DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first action on the merits for application 19/105,659 filed on 02/21/2025. Claims 1-5 are pending; claim 1-5 will be examined as claims 1-5 are generic to all embodiments.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (Fig.4a-4b) in the reply filed on 3/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
The terms “connect” or couple” is defined as rotational elements being linked so they rotate together or transmit torque between them either directly or indirectly via another member(See ¶[0018]-[0019])
The term “fixed” is defined as rotational element being constrained from rotation relative to a housing either directly or indirectly via another member (see ¶[0020])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a gear device which is implemented by coupling respective rotational elements of a first planetary gear mechanism and a second planetary gear mechanism at one place and in which, on an alignment chart, a second rotational part which is the coupled rotational elements is disposed between a first rotational part and a third rotational part, and a fifth rotational part is disposed between the second rotational part and a fourth rotational part, wherein the input element is connected to the first rotational part, the output element is connected to the fifth rotational part, the third rotational part is fixed, the fourth rotational part is selectively connectable to a fixed element or the first rotational part, and the fifth rotational part is connectable to the first rotational part.” It is unclear because “alignment chart” is merely a graphical presentation or conceptual diagram (see Fig.4b or ¶[0071]-[0073]) to illustrate rotation-speed relationship not a physical structural component of claimed gear device. The term “rotational part” is not a recognized term in the transmission or planetary gear art and is not clearly defined in the specification. Although the specification, ¶[0071]-[0073] described rotational parts P1-P5 as being implemented by various gear elements or combination of gear elements, it is unclear whether “rotational part” refers to a physical gear or some other structural element. The claims nor the specification specify the structural or functional boundaries of the claimed “rotational parts”.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the first planetary gear mechanism is a planetary gear mechanism including a first rotational element, a second rotational element, and a third rotational element, the second rotational element being disposed between the first rotational element and the third rotational element on the alignment chart, the second planetary gear mechanism is a planetary gear mechanism including a fourth rotational element, a fifth rotational element, and a sixth rotational element, the fifth rotational element being disposed between the fourth rotational element and the sixth rotational element on the alignment chart, the first rotational part is implemented by the first rotational element, the second rotational part is implemented by coupling the second rotational element and the sixth rotational element, the third rotational part is implemented by the third rotational element, the fourth rotational part is implemented by the fourth rotational element, and the fifth rotational part is implemented by the fifth rotational element.” It is unclear because “alignment chart” is merely a graphical presentation or conceptual diagram (see Fig.4b or ¶[0071]-[0073]) to illustrate rotation-speed relationship not a physical structural component of claimed gear device. The term “rotational part” is not a recognized term in the transmission or planetary gear art and is not clearly defined in the specification. Secondly, the term “implemented by” lacks of definite meaning in transmission and mechanical art and it is not defined in the specification. It is unclear whether “implemented by” requires the recited rotational part to be the claimed gear, is physically formed from the gear element, is functionally represented by the gear element or is merely associated with the gear element.
Claims 3-5 are also rejected due to their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshidari (US 5194055 A)
Claim 1: Oshidari discloses a unit (Fig.9-11) comprising: an input element (10);
an output element (12); and
a gear device (g1 and g2) which is implemented by coupling respective rotational elements of a first planetary gear mechanism (g1) and a second planetary gear mechanism (g2) at one place and in which, on an alignment chart (Fig.11),
a second rotational part (intermediate shaft between r1 and r2 via pc2) which is the coupled rotational elements (r1 and pc2) ;
a first rotational part (intermediate shaft between 10 and pc1) and a third rotational part (intermediate shaft between b1 and s1), and
a fifth rotational part (intermediate shaft between c2 and pc2 via s2);
the second rotational part (intermediate shaft between r1 and r2 via pc2) and a fourth rotational part (intermediate shaft between s2 and b2),
wherein the input element (10) is connected to the first rotational part (pc1),
the output element (12) is connected to (via r2, pc2) the fifth rotational part (intermediate shaft between c2 and pc2 via s2) (see Fig.4),
the third rotational part (intermediate shaft between b1 and s1) is fixed (e.g. fixed via b1),
the fourth rotational part (intermediate shaft between s2 and b2) is selectively connectable (b2) to a fixed element (housing)
and the fifth rotational part (intermediate shaft between c2 and pc2 via s2) is connectable to (via pc1) the first rotational part (intermediate shaft between 10 and pc1).
Oshidari does not disclose a second rotational part which is the coupled rotational elements is disposed between a first rotational part and a third rotational part, and a fifth rotational part is disposed between the second rotational part and a fourth rotational part on the alignment chart.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the rotational parts on the alignment chart as claimed in order to have clear representation of torque path and, clarify which elements acts as input reaction or output member, and simplify calculation of torque distribution. Furthermore, alignment chart are analytical diagrams representing kinematic relationship and such rearrangement does not change torque transmission paths, or introduce new structural element, or modify physical planetary gear mechanism.
Claim 2: Oshidari as modified device discloses the unit according to claim 1, wherein the first planetary gear mechanism (g1) is a planetary gear mechanism including a first rotational element (pc1), a second rotational element (r1), and a third rotational element (s1), the second rotational element (r1) being disposed between the first rotational element (pc1) and the third rotational element (s1) on the alignment chart (see fig.11),
the second planetary gear mechanism (g2) is a planetary gear mechanism including a fourth rotational element (s2), a fifth rotational element (pc2), and a sixth rotational element (r2), the fifth rotational element (pc2) being disposed between the fourth rotational element (s2) and the sixth rotational element (r2) on the alignment chart (fig.11),
the first rotational part (intermediate shaft between 10 and pc1) is implemented by the first rotational element (pc1),
the second rotational part (intermediate shaft between r1 and r2 via pc2) is implemented by coupling (via pc2) the second rotational element (r1) and the sixth rotational element (r2),
the third rotational part (intermediate shaft between b1 and s1) is implemented by the third rotational element (s1),
the fourth rotational part (intermediate shaft between s2 and b2) is implemented by the fourth rotational element (s2), and
the fifth rotational part (intermediate shaft between c2 and pc2 via s2) is implemented by the fifth rotational element (pc2).
Claim 3. Oshidari as modified device discloses the unit according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first engagement element (c2); a second engagement element (c3); and a third engagement element (b2),
wherein one side (left side) of the first engagement element (c2) is connected to the first rotational part (intermediate shaft between 10 and pc1),
the other side of the first engagement element (c2) is connected to (via s2) the fifth rotational part (intermediate shaft between c2 and pc2 via s2),
one side of the second engagement element (c3) is connected to (via r1, pc1) the first rotational part (intermediate shaft between 10 and pc1),
the other side of the second engagement element (c3) is connected to the fourth rotational part (intermediate shaft between s2 and b2),
one side of the third engagement element (b2) is connected to the fourth rotational part (intermediate shaft between s2 and b2),
and the other side of the third engagement element (b2) is fixed to the fixed element (housing).
Claim 4. Oshidari as modified device discloses the unit according to claim 3, wherein the one side of the first engagement element (c2) and the one side of the second engagement element (c3) are implemented as an integrated component (Under BRI the phrase “integrated component” is interpreted as share the same structural member; as shown in Fig.9 both clutches connects g1 or share structural member g1.).
Claim 5: Oshidari as modified device discloses the unit according to claim 3, wherein the other side of the second engagement element (c3) and the one side of the third engagement element (B2) are implemented as an integrated component (as b2 and c3 are both connects to s2).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim (US 20120322601 A) discloses two planetary gearsets
Klemen (US 20060270513 A1) discloses ring is fixed and another ring is brake.
Conclusion
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3655a
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655