to 5 times
λ
L
π
(Grimaldi, see figures 1 and 2, focusing lenses 5 and 6; ¶136, since the geometric points d1 and d2 for each of the light beams are wanted to be situated either side of the median plane, it is sufficient for that to relatively displace the two focusing lenses 5 and 6 on their respective optical paths 11′ and 12′ for the focal distance f1 and f2 of each of the lenses to define different geometric points d1 and d2. It is also possible to use focusing lenses 5 and 6 with different focusing distances f1 and f2 so as to define the different geometric points; ¶33, The light source may be for example a laser source, such as a laser diode for example. These laser-type sources generate coherent light, and the propagation of light is also naturally Gaussian; ¶35, The term “Gaussian beam” is understood to mean that the propagation of light in the direction of propagation of the beam is Gaussian; and NOTE: in Gaussian beam optics, the formula
z
R
=
π
ω
0
2
λ
, wherein:
z
R
is the distance (i.e. L),
ω
0
is the beam radius, and λ is the wavelength. When this equation is solved for beam radius, it is as follows:
ω
0
=
λ
z
R
π
. Since Grimaldi’s beam is a Gaussian beam, it satisfies this equation.).
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimaldi et al. (USPGPub 20230168083 A1) in view of Qui et al. (USPGPub 20200150237 A1) and Shiraishi et al. (USPGPub 20220342161 A1) as applied to claims 22 and 23 above, and further in view of Ferne et al. (Development of a Calibration Procedure for the U.K. Highways Agency Traffic-Speed Deflectometer).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Grimaldi as modified by Qui and Shiraishi teaches the mounting bar (Qui 600) (Qui, see figure 6). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the mounting element comprises a passive thermal enclosure comprising a first insulating layer and a second insulating layer of insulation material, said first insulating layer and said second insulating layer of insulation material being arranged to form a cavity between them.
However, Ferne teaches wherein the mounting element comprises a passive thermal enclosure comprising a first insulating layer and a second insulating layer of insulation material, said first insulating layer and said second insulating layer of insulation material being arranged to form a cavity between them (see figure 1; and page 111, The TSD contains a complex array of instruments and recording equipment within an insulated steel container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grimaldi, Qui, and Shiraishi to incorporate the teachings of Ferne to further provide insulation for the mounting element in order to protect the sensing device therein from extreme temperatures that would affect the function of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamada et al. (USPGPub 20220390755 A1): Yamada teaches a laser interferometer that uses detected Doppler signals to measure displacement.
Rumala (USPGPub 20200132443 A1): Rumala teaches an optical sensor that uses rotational Doppler shift to determine roll, pitch, and yaw angles of an element.
Oshima et al. (JP 2019184538 A): Oshima teaches a laser Doppler velocimeter used to calculate the speed of an object.
Dam-Hansen et al. (USPGPub 20040036873 A1): Dam-Hansen teaches a laser Doppler anemometry device.
Hanson et al. (USPGPub 20050046821): Hanson teaches a velocity measuring device that can measure angular velocity or translational velocity (see figures 10 and 11).
Gronskov (U.S. Patent No. 6119353 A): Gronskov teaches a plurality of lasers (20) mounted to a bar (19) for continually measuring deflection speed of a surface (see figure 4).
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878