DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikawa et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20070244454A1) hereinafter FUJIKAWA, in view of Suga (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20030065300A1) hereinafter SUGA, in further view of Joseph et al. (U. S. Patent US6015045A) hereinafter JOSEPH.
Regarding claim 1, FUJIKAWA teaches (see FIG. 1A - FIG. 1C, FIG. 4 - FIG. 5, FIG. 11A - FIG. 11B, FIG. 12 below) an individually-wrapped absorbent article 1, comprising:
a wrapping sheet including paper 2; and
an absorbent article 4 individually wrapped with the wrapping sheet 2.
FUJIKAWA further teaches exposed surface F11B-01 has a deviation of a mean coefficient of friction of 0.050 or less before printing (page 27, para. [0094], lines 1-4, “… 0.03 to 0.06 …”).
FUJIKAWA fails to teach printing is provided on an exposed surface F11B-01 of the wrapping sheet 2, which is exposed when the wrapping sheet 2 individually wraps the absorbent article 4.
FUJIKAWA fails to teach exposed surface F11B-01 after the printing has a coefficient of static friction of 0.60 or greater against an exposed surface F11B-01 of another individually-wrapped absorbent article 1.
However, SUGA teaches (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2A - Fig. 2B below) an individually packaged body fluid absorbent article 1, wherein printing 26, 27 is provided on an exposed surface S2A-01 of the wrapping sheet 21, which is exposed when the wrapping sheet 21 individually wraps the absorbent article 10 for ease of use.
However, JOSEPH teaches (see Fig. 1, Fig. 7 below) a dispensing package 10, wherein an exposed surface 34 after the printing (page 8, col. 5, lines 37-39, “… printing …”) has a coefficient of static friction against an exposed surface 34 of another dispensing package 10 for ease of handling.
JOSEPH fails to teach coefficient of static friction of 0.60 or greater.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified exposed surface F11B-01 in the individually-wrapped absorbent article 1 of FUJIKAWA with exposed surface S2A-01 as taught in the individually packaged body fluid absorbent article 1 of SUGA for ease of use.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified exposed surface F11B-01 in the individually-wrapped absorbent article 1 of FUJIKAWA, and SUGA with exposed surface 34 as taught in the dispensing package 10 of JOSEPH for ease of handling.
Henceforth, it would have been a matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified coefficient of static friction (i.e., being 0.60 or greater) in the exposed surface F11B-01 of FUJIKAWA, SUGA, and JOSEPH since the recited range is regarded as result effective variable. In addition, it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05 II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
Regarding claim 2, FUJIKAWA, SUGA, and JOSEPH (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of FUJIKAWA (see FIG. 1A - FIG. 1C, FIG. 4 - FIG. 5, FIG. 11A - FIG. 11B, FIG. 12 above), SUGA (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2A - Fig. 2B above), and JOSEPH (see Fig. 1, Fig. 7 above) fails to teach individually-wrapped absorbent article 1, wherein a blending ratio of recycled fibers in the wrapping sheet 2 is 20% or greater.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the wrapping sheet 2 in the individually-wrapped absorbent article 1 of FUJIKAWA, SUGA, and JOSEPH with a blending ratio of recycled fibers of 20% or greater to meet design requirements. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3, FUJIKAWA, SUGA, and JOSEPH (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of FUJIKAWA (see FIG. 1A - FIG. 1C, FIG. 4 - FIG. 5, FIG. 11A - FIG. 11B, FIG. 12 above), SUGA (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2A - Fig. 2B above), and JOSEPH (see Fig. 1, Fig. 7 above) fails to teach individually-wrapped absorbent article 1, wherein the wrapping sheet 2 includes fiber bundles.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the wrapping sheet 2 in the individually-wrapped absorbent article 1 of FUJIKAWA, SUGA, and JOSEPH to include includes fiber bundles to meet design requirements. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 4, FUJIKAWA, SUGA, and JOSEPH (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of FUJIKAWA (see FIG. 1A - FIG. 1C, FIG. 4 - FIG. 5, FIG. 11A - FIG. 11B, FIG. 12 above), SUGA (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2A - Fig. 2B above), and JOSEPH (see Fig. 1, Fig. 7 above) further teaches [albeit with different phraseology] a production method for a packaged product in which the individually-wrapped absorbent article 1 is encased in a package, the production method comprising:
printing on the wrapping sheet 2;
placing the absorbent article 4 on the wrapping sheet 2,
folding over the wrapping sheet 2 in a manner such that a surface of the wrapping sheet 2, which is printed, is exposed, to wrap the absorbent article 4 with the wrapping sheet 2 to produce the individually-wrapped absorbent article 1; and
stacking the individually-wrapped absorbent article 1 with one or more individually-wrapped absorbent articles 1 and
encasing the stacked individually-wrapped absorbent article 1s in the package.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hasezawa et al. (Japan Patent Application Publication JP2021153917A): Teaches a “packaging” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Tomita et al. (Japan Patent Application Publication JP2020196541A): Teaches a “package” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Sumiya et al. (Japan Patent Application Publication JP2007097923A): Teaches a “package” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Contact
/M.J.R.M./
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735