DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “wherein the loom is a.” Claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter. A claim is indefinite if the scope of the claim is not clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art. One cannot ascertain whether the loom recited in claim 15 is a Dooby Loom, Drawloom, Jacquard loom, or a different form of loom. For compact prosecution, the limitation is interpreted as --wherein the loom is a Jacquard loom--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rousseau (US 2016/0376734 A1 – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Rousseau teaches a loom for manufacturing a fabric having a variable thickness across a width of the fabric (100) by weaving together a plurality of warp yarns (201) and a plurality of weft yarns (202), the loom comprising: a plurality of heald wires (113), connected to a mechanism capable of moving the heald wires in a vertical direction between a reference position and a first position for opening the warp yarns (110), each heald wire also being provided with an eye through which one of the warp yarns passes (114), a rapier arranged downstream of the heald wires, capable of drawing a weft yarn from a bobbin (implicit; see ¶0037); and a holding device that holds the fabric arranged downstream of the plurality of heald wires and the rapier (300), comprising at least two bearing surfaces, including at least a first bearing surface (310) and a second bearing surface (320) arranged on either side of the fabric in order to compress the fabric between said first and second bearing surfaces (see ¶0039, clamping), wherein at least the first bearing surface is shaped so as to be at least partially complementary to a surface of the fabric (see Fig 9) (Fig 1-9 and ¶0011-0017,0032-0045).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, as applied to claim 1, Rousseau teaches a loom wherein the holding device comprises at least one holding bar having said at least one first bearing surface and wherein the loom is configured for manufacturing a three-dimensional fabric (Fig 1-9 and ¶0011-0017).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 1, Rousseau teaches a loom wherein the loom is a Jacquard loom (Fig 1-9 and ¶0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousseau (US 2016/0376734 A1 – of record), as applied to claim 2, and in view of Fabre (FR-3118896-A1 – of record).
Regarding claims 3-4, as applied to claim 2, Rousseau does not teach a method wherein the at least one holding bar comprises a body and a removable portion carrying the first bearing surface, the removable portion being reversibly connected to the body of the holding bar nor wherein the removable portion is in the form of a solid metal bar on which the first bearing surface is formed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, weaving devices, Fabre teaches the known technique wherein the at least one holding bar comprises a body and a removable portion carrying the first bearing surface, the removable portion being reversibly connected to the body of the holding bar nor wherein the removable portion is in the form of a solid metal bar on which the first bearing surface is formed (Fig 1-5 and ¶0043-0073).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the loom disclosed in Rousseau by applying the known technique wherein the at least one holding bar comprises a body and a removable portion carrying the first bearing surface, the removable portion being reversibly connected to the body of the holding bar nor wherein the removable portion is in the form of a solid metal bar on which the first bearing surface is formed disclosed in Fabre to the loom disclosed in Rousseau with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Claims 8, 10-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousseau (US 2016/0376734 A1 – of record) in view of Fabre (FR-3118896-A1 – of record).
Regarding claims 8, 10, and 16, Rousseau teaches a method for manufacturing a fabric having a variable thickness over a width of the fabric, the method comprising weaving a plurality of warp yarns and a plurality of weft yarns by the loom according to one of claim 1, so as to form said fabric (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Rousseau does not teach a method further comprising applying, by the holding device, a compression of the fabric by said first bearing surface and said second bearing surfaces wherein the warp yarns and the weft yarns comprise carbon and/or glass.
However, in the same field of endeavor, weaving devices, Fabre teaches the known technique of applying, by a holding device, a compression of the fabric by said first bearing surface and said second bearing surfaces (Fig 1-5 and ¶0058-0060).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the loom disclosed in Rousseau by applying the known technique of applying, by a holding device, a compression of the fabric by said first bearing surface and said second bearing surfaces disclosed in Fabre to the loom disclosed in Rousseau with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
The prior art of record teaches claimed apparatus. However, the limitations “wherein the warp yarns and the weft yarns comprise carbon and/or glass” and “wherein the fabric is a three-dimensional fabric having the variable thickness over the width of the three-dimensional fabric” recite the inclusion of a material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed and do not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
Regarding claims 11-13 and 17, Rousseau in view of Fabre teaches a method for manufacturing of a composite object comprising a fabric having a determined shape, the method comprising manufacturing said fabric by the method of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above); winding a reinforcement formed of a portion of said fabric in an imprint of a mold defining an outer surface of the composite object; closing the mold; and introducing a resin into the imprint in order to impregnate the reinforcement; wherein the composite object has a rotationally symmetric shape; and wherein the composite object is a fan casing, a turbine casing, a nozzle casing or a mixer casing for an aeronautical engine (Fabre, ¶0043-0073).
The prior art of record teaches claimed apparatus. However, the limitation “wherein the fabric is a three-dimensional fabric having the variable thickness over the width of the three-dimensional fabric” recite the inclusion of a material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed and do not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 8, Rousseau teaches a loom wherein the loom is a Jacquard loom (Fig 1-9 and ¶0036).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record discloses a method comprising the apparatus of claim 1. However, the device as claimed is deemed novel and non-obvious because the prior art of record along with a further prior art search do not teach or suggest wherein the holding device comprises a table having the second bearing surface, said second bearing surface being planar.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record discloses a method comprising the apparatus of claim 1. However, the device as claimed is deemed novel and non-obvious because the prior art of record along with a further prior art search do not teach or suggest wherein a distance between the first bearing surface and the second bearing surfaces is chosen so as to reduce an expansion of the fabric in order to reach a minimum expansion threshold.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record discloses a method comprising the apparatus of claim 8. However, the device as claimed is deemed novel and non-obvious because the prior art of record along with a further prior art search do not teach or suggest wherein a distance between the first bearing surface and the second bearing surfaces is controlled so as to minimize an expansion of the fabric.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lanfant (US 20200003061 A1) teaches a method of manufacturing a fabric using a Jacquard loom and injecting resin into a mold cavity. However, Lanfant does not teach or suggest a distance between the first bearing surface and the second bearing surfaces is controlled so as to minimize an expansion of the fabric.
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743