DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 5, 12, 13, 18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: “wt. - %” should be “wt. %” or “wt.%”. Appropriate correction is required.
Further, applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “the deposition head” at line 4. The recitation lacks antecedent basis in the claims. Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 10, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Memari et al. (US 2021/0396012).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 14, and 17, Memari et al. teach a method of placing a flowable construction material comprising a hydraulic cement and aggregates for building structural and architectural components layer-by- layer, said method comprising: conveying the flowable construction material to a deposition head, placing the construction material through an outlet of the deposition head while moving the deposition head, in order to form a layer of construction material, wherein successive layers of construction material are placed on top of each other (paragraphs [0007], [0009] – cement, aggregate, water; [0018], [0020], [0027], [0035]-[0038], [0057], [0060] – water reducer; [0069] – pumped; [0120]-[0123]; Figure 11), wherein the aggregates comprise recycled concrete aggregates (paragraph [0074]).
As to claim 10, Memari et al. teach adding layers and these layers do not collapse (paragraphs [0067] and [0068]). As such, the required adjustment is understood to have taken place to the extent required by the claim.
Regarding claim 16, Memari et al. teach a method comprising providing a construction material comprising a hydraulic cement and aggregates for building structural and architectural components layer-by-layer and placing the construction material through an outlet of the deposition head while moving the deposition head, in order to form a layer of construction material, wherein successive layers of construction materials are placed on top of each other (paragraphs [0007], [0009] – cement, aggregate, water; [0018], [0020], [0027], [0035]-[0038], [0057], [0060] – water reducer; [0069] – pumped; [0120]-[0123]; Figure 11), wherein the aggregates comprise recycled concrete aggregates (paragraph [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2021/0261461) in view of any one of Mo et al. (US 2021/0129377), Le Roux (US 2020/0284025), White et al. (US 2017/0365365) or Austin et al. (US 2014/0252668).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Xiao et al. teach a method of placing a flowable construction material comprising a hydraulic cement and aggregates for building structural and architectural components layer-by- layer (Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0009] and [0073]-[0075]) said method comprising: conveying the flowable construction material to a deposition head/printer and placing the construction material through an outlet of the deposition head in order to form a layer of construction material, wherein successive layers of construction material are placed on top of each other (paragraphs [0046]-[0048], [0055]-[0062], [0076], [0078], [0080] and [0082]), wherein the aggregates comprise recycled concrete aggregates (Abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0008], [0012], [0023]-[0028], [0063]-[0068], and [0087] Table 1). Xiao et al. do not explicitly teach the corresponding deposition head/printer is moving during the forming of the layers.
However, each of Mo et al. (Figure 1; paragraphs [0020]-[0023]), Le Roux (Figures 1-3; paragraphs [0041], [0044] and [0081]), White et al. (Figures 1, 2 and 5; paragraphs [0058] and [0061]) or Austin et al. (Abstract; Figures 1 and 4; paragraphs [0050] and [0089]) teach analogous methods wherein the deposition head is moved to form the layers.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xiao et al. and any one of the secondary references and to have moved the corresponding deposition head of Xiao et al., as suggested by any one of the secondary references, for the purpose, as suggested by the references, of effectively depositing sufficient quantities of the cement in a rapid and cost effective manner.
As to claims 2, 3, 12, 13, and 18, Xiao et al. teach and suggest amounts of aggregates and recycled concrete aggregates that include amounts within and that overlap the claimed ranges and further suggest optimizing these levels, as required to achieve a desired product (paragraphs [0005]-[0009], [0015]-[0017], [0074], [0075], [0077], [0079], [0081] and [0087]). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
As to claims 4, 5, and 19, Xiao et al. teach and suggest particle sizes within and which overlap the claimed ranges (paragraphs [0012], [0021]-[0035]). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
As to claims 6-8 and 20, Xiao et al. teach and suggest utilizing the same claimed and disclosed ingredients. The same claimed effects and physical properties would be realized or rendered prima facie obvious based on the teaching of Xiao et al.
As to claims 10 and 11, the combination suggests effectively building a layered structure and this structure does not collapse. It follows that the same claimed adjustment is performed or suggested to the extent required. Further, Xiao et al. teach and suggest utilizing the same claimed and disclosed ingredients. The same claimed effects and physical properties would be realized or rendered prima facie obvious based on the teaching of Xiao et al.
As to claim 14, Xiao et al teach and suggest a water reducer as claimed (paragraphs [0046]-[0048], [0055]-[0062], [0076]-[0078], [0080] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 16 Xiao et al. teach a method comprising providing a construction material comprising a hydraulic cement and aggregates for building structural and architectural components layer-by-layer (Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0009] and [0073]-[0075]) and placing the construction material through an outlet of the deposition head in order to form a layer of construction material, wherein successive layers of construction materials are placed on top of each other (paragraphs [0046]-[0048], [0055]-[0062], [0076], [0078], [0080] and [0082]), wherein the aggregates comprise recycled concrete aggregates (Abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0008], [0012], [0023]-[0028], [0063]-[0068], and [0087] Table 1). Xiao et al. do not explicitly teach the corresponding deposition head/printer is moving during the forming of the layers.
However, each of Mo et al. (Figure 1; paragraphs [0020]-[0023]), Le Roux (Figures 1-3; paragraphs [0041], [0044] and [0081]), White et al. (Figures 1, 2 and 5; paragraphs [0058] and [0061]) or Austin et al. (Abstract; Figures 1 and 4; paragraphs [0050] and [0089]) teach analogous methods wherein the deposition head is moved to form the layers.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xiao et al. and any one of the secondary references and to have moved the corresponding deposition head of Xiao et al., as suggested by any one of the secondary references, for the purpose, as suggested by the references, of effectively depositing sufficient quantities of the cement in a rapid and cost effective manner.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2021/0261461) in view of any one of Mo et al. (US 2021/0129377), Le Roux (US 2020/0284025), White et al. (US 2017/0365365) or Austin et al. (US 2014/0252668), as applied to claims 1-14 and 16-20 above, and further in view of or Austin et al. (US 2014/0252668).
As to claim 15, the combination teaches the method set forth above. Xiao et al. do not teach an admixture is added as claimed. However, Austin et al. teach an analogous method wherein an admixture is added as claimed (Figure 4; paragraph [0068]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xiao et al. Austin et al. and to included an admixture as claimed to the head of Xiao et al., as suggested by any Austin e al., for the purpose, as suggested by the references, of effectively facilitating the pumping/extrusion of the material through the system and to the build surface. Each of the alternative secondary references remain applicable for the teaching they are relied upon. In this rejection, Austin et al. is additionally and specifically relied upon for the additional limitation set forth in claim 15.
Claims 2-8, 11-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Memari et al. (US 2021/0396012), as applied to claims 1, 9, 10, 14, 16 and 17 above.
As to claims 2-8, 11-13, 15 and 18-20, Memari et al. teach the method set forth above. Further, Memari et al. teach amounts of materials (e.g. aggregates, Portland cement) and sizes of material that overlap the claimed ranges (paragraphs [0029]-[0032], [0059]-[0065], [0072]-[0080]). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious. Further, the selection of amounts and sizes of the disclosed materials is understood to be a routine expedient as set forth and suggested by the reference. Further, Memari et al. teach and disclose the same claimed and disclosed materials. It follows that the same claimed properties and effects would be realized or rendered prima facie obvious by practicing the method of Memari et al.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Memari et al. (US 2021/0396012), as applied to claims 1, 9, 10, 14, 16 and 17 above, and further in view of or Austin et al. (US 2014/0252668).
As to claim 15, Memari et al. teach method set forth above. Memari et al. do not teach an admixture is added as claimed. However, Austin et al. teach an analogous method wherein an admixture is added as claimed (Figure 4; paragraph [0068]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Memari et al. and et al. Austin et al. and to have included an admixture as claimed to the head of Memari et al. et al., as suggested by any Austin e al., for the purpose, as suggested by the references, of effectively facilitating the pumping/extrusion of the material through the system and to the build surface.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742