DETAILED ACTION
The papers submitted on 05 December 2025, canceling claims 6, 8-14, 18, 20, 30, 32-52, are acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 15-16, 19, 21-29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rocha (US 8,784,722 B2) in view of Weiler et al. (US 2022/0250331 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rocha discloses a system for ultrasonically forming touch fasteners (title/abstract), the system comprising:
a sonotrode 13 having a functional surface 12 (FIG. 3; 9:18+); and
a molding roller 15 having a plurality of fastener cavities 17 (FIG. 3; 9:18+);
Rocha also suggest that the sonotrode may include the fastener cavities (FIG. 7; 10:10+).
Rocha does not appear to expressly disclose the sonotrode has a plurality of raised and/or recessed features disposed on the functional surface of the sonotrode, and wherein the plurality of raised and/or recessed features are configured to apply ultrasonic vibrations to a substrate that is to be disposed between the functional surface and the molding roller to progressively form touch fasteners from the substrate.
However, Weiler discloses a similar device including a sonotrode 5 and roller 9 for processing webs 3, 4, and threads 2 (FIG. 1; ¶¶ 50+) wherein the sonotrode surface 7 has a plurality of grooves 8 for receiving the threads 2 (FIG. 3; ¶¶ 54+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sonotrode of Rocha to include the grooves of Weiler, in order to account for additional material such as the threads with a device known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Rocha suggests a rotary sonotrode (FIG. 4; 9:34+).
Regarding claim 3, Rocha suggests the sonotrode is a blade sonotrode (FIG. 3; 9:18+).
Regarding claim 4, Weiler’s grooves are capable of producing undisturbed portions in the substrate (FIG. 3; ¶¶ 54+).
Regarding claim 5, Rocha and Weiler suggest one or more supplementary materials, 18, 2 wherein the one or more supplementary materials is configured to be disposed between the substrate and the functional surface of the sonotrode and/or between the substrate and the molding roller (Rocha FIG. 13, 11:50+; or Weiler FIG. 1, ¶¶ 50+).
Regarding claim 7, Weiler suggests the blade sonotrode includes one or more grooves, equated with the claimed passageways disposed therein, with the passageways configured to receive a supplementary material and guide the material to a desired region between the functional surface and the molding roller (FIG. 1-3; ¶¶ 50+).
Regarding claim 15 and 16, modified Rocha’s rotary sonotrode is capable of being driven at a fixed or varied ratio (FIG. 4; 9:34+).
Regarding claim 19, Weiler suggests the grooves are formed as channels (FIG. 2, 5a-5c).
Regarding claim 21, Weiler suggests the sonotrode surface includes a relieved portion in the functional surface (FIG. 5a-c).
Regarding claim 22, Weiler suggests the functional surface is extended in a substantially similar direction to a circumference of the molding roller (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 23, Rocha suggests the molding roller includes a plurality of patches having fastener cavities 17, and wherein the plurality of raised and/or recessed features include a plurality of raised features configured to span at least a portion of at least two of the plurality of patches during rotation of the molding roller (Rocha FIG. 24, 12:27+; Weiler FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Rocha discloses the molding roller includes one or more patches having a plurality of fastener cavities and an adjacent runoff zone 46 (FIG. 10A, 24; 11:21+).
Regarding claim 25, Rocha suggests the runoff zone includes one or more textured surfaces capable of collecting surplus material during forming of the touch fasteners (FIG. 10A, 11; 11:21+).
Regarding claim 26, Rocha suggests a wavy pattern (FIG. 10A).
Regarding claim 27, Rocha suggests at least a portion of the one or more textured surfaces is recessed into the surface of the runoff zone (FIG. 10A, 11).
Regarding claim 28, Rocha suggests at least a portion of the one or more textured surfaces is raised above the surface of the runoff zone (FIG. 10A, 11).
Regarding claim 29, Weiler suggest the plurality of raised and/or recessed features include a recessed portion disposed along a side of the sonotrode functional surface (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 31, Rocha discloses a system for ultrasonically forming touch fasteners (title/abstract), the system comprising:
a rotary sonotrode 13 having a functional surface 12 (FIG. 4; 9:34+); and
a molding roller 15 having a plurality of fastener cavities 17 capable of being driven at a varied ratio (FIG. 3; 9:34+);
Rocha also suggest that the sonotrode may include the fastener cavities (FIG. 7; 10:10+).
Rocha does not appear to expressly disclose the sonotrode has a plurality of raised and/or recessed features disposed on the functional surface of the sonotrode, and wherein the plurality of raised and/or recessed features are configured to apply ultrasonic vibrations to a substrate that is to be disposed between the functional surface and the molding roller to progressively form touch fasteners from the substrate.
However, Weiler discloses a similar device including a sonotrode 5 and roller 9 for processing webs 3, 4, and threads 2 (FIG. 1; ¶¶ 50+) wherein the sonotrode surface 7 has a plurality of grooves 8 for receiving the threads 2 (FIG. 3; ¶¶ 54+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sonotrode of Rocha to include the grooves of Weiler, in order to account for additional material such as the threads with a device known in the art.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rocha (US 8,784,722 B2) in view of Weiler et al. (US 2022/0250331 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of Fischer et al. (US 9,821,511 B2)
Modified Rocha does not appear to expressly disclose one or more rollers positioned around a perimeter of the rotary sonotrode, wherein the one or more rollers are configured to pre-heat the substrate.
However, Fisher discloses similar rotary sonotrodes for processing films (title/abstract), which include a pre-heating rotary sonotrode 9/10 (FIG. 5:10+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Rocha to include the preheater of Fisher, in order to increase film speed (Fisher 5:10+).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lenser; Todd Douglas et al.
US 12623206 B2
Finn; David et al.
US 6233818 B1
Kingsford; Howard A. et al.
US 8231816 B2
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742