DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “an adjustment unit”, “a blur correction adjustment unit”, “a blur correction amount generation unit”, “an exposure adjustment unit” and “a blur correction processing unit” in claims 1-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim recites “a program for causing a computer to implement an information processing method.” The claim defines a program embodying functional descriptive material. However, the claim does not define interrelated structure and function between a program and a storage medium (i.e., a memory or a non-transitory computer readable medium) that stores the program, and is thus non-statutory for that reason (i.e., “When functional descriptive material is recorded on some computer-readable medium it becomes structurally and functionally interrelated to the medium and will be statutory in most cases since use of technology permits the function of the descriptive material to be realized” – Guidelines Annex IV). That is, the scope of the presently claimed “a program” can range from paper on which the program is written, to a program simply contemplated and memorized by a person.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 7, this claim recites “the first speed” in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation as claim 7 depends on claim 5.
As to claim 8, this claim recites the limitation "the first speed" and “the second speed” in lines 5-6 of the claim. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations as claim 8 depends on claim 5.
As to claim 11, this claim recites “a blur correction following speed” in line 4 of the claim. However, it is unclear or vague regarding “speed” which is NOT defined as speed of which. For example, speed of camera, speed of object(s) or speed of other element(s), etc. A scope of “speed” is not ascertained in this claim, and therefore, claim 11 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noguchi (JP 2018072540A, hereinafter “Noguchi”).
Regarding claim 1, Noguchi discloses an information processing device (Figs. 1-9) comprising an adjustment unit (119 which also comprises 104 and 118 as described in par. [0052]: “The optical image blur correction control unit 104 and the electronic image blur correction control unit 118 may be a part of the camera system control unit 119”) that adjusts one of a value related to blur correction in an imaging device or a shutter speed, the imaging device including an electronic blur correction function that corrects a blur of image data and a control function for the shutter speed (see Fig. 1 and par. [0044]-[0045], [0052] and [0128]-[0133], wherein a value related to one or both of electronic blur correction and optical blur correction is adjusted by the system controller 119 based on a level of shaking or motion in accordance to a controlled shutter speed).
Regarding claim 2, Noguchi also discloses that the value related to blur correction includes a blur correction amount indicating an amount of movement of a cutout position of image data in electronic blur correction (see par. [0021] & [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, as also disclosed by Noguchi, the adjustment unit includes a blur correction amount adjustment unit that adjusts the blur correction amount on a basis of the shutter speed (par. [0128]-[0133]).
Regarding claim 4, Noguchi further discloses that a blur correction amount generation unit that generates a target amount of the blur correction amount, on a basis of a result of sensing of movement of the imaging device (par. [0043]-[0049], [0128]-[0133], wherein a target amount of the blur correction amount is based on the result of movement of the imaging device detected by a shake detection unit 117).
Regarding claim 5, Noguchi also discloses that the blur correction amount adjustment unit determines a minimum amount of the blur correction amount, on a basis of the target amount of the blur correction amount (see par. [0128]-[0143]. Note that when the shutter speed is equal or less than a predetermined amount, for example, 1/8 sec or longer exposure time, a minimum amount for electronic blur correction is determined. As a result, the electronic blur correction is reduced to the minimum amount).
Regarding claim 6, as also seen in Noguchi, in a case where the shutter speed is not lower than a first speed, the blur correction amount adjustment unit adjusts the blur correction amount to the target amount (see par. [0128]-[0143], wherein the shutter speed is NOT lower than 1/8 sec, the adjustment is set to the target amount which is the combination of reduced amount of optical blur correction and increased amount of electronic blur correction).
Regarding claim 10, Noguchi discloses that the value related to blur correction includes a blur correction setting value to be used in calculation of the blur correction amount (see par. [0128]-[0143]).
Regarding claim 11 (note that this claim is considered as best understanding in view of 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection above), as discussed in claims 1 and 3, the blur correction setting value includes a blur correction following speed (i.e., shutter speed, motion speed, etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Noguchi further discloses that the blur correction setting value includes a cutoff frequency (see par. [0074], [0077]-[0078], wherein a cutoff frequency is encompassed by the limit set for low frequency).
Regarding claim 13, it is seen in Noguchi that the adjustment unit includes a blur correction setting value adjustment unit that adjusts the blur correction setting value on a basis of the shutter speed (see par. [0128]-[0143]).
Regarding claim 14, Noguchi discloses a blur correction amount generation unit (118) that generates a blur correction amount on a basis of the blur correction setting value (Figs. 1-9 and par. [0044]-[0049], [0128]-[0143]).
Regarding claim 15, as further disclosed by Noguchi, a blur correction processing unit that performs a blur correction process on the image data (by cutting out image data to perform blur correction. See par. [0021], [0073]).
Regarding claim 16, it is clear in Noguchi that an imaging unit (109) that generates the image data (par. [0037]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 17, Noguchi further discloses in a case where there is an abnormality in a result of sensing of movement of the imaging device, the blur correction processing unit performs a blur correction process by cutting out a predetermined range with reference to a center of the image data (see par. [0021], [0073]. It should be noted that “an abnormality in a result of sensing of movement of the imaging device” is considered as the imaging device movement or shaking exceeds a threshold that causes image blur, and thus a cut-out processing by the electronic blur correction unit is performed to correct the image blur).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the limitations of these claims are also met by the discussion in claim 1. Noguchi further discloses a program stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium to perform the process when executed by a computer (par. [0162]-[0164]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi in view of Kojima et al. (US 2011/0016069 A1, hereinafter “Kojima”).
Regarding claim 9, although Noguchi is silent as to the adjustment unit includes an exposure adjustment unit that adjusts the shutter speed on a basis of the blur correction amount, such feature is well known in the art as taught by Kojima in Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0043]-[0044] in which a shutter speed is adjusted based on a level of image blur correction amount.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the shutter on a basis of the blur correction amount in view of the teaching of Kojima for a complete compensation of image blur, thereby further improving image quality.
Regarding claim 18, the subject matter of this claim is also met by the combined teaching of Noguchi and Kojma. Note that a plurality of pieces of adjustment data may include optical blur correction data, electronic blur correction data discussed in claims 1-3, and the shutter speed adjustment data discussed in claim 9.
Conclusion
/NHAN T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638