DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-136092, filed on 08/29/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lister et al. (US 20200056292 A1).
Considering claims 1 and 3, Lister discloses an apparatus and a method for producing an organic hydride [0021] comprising: a cathode electrode that generates an organic hydride and hydroxide ions from a subject to be hydrogenated and water ([0021] and [0022]); an anode electrode that produces oxygen by oxidizing the hydroxide ions [0022]; and an electrolyte membrane that is composed of an anion exchange membrane and is arranged between the cathode electrode and the anode electrode so as to transfer the hydroxide ions from the cathode electrode side to the anode electrode side [0022].
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yosuke et al. (ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces, 2018, vol. 10, no. 51, pp. 44396-44402).
Considering claims 1 and 3, Lister discloses an apparatus and a method for producing an organic hydride (abstract) comprising: a cathode electrode (RuO2-modified particulate ZnSe:CIGS photocathode) that generates an organic hydride and hydroxide ions from a subject to be hydrogenated and water (page 44397, 1st paragraph and Fig. 1); an anode electrode (Pt coil) that produces oxygen by oxidizing the hydroxide ions (Fig. 1); and an electrolyte membrane that is composed of an anion exchange membrane (anionic ionomer) and is arranged between the cathode electrode and the anode electrode so as to transfer the hydroxide ions from the cathode electrode side to the anode electrode side (page 44397, 1st paragraph and Fig. 1).
Considering claim 2, Yosuke discloses the anode electrode (Pt coil) is supplied with an anolyte containing water (Fig. 1), the electrolyte membrane contains water (page 44397, 1st paragraph) and the cathode electrode uses water entering from the electrolyte membrane for a reaction with the substance to be hydrogenated, because hydrogen is generated from alkaline electrolyte at RuO2-modified photocathode, therefore water from the alkaline electrolyte must pass through the anionic ionomer to reach the cathode side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lister et al. (US 20200056292 A1).
Considering claim 2, Yosuke discloses the anode electrode is supplied with an anolyte containing water [0022], and water is not substantially transferred from the anode to the cathode through the anion exchange membrane as may be the case when the membrane comprises a cation exchange membrane or a proton exchange membrane resulting in undesired dilution of the water-soluble organic feed material [0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the anion exchange membrane of Yosuke, will be capable of some water transfer, even though the intent is not to have substantial water transfer compared to cation exchange membrane or a proton exchange membrane, because the Yosuke teaches that such substantial water transfer would result in undesired dilution of the water-soluble organic feed material. Therefor, one would expect that the electrolyte membrane will contain some small (non-zero) amount of water, and the cathode electrode will be able to use that small amount of water entering from the electrolyte membrane for a reaction with the substance to be hydrogenated.
Conclusion
/WOJCIECH HASKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794