DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 19/105,529 filed on 02/21/2025.
Claims 12 – 22 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1 – 11 have been cancelled. Claims 12 – 22 are new.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 03/11/2025 have been received and considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“viewing support configured” in claim 12.
“sight grid configured” in claim 12.
“a depth limiter configured” in claim 12.
“the attachment structure being articulated and configured” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 13 and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohrstrom et al. (US 20210127550 A1) further in view of Chen et al. (CN211943231U).
Regarding claim 12, Ohrstrom teaches a system for assisted assembly of a header on a combine harvester,
the system comprising: (Ohrstrom; Paragraph 0006: “FIG. 4 is a top view schematically illustrating portions of an example vehicle connection guidance system for connecting an example harvester to an example header.”)
an image capture camera, the camera attached to the combine harvester and facing the header, (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0065: “Camera 442 is carried by harvester 324 and is supported or oriented just to capture a terrain or environment in front of harvester 324 and in front of feeder house 325 as indicated by broken lines 443. Camera 442 captures a video or images of the terrain as well as images of the header 334 which is to be attached to harvester 324 with the assistance of system 420. In some implementations, harvester 324 may include multiple cameras at different angles, wherein the different captured images are merged or are selectable for viewing by operator 32.”)
wherein captured images are sent to a multimedia center; (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0098: “the real world, real-time view of the vehicle and attachment may be captured by a camera and presented on a display for viewing by an operator.”)
… a sight grid configured to guide the movement of the combine harvester, the sight grid attached to the header; and (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0084: “controller 550 further generates control signals causing the visual presentation being generated to include a target positioning outline 567, wherein outline 567 is an outline of connection interface 326 when aligned with respect to connection interface 336. The outline 567 is overlaid on either a real-time rear view of the rear face of header 334 or graphical representation or highlighting of header 334. As a result, the operator may more easily achieve precise connection of interfaces 326 and 336 by steering harvester 324 to align the depicted connection face outline 566 with the target positioning outline 567.”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure A, the sight guard is interpreted as the target positioning outline 567, attached to the header)
Figure A: Ohrstrom: Fig. 7 & Fig. 8
a depth limiter configured to indicate an assembly position, the depth limiter attached to the combine harvester (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0057: “FIG. 4 is a top view illustrating portions of an example vehicle in the form of a harvester 324, to be attached to an example attachment, in the form of a header 334, wherein the harvester 324 is provided with an example vehicle connection guidance system 420.”; Paragraph 0062: “In the example illustrated, vehicle connection guidance system 420 provides visual assistance to in operator steering harvester 324 to align connection interface 326 at the front end of feeder house 325 to connection interface 336 at a rear end of header 334. Vehicle connection guidance system 420 comprises sensor 440, camera 442, monitor 444, windshield projector 446 and external projector 448 and controller 450.”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure B, the attachment points 326 of the harvester are interpreted as the depth limiter as they attach to the header on points 336).
Figure B: Ohrstrom: Fig. 4
In sum, Ohrstrom teaches a system for assisted assembly of a header on a combine harvester, the system comprising: an image capture camera, the camera attached to the combine harvester and facing the header, wherein captured images are sent to a multimedia center; a sight grid configured to guide the movement of the combine harvester, the sight grid attached to the header; and a depth limiter configured to indicate an assembly position, the depth limiter attached to the combine harvester. Ohrstrom however does not teach a viewing support configured to provide a focus adjustment to images captured by the camera, the viewing support surrounding and attached to the camera.
Chen teaches a viewing support configured to provide a focus adjustment to images captured by the camera, the viewing support surrounding and attached to the camera; (Chen: Line 124 – 126: “The outer surface of the body 17 is located on the front surface of the agricultural machine main body 1 and a dust cover 12 is fixed by a second bolt. The surface of the dust cover 12 is glued with a protective lens 16 and the top of the dust cover 12 is welded and fixed.”,
Supplemental Note: the dust cover 17, as shown in Figures C and D, is interpreted as the viewing support).
Figure C: Chen: Fig. 1
Figure D: Chen: Fig. 4
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ohrstrom with the teachings of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Ohrstrom and Chen teach harvesters with camera sensors. Chen further teaches the use of a dust cover with a protective lens attached to the camera as to prevent any damage. This increased protection increases the life of the cameras on the harvester as they have an extra layer of protection from foreign objects whereas Ohrstrom does not teach of such cover for its cameras. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the method of a dust cover as taught by Chen with the cameras of Ohrstrom.
Regarding claim 13, Ohrstrom, as modified, teaches wherein the camera is attached to a central part of a chassis of the combine harvester (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0040: “the shape and size of the connection interface 26 may be determined by controller 50 from an image of connection interface 26 as captured by a camera carried by vehicle 24. For example, in the case of a connection interface mounted at the front of vehicle 24, a camera may be mounted at the front aimed down at the connection interface 26. In the case of connection interface 26 at a rear of vehicle 24, a camera may be mounted at a rear of vehicle 24 and aimed down at the connection interface 26.”; Paragraph 0065: “Camera 442 is carried by harvester 324 and is supported or oriented just to capture a terrain or environment in front of harvester 324 and in front of feeder house 325 as indicated by broken lines 443. Camera 442 captures a video or images of the terrain as well as images of the header 334 which is to be attached to harvester 324 with the assistance of system 420.”,
Supplemental Note: the cameras can be placed in the front or the rear of the harvester which can be interpreted as the central part of chassis as they are still on the harvester itself. The front camera placement 442 is further shown in Figure B).
Regarding claim 16, Ohrstrom, as modified, teaches wherein the multimedia center is located on the combine harvester or on a remote control unit (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0030: “Disclosed is an example harvester. The example harvester may include a feeder house, a header connection interface proximate the feeder house, a camera to capture a real-time image of an approach of the feeder house towards a header, a display to present the real-time image of the approach captured by the camera, a sensor to output steering angle signals indicative of a steering angle of the harvester during the approach and a controller to output control signals causing the display to overlay a width of the header connection interface and a representation of a width of the header on the real-time image of the approach being presented by the display.”).
Regarding claim 17, Ohrstrom, as modified, teaches wherein the depth limiter has at least one contact tab (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0075: “By providing a visual presentation of a projected path 560 of the width W2 of the connection interface, encompassing both connection points 328 (in contrast to displaying the entire width of harvester 324), controller 450 provides a visual presentation that may better assist operator 32 in aligning the multiple connection points 428 to the corresponding multiple connection points of the connection interface of the header 334 to be connected to the harvester 324 and achieving a parallel relationship between the two connection interfaces of the vehicle and the attachment.”,
Supplemental Note: the connection points 328 on the connection interface of the harvester are interpreted as the contact tab as seen below in Figure F).
Figure F: Ohrstrom: Fig. 6
Regarding claim 18, Ohrstrom teaches a method for assisted assembly of a header on a combine harvester, the method comprising: (Ohrstrom; Paragraph 0006)
activating a camera attached to the combine harvester, (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0065)
… and facing the header, (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0065)
and wherein the camera captures images that are sent and displayed on a multimedia center; (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0098)
identifying, in the captured images, (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0073)
a sight grid attached to the header to align it with the viewing support of the camera; (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0084,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure A, the sight guard is interpreted as the target positioning outline 567)
moving the combine harvester towards the header based on the alignment of the viewing support of the camera with the sight grid;
stopping the movement of the combine harvester when a depth limiter attached to the combine harvester comes into contact with the header; and
securing the header to the combine harvester (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0073: “Upon identifying the location of connection interface 336, controller 450 may determine a recommended path of harvester 1324 for aligning and connecting connection interface 326 with connection interface 336… Controller 450 may then output control signals causing the recommended path to be concurrently presented with the current projected path for 60. In response to the steering of harvester 324 by the operator 32, the current projected path for 60 being presented will also change in real time. The operator may adjust the steering of harvester 324 such that the current projected path for 60 closely approximates or coincides with the recommended path also being presented. In such a manner, system may additionally guide the operator in aligning mount connection interface 326 of harvester 324 with connection interface 336 on head 334.”,
Supplemental Note: the controller is able to create a path to attach the harvester with the head which the operator can follow the path until both interfaces are connected. This is also shown in Figure F).
In sum, Ohrstrom teaches a method for assisted assembly of a header on a combine harvester, the method comprising: activating a camera attached to the combine harvester, and facing the header, and wherein the camera captures images that are sent and displayed on a multimedia center; identifying, in the captured images, a sight grid attached to the header to align it with the viewing support of the camera; moving the combine harvester towards the header based on the alignment of the viewing support of the camera with the sight grid; stopping the movement of the combine harvester when a depth limiter attached to the combine harvester comes into contact with the header; and securing the header to the combine harvester. Ohrstrom however does not teach the camera having a viewing support.
Chen teaches the camera having a viewing support (Chen: Line 124 – 126,
Supplemental Note: the dust cover 17, as shown in Figures C and D, is interpreted as the viewing support).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ohrstrom with the teachings of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 12 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 19, Ohrstrom, as modified, teaches wherein the steps of activating the camera, (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0065)
identifying the sight grid, (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0084: “controller 550 further generates control signals causing the visual presentation being generated to include a target positioning outline 567, wherein outline 567 is an outline of connection interface 326 when aligned with respect to connection interface 336. The outline 567 is overlaid on either a real-time rear view of the rear face of header 334 or graphical representation or highlighting of header 334. As a result, the operator may more easily achieve precise connection of interfaces 326 and 336 by steering harvester 324 to align the depicted connection face outline 566 with the target positioning outline 567.”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure A, the sight guard is interpreted as the target positioning outline 567)
moving the combine harvester, and stopping the movement of the combine harvester are determined locally, in a cabin of an operator of the combine harvester, or remotely, in a remote control unit (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0073: “Upon identifying the location of connection interface 336, controller 450 may determine a recommended path of harvester 1324 for aligning and connecting connection interface 326 with connection interface 336… Controller 450 may then output control signals causing the recommended path to be concurrently presented with the current projected path for 60. In response to the steering of harvester 324 by the operator 32, the current projected path for 60 being presented will also change in real time. The operator may adjust the steering of harvester 324 such that the current projected path for 60 closely approximates or coincides with the recommended path also being presented. In such a manner, system may additionally guide the operator in aligning mount connection interface 326 of harvester 324 with connection interface 336 on head 334.”,
Supplemental Note: the controller is able to create a path to attach the harvester with the head which the operator can follow the path until both interfaces are connected. This is also shown in Figure F).
Regarding claim 20, Ohrstrom, as modified, teaches wherein securing the header to the combine harvester is performed manually by an operator (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0073: “Upon identifying the location of connection interface 336, controller 450 may determine a recommended path of harvester 1324 for aligning and connecting connection interface 326 with connection interface 336… Controller 450 may then output control signals causing the recommended path to be concurrently presented with the current projected path for 60. In response to the steering of harvester 324 by the operator 32, the current projected path for 60 being presented will also change in real time. The operator may adjust the steering of harvester 324 such that the current projected path for 60 closely approximates or coincides with the recommended path also being presented. In such a manner, system may additionally guide the operator in aligning mount connection interface 326 of harvester 324 with connection interface 336 on head 334.”,
Supplemental Note: the controller is able to create a path to attach the harvester with the head which the operator can follow the path until both interfaces are connected. This is also shown in Figure F. Since the operator is driving the harvester, it is interpreted as the operator manually combining the harvester with the header).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohrstrom et al. (US 20210127550 A1) and Chen et al. (CN211943231U) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Viaene et al. (US 10743471 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Ohrstrom, as modified, teaches wherein the camera is attached to the chassis by an attachment structure, (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0065: “Camera 442 is carried by harvester 324 and is supported or oriented just to capture a terrain or environment in front of harvester 324 and in front of feeder house 325 as indicated by broken lines 443. Camera 442 captures a video or images of the terrain as well as images of the header 334 which is to be attached to harvester 324 with the assistance of system 420.”).
In sum, Ohrstrom teaches wherein the camera is attached to the chassis by an attachment structure. Ohrstrom however does not teach the attachment structure being articulated and configured to allow the camera to be rotated.
Viaene teaches the attachment structure being articulated and configured to allow the camera to be rotated (Viaene: Abstract: “a 3D camera is provided on the harvester for capturing images in which at least the near border can be seen, to direct the unloading apparatus based on these images. The camera is rotatable mounted around a substantially horizontal axis. The angle of rotation of the rotatable camera can be arranged such that the near border always remains in the field of view of”; Col. 6, lines 24 – 34: “A preferred arrangement in order to implement it, is shown in FIGS. 4 and 5a/5b. A housing 40 made of sheet steel is fastened to the bottom of the spout 1. The light source 16 and camera 15 are respectively mounted on sheet steel brackets 43 and 44, which are affixed to the shafts 41 and 42, mounted on bearings in the housing. In this way, the supports 43/44 and also the light source and camera rotate around the axes of the shafts 41 and 42. A pivotal mechanical connection 45 between points lying at the top of the supports 43/44 ensures that the light source and camera rotate simultaneously. ”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure E, the camera and the light source and attached to an assembly which lets them rotate).
Figure E Viaene: Fig. 4, 5A & 5B
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ohrstrom with the teachings of Viaene with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Ohrstrom and Viaene teach the ability of mounting cameras on harvesters so the operators are able to monitor different parts of the machine. Viaene further teaches a housing which is able to attach a rotatable camera with a rotatable light. This allows for the cameras to capture a greater area as the housing allows it to rotate while the light source can further illuminate hard-to-see dark areas. For these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the rotating camera house and light source of Viaene with the harvester of Ohrstrom .
Regarding claim 15, Ohrstrom, as modified, does not teach wherein the camera has at least one of infrared night vision or an LED light, sound accessories, or a broadcast antenna for connection to a remote control unit.
Viaene teaches wherein the camera has at least one of infrared night vision or an LED light, sound accessories, or a broadcast antenna for connection to a remote control unit (Viaene: Col. 6, lines 22 – 34: “the light source 16 is preferably also rotatably arranged, and preferably in such a way that it rotates simultaneously with the camera. A preferred arrangement in order to implement it, is shown in FIGS. 4 and 5a/5b. A housing 40 made of sheet steel is fastened to the bottom of the spout 1. The light source 16 and camera 15 are respectively mounted on sheet steel brackets 43 and 44, which are affixed to the shafts 41 and 42, mounted on bearings in the housing. In this way, the supports 43/44 and also the light source and camera rotate around the axes of the shafts 41 and 42. A pivotal mechanical connection 45 between points lying at the top of the supports 43/44 ensures that the light source and camera rotate simultaneously. ”,
Supplemental Note: the light source is and camera are combined together in the housing, thus the light source rotates when the camera does and is interpreted to be the LED light of the camera).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ohrstrom with the teachings of Viaene with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 14 as both claim the same function regarding a camera with a light source and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohrstrom et al. (US 20210127550 A1) further in view of Chen et al. (CN211943231U) and Dighton et al. (US 20240016093 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Ohrstrom teaches a combine harvester including a header, (Ohrstrom; Paragraph 0006)
a chassis mounted on wheels or tracks, a drive engine, a cabin of an operator, (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0032: “vehicle 24 comprises a vehicle that is steerable through different actuation of ground engaging or motive members, such as wheels or tracks. In one implementation, the steering or turning of the vehicle is achieved through the output of control signals from a controller causing the different actuation of pumps, motors or mechanical or hydraulic transmissions which cause different ground engaging members on different sides of the vehicle to travel or be driven at different speeds. Such control signals may be generated in response to operator input, such as a turning of the steering wheel, movement of a joystick or on either input provided by an operator 32. In yet other implementations, the operator input controlling the turning of the vehicle may be directly transmitted by a steering transmission to the ground engaging or motive members, with or without power assist.”; Paragraph 0033: “The display 30 may be mounted to and carried by vehicle 24 for viewing by an operator 32 riding vehicle 24.”; Paragraph 0059: “harvester 324 is a front wheel drive, wherein the front wheels 329 are driven by an internal combustion engine and associated transmission and wherein the rear wheels 329 are turned to steer harvester 324. In other implementations, harvester 329 may be steered in other manners.”,
Supplemental Note: the vehicle operator is able to ride in the vehicle thus the harvester teaches a cabin for an operator)
… a camera configured to capture images of the header (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0065)
attached to a center of a front part of the chassis; (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0040: Paragraph 0065)
… a sight grid attached to the header; and (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0084,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure A, the sight guard is interpreted as the target positioning outline 567, attached to the header)
an assembly depth limiter attached to the front of the chassis (Ohrstrom: Paragraph 0057; Paragraph 0062,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure B, the attachment points 326 of the harvester are interpreted as the depth limiter as they attach to the header on points 336 which are located at the front of the harvester).
In sum, Ohrstrom teaches a combine harvester including a header, a chassis mounted on wheels or tracks, a drive engine, a cabin of an operator, a camera configured to capture images of the header attached to a center of a front part of the chassis; a sight grid attached to the header; and an assembly depth limiter attached to the front of the chassis. Ohrstrom however does not teach a viewing support that surrounds and is attached to the camera.
Chen teaches a viewing support that surrounds and is attached to the camera; (Chen: Line 124 – 126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ohrstrom with the teachings of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 12 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Ohrstrom in view of Chen teaches a primary extractor, a set of conveyor rollers, a secondary extractor, and a discharge opening, the combine harvester further comprising.
Dighton teaches a primary extractor, a set of conveyor rollers, a secondary extractor, and a discharge opening, the combine harvester further comprising: (Dighton: Paragraph 0041: “As the harvester 20 moves across a field, sugarcane plants 22 passing between the crop dividers 34 are deflected downward by one or more knockdown rollers 33 before being cut near the base of the plants 22 by a base cutter assembly 35, as would be understood by one skilled in the art. Rotating cutter disks or blades 37, guides, or paddles on the base cutter assembly 35 further direct the cut ends of the plants rearward within the harvester 20 toward successive pairs of upper feed rollers 36 and lower feed rollers 38. The feed rollers 36 and 38 are supported by a feed roller chassis 40 which is supported by the main frame 26. The upper and lower feed rollers 36 and 38 convey the stalks toward a chopper drum module 42 for chopping the stalks into billets”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ohrstrom with the teachings of Dighton with a reasonable expectation of success. Dighton teaches a harvester used to extract sugarcane plants whereas Ohrstrom teaches the ability of guiding a harvester to attach to a header. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the sugarcane harvester of Dighton to be a simple substitution with the harvester of Ohrstrom as the function of Ohrstrom of guiding the harvester to a header is still possible with the harvester as taught by Dighton.
Regarding claim 22, Ohrstrom, as modified, does not teach wherein the combine harvester is a sugarcane harvester.
Dighton teaches wherein the combine harvester is a sugarcane harvester (Dighton: Abstract: “A sugarcane harvester for harvesting sugarcane including a cutting blade to cut sugarcane.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ohrstrom with the teachings of Dighton with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/SHIVAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665