DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 02/21/2025. Claims 11-25 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 1-10 were cancelled by the Applicant.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "driver assistance system is configured to" in claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12, 15-19, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al., US-20190225219-A1, and in view of Kim, US-20160001776-A1, hereinafter referred to as Ueda, and Kim.
As per claim 11
Ueda discloses [a] method for operating a driver assistance system of a vehicle, the method comprising (when performing travel control according to a behavior of a preceding vehicle that is traveling in front of the own-vehicle such that the own-vehicle follows the preceding vehicle - Ueda ¶11):
checking whether a road user ahead of the vehicle is recognized in an environment of the vehicle (when performing travel control according to a behavior of a preceding vehicle that is traveling in front of the own-vehicle such that the own-vehicle follows the preceding vehicle - Ueda ¶11);
the road user is followed at least temporarily as long as predetermined functional conditions are met (when performing travel control according to a behavior of a preceding vehicle that is traveling in front of the own-vehicle such that the own-vehicle follows the preceding vehicle, following travel controller 144 generates a target trajectory such that the lateral position of the own-vehicle M matches that of the preceding vehicle m1 while maintaining a predetermined inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle m1. That is, the following travel controller 144 performs travel control according to the behavior of the preceding vehicle m1 to cause the own-vehicle M to travel following the preceding vehicle m1 - Ueda ¶11 & ¶52),
wherein the functional conditions describe at least one driving behavior of the vehicle and/or of the road user (when performing travel control according to a behavior of a preceding vehicle that is traveling in front of the own-vehicle such that the own-vehicle follows the preceding vehicle, following travel controller 144 generates a target trajectory such that the lateral position of the own-vehicle M matches that of the preceding vehicle m1 while maintaining a predetermined inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle m1. That is, the following travel controller 144 performs travel control according to the behavior of the preceding vehicle m1 to cause the own-vehicle M to travel following the preceding vehicle m1 - Ueda ¶11 & ¶52).
Ueda does not specifically disclose offering a standard transverse guidance mode with automated transverse guidance of the vehicle;
wherein, in the standard transverse guidance mode, [preceding vehicle is followed];
wherein a following travel mode is also offered if the road user is recognized;
wherein, in the following travel mode, the road user is followed with automated transverse guidance independently of whether the functional conditions are met; and
wherein, in the following travel mode, an output is issued which describes that the road user is being followed independently of whether the functional conditions are met.
However, Kim teaches offering a standard transverse guidance mode with automated transverse guidance of the vehicle (as shown FIG. 5, when the vehicle icon 4 for a lane along which a preceding vehicle leaves an expressway is selected, the host vehicle may be assisted to automatically follow a vehicle of the selected vehicle icon 4 so as to be able to safely leave the expressway without directly controlling steering of the driver, and the ACC may be continuously performed - Kim ¶78);
wherein, in the standard transverse guidance mode, [preceding vehicle is followed] (as shown FIG. 5, when the vehicle icon 4 for a lane along which a preceding vehicle leaves an expressway is selected, the host vehicle may be assisted to automatically follow a vehicle of the selected vehicle icon 4 so as to be able to safely leave the expressway without directly controlling steering of the driver, and the ACC may be continuously performed - Kim ¶78);
wherein a following travel mode is also offered if the road user is recognized (control method may further include…select another vehicle traveling ahead of the host vehicle as a preceding vehicle when the selected target lane is not the lane in which the host vehicle travels - Kim ¶14);
wherein, in the following travel mode, the road user is followed with automated transverse guidance independently of whether the functional conditions are met; and wherein, in the following travel mode, an output is issued which describes that the road user is being followed independently of whether the functional conditions are met (control method may further include…select another vehicle traveling ahead of the host vehicle as a preceding vehicle when the selected target lane is not the lane in which the host vehicle travels, the driver may select…a vehicle icon displayed on the display unit 50, and the…vehicle icon may be changed in color on the display unit 50 so as to enable the driver to recognize the selection of…the vehicle., after the lane is changed, the ACC may be continuously performed such that the vehicle in front of the host vehicle is chosen as a preceding vehicle, as shown FIG. 5, when the vehicle icon 4 for a lane along which a preceding vehicle leaves an expressway is selected, the host vehicle may be assisted to automatically follow a vehicle of the selected vehicle icon 4 so as to be able to safely leave the expressway without directly controlling steering of the driver, and the ACC may be continuously performed - Kim ¶14 & ¶49 & ¶69 & ¶78).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Kim teaches a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC), as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improvement in fuel efficiency and for following the preceding vehicle, see Kim ¶8 & ¶33 for details.
As per claim 12
Ueda further discloses wherein the functional conditions describe a speed of the vehicle, a speed of the road user, a transverse acceleration of the vehicle, a transverse acceleration of the road user, an orientation of the vehicle, an orientation of the road user and/or a relative position between the vehicle and the road user (The recognizer 130 recognizes states of an object near the own-vehicle M such as the position, speed and acceleration thereof on the basis of information input from the camera 10 , the radar device 12 , and the finder 14 via the object recognition device 16 …The “states” of the object may include an acceleration or jerk of the object or a “behavior state” thereof (for example, whether or not the object is changing or is going to change lanes)., preceding vehicle turning recognizer 132 may estimate the turning angle on the basis of the lateral acceleration of the preceding vehicle. - Ueda ¶39 & ¶54).
As per claim 15
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein an output is issued before the road user, who is performing a lane change maneuver or a turning maneuver, is followed.
However, Kim teaches wherein an output is issued before the road user, who is performing a lane change maneuver or a turning maneuver, is followed (driver may select a target vehicle or a target lane of the ACC using the input unit 40. The display unit 50 displays the icons indicating the conditions in front of the host vehicle recorded by the lane extraction unit 20 and the cameras, and provides the driver with the icons., the driver may select…a vehicle icon displayed on the display unit 50, and the…vehicle icon may be changed in color on the display unit 50 so as to enable the driver to recognize the selection of…the vehicle, after the lane is changed, the ACC may be continuously performed such that the vehicle in front of the host vehicle is chosen as a preceding vehicle - Kim ¶48 & ¶49 & ¶69).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Kim teaches a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC), as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improvement in fuel efficiency and for following the preceding vehicle, see Kim ¶8 & ¶33 for details.
As per claim 16
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein an output is issued before the road user, who is performing a lane change maneuver or a turning maneuver, is followed.
However, Kim teaches wherein an output is issued before the road user, who is performing a lane change maneuver or a turning maneuver, is followed (driver may select a target vehicle or a target lane of the ACC using the input unit 40. The display unit 50 displays the icons indicating the conditions in front of the host vehicle recorded by the lane extraction unit 20 and the cameras, and provides the driver with the icons., the driver may select…a vehicle icon displayed on the display unit 50, and the…vehicle icon may be changed in color on the display unit 50 so as to enable the driver to recognize the selection of…the vehicle, after the lane is changed, the ACC may be continuously performed such that the vehicle in front of the host vehicle is chosen as a preceding vehicle - Kim ¶48 & ¶49 & ¶69).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Kim teaches a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC), as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improvement in fuel efficiency and for following the preceding vehicle, see Kim ¶8 & ¶33 for details.
As per claim 17
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein a display is provided which describes the environment of the vehicle, wherein the road user is highlighted in the display.
However, Kim teaches wherein a display is provided which describes the environment of the vehicle, wherein the road user is highlighted in the display (driver may select a target vehicle or a target lane of the ACC using the input unit 40. The display unit 50 displays the icons indicating the conditions in front of the host vehicle recorded by the lane extraction unit 20 and the cameras, and provides the driver with the icons., the driver may select…a vehicle icon displayed on the display unit 50, and the…vehicle icon may be changed in color on the display unit 50 so as to enable the driver to recognize the selection of…the vehicle, after the lane is changed, the ACC may be continuously performed such that the vehicle in front of the host vehicle is chosen as a preceding vehicle - Kim ¶48 & ¶49 & ¶69).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Kim teaches a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC), as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improvement in fuel efficiency and for following the preceding vehicle, see Kim ¶8 & ¶33 for details.
As per claim 18
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein, in a case in which a plurality of road users ahead of the vehicle is recognized, the plurality of road users are displayed to the driver and are offered for selection for following in the following travel mode.
However, Kim teaches wherein, in a case in which a plurality of road users ahead of the vehicle is recognized, the plurality of road users are displayed to the driver and are offered for selection for following in the following travel mode (driver may select a target vehicle or a target lane of the ACC using the input unit 40. The display unit 50 displays the icons indicating the conditions in front of the host vehicle recorded by the lane extraction unit 20 and the cameras, and provides the driver with the icons., the driver may select…a vehicle icon displayed on the display unit 50, and the…vehicle icon may be changed in color on the display unit 50 so as to enable the driver to recognize the selection of…the vehicle, FIG. 3 is a schematic view showing the display unit 50 when the driver selects the target vehicle in the road situation of FIG. 2., When the driver selects one of vehicle icons that correspond to vehicles in front of the host vehicle 1 and are displayed on the display unit 50 using the input unit 40, the selected vehicle icon 2 may be chosen as the target vehicle of the ACC, and the ACC may be continuously performed to follow the target vehicle for the selected vehicle icon 2., after the lane is changed, the ACC may be continuously performed such that the vehicle in front of the host vehicle is chosen as a preceding vehicle - Kim ¶48 & ¶49 & ¶64 & ¶65 & ¶69).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Kim teaches a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC), as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improvement in fuel efficiency and for following the preceding vehicle, see Kim ¶8 & ¶33 for details.
As per claim 19
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein, in a case in which a plurality of road users ahead of the vehicle is recognized, the plurality of road users are displayed to the driver and are offered for selection for following in the following travel mode.
However, Kim teaches wherein, in a case in which a plurality of road users ahead of the vehicle is recognized, the plurality of road users are displayed to the driver and are offered for selection for following in the following travel mode (driver may select a target vehicle or a target lane of the ACC using the input unit 40. The display unit 50 displays the icons indicating the conditions in front of the host vehicle recorded by the lane extraction unit 20 and the cameras, and provides the driver with the icons., the driver may select…a vehicle icon displayed on the display unit 50, and the…vehicle icon may be changed in color on the display unit 50 so as to enable the driver to recognize the selection of…the vehicle, FIG. 3 is a schematic view showing the display unit 50 when the driver selects the target vehicle in the road situation of FIG. 2., When the driver selects one of vehicle icons that correspond to vehicles in front of the host vehicle 1 and are displayed on the display unit 50 using the input unit 40, the selected vehicle icon 2 may be chosen as the target vehicle of the ACC, and the ACC may be continuously performed to follow the target vehicle for the selected vehicle icon 2., after the lane is changed, the ACC may be continuously performed such that the vehicle in front of the host vehicle is chosen as a preceding vehicle - Kim ¶48 & ¶49 & ¶64 & ¶65 & ¶69).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Kim teaches a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC), as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improvement in fuel efficiency and for following the preceding vehicle, see Kim ¶8 & ¶33 for details.
As per claim 24
Ueda discloses [a] driver assistance system for a vehicle, wherein the driver assistance system is configured to (when performing travel control according to a behavior of a preceding vehicle that is traveling in front of the own-vehicle such that the own-vehicle follows the preceding vehicle - Ueda ¶11):
check whether a road user driving ahead of the vehicle is recognized in an environment of the vehicle (when performing travel control according to a behavior of a preceding vehicle that is traveling in front of the own-vehicle such that the own-vehicle follows the preceding vehicle - Ueda ¶11);
[transverse preceding vehicle control] at least temporarily follows the road user while predetermined functional conditions are met (when performing travel control according to a behavior of a preceding vehicle that is traveling in front of the own-vehicle such that the own-vehicle follows the preceding vehicle, following travel controller 144 generates a target trajectory such that the lateral position of the own-vehicle M matches that of the preceding vehicle m1 while maintaining a predetermined inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle m1. That is, the following travel controller 144 performs travel control according to the behavior of the preceding vehicle m1 to cause the own-vehicle M to travel following the preceding vehicle m1 - Ueda ¶11 & ¶52),
wherein the functional conditions describe at least one driving behavior of the vehicle and/or of the road user (when performing travel control according to a behavior of a preceding vehicle that is traveling in front of the own-vehicle such that the own-vehicle follows the preceding vehicle, following travel controller 144 generates a target trajectory such that the lateral position of the own-vehicle M matches that of the preceding vehicle m1 while maintaining a predetermined inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle m1. That is, the following travel controller 144 performs travel control according to the behavior of the preceding vehicle m1 to cause the own-vehicle M to travel following the preceding vehicle m1 - Ueda ¶11 & ¶52).
Ueda does not specifically disclose offer a standard transverse guidance mode with automated transverse guidance of the vehicle;
wherein the vehicle in the standard transverse guidance mode [preceding vehicle is followed];
wherein the driver assistance system is also configured to additionally offer a following travel mode when the road user is recognized,
wherein the vehicle follows the road user in the following travel mode with automated transverse guidance, independently of whether the functional conditions are met, and in the following travel mode, an output is issued which describes that the road user is being followed independently of whether the functional conditions are met.
However, Kim teaches offer a standard transverse guidance mode with automated transverse guidance of the vehicle (as shown FIG. 5, when the vehicle icon 4 for a lane along which a preceding vehicle leaves an expressway is selected, the host vehicle may be assisted to automatically follow a vehicle of the selected vehicle icon 4 so as to be able to safely leave the expressway without directly controlling steering of the driver, and the ACC may be continuously performed - Kim ¶78);
wherein the vehicle in the standard transverse guidance mode [preceding vehicle is followed] (as shown FIG. 5, when the vehicle icon 4 for a lane along which a preceding vehicle leaves an expressway is selected, the host vehicle may be assisted to automatically follow a vehicle of the selected vehicle icon 4 so as to be able to safely leave the expressway without directly controlling steering of the driver, and the ACC may be continuously performed - Kim ¶78);
wherein the driver assistance system is also configured to additionally offer a following travel mode when the road user is recognized (control method may further include…select another vehicle traveling ahead of the host vehicle as a preceding vehicle when the selected target lane is not the lane in which the host vehicle travels - Kim ¶14);
wherein the vehicle follows the road user in the following travel mode with automated transverse guidance, independently of whether the functional conditions are met, and in the following travel mode, an output is issued which describes that the road user is being followed independently of whether the functional conditions are met (control method may further include…select another vehicle traveling ahead of the host vehicle as a preceding vehicle when the selected target lane is not the lane in which the host vehicle travels, the driver may select…a vehicle icon displayed on the display unit 50, and the…vehicle icon may be changed in color on the display unit 50 so as to enable the driver to recognize the selection of…the vehicle., after the lane is changed, the ACC may be continuously performed such that the vehicle in front of the host vehicle is chosen as a preceding vehicle, as shown FIG. 5, when the vehicle icon 4 for a lane along which a preceding vehicle leaves an expressway is selected, the host vehicle may be assisted to automatically follow a vehicle of the selected vehicle icon 4 so as to be able to safely leave the expressway without directly controlling steering of the driver, and the ACC may be continuously performed - Kim ¶14 & ¶49 & ¶69 & ¶78).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Kim teaches a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a control method for a host vehicle having adaptive cruise control (ACC), as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improvement in fuel efficiency and for following the preceding vehicle, see Kim ¶8 & ¶33 for details.
As per claim 25
Ueda further discloses [a] passenger car comprising a driver assistance system (own-vehicle - Ueda ¶7).
Claims 13-14 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda, and Kim, as per claims 11, and 12, respectively, and further in view of Takaso et al., US-20170225686-A1, hereinafter referred to as Takaso.
As per claim 13
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein, in the following travel mode, the road user is also followed when the road user performs a lane change maneuver and/or when the road user performs a turning maneuver.
However, Takaso teaches wherein, in the following travel mode, the road user is also followed when the road user performs a lane change maneuver and/or when the road user performs a turning maneuver (flow may proceed to S106, in which determination may be made as to whether a branch road of the lane is detected ahead of the own vehicle, and whether the turn signal switch of the preceding vehicle is turned ON to show an intention of the preceding vehicle to change lanes toward the branch road, Upon processing of the flow to S108, determination may be made as to whether the advancing direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with that of the own vehicle at the branch road…the advancing direction of the own vehicle may be a guided route set by a navigation system of the own vehicle position information detector 13, and the determination may be made on the basis of whether the diverging direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with the guided route, When the advancing direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with that of the own vehicle at the branch route (a case in (c) of FIG. 5) as a result of the determination made in S108, the flow may proceed back to S105 to continuously carry out the follow-up control to follow the preceding vehicle - Takaso ¶52 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Takaso teaches a vehicle traveling control apparatus that makes it possible to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a vehicle traveling control apparatus that makes it possible to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained, as taught by Takaso, with a reasonable expectation of success to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained, utilizing the lane line information and the preceding vehicle information properly, see Takaso ¶110 for details.
As per claim 14
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein, in the following travel mode, the road user is also followed when the road user performs a lane change maneuver and/or when the road user performs a turning maneuver.
However, Takaso teaches wherein, in the following travel mode, the road user is also followed when the road user performs a lane change maneuver and/or when the road user performs a turning maneuver (flow may proceed to S106, in which determination may be made as to whether a branch road of the lane is detected ahead of the own vehicle, and whether the turn signal switch of the preceding vehicle is turned ON to show an intention of the preceding vehicle to change lanes toward the branch road, Upon processing of the flow to S108, determination may be made as to whether the advancing direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with that of the own vehicle at the branch road…the advancing direction of the own vehicle may be a guided route set by a navigation system of the own vehicle position information detector 13, and the determination may be made on the basis of whether the diverging direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with the guided route, When the advancing direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with that of the own vehicle at the branch route (a case in (c) of FIG. 5) as a result of the determination made in S108, the flow may proceed back to S105 to continuously carry out the follow-up control to follow the preceding vehicle - Takaso ¶52 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Takaso teaches a vehicle traveling control apparatus that makes it possible to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a vehicle traveling control apparatus that makes it possible to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained, as taught by Takaso, with a reasonable expectation of success to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained, utilizing the lane line information and the preceding vehicle information properly, see Takaso ¶110 for details.
As per claim 22
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein the following travel mode is not aborted when the turn signals are activated by the driver.
However, Takaso teaches wherein the following travel mode is not aborted when the turn signals are activated by the driver (flow may proceed to S106, in which determination may be made as to whether a branch road of the lane is detected ahead of the own vehicle, and whether the turn signal switch of the preceding vehicle is turned ON to show an intention of the preceding vehicle to change lanes toward the branch road, Upon processing of the flow to S108, determination may be made as to whether the advancing direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with that of the own vehicle at the branch road…the advancing direction of the own vehicle may be a guided route set by a navigation system of the own vehicle position information detector 13, and the determination may be made on the basis of whether the diverging direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with the guided route, When the advancing direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with that of the own vehicle at the branch route (a case in (c) of FIG. 5) as a result of the determination made in S108, the flow may proceed back to S105 to continuously carry out the follow-up control to follow the preceding vehicle - Takaso ¶52 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Takaso teaches a vehicle traveling control apparatus that makes it possible to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a vehicle traveling control apparatus that makes it possible to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained, as taught by Takaso, with a reasonable expectation of success to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained, utilizing the lane line information and the preceding vehicle information properly, see Takaso ¶110 for details.
As per claim 23
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein the following travel mode is not aborted when the turn signals are activated by the driver.
However, Takaso teaches wherein the following travel mode is not aborted when the turn signals are activated by the driver (flow may proceed to S106, in which determination may be made as to whether a branch road of the lane is detected ahead of the own vehicle, and whether the turn signal switch of the preceding vehicle is turned ON to show an intention of the preceding vehicle to change lanes toward the branch road, Upon processing of the flow to S108, determination may be made as to whether the advancing direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with that of the own vehicle at the branch road…the advancing direction of the own vehicle may be a guided route set by a navigation system of the own vehicle position information detector 13, and the determination may be made on the basis of whether the diverging direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with the guided route, When the advancing direction of the preceding vehicle coincides with that of the own vehicle at the branch route (a case in (c) of FIG. 5) as a result of the determination made in S108, the flow may proceed back to S105 to continuously carry out the follow-up control to follow the preceding vehicle - Takaso ¶52 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Takaso teaches a vehicle traveling control apparatus that makes it possible to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with a vehicle traveling control apparatus that makes it possible to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained, as taught by Takaso, with a reasonable expectation of success to perform a steering control precisely depending on information to be obtained, utilizing the lane line information and the preceding vehicle information properly, see Takaso ¶110 for details.
Claims 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda, and Kim, as per claims 11, and 12, respectively, and further in view of Yukawa et al., US-20200369266-A1, hereinafter referred to as Yukawa.
As per claim 20
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein an emergency braking function and/or side collision warning is activated or remains activated in the following travel mode.
However, Yukawa teaches wherein an emergency braking function and/or side collision warning is activated or remains activated in the following travel mode (the safety of the preceding vehicle can be determined by acquiring an image captured by the sensor of the preceding vehicle and analyzing the image acquired from the preceding vehicle in the host vehicle, for example. In this case, it is possible to perform control such as increasing the following distance from the preceding vehicle more than usual or braking hard on the basis of the result of the determination of the safety, control signal includes a control signal for a collision warning, a control signal for following the preceding vehicle, a control signal for controlling braking, or a control signal for controlling a following distance between the preceding vehicle and the host vehicle - Yukawa ¶36 & ¶277).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Yukawa teaches driving assistance using ADAS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with driving assistance using ADAS, as taught by Yukawa, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the safety of the host vehicle can be improved, see Yukawa ¶33 for details.
As per claim 21
Ueda does not specifically disclose wherein an emergency braking function and/or side collision warning is activated or remains activated in the following travel mode.
However, Yukawa teaches wherein an emergency braking function and/or side collision warning is activated or remains activated in the following travel mode (the safety of the preceding vehicle can be determined by acquiring an image captured by the sensor of the preceding vehicle and analyzing the image acquired from the preceding vehicle in the host vehicle, for example. In this case, it is possible to perform control such as increasing the following distance from the preceding vehicle more than usual or braking hard on the basis of the result of the determination of the safety, control signal includes a control signal for a collision warning, a control signal for following the preceding vehicle, a control signal for controlling braking, or a control signal for controlling a following distance between the preceding vehicle and the host vehicle - Yukawa ¶36 & ¶277).
Ueda discloses a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly. Yukawa teaches driving assistance using ADAS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ueda, a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that allows an own-vehicle to pass through an intersection more smoothly, with driving assistance using ADAS, as taught by Yukawa, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the safety of the host vehicle can be improved, see Yukawa ¶33 for details.
Conclusion
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668