DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The file indicates that the 371 filing date is 1/20/1970. This seems to be incorrect and should be changed to 1/24/2024.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 8, and 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “the outer ring” in line 2. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an outer ring” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 8 recites “the outer ring” in line 5. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an outer ring” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 8 recites “between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing,” in line 7-8. This is repeated right after in the claim and should be deleted.
Claim 10 recites “the outer ring” in line 2. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an outer ring” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 11 recites “the outer ring” in line 5. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an outer ring” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 11 recites “between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing,” in line 7-8. This is repeated right after in the claim and should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuki et al. US 20230039041 in view of Miyatake et al. US 4719352.
Regrading claim 1, Katsuki discloses: A blower (Fig 3) comprising:
a shaft (32);
a sleeve (17) internally accommodating a part of the shaft (17 accommodates 32);
an impeller (41/43/44) rotatably supported at one side in an axial direction of the shaft, the impeller generating, by rotating, an airflow from one side in the axial direction toward another side in the axial direction (Par 1);
a first ball bearing (Top 31) including an inner ring supported by a part close to the impeller at the shaft and an outer ring fixed at an inner peripheral surface of the sleeve (Inner ring and outer ring of the top 31; as seen in the clip below);
a second ball bearing (Bottom 31) with an inner ring supported at a part farther from the impeller than the inner ring of the first ball bearing at the shaft (Inner ring and outer ring of the bottom 31; as seen in the clip below);
a first spring (35).
However, Katsuki is silent as to:
a first flange part supported at a part between the inner ring of the first ball bearing and the inner ring of the second ball bearing at the shaft and sticking outward in a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction from the shaft; and
a first spring disposed between the first flange part and the inner ring of the second ball bearing,
wherein the first flange part pushes the inner ring of the first ball bearing from the other side toward the one side when the impeller rotates.
From the same field of endeavor, Miyatake teaches:
a first flange part (Fig 6: Left 15) supported at a part between the inner ring of the first ball bearing and the inner ring of the second ball bearing at the shaft (Left 15 is supported by 11b and 10b and the spring 16) and sticking outward in a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction from the shaft; and
a first spring (16) disposed between the first flange part and the inner ring of the second ball bearing (16 is in between 15 and 10b and 11b),
wherein the first flange part pushes the inner ring of the first ball bearing from the other side toward the one side when the impeller rotates (Arrows show the force direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Katsuki’s spring with spring seats as taught by Miyatake to eliminate shake of the rotary shaft due to play in the ball bearings (abstract).
Regrading claim 2, Katsuki discloses: A blower (Fig 3) comprising:
a shaft (32);
a sleeve (17) internally accommodating a part of the shaft (17 accommodates 32);
an impeller (44) rotatably supported at one side in an axial direction of the shaft, the impeller generating, by rotating, an airflow from one side in the axial direction toward another side in the axial direction (Par 1);
a first ball bearing (Top 31) including an inner ring supported by a part close to the impeller at the shaft and an outer ring fixed at an inner peripheral surface of the sleeve (Inner ring and outer ring of the top 31; as seen in the clip below);
a second ball bearing (Bottom 31) with an inner ring supported at a part farther from the impeller than the inner ring of the first ball bearing at the shaft (Inner ring and outer ring of the bottom 31; as seen in the clip below);
a first spring (35),
wherein the inner periphery of the sleeve is provided with a sticking out part (Part that retains the top 31 towards the top; as seen in the clip below) protruding inward in the radial direction,
an end part at the one side of the first ball bearing is in contact with the sticking out part (End of the top 31 is in contact with the sticking out part; as seen in the clip below).
However, Katsuki is silent as to:
a first flange part supported at a part between the inner ring of the first ball bearing and the inner ring of the second ball bearing at the shaft and sticking outward in a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction from the shaft; and
a first spring disposed between the first flange part and the inner ring of the second ball bearing,
wherein the first flange part pushes the inner ring of the first ball bearing from the other side toward the one side when the impeller rotates.
From the same field of endeavor, Miyatake teaches:
a first flange part (Fig 6: Left 15) supported at a part between the inner ring of the first ball bearing and the inner ring of the second ball bearing at the shaft (Left 15 is supported by 11b and 10b and the spring 16) and sticking outward in a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction from the shaft; and
a first spring (16) disposed between the first flange part and the inner ring of the second ball bearing (16 is in between 15 and 10b and 11b),
wherein the first flange part pushes the inner ring of the first ball bearing from the other side toward the one side when the impeller rotates (Arrows show the force direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Katsuki’s spring with spring seats as taught by Miyatake to eliminate shake of the rotary shaft due to play in the ball bearings (abstract).
Regrading claim 3, Katsuki as modified by Miyatake In the rejection of claim 1, where Katsuki discloses:
wherein the impeller forms a part of a rotor (44 is a part of 43) rotating with respect to the sleeve along with rotation of the shaft (43 rotates with 32 with respect to 17).
Spring (Par 56: springs being preloaded).
The modification would result in: a maximum value of a load by the first spring is smaller than a load by the rotor.
Regrading claim 4, Katsuki as modified by Miyatake In the rejection of claim 1, where Katsuki discloses:
wherein the outer ring of the second ball bearing is restricted in movement in the axial direction (Fig 3: Outer race of the bottom 31 is restricted by 36).
Regrading claim 9, Katsuki as modified by Miyatake In the rejection of claim 2, where Katsuki discloses:
wherein the impeller forms a part of a rotor (44 is a part of 43) rotating with respect to the sleeve along with rotation of the shaft (43 rotates with 32 with respect to 17).
Spring (Par 56: springs being preloaded).
The modification would result in: a maximum value of a load by the first spring is smaller than a load by the rotor.
Regrading claim 10, Katsuki as modified by Miyatake In the rejection of claim 2, where Katsuki discloses:
wherein the outer ring of the second ball bearing is restricted in movement in the axial direction (Fig 3: Outer race of the bottom 31 is restricted by 36).
Claims 5, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuki et al. US 20230039041 and Miyatake et al. US 4719352 as applied to claim 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Watanabe et al. JP2002247798.
Regrading claim 5, Katsuki as modified by Miyatake In the rejection of claim 1, where Katsuki discloses:
a fixed part (Fig 3: 36) fixed at an inner peripheral surface of the sleeve and sticking out inward in the radial direction (36 is fixed to 17 sticking outwards).
However, they are silent as to:
wherein the sleeve includes a step part protruding inward in the radial direction at a part at the one side relative to the fixed part, and
the outer ring of the second ball bearing is sandwiched between the step part and the fixed part and restricted in movement in the axial direction.
From the same field of endeavor, Watanabe teaches:
wherein the sleeve includes a step part protruding inward in the radial direction at a part at the one side relative to the fixed part (Fig 1: Step of 16 that protrudes inward with spring 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Katsuki’ second bearing and fixed part with the spring and stepped portion of the sleeve as taught by Watanabe to Integrally support the bearings and allow for grease to be within the bearing (Par 18 of English translation).
The combination would result in: the outer ring of the second ball bearing is sandwiched between the step part and the fixed part and restricted in movement in the axial direction (Katsuki will have the fixed part holding the bearing and the modification with Watanabe would have the step portion with the spring on the other side to sandwich the outer ring).
Regrading claim 8, Katsuki as modified by Miyatake In the rejection of claim 1, where they are silent as to:
a second flange part supported by a part at the other side relative to the inner ring of the second ball bearing at the shaft and sticking outward in the radial direction from the shaft,
wherein the sleeve includes a step part protruding inward in the radial direction at a part between the outer ring of the first ball bearing and the outer ring of the second ball bearing in the axial direction,
a third spring is disposed between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing, between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing in the axial direction, and
the second flange part pushes the inner ring of the second ball bearing from the other side toward the one side when the impeller rotates.
From the same field of endeavor, Watanabe teaches:
a second flange part supported by a part at the other side relative to the inner ring of the second ball bearing at the shaft and sticking outward in the radial direction from the shaft (Fig 1: Extension (second flange) that holds left bearing on the left side extending from the shaft),
wherein the sleeve includes a step part protruding inward in the radial direction at a part between the outer ring of the first ball bearing and the outer ring of the second ball bearing in the axial direction (Fig 1: Step of 16 that protrudes inward with spring 21),
a third spring (21) is disposed between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing, between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing in the axial direction (21 is between the outer ring of the left bearing and the step), and
the second flange part pushes the inner ring of the second ball bearing from the other side toward the one side when the impeller rotates (extension (second flange) pushes the inner ring of the left bearing from the opposite side of the impeller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Katsuki’ second bearing and fixed part with the spring and stepped portion of the sleeve as taught by Watanabe to Integrally support the bearings and allow for grease to be within the bearing (Par 18 of English translation).
Regrading claim 11, Katsuki as modified by Miyatake In the rejection of claim 2, where they are silent as to:
a second flange part supported by a part at the other side relative to the inner ring of the second ball bearing at the shaft and sticking outward in the radial direction from the shaft,
wherein the sleeve includes a step part protruding inward in the radial direction at a part between the outer ring of the first ball bearing and the outer ring of the second ball bearing in the axial direction,
a third spring is disposed between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing, between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing in the axial direction, and
the second flange part pushes the inner ring of the second ball bearing from the other side toward the one side when the impeller rotates.
From the same field of endeavor, Watanabe teaches:
a second flange part supported by a part at the other side relative to the inner ring of the second ball bearing at the shaft and sticking outward in the radial direction from the shaft (Fig 1: Extension (second flange) that holds left bearing on the left side extending from the shaft),
wherein the sleeve includes a step part protruding inward in the radial direction at a part between the outer ring of the first ball bearing and the outer ring of the second ball bearing in the axial direction (Fig 1: Step of 16 that protrudes inward with spring 21),
a third spring (21) is disposed between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing, between the step part and the outer ring of the second ball bearing in the axial direction (21 is between the outer ring of the left bearing and the step), and
the second flange part pushes the inner ring of the second ball bearing from the other side toward the one side when the impeller rotates (extension (second flange) pushes the inner ring of the left bearing from the opposite side of the impeller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Katsuki’ second bearing and fixed part with the spring and stepped portion of the sleeve as taught by Watanabe to Integrally support the bearings and allow for grease to be within the bearing (Par 18 of English translation).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuki et al. US 20230039041, Miyatake et al. US 4719352, and Watanabe et al. JP2002247798 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kitamura US 20120003109.
Regrading claim 6, Katsuki and Miyatake as modified by Watanabe in the rejection of claim 5, where they are silent as to:
a second flange part supported by a part at the other side relative to the inner ring of the second ball bearing at the shaft and sticking outward in the radial direction from the shaft; and
a second spring disposed between the second flange part and the inner ring of the second ball bearing.
From the same field of endeavor, Kitamura teaches:
a second flange part (Fig 1; Par 49: Washer) supported by a part at the other side relative to the inner ring of the second ball bearing (40b) at the shaft and sticking outward in the radial direction from the shaft (Washer sticks out from the shaft); and
a second spring (91) disposed between the second flange part and the inner ring of the second ball bearing (91 is disposed between the washer and the inner of bearing 40b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Katsuki’s second bearing to have the spring and washer attached to the shaft as taught by Kitamura to fix and support though axial forces the bearing though the shaft (Par 49).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regrading claim 7, Katsuki, Miyatake and Watanbe as modified by Kitamura In the rejection of claim 6, where Katsuki discloses:
wherein the impeller forms a part of a rotor (44 is a part of 43) rotating with respect to the sleeve along with rotation of the shaft (43 rotates with 32 with respect to 17).
the claim then recites “a change amount of a load by the first spring and the second spring when a deflection amount of the first spring and the second spring changes by an axial gap of the first ball bearing and/or the second ball bearing is larger than a weight of the inner ring of the second ball bearing.” This is not taught by the prior art of record and is considered allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Peng US 20240196559, Ions US 20110044810 and Ehlers et al. US 11808273 discloses an inner spring similar to applicants. Nahrwold et al. US 20220381290 discloses and inner ring similar to applicants for a spring. Fleig et al. US 20210018007 discloses a stepped portion similar to applicants. Hirosawa et al. US 20140154108 discloses a flange that can read onto applicants independent claims. Takeshita et al. US 20120269665 discloses a stepped portion with an outer 3rd spring similar to applicants. Piotrowski US 3262369 discloses similar spring washers as applicants.
/Andrew J Marien/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745