DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office action is in response to the amendment of February 21, 2025 which amended claims 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ebinger et al (USPN 8,814,544).
Ebinger et al disclose a variable displacement oil pump (col. 8 line 36) comprising: a housing (1) including a pump container (the inner surface of the housing 1); a cam ring (14) movably contained in the pump container; a pump element (10,11) that is rotatably contained in an inner circumferential side (labeled in the annotated Fig. 1 below) of the cam ring, and forms pump chambers (12) in cooperation with the cam ring; a coil spring (8) that is disposed in the pump container, and biases the cam ring in a direction to increase an eccentricity of the cam ring (note the pivot and the spring being on the opposite side of the cam ring as arranged in Fig. 1) with respect to a rotational axis of the pump element; and a projection (labeled in annotated Fig. 1 below and clearly shown in Fig. 2) that is formed in the cam ring (see Fig. 2), extends in a longitudinal direction of the coil spring (labeled in the annotated figure) from a spring contact surface (labeled in the annotated figure) being in contact with the coil spring, and overlaps (labeled in the annotated figure) with a part of an outer periphery of the coil spring .
With regards to claim 2, Ebinger discloses the variable displacement oil pump as claimed in claim 1, wherein the housing includes a first restriction wall (labeled in the annotated figure) structured to restrict outward movement of the coil spring in a radial direction orthogonal to the rotational axis of the pump element.
With regards to claim 3, Ebinger discloses the variable displacement oil pump as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cam ring includes a second restriction wall (labeled in the annotated figure) structured to restrict inward movement of the coil spring in a radial direction orthogonal to the rotational axis of the pump element.
With regards to claim 4, Ebinger discloses the variable displacement oil pump as claimed in claim 1, wherein the projection is one in number (See Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 5, Ebinger discloses the variable displacement oil pump as claimed in claim 1, wherein the projection is positioned to overlap with a center of an outer diameter of the coil spring (when viewed from the viewpoint labeled in the annotated figure this would be the case).
With regards to claim 6, Ebinger discloses the variable displacement oil pump as claimed in claim 1, wherein the housing includes a third restriction wall (labeled in the annotated figure) structured to restrict movement of the coil spring to a side opposite to the projection in a radial direction of the coil spring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebinger et al.
Ebinger et al disclose the invention as set forth in claim 1 as set forth above and additionally Ebinger discloses that both the projection and the coil spring are disposed in an oil passage (see the annotated figure above noting the suction opening and the flow direction. Ebinger et al do not disclose that the projection is positioned downstream with respect to the coil spring, in the oil passage the projection is positioned downstream with respect to the coil spring, in the oil passage.
At the time of the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to move or locate new/additional projections at locations such as downstream in order confine the spring at the initial/design location. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art; see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that the instant applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claim 8, Ebinger et al disclose the material of claim 1 as set forth above but does not suggest a method of producing such a pump including a cam ring installation step for disposing the cam ring in the pump container; and a coil spring installation step for disposing the coil spring in the pump container after the cam ring installation step, wherein the coil spring installation step includes: retaining the coil spring in a compressed state with use of a jig including a first retainer and a second retainer, wherein the first retainer has a bifurcated shape with a cut-out part at a middle thereof and is structured to retain a first end of the coil spring, and the second retainer is structured to retain a second end of the coil spring; and disposing the coil spring in the pump container by inserting the jig between the pump container and the cam ring in order to avoid the projection with use of the cut-out part of the first retainer.
Akatsuka et al represents the closest prior art and teaches of the cam ring installation step followed by a coil spring installation step where a jig (T in Figs. 4 and 5) is used to mount a spring into the pump. There is a slot cut in the spring contact surface instead of there being a projection and therefore the jig, which is not disclosed as having a bifurcated shape with a cut-out part, does not dispose the coil spring in the pump container by inserting the jig between the pump container and the cam ring in order to avoid the projection with use of the cut-out part of the first retainer. It is the Examiner’s opinion that modification of the available prior art in the claimed manner is neither contemplated nor foreseeable without the benefit of the disclosure of the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kang, and Akatsuka et al disclose variable displacement pumps.
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
CGF
February 19, 2026