DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim does not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “its general direction” but a “general direction” is not defined in the claim and so it is not clear what is meant by “its general direction.”
Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim, as drafted, are not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Armbruster (WO 2020/025361 A1)/(US 2021/0268700).
The above WO 2020/025361 A1 document is also published as US 2021/0268700, which is the document cited herein – it is considered to be equivalent to the corresponding WIPO publication that qualifies under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Armbruster discloses an injection molding device containing a transfer device (43) with a base (4) and center part (3) arranged rotatably with respect to the base about a rotation axis (z-axis) (par. 0036) in the injection molding device (1) (Fig. 7);
wherein (a) a column (5) is arranged in a sleeve (6), said column (5) and sleeve (6) being arranged rotatable with respect to each other about the rotation axis (abstract; par. 0043; Fig. 4); and (b) the sleeve (6) comprises at least two annular segments (corresponding with “sections 8”)(Fig. 8; par. 0035, 0039) arranged along the column (5) in the direction of the z-axis.
Examiner notes that Fig. 8 shows divisions in the sleeve (6) which are not labeled in the drawing, but is of the opinion that would have implied to one of ordinary skill in the art that these are separable into segments to the point where one of ordinary skill in the art would have “at once envisaged” this from viewing Fig. 8.
However, additionally, or alternatively, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the sleeve is divided into segments as is shown in Fig. 8 of the reference above, as is required in the claim (producing annular segments).
Regarding claims 2-3, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that at least one annular segment (corresponding with 8) of the sleeve comprises a bearing (12, 13; par. 0043; Fig. 4) on the inside the center the column within the segments of the sleeve and transfers liquid (par. 0041).
Regarding claim 4, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that there is at least one groove (7) (par. 0041) on an outer surface of the column (5).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claims 1/4, and further discloses that the section or segment (8) comprises a passage (unlabeled, Fig. 8) or channel (14) for fluidly interconnecting the first groove across the segment (par. 0041).
Regarding claim 6, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 5, and further discloses that the passage (unlabeled, Fig. 8) would travel through the segment as to fluidly interconnect any grooves present and the outside of the passage (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 4, and further discloses that there is a groove arranged to receive a sealing ring (par. 0041).
Regarding claims 8-9, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the sections (8) are arranged together in a form fit manner (par. 0041 – smooth transition surface) which would require an interface between the two components as to fit to each other as shown in Fig. 8.
Regarding claims 10-11, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the column (5) is arranged stationary with respect to the base (4) and the sleeve (6) is arranged stationary with respect to the base (2) either within the central mold part or outside of it (see Figs. 3 and 8).
Regarding claim 13, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the column (5) can have a staggered design (par. 0038) with a variable diameter.
Regarding claim 15, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 14, and further discloses that the column (5) protrudes at least partially through an opening (38) of the base (4) (Figs. 5-8, par. 0036).
Regarding claim 16, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 14, and further discloses that the drive may comprise a gear box (par. 0035).
Regarding claim 17, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 14, and product claims are not limited by the process upon which they are produced. See MPEP 2113. Accordingly, it is not considered limiting that the base comprises a base plate being made at least partially by an additive manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 18, Armbruster discloses the subject matter of claim 14, and further discloses that the column (5) is supported by a coupling plate (26) or stationary part (20) of a drive (Fig. 5) (par. 0035).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742